View Full Version : Stephen Elliott
FarBeag
15/10/2005, 4:23 PM
Yes..Excellent goal by all accounts left footer into the top corner.He appears to be getting regular football for Sunderland now which will only make him a better player.Great potential without a doubt.
ccfcgirl
15/10/2005, 4:29 PM
And if Dayrl Murphy also started getting a go at Sunderland who knows we could have two good strickers in the making .........Fair play to Stphan for scoring again.
Irish_Praha
15/10/2005, 4:32 PM
I bet he scores for Sunderland before the end of this month. It's only a matter of time before he gets his first goal in the Premership. I reckon he'll be an 8 to 10 goal striker for Sunderland this season, with about the same number of assists.
OK I'm collecting my winnings now :D
And if Dayrl Murphy also started getting a go at Sunderland who knows we could have two good strickers in the making .........Fair play to Stphan for scoring again.
:) Well said girl. Lets look forward, no point in looking back
15/10/2005, 5:03 PM
I still can't stand him.I'm not the only one then:)
15/10/2005, 5:52 PM
Elliott should be an automatic start for Ireland now with Robbie or Clinton making way. Plus Doyle should get some full games up front as well.
15/10/2005, 6:05 PM
For me Elliott should be given a start in all of the Ireland games. He has a fantastic attitude and is a bit of competition for Robbie Keane (who is a disapointment)
TheJamaicanP.M.
15/10/2005, 6:17 PM
What strikes me about Elliott anytime I see him play is that he holds the ball up very well. This is all the more impressive considering his slight build. He has a good first touch and makes good runs. He doesn't hide when the going gets tough. In addition, he appears to be a goal poacher. The Sunderland fans see him as the new Kevin Phillips. His goal last week came with his fifth cap. It is worth noting that Robbie Keane also scored his first goal in his fifth cap (against Malta in October 1998). Considering that Keane had a lot more playing time than Elliott in those five caps, I think its fair to say that Elliott has made an impressive start to international football.
17/10/2005, 4:41 PM
He scored a great goal though. We could do with another left-sided player.
Elliott's wonder goal against Newcastle has catapulted him to No 1 on list of Irish strikers
Tuesday October 25th 2005
ADVERTISEMENT
click here to enlarge
Stephen Elliott, pictured here at an Irish training session earlier this month, has proven that he has an eye for the back of the net. Picture: David Maher (Sportsfile)
THE next manager of Ireland can relax a little as he contemplates the prospect of trying to guide Ireland to the Euro 2008 finals from fourth seeds.
While Robbie Keane's loss of form is a genuine worry, it has been balanced by the emergence of Stephen Elliott as a Premiership quality striker.
Having taken the Championship by storm last season when he scored 15 goals in his debut season at Sunderland, it has taken Elliott a while to adjust to the change of pace in the Premiership.
But since he scored Ireland's winner against Cyprus on October 8 the 21-year-old has produced two goals that will surely be in the running for Match of the Day's Goal of the Month competition.
The first came against Manchester United when he curled a left-footed shot from the edge of the penalty area past Edwin Van Der Sar and then on Sunday he left the Newcastle defence in his wake before thumping a screamer past Shay Given.
Sunderland boss Mick McCarthy, who plucked Elliott from Manchester City reserves in the summer of 2004, reckons Elliott is only getting warmed up.
"Stephen has been fantastic and will only get better and better. His goal for the Republic of Ireland has given him a big lift and he's in the groove."
Elliott's hunger is there for all to see and he was unlucky not to start against Switzerland after a performance against Cyprus where he was just edged for man of the match by Given.
When he came on against the Swiss he immediately made an impression by getting on the ball, turning and running at defenders.
If he keeps this sort of form up, he will be first-choice striker for Ireland when the new manager names his first team sometime next year, possibly at the expense of Robbie Keane.
Robbie has been consigned to the bench for most of this season. His only Premiership start was against Blackburn Rovers and the other time Martin Jol named him in the first 11 was for the shock defeat by Grimsby Town in the Carling Cup.
Keane has come off the bench and scored twice and both goals were worth the admission price as he earned Spurs a point against Aston Villa and a win against Charlton Athletic.
