View Full Version : Stephen Elliott
carloz
24/11/2006, 8:51 PM
He has just scored for Sunderland against Wolves. Keano is happy
Fergie's Son
24/11/2006, 10:22 PM
Agree 100%. Who cares how O'Shea plays for his club as he useless for Ireland. I could add i think Finnan probably plays well for Liverpool but for Ireland isn't great.
IMO Staunton should drop anyone that plays for top Premiership player as they all play horribly for Ireland.
That would make a lot of sense. You should run the EL with logic like that. You'd fit right in :rolleyes:
O'Shea is not great but for the time being is the best we've got.
Of course, you know a lot more than managers of numerous professional (businesses) teams right?
Of course you do.
Fergie's Son
24/11/2006, 10:23 PM
Elliot scored again. Seems that Connolly missed a sitter.
So is Connolly/Elliot the prefered partnership for Sunderland now?
Paddy Garcia
24/11/2006, 10:39 PM
the players I all mentioned that have been capped have put in at least a half decent performance for us on occasion (including Kavanagh and Miller) which O'Shea has never managed to do in all his appearances in a green shirt. To suggest otherwise is nonsense.
Not accurate. He played well away to France for a start & he did Ok against the Czechs - one slip I know. He has done reasonably well on many occasions, often playing out of position to try to compensate for two of your inferior preferences!!!. And as for Kavanagh & Miller, wish they had served Ireland well, but that's just not so. As yet Miller has not performed well in a competitive game (I hope he does soon) and Kavanagh is and has never been up to it - his only decent games were sitting on Roy Keane's coat tails - anyone would look good. To suggest Kavanagh is a better player than O'Shea is horribly naive.
Frankly there is a sad case of wish fulfilment here - the more you guys pick on O'Shea and express contempt for his efforts, the less likely he is to perform at his best. And when we have chewed him up & spat him out - who's next in line for this treatment- McGeady or Kilbane or even Finnan I've read on another thread. I wonder who in their right mind will want to play for Ireland with the boo boys at the helm ? Seen then how we perform with your choices from lower leagues - with the likes of G O Connor, Kavanagh & Delap - & some kids not yet ready, with our best sitting at home.
zinedineontour
26/11/2006, 11:23 AM
elliott has been playing on the right the last couple of games but moved into the centre near the end of the game were he seemed much more comfortable. connolly was annoymous for most of the game and hasnt set the world alight since he joined us .. elliott is coming back to form and will hopefully stay injury free for a while now..
theworm2345
26/11/2006, 7:54 PM
Leon Clarke missed the sitter, I dont think there was one at all for Sunderland. It is generally agreed upon I think (over at the Sunderland board) that the problem isnt Connolly, its the defenders and midfielder hoofing the ball up to him and praying he gets a head on it.
macdermesser
29/11/2006, 7:13 AM
Kavanagh (http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A17771006?s_fromedit=1)
think he hasn't done it for us in the big games .. but this is some review of his performance last night on the beeb
(didn't want to open an exclusive thread for this .. Elliot, Sunderland .. close enough, eh?)
29/11/2006, 2:17 PM
First post in a few weeks as I'm enjoying a nice enforced break from work!
I went to QPR vs Sunderland last night. First up, during the warm up Sunderland played a really quick game of 2 touch / retain possession in a confined space. Watching Kav was a joy. He always knew where to find a man and was unerringly accurate with both feet. Elliott was good too, but Miller was shocking. Possession always broke down with him.
The match was a funny affair. Some bits of good football actually emerged but in all it was mainly a kick it high, head it back, head it back again, hoof it to touch type game. Daryl Murphy has a great first 20 minutes or so, winning every flick, nearly scoring on about 3 different occasions and scoring a fairly easy glancing header. I was disappointed in him as the game went on though. He played well, but if he's to turn into what we'd all like him to become I'd like to have seen more.
Stephen Elliott had a super game, wide right occasionally coming in to support Murphy. He caused trouble on the right and always used the ball cleverly. He has a few tricks and a turn of pace but not enough to be a really effective wide player, although he was clever enough to know his limitations and give the ball back when necessary. His work rate was immense and for a guy who's been unlucky with injuries he put himself about a lot. Arguably Sunderland's best player on the night (Varga's aerial defending put him up there too) and not bad for a guy who I consider to be the most instinctive goalscorer available to us. His only blemish was to put a headed half-chance over the bar from about 15 yards.
Kavanagh was sound. Just as in the two-touch game, he was aware of everything around him and was very influential.
Miller was a waste of space. Even when he had time to pick a pass he was poor. I've seen enough of him now to say I categorically do not want to see him in an Irish squad. He's living off a high-profile burst of form 3 years ago and as far as I can see offers us nothing. He was subbed early in the second half.
