View Full Version : Uniquely Irish

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

seanfhear
12/01/2010, 9:25 PM
This is more pronounciation but Forhead (forehead) is quite funny to english people. I think we say it so fast we do not have time to pronounce all the letters:)

Paddyfield
12/01/2010, 9:38 PM
In the west of ireland, we have unusual ways of expressing our admiration for ladies:

"I'd eat a mile of her sh1te just to smell the exhaust pipe of the van that brought her dirty knickers to the laundry"

12/01/2010, 9:52 PM
This is more pronounciation but Forhead (forehead) is quite funny to english people. I think we say it so fast we do not have time to pronounce all the letters:)
I haven't noticed (that it's not used elsewhere - that's certainly the pronunciation here). It's a common enough way for pronunciations to drift, the people of Norf'k, Dur'm or Bournem'th will appreciate.

seanfhear
12/01/2010, 9:57 PM
I haven't noticed (that it's not used elsewhere - that's certainly the pronunciation here). It's a common enough way for pronunciations to drift, the people of Norf'k, Dur'm or Bournem'th will appreciate.
Maybe its just Londoners then that know me:p

12/01/2010, 10:05 PM
drinking copious amounts of tea

sligo23
12/01/2010, 11:02 PM
"Dya know who died..."

Deckydee
13/01/2010, 8:09 AM
"Dya know who died..."

........the lad above in the coffin as far as I know" :D

smellyfeet
13/01/2010, 8:25 AM
When heading to ball... On the nogging, on the sallynogging, or , do ya want a game on nods.

When saying that someone is crazy,, He's off his tits

When having a cup of tea, A cup of Scald

danthesaint
13/01/2010, 11:48 AM
How we tell people what state we were in the night before

oh i was off my tits (as above)
i was banjo'd or mouldy last night

Wolfie
13/01/2010, 12:10 PM
Its uniquely Irish to discuss amongst ourselves how f*cking unique we are.

peadar1987
13/01/2010, 12:19 PM

To be fair, every nation does this. The English have the impression that they're more reserved and better bred than the continentals, the French think they're more classy and suave than everyone else. The only country that don't seem to do it, in my experience, is the Yanks, who will continue to identify with a specific group, years after they're no longer eligible for citizenship. In America, fourth, fifth, or sixth generation US citizens are still referred to, by themselves and others, as Italians, Irish, Poles, Germans etc, which I find strange.

13/01/2010, 12:28 PM
In America, fourth, fifth, or sixth generation US citizens are still referred to, by themselves and others, as Italians, Irish, Poles, Germans etc, which I find strange.
I suppose it's because emigration was such a wrench at the time. Listen to contemporaneous songs like The Emigrant's Letter by Percy French and you'll get some sort of an idea how much Ireland meant to people who often had no choice but to leave. It's understandable in a way that they wanted to pass that down the generations.

Wolfie
13/01/2010, 12:34 PM
To be fair, every nation does this. The English have the impression that they're more reserved and better bred than the continentals, the French think they're more classy and suave than everyone else.

That's nations congratulating themselves on how superior they are.

That's most certainly not what I (jokingly) was referring to in my post.

13/01/2010, 12:49 PM
I suppose it's because emigration was such a wrench at the time. Listen to contemporaneous songs like The Emigrant's Letter by Percy French and you'll get some sort of an idea how much Ireland meant to people who often had no choice but to leave. It's understandable in a way that they wanted to pass that down the generations.

far away hills.

13/01/2010, 1:01 PM
To be fair, every nation does this. The English have the impression that they're more reserved and better bred than the continentals, the French think they're more classy and suave than everyone else. The only country that don't seem to do it, in my experience, is the Yanks, who will continue to identify with a specific group, years after they're no longer eligible for citizenship. In America, fourth, fifth, or sixth generation US citizens are still referred to, by themselves and others, as Italians, Irish, Poles, Germans etc, which I find strange.
Strangely, the Americans reserve that kind of thing for their country rather than their citizens. America is the best at everything (an opinion which is most widespread among the poorest, not including recent immigrants), but Americans - well, how much is he worth?

13/01/2010, 1:44 PM

Japanese people do it much more than Irish.

13/01/2010, 2:05 PM
arrah musha would ye be quiet.

he is quite near.

he's a little pup.

she's a bit of a rap.

he's a proper buck.

more up north but, that fella is a little touched.

queer meaning funny, in a strange way.

i think we could start a little irish version of www.irishurbandictionary.com

smellyfeet
13/01/2010, 2:10 PM
Get up the yard

seanfhear
13/01/2010, 2:54 PM
The quare one

The quare fella

13/01/2010, 3:15 PM
Orders followed by questions...
You'll have a cup of tea, won't you?
Rather than
Would you like a cup of tea?

smellyfeet
13/01/2010, 3:57 PM
Hurley
Sliotor
Camogie
Muck Savage
Muck Spreaders
The GAA

Any Word starting with SL becomes SHL, as in, I'm off to bed for a Shleep, or i'm off to Shligo.

If a persons name is Walsh, we called them Welsh, well in Kilkenny they do anyway.

Ozymandias
13/01/2010, 4:24 PM
I'll do it now in a minute

smellyfeet
13/01/2010, 4:27 PM
I'll do it now in a minute

1 sec

old git
13/01/2010, 8:15 PM
complete strangers ( usually oldfellas) saluting you as you drive through the countryside :D

13/01/2010, 8:32 PM
