View Full Version : Uniquely Irish
smellyfeet
03/02/2010, 3:47 PM
When in a pub or getting on a bus or any sort of situation really, We ask " is there anyone sitting there" when its obviuos that the chair/seat/stool or whatever has noone on it. I love it when someone asks me cos i just laugh at them. Wha Wha
03/02/2010, 3:53 PM
When in a pub or getting on a bus or any sort of situation really, We ask " is there anyone sitting there" when its obviuos that the chair/seat/stool or whatever has noone on it. I love it when someone asks me cos i just laugh at them. Wha Wha
Just tell them there was a statue there, but it moved!
smellyfeet
03/02/2010, 4:45 PM
Just tell them there was a statue there, but it moved!
Next time i'm up in Knock i'll try it;)
03/02/2010, 5:19 PM
everyone in longford says ''(watch your)house'' aswell
A lot of burglaries there?
irishultra
03/02/2010, 8:30 PM
Cogging homework and mitching school.
u goin on da hop!!! is that an english thing that is used here or uniquely irish?
irishultra
03/02/2010, 8:35 PM
Oh a unique Irish thing is definetly the belief that 'everyone loves ireland' like as if people the world over wake up every morning and are like oh we love that small 'neutral' country in the north atlantic.
peadar1987
03/02/2010, 8:53 PM
Oh a unique Irish thing is definetly the belief that 'everyone loves ireland' like as if people the world over wake up every morning and are like oh we love that small 'neutral' country in the north atlantic.
It's not true. When you're getting on with people in the UK, it's grand, but if you ever have the slightest falling out with them, especially if they're English, they will instantly start laying into your Irishness. Makes my blood boil so it does!
smellyfeet
04/02/2010, 8:14 AM
It's not true. When you're getting on with people in the UK, it's grand, but if you ever have the slightest falling out with them, especially if they're English, they will instantly start laying into your Irishness. Makes my blood boil so it does!
Uniquely Irish, go on Peadar ya good thing.
10/02/2010, 1:13 PM
Jo Maxi is a funny one, that is uniquely Irish I'd say, but for a different reason than you might think.
It began as Joe Baxi, originally English slang for a taxi (probably after the boxer Joe Baksi), and that got a new lease of life and became Jo Maxi over here because of the kids programme of the same name in the late 80s / early 90s.
Absoloutely not unique, they say that over here as well.
In ireland the dubs thought they would be inventive when they were just copying english cockney rhyming slang.
Theres another couple of stupid ones the dubs use too that i just cant remember at the moment.
smellyfeet
10/02/2010, 2:51 PM
Absoloutely not unique, they say that over here as well.
In ireland the dubs thought they would be inventive when they were just copying english cockney rhyming slang.
Theres another couple of stupid ones the dubs use too that i just cant remember at the moment.
I just got off the dog and bone to the trouble and strife.
10/02/2010, 6:54 PM
ya except they dont say the whole line for example:
in dublin they say tin of fruit, in london they say whistle.....
Ive got my tin of fruit, ive got my whistle....
He's a bubble....etc etc
use yer loaf....
Absoloutely not unique, :D Oh my :D
they say that over here as well.
Joe Baxi was the cockney rhyming slang, that's also used elsewhere in the UK up to recent times. For one example, it's used often in Irving Welsh's novels. Interesting to hear it's mutated into Jo Maxi over there since though, wonder if it's just normal evolution of these things, a mistake that spread, or maybe by contact with Irish people. One for Susie Dent I think. :)
:D Oh my :D
Joe Baxi was the cockney rhyming slang, that's also used elsewhere in the UK up to recent times. For one example, it's used often in Irving Welsh's novels. Interesting to hear it's mutated into Jo Maxi over there since though, wonder if it's just normal evolution of these things, a mistake that spread, or maybe by contact with Irish people. One for Susie Dent I think. :)
there was an irish TV show for teens back in the day called Jo Maxi (on network 2).
I just presumed it was a mutation based on that show to make it our own...
stann
10/02/2010, 11:29 PM
Ehhh, previous page Stu! :D
Jo Maxi is a funny one...
It began as Joe Baxi, originally English slang for a taxi (probably after the boxer Joe Baksi), and that got a new lease of life and became Jo Maxi over here because of the kids programme of the same name in the late 80s / early 90s.