Connolly came on as a late sub and was unlucky to see a shot come back off the inside of the post.
Martin Rowlands anchored QPR's midfield and did a decent job but didn't really rise above the mediocrity around him.
The game was notable for a totally comical open goal miss from Ross Wallace on 90 mins which nearly cost Sunderland the game.
youngirish
29/11/2006, 3:49 PM
Miller was a waste of space. Even when he had time to pick a pass he was poor. I've seen enough of him now to say I categorically do not want to see him in an Irish squad. He's living off a high-profile burst of form 3 years ago and as far as I can see offers us nothing.
Amen to that. Maybe Garvan can take his place. He's back starting for Ipswich tonight after his lengthy illness.
While we are talking about dropping Miller from the squad has anyone seen Chris McCann playing for high-flying Burnley? He's scored a couple of goals in his last few starts and perhaps could also be looked at as a potential candidate for a future Ireland midfield slot (in a friendly).
29/11/2006, 8:35 PM
has anyone seen Chris McCann playing for high-flying Burnley? He's scored a couple of goals in his last few starts and perhaps could also be looked at as a potential candidate for a future Ireland midfield slot (in a friendly).I noticed that but haven't seen anything of him yet. Cotterill speaks very highly of him.
zinedineontour
02/12/2006, 10:09 PM
not a fan of miller at all but had a cracking game today and looked like the player who shined at celtic .. elliott was non stop from the right for the 90 minutes .. daryl murphy was ****e but scored a cracking goal fair play to the lad .. kav was very steady in the middle ..
Tenderloins
19/01/2007, 9:05 AM
reports this morning that Cardiff have bid 800k for Stephen Elliot. Seems a poor enough price.
citizenerased
19/01/2007, 9:28 AM
in fairness he has hardly set the world alight!! I wouldnt pay over 1m for him.
youngirish
19/01/2007, 9:35 AM
In some ways it would be a good move for him as his career seems to have stagnated somewhat at Sunderland the past season or so and this might kick it back into life.
On the negative side if he moves to Cardiff I can't see him playing in the Premiership anytime soon but if he could regain his place at Sunderland this is a possibility next season.
Tenderloins
19/01/2007, 9:43 AM
Sunderland just sold John Stead for 750k!
800k is very cheap to let him go at. Although this may spark the interest of Celtic and some other clubs.
cavan_fan
19/01/2007, 9:47 AM
How many strikers do Cardiff want.
This doesnt surprise me as Elliot seems to have hit a ceiling.
Irish_Praha
19/01/2007, 9:48 AM
I feel the same. It wouldn't be a terrible move but it also wouldn't be a fantastic move. What would be most interesting to see would be which one of him and Byrne would be most successfull i.e. an Irish man that went to Engerland as a teenager or one that played in the LOI until 28/29 and jumps straight into the Championship. Of course there are lots of other factors to consider, such as their age difference and natural skill levels. however, I can see it raising some heated debate on here. If he does join Cardiff it might limit Byrne's chances.
19/01/2007, 11:13 AM
Elliott has been playing on the wing for Sunderland this season afaik.
19/01/2007, 11:16 AM
Would be a good move for Elliott as Cardiffs strikers have been right off form recently . Would also be intersting to see how he compares to Byrne if they are at the same club.
Irish_Praha
19/01/2007, 11:31 AM
Another interesting comparison will be between Ward and Keogh, if Keogh moves to Wolves for a reported 500,000. Similar age, similar price, both Ireland U-21 players and neither has played in the championship yet. However, Ward is not highly regarded by the LOI fans on here.
SaucyJack
19/01/2007, 12:46 PM
According to 11 a side, Birmingham are in for him too, which I think would be the better option
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=26130
dr_peepee
19/01/2007, 8:11 PM
I converted to Mackism some years ago (Pre Keano) The Birmingham thing has been doing the rounds for a while, but the price being talked about was about double as much as what was reported here. Celtic were mentioned aswell.
Bruce has reportedly been after "Sleeves" for a while, but he signed Rowan Vine last week, and they've a few forwards on the books. Word is Cardiff can't afford him.
Other reports say Roy doesn't want to sell him at all and want to keep him to have him and Connolly slug it out for a position up front. It's all message board and tabloid rubbish though so it's hard to know. Don't think he's goin anywhere though. If they don't go up this year I think they're a safe bet for Automatic promotion next year and there's some championship quality strength in depth up front there at the minute with enough games to keep them all relatively happy, a la Reading last year with Doyle, Kitson and Lita.