But his failure to regularly get 90 minutes of action at club level has impinged on his international form and he was taken off in the games against Cyprus and Switzerland.
Also, he has only managed one goal in seven internationals this year, the same return as in 2001 when he was dramatically dropped by then-Ireland manager Mick McCarthy for the World Cup qualifier against Estonia.
Keane was believed to be on his way to Everton on the day the transfer window closed but Spurs were unable to sign a replacement so he stayed, but he may have to move in January in order to get 90 minutes of action.
Clinton Morrison took the brave step in August of leaving Birmingham and dropping down a division to get regular first-team football and the gamble looks to be paying off.
The 26-year-old has scored six times in 10 games for Palace and playing regularly has certainly helped his confidence, even though he drew a blank against Switzerland. Kevin Doyle was called into the Irish squad by Brian Kerr for his last two games in charge and although he didn't play his call-up was fully merited after a sensational start to his career at Reading where his valuation went from £85,000 to £1million almost overnight.
David Connolly began the season in sensational style with five goals in four games for Leicester City, including a hat-trick against Stoke City. It earned him a €2m transfer to Premiership new boys Wigan Athletic and he marked his first appearance in the top flight with a goal against West Bromwich Albion.
However, the goals have dried up for Connolly since then and he has now gone five games without scoring, though his early season form was enough to earn him a recall to the international squad.
Ireland's squad for the recent World Cup qualifier against Switzerland featured six strikers as Gary Doherty was once against re-classified from the big centre-half that he really is, but he was unable to save the day when thrown on late in the game.
Doherty is unlikely to be considered as a striker by the new Ireland manager, who is more likely to look at those on the fringes like Sunderland's Daryl Murphy, Cardiff's Alan Lee, Hull City's Ben Burgess and Richie Foran of Motherwell.
But for now, it's Elliott who tops the Irish hot-shots charts.
Gerry McDermott
TOP OF THE HOT SHOTS
1 Stephen Elliott
Goals against Cyprus, Manchester United and Sunday's screamer against Shay Given's Newcastle make him Ireland's new No 1..
Season Stats: Sunderland 11 games 2 goals, Ireland 3 games 1 goal.
2 Clinton Morrison
After dropping down a division to Crystal Palace in the hope of finding regular football has returned to form and scored six times.
Season Stats: Birmingham 1 game, 0 goals; Crystal Palace 10 games 6 goals; Ireland 3 games 0 goals.
3 Kevin Doyle
He was the top scorer in the Eircom League when he joined Reading from Cork City and four goals in 16 games is an excellent return for the Wexford man.
Season Stats: Reading 16 games, 4 goals, Ireland 0 games, 0 goals.
4 David Connolly
Began season in electrifying fashion with four goals for Leicester but goals have dried up since his move to Wigan.
Season Stats: Leicester 5 games 4 goals, Wigan 6 games 1 goal, Ireland 1 game 0 goals.
5 Robbie Keane
Ireland's all-time top hot-shot has only scored once in seven internationals and has spent most of his time warming the Spurs bench - although he has scored twice for them coming on as a late sub.Season Stats: Tottenham 9 games 2 goals,
Ireland 3 games 0 goals.
6 Gary Doherty
It's probably a bit unfair to include the Norwich centre-half among Ireland's hot-shots but he was thrown on to save the day against French and Swiss..
Season Stats: Norwich 13 games
1 goal, Ireland 2 games 0 goals.
==============================
What a sad little country we are. Daryl Murphy plays 5minutes for Sunderland & McDermott thinks he is in the international frame.
25/10/2005, 4:36 PM
The Indo have nothing to write about Kerr so now will slate Robbie Keane in every paper for the next few weeks.
boysingreen
26/10/2005, 8:14 AM
Any links to see these Elliot goals? Haven't really cared to follow the Premiership lately since our players' form is more or less irrelevant for now.
26/10/2005, 2:40 PM
The indo is a phucking rag and I hate Mc Derrmott for all his kerr hate mail
co. down green
29/03/2006, 11:54 PM
http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,1806_1120004,00.html
Unlucky or jinxed ?
http://oneteaminireland.bravehost.com/
Dr. Ogba
30/03/2006, 12:07 AM
Jaysus, I feel for the poor lad he's had a horrible run of late. It would make you think that there's a much bigger underlying problem to these consistent injuries and I would hope that it's addressed sooner rather than later...