Another one that just struck me, in parts of the country anyway, saying be instead of by?
10/02/2010, 11:43 PM
ooops... totally picked your post up wrong!!
11/02/2010, 5:31 AM
How's your mot? Or how's your ball of snot?
stann
11/02/2010, 12:16 PM
That's surely one Pauro, not heard that anywhere outside of Dublin (for real I mean, as opposed to someone doing it in a comedy accent). Any other areas use it?
We've a very similar one down here, but it's lack (and occasionally bag of slack).
Am hearing a few odd Wexfordisms lately, and one in particular I never heard before now is term, meaning a great craic, we had some term last night. They all say it down there! :D
11/02/2010, 1:54 PM
That's surely one Pauro, not heard that anywhere outside of Dublin (for real I mean, as opposed to someone doing it in a comedy accent). Any other areas use it?
We've a very similar one down here, but it's lack (and occasionally bag of slack).
Am hearing a few odd Wexfordisms lately, and one in particular I never heard before now is term, meaning a great craic, we had some term last night. They all say it down there! :D
I've only ever heard that one in Dublin, 'the mot'.... 'how's your slice' is another one...
smellyfeet
12/02/2010, 11:04 AM
Ehhh, previous page Stu! :D
Another one that just struck me, in parts of the country anyway, saying be instead of by?
Also, say me instead of my, A reall Dublin one, I will in me bleedin hole, Wah.
13/02/2010, 1:38 PM
burning head shops
smellyfeet
16/02/2010, 3:56 PM
Not sure if it Unique to Ireland but, using the word GAFF instead of house.
Also, we say going for a few SCOOPS instead of pints, suppose there's load of them one's, Jars, Bevey's....
mjrobinson88
17/02/2010, 6:36 PM
Hi. I am a final year student at Newcastle University doing a dissertation on the Republic's football team. Basically I am writing about how British Born fans and players are accepted/rejected by Irish born fans. Anyway I am trying to get some volunteers to answer some questions via email and your forum was suggested to me by another fan. Sorry if this is all off topic but I can't start up a thread until I have submitted 5 threads to start my own topic, and your thread "uniquely Irish" is I suppose what my dissertation is all about, and reading some of the posts also provided me with a laugh haha.
17/02/2010, 8:57 PM
Hi. I am a final year student at Newcastle University doing a dissertation on the Republic's football team. Basically I am writing about how British Born fans and players are accepted/rejected by Irish born fans. Anyway I am trying to get some volunteers to answer some questions via email and your forum was suggested to me by another fan. Sorry if this is all off topic but I can't start up a thread until I have submitted 5 threads to start my own topic, and your thread "uniquely Irish" is I suppose what my dissertation is all about, and reading some of the posts also provided me with a laugh haha.
so do yo want to ask brittish born irish their opinions? or us norma irish opinions also?
oscar
17/02/2010, 10:18 PM
well firstly acornvilla he needs someone who understands the english language and its structure(spelling,grammar,etc)
that my friend is not you,your post above a fine example of this:);)
Not sure if it Unique to Ireland but, using the word GAFF instead of house.
Also, we say going for a few SCOOPS instead of pints, suppose there's load of them one's, Jars, Bevey's....
Can't stand the word scoops. Why can't people just say pints or drinks?? Is it that hard!
18/02/2010, 10:59 AM
Send me a PM with the details.
18/02/2010, 11:23 AM
Send me a PM with the details.
send me a PM also.
smellyfeet
18/02/2010, 1:09 PM
well firstly acornvilla he needs someone who understands the english language and its structure(spelling,grammar,etc)
that my friend is not you,your post above a fine example of this:);)
Don't forget the capital letters
that my friend is not you,your post above a fine example of this
I shouldn't really, but :D :D :D
mjrobinson88
18/02/2010, 5:23 PM
so do yo want to ask brittish born irish their opinions? or us norma irish opinions also?
Both if possible Acornvilla. Does this forum contain both Irish born and British born fans?
mjrobinson88
18/02/2010, 5:27 PM
Thanks so far to the volunteers. I will send you a PM as soon as your moderators allow me :). I am hoping to interview Nial Quinn, Killer Kilbane, John Aldrige, Ray Houghton and Bernie Slaven and I am hoping to get an interview lined up with someone from the FAI. It is however the input of regular supporters like you guys that I'm most interested in. Hopefully when I start a thread on this more people will be willing to give up 20 minutes of their time.