Mick McCarthy seems keen on Keogh though. I also read somewhere that Ward was signed more as a left sided attacker than an out and out forward. Dunno how true that is.
I rate him more as a left winger than forward but others will disagree. He has a good left legged cross.
Crunch
19/01/2007, 11:12 PM
Elliot to Cardiff would be a good move for him. They have been busy enough with the transfers with Irishness seemingly a key.
20/01/2007, 11:21 AM
I'd much prefer to see Elliott stay at Sunderland. Cardiff are in freefall at the moment. He's been playing RHM all season which is a waste of his goalscoring instincts but you can't argue with Connolly's form at the moment. He'll get chnaces before the season's out I reckon, if he stays fit.
Birmingham would be a good move if he had to go somewhere. Larsson and Bendtner won't be there next year. He's better than Campbell and he & Jerome could be good.
He'd do well at Celtic too. He's a far better goalscorer than any of the 3 Scottish lads, Beattie, Maloney or Miller in my opinion.
Staying fit is the key for him though.
Irish_Praha
09/04/2007, 4:49 PM
Elliott starts today against Sunderland. I wonder how long it will be before his next injury? Hopefully he lasts until the end of the season and gets to play in the games in the US in the summer.
kingdom hoop
09/04/2007, 5:39 PM
Elliott starts today against Sunderland. I wonder how long it will be before his next injury? Hopefully he lasts until the end of the season and gets to play in the games in the US in the summer.
stokes went on for him at half time. i hope you didnt curse the poor lad. anyone watching? was it just a poor performance?
09/04/2007, 6:10 PM
Elliott was the best player on the pitch in the first half imo. Did very well with the ball at his feet. It's the first time I've really seen Stokes since his move from Falkirk and he's still getting into excellent goalscoring positions. The strong Southampton defence means he's just not getting the service, same goes for Connolly. Connolly did well to set up the 2nd goal.
McGinty
10/04/2007, 6:48 AM
Elliott was the best player on the pitch in the first half imo. Did very well with the ball at his feet. It's the first time I've really seen Stokes since his move from Falkirk and he's still getting into excellent goalscoring positions. The strong Southampton defence means he's just not getting the service, same goes for Connolly. Connolly did well to set up the 2nd goal.
same as myself, first proper look i've had at him since Falkirk. Stokes looked quiet enough, thought Connolly was the difference up front, Edwards had Bale in his back pocket for the game too, i cant see what all the hype about Bale is
Nice to see Keanes "never say die attitude" is rubbing off on his team
Dr. Ogba
10/04/2007, 8:05 AM
so does anyone know if he was injured yesterday? was delighted to see him back playing but seeing that he was taken off at half-time you would have to fear the worst...
10/04/2007, 8:16 AM
Keane said that Elliott hadn't played for a few months and felt 45 minutes was enough for him at this stage. I thought Stokes was poor. Gave the ball away on a few occasions and shot instead of passing to the better placed Connolly. Miller went off with a knock at half time after a decent performance. No sign of Darryl Murphy who scored on Saturday. Keane is a big advocate of the rotation system.
10/04/2007, 8:50 AM
No sign of Darryl Murphy who scored on Saturday. Keane is a big advocate of the rotation system.
Stokes didn't even make the bench on Saturday. Keane said at the time that Stokes would have his part to play, so Murphy missed out yesterday, despite scoring.
youngirish
11/04/2007, 1:30 PM
I reckon Keane will have a major clear out of strikers at Sunderland once their promotion is guaranteed. I can see him trying to land a couple of big name strikers (Bent and Ashton if Charlton and West Ham are relegated could be looked at).
He'll hardly get rid of Stokes as I think he sees him as one for the future but I'd be surprised if Murphy and Elliot were retained for next season. I can also see Connolly and John being deemed surplus to requirements soon enough (he might keep them for the start of the season but I'd say both will be gone by the end of January).
However I'm happy to be proved wrong as it would be nice to see Murphy, Elliot, Stokes and Connolly all banging in goals in the Premiership next season.
dodgycanadian
11/04/2007, 2:57 PM
Wonder if theres even a chance of Stokes going on loan again if they make the premiership. He doesnt seem to be too fond of using him...
zinedineontour
11/04/2007, 4:20 PM
Yeah was at the game on monday and Stokes was very poor when he came on. Seems to be rushing into shots and passes at the moment rather than having any composure. Looks like he is trying to make himself a hero rather than looking to play someone else in or making a decent pass. Elliott did well in first half for someone thats been out for so long but looked short of match fitness obviously . Miller was alright but needs someone stronger than yorke in midfield and whitehead really changed the game for us when he came on.