I think it would be best for Elliott now to write the rest of the season off and concentrate on being fully fit for the Championship campaign next year where, hopefully, he'll start a lot more games and get scoring goals again...
Still think he'll turn out to be a very important player for us in the future if (big IF!) he can stay fit...
Best of luck to him...
BBC (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/5349794.stm)
Out for 2 months. That lad is a lost cause and is clearly very injury prone. Shows that no chance of building any team a round him in the future... I think he will never be more than bit part player for Ireland. Also can't see a big club signing him in the future with his injury record...
Fergie's Son
15/09/2006, 8:38 PM
Well at least Murphy and Long will get some more playing time.
It's a great shame but what can you do.
theworm2345
15/09/2006, 8:42 PM
Well at least Murphy and Long will get some more playing time.
It's a great shame but what can you do.
:confused: :confused:
DeNiro
15/09/2006, 9:37 PM
I think he has a lot to do to prove himself and the likes of Conolly could come back into the fold at his expense. It would have been interesting to see how he would have developed under Keane. We could be out of the running for qualification by the time he's back.
Fergie's Son
15/09/2006, 9:51 PM
:confused: :confused:
Meanr Connolly.
Long is, of course, about to make his claim for Reading :)
as_i_say
16/09/2006, 5:29 AM
very sad news really. i remember watching keith o neill in a friendly against croatia years ago and he was so energetic and scored a great goal and looked like the future partner for robbie but that was the last impact he ever made. agree that it looks pretty bleak for him but at least doyle has come through.
zinedineontour
16/09/2006, 9:38 PM
BBC (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/5349794.stm)
Out for 2 months. That lad is a lost cause and is clearly very injury prone. Shows that no chance of building any team a round him in the future... I think he will never be more than bit part player for Ireland. Also can't see a big club signing him in the future with his injury record...
what a stupid comment . A lost cause ffs he is still a young lad yet and just before the injury scored a cracking goal . Who knows how he will progress when he comes back and hopefully been coached by keane will take him to another level .
17/09/2006, 12:33 AM
It's unforetunate for the young lad, but to say his career is over is ridiculous. Many of players of began internationals careers in the later part of their playing careers.
what a stupid comment . A lost cause ffs he is still a young lad yet and just before the injury scored a cracking goal ..
I am saying he will always be either be injured opr coming back from injury. I never said he wasn't a good player, just like other talented players injury prone.
When was the last time he was fit for more than 2-3 months?
Irish_Praha
17/09/2006, 7:44 PM
It doesn't look good but I wouldn't write him off just yet, he's only 22.
If he is still picking up regular injuries into his mid twenties then you could be right.
18/09/2006, 8:12 AM
Sadly, I fear the Keith O'Neill comparison may prove accurate. Hopefully he's just being unlucky.
18/09/2006, 10:14 AM
I am saying he will always be either be injured opr coming back from injury.
It's a bit hard to say that Pete unless you've developed some psychic ability to see into the future. Just because he's had his fair share of injuries in his young career doesn't mean it will continue.
youngirish
18/09/2006, 11:18 AM
It's a bit hard to say that Pete unless you've developed some psychic ability to see into the future. Just because he's had his fair share of injuries in his young career doesn't mean it will continue.
He is too injury prone. He needs games if he's to develop as a player and he's not going to get them sitting in the treatment room. Every 4 or 5 games he plays he seems to get injured. After a very promising initial season I can't remember him going more than 2 months without picking up some sort of injury. His career seems to be going backwards instead of progressing.
18/09/2006, 12:08 PM
Gerrard was in the same situation prior to 2002, Houllier stated he couldn't play more than 3 games in a row and pulled him from the England squad on more than one occasion because of it. Turned out it was just a growing problem and when Gerrard stopped growing, the injuries cleared up and he improved as a player. could be the same situation with Elliott, let's not write him before he passes 20 caps, ok?
zinedineontour
19/09/2006, 4:54 PM
I am saying he will always be either be injured opr coming back from injury. I never said he wasn't a good player, just like other talented players injury prone.