Wolfie
19/02/2010, 12:40 PM
Thanks so far to the volunteers. I will send you a PM as soon as your moderators allow me :). I am hoping to interview Nial Quinn, Killer Kilbane, John Aldrige, Ray Houghton and Bernie Slaven and I am hoping to get an interview lined up with someone from the FAI. It is however the input of regular supporters like you guys that I'm most interested in. Hopefully when I start a thread on this more people will be willing to give up 20 minutes of their time.
Very good choice of players, given your subject.
In Ireland - I've noted a culture of revisionism embraced by a vocal minority in relation to Houghton, Aldridge (to a lesser extent, funnily enough) but particularly Andy Townsend.
There is a suggestion from some quarters that they were just mercenaries, solely concerned with furthering their club careers.
I'm not naive enough to suggest that, particularly back then, International appearances would not help your club prospects - but it was more of a happy by-product of your commitment to the International Team, first and foremost.
Personally, I think Townsend was our best captain "on the pitch" in that he led by example and had won the respect of the players.
While not Irish born, there are very few players to match the contribution and dedication in an Irish shirt shown by each of the above named players.
Stephen Ireland brings this argument into focus. Irish born, a talented footballer and zero commitment.
mjrobinson88
19/02/2010, 2:49 PM
Stephen Ireland brings this argument into focus. Irish born, a talented footballer and zero commitment.
Yeah that is true, never thought about that angle but it is definately worth exploring. Would you also be willing to answer a few questions via email Wolfie?
Apologies if this has gone way off topic of the original thread. Got one more day to go and then I can start my own thread without gatecrashing others.
IIRC, Slaven has stated that he had no affinity with the Irish team at all. If that were true i would suggest that he would not be the best choice of subject for the interview... just a thought! Great interesting idea otherwise.
Deckydee
19/02/2010, 5:01 PM
PM Me also.
mjrobinson88
19/02/2010, 5:30 PM
Very true but this is my question. Are these players accepted as Irishmen once they put on the green shirt or as mercanaries? A complex issue but I'm really enjoying it. Once I get full access to a profile I will PM all the guys kind enough to volunteer so far.
19/02/2010, 5:44 PM
Don't know if it is uniquely Irish or not, but the expression " (team name) will be there or thereabouts" really annoys me.
21/02/2010, 12:21 PM
PM me if you want my help :) and i will attempt to spell properly :)
mjrobinson88
21/02/2010, 3:53 PM
Thanks Acornvilla, I will PM you as soon as it allows me :)
21/02/2010, 6:59 PM
'More power to ya' is another one...
21/02/2010, 9:37 PM
hearing the mother in law shout ''AH FOR BLOODY SAKE!!!!'' Gets me every time :D
or ''AH FOR MOTHER OF SAKE!!!''
actully whyle o the sbject whyle meself and my friend were watching liverpool and chelsea in the CL last year she seen jamie carrager clear a shot of the line and proceeded to say ''ah..ah a for blody sake'' left the room and whyle climbing the stairs i could hear her mumble ''for bloody sake..the eejit,could he not put the ball into...the..goal... hmph'' you had to be there i'm pretty certian thats unique to ireland :)
bad spelling is uniquely Irish;)
21/02/2010, 9:46 PM
no americans cant spell real english either :P bad spelling is unique to dyslexics and to me aparently :P
no americans cant spell real english either
as opposed to mock english:)
21/02/2010, 10:19 PM
well they spell pheoneticly
oscar
21/02/2010, 10:26 PM
i think there should be 2 L's in that:p
21/02/2010, 10:30 PM
i heart you oscar :P:P
Deckydee
22/02/2010, 10:47 AM
Classic that I heard lads say years ago
"Where were you going that time when I saw you coming back?"
the lobster
23/02/2010, 1:20 PM
I was deliira wih me 6 cigareh liira's for eh pouind
25/07/2010, 11:20 PM
The way people say 'the' instead of 'my'. As in, 'I got a lift from the brother'.