12/04/2007, 2:46 PM
Elliott, Kavanagh and Connolly all up for the Sunderland Player of the Season.
Stokes up for the Young Player of the Season.
Time to rig another election methinks: http://www.safc.com/index.php?page_id=12110
How could Stokes get young player award having just started 5 games...?
zinedineontour
12/04/2007, 6:56 PM
How could Stokes get young player award having just started 5 games...?
All the young lads are up for it though .. Jonny Evans will run away with it deservedly..
03/01/2009, 1:06 PM
Interview with Elliott in today's Indo ahead of the game against Liverpool in the cup - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/back-in-the-frame-1591193.html
03/01/2009, 1:25 PM
Always liked Stephen Elliot, always seemed a nice kid too. But mention his name and the first thing that pops to mind is the injuries.
Am I right in thinking his last game for Ireland was Stan's first as gaffer? Did he play right of the front 3 ?
Would be delighted for him and ourselves if he got fit and back to the level he showed he could play at.
the doc
05/07/2009, 3:31 PM
Preston's Stephen Elliott targets getting back into the Ireland squad.
http://www.pnefc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10362~1713976,00.html
CraftyToePoke
14/12/2010, 3:58 AM
At Hearts these days and looks to have been involved in most of the good things his side did V Aberdeen at the weekend. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/9279937.stm
Good to see him playing anyway, he looked like a nailed on 50 cap man at one stage, we are surely due a change of fortune with our young players coming through, so many lost to injuries.
Was Stevie Elliott more a case of just not quite good enough though?? Yes i know the injuries hampered him as well. I recall he got one very important goal for us, think it was against Cyprus.
EDIT: Yip, 1-0 Cyprus away. http://www.soccerscene.ie/sssenior/matchdetails.php?id=415
14/12/2010, 9:15 AM
There's no doubt that injuries have shaped his career and development as a footballer. Whether he ultimately was/is good enough (he still is relatively young) is open to debate but he has a very good underage record for us and was at one point close to establishing himself as an important squad player in the senior side.
CraftyToePoke
15/12/2010, 3:14 AM
Was Stevie Elliott more a case of just not quite good enough though??
I think he hit about 15 in his first season at Sunderland and they went up, the injuries came after that when he was due a crack at the Prem in the next season, I think he would have become an established Irish international squad guy looking at others who were around at that time, and some who still are, had he held that course but its nice to see him playing again anyway and Hearts isnt a bad club to be at, they get a taste of Europe most seasons.
15/12/2010, 10:59 AM
Injuries and attitude I think were factors. FIFA had him as a sub in their team of the tournament from the 2003 (or 2004?) World Youth Championships, hailing his knack for goalscoring. He had a belter of a season in Sunderland's promotion campaign, scoring 18 I think and he was injured for nearly half the season. He then scored a beauty against Man U and hit the bar against Newcastle early in his first EPL campaign but then hardly did anything (injuries and a sinking team didn't help).
I think he had all the ability to be a good goalscorer but not the athlete's constitution required.
It's funny, but of the 5 or so Irish strikers in the SPL, the most heralded (Stokes & Murphy) are faring the worst.
Scooby Doo
15/12/2010, 4:17 PM
Was Stevie Elliott more a case of just not quite good enough though?? Yes i know the injuries hampered him as well. I recall he got one very important goal for us, think it was against Cyprus.
EDIT: Yip, 1-0 Cyprus away. http://www.soccerscene.ie/sssenior/matchdetails.php?id=415
And one against the Faroes in a rainy, mucky end of season qualifier in Torshaven as far as I remember. Killer got the other I think.
AlaskaFox
15/12/2010, 8:43 PM
It's funny, but of the 5 or so Irish strikers in the SPL, the most heralded (Stokes & Murphy) are faring the worst.
Don't forget Foran!
theworm2345
16/12/2010, 5:27 AM
And one against the Faroes in a rainy, mucky end of season qualifier in Torshaven as far as I remember. Killer got the other I think.
No, Ian Harte got that one with a penalty kick on the bumpy pitch in Torshavn (four days after the nightmare that was Israel at Lansdowne featuring Dudu "the ****" Awat), though Elliott won the penalty when hauled down by the keeper...Killer did get the other with a deflected low drive from about 18 yards.
Funny, I remember those matches like they happened yesterday and can barely remember what happened at the start of the current or last campaign, not to mention the blur in my mind that is the Staunton era (I should probably consider myself lucky on that one though).
16/12/2010, 11:23 AM
I remember Elliott having a great chance to score his first goal for Ireland in that game against the Faroes, didn't he hit the crossbar or the post? Slid in at the far post and the ball was deflected or something?