When was the last time he was fit for more than 2-3 months?
the season before last but that doesnt make him a lost cause .. as someone already pointed out gerrard was injury prone for a few years when younger but has stayed clear from injuries now .. Elliott is far from a lost cause yet.
Irish_Praha
18/11/2006, 9:17 PM
Well the lad came back today after about 2 months and scored a brace. Can't really ask for more! I really hope he can stay injury free for at least the next few months. However I have the sneaky feeling he'll have a few annoying niggles along the way. I'd be happy enough if he only picked up the odd injury where he was out for a week or two now and again, and never picks up disabilitating injuries like Saddlier and O'Neill.
It was mentioned in another thread but our striking option for the present and near future are looking healthier than ever:
Keane, Doyle, Morrisson, Elliott and Lee already with international experience.
Although with the talent comming through I'd expect Lee and Morrisson to get limited time on the field after this campaign.
The next guys in line are:
Long
Stokes
Clarke
Keogh
Rooney
Best
Dixon
Murphy
From that lot Long, Stokes, Clarke and Dixon are most likely to make the the step up.
Keogh is doing well in league one but needs to show what he has at a higher level.
Murphy hasn't had much success at sunderland this season.
Best played okay for Bournemouth on loan but we still dont know if he wants to play for Ireland and he doesn't really stand out as anything special from the list above.
Rooney had a few good games for Stoke at the end of last season but is only getting reserve games at the moment so it's difficult to tell if he can do that consistantly, but he's only 19 so hopefully he'll get his chance soon.
Sheridan is scoring at U-19 and reserve level for Celtic so he's another one to watch.
Have I overlooked anyone?
Irish_Praha
18/11/2006, 9:31 PM
I forgot to add:
That's 5 strikers who are regularly in the squad and 9 waiting in the wings.
Keane is still our no. 1 and Doyle is looking more and more like the real deal. Elliott is worthy of a place in the squad if he stays injury free and countinues to play like today. Morrissons and Lee's places are there to be taken and there are surely one or two players from the 9 listed that will deliver on their potential.
so, we should be able to find a good striking partnership and have one or two dangerous strikers on the bench, which we have never had the before.
Soper
18/11/2006, 10:36 PM
What about Stephen Ward and Roy O'Donovan?
Irish_Praha
18/11/2006, 10:40 PM
Okay so that's 11 waiting in the wings :)
Man Keane, Doyle and Elliott will all still be around in 5 years time so if only 2 of those 11 realise their potential we will have a lethal strike force.
FarBeag
18/11/2006, 11:31 PM
It’s such a shame for Elliot. He has shown such promise since he arrived on the scene. Let’s hope he gets well soon and that these injuries are just bad luck.Keano obviously rates him highly.
Don't be stupid & suggest eL players deserve to be mentioned in the same breath as League One reserve players. Football is a sport played in other countries. :rolleyes:
O'Donovan played 55 minutes of a B International (remember that last week?) & looked as good as any others on show.
Oh gosh, sorry.
I think Leigh RMI have a striker who drank Guinness once, is he good enough for the squad?
If you forward to the Irish Independent they will do an article on. :D
Fergie's Son
19/11/2006, 5:17 PM
Don't be stupid & suggest eL players deserve to be mentioned in the same breath as League One reserve players. Football is a sport played in other countries. :rolleyes:
O'Donovan played 55 minutes of a B International (remember that last week?) & looked as good as any others on show.
And don't be so damn myopic when it comes to the EL.
Here are the facts, we have an objective criteria to value players: Transfer fees and salary.
Put another way, much like we value petrol or the cost of bread it's based on a market. The market in England pays a lot more thus they tend to be able to buy and play the better players.
If we assume that most rational players want to maximize their earning potential then we can assume that those who can, will play abroad for more money.
Therefore, the better players tend to go to the market where they are paid more for their services.
Put more simply, the English Championship is better than the EL. Move on.
Here are the facts, we have an objective criteria to value players: Transfer fees and salary.
By that logic only Premiership players should be in the irish squad as they all earn more than Championship players. John O'Shea would seem to disprove that theory.
I was highlighting the narrow mindedness that had a list of irish forwards that included reserve League Two players but omitted a B International.
I never said the eL was better than the Championship.
20/11/2006, 1:18 PM
Back on track he scored 2 goals over the weekend from right wing position.
Fergie's Son
20/11/2006, 6:12 PM
By that logic only Premiership players should be in the irish squad as they all earn more than Championship players. John O'Shea would seem to disprove that theory.
I was highlighting the narrow mindedness that had a list of irish forwards that included reserve League Two players but omitted a B International.
I never said the eL was better than the Championship.
Well O'Shea does get his game. Can you name an Irish championship player who is better than him?
McShane, Kavanagh, Miller...
youngirish
21/11/2006, 11:34 AM
Kelly, McShane, Clarke, Supple, Garvan, Miller, Elliot, Kavanagh, Lawrence, Delap, Logan, McCarthy, McCann, J O Connor, G O Connor, Foley, Bell, Rooney etc etc etc
republicofwhite
21/11/2006, 5:20 PM
Very premature to give up hope on Elliott, obviously its disconcerting but he's still very young. The Hope I'm clinging onto is that when he played last year, I thought he was the ONLY Sunderland who stood out and cut it in the Premiership. Scored goals whenever he was fit(Which was never, I admit), remember the cracker agaisnt United?
Paddy Garcia
21/11/2006, 6:28 PM
Kelly, McShane, Clarke, Supple, Garvan, Miller, Elliot, Kavanagh, Lawrence, Delap, Logan, McCarthy, McCann, J O Connor, G O Connor, Foley, Bell, Rooney etc etc etc
You have named almost every Championship player you can think of. You don't like O'Shea & you are not the only one, but that does not make the statement so. Ferguson must have the worst judgement in the game!
Kelly - XX had to drop out of the premiership to get a game
McShane - X can't even get a game with West Brom! Just potential (I admit a lot ) at this stage.
Clarke X potential.
Supple X potential.
Garvan X potential.
Miller XX warming the bench.
Kavanagh XXX - there can only speak a man who has not watched his performances for Ireland, also sold for peanuts by Wigan.
G O Connor - are you joking ?
etc etc etc
youngirish
22/11/2006, 9:12 AM
Kavanagh XXX - there can only speak a man who has not watched his performances for Ireland, also sold for peanuts by Wigan.
G O Connor - are you joking ?
etc etc etc
I can only assume you have never watched any of O'Shea's Irish performances. As for Ferguson having bad judgement on the O'Shea front I think he does but anyway I don't give a sh*t how he plays for united the players I all mentioned that have been capped have put in at least a half decent performance for us on occasion (including Kavanagh and Miller) which O'Shea has never managed to do in all his appearances in a green shirt. To suggest otherwise is nonsense.
As for Ferguson having bad judgement on the O'Shea front I think he does but anyway I don't give a sh*t how he plays for united the players I all mentioned that have been capped have put in at least a half decent performance for us on occasion...
Agree 100%. Who cares how O'Shea plays for his club as he useless for Ireland. I could add i think Finnan probably plays well for Liverpool but for Ireland isn't great.
IMO Staunton should drop anyone that plays for top Premiership player as they all play horribly for Ireland.
22/11/2006, 12:33 PM
IMO Staunton should drop anyone that plays for top Premiership player as they all play horribly for Ireland.
He'd only be making a rod for his own back if he did that. Ericsson knew full well he should have dropped Lampard or Gerrard to get the best out of either of them, but if it failed the media would have used it as Exhibit A against him. I think it was Stuttgart88 who said that as soon as the media started praising a player, and calling for him to be included in the England setup, he was. Ericsson did this so they wouldn't be able to criticise him for leaving the player out. At least by calling up some players (Emanuel, Frecklington, Ledger, etc) Stauton is showing some independent thought.
theworm2345
23/11/2006, 3:50 PM
Lets hope him and Connolly (or Murphy) form a good partnership, this could (if Robbie and Doyle dont play well, or get hurt) translate into the Irish strike force
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=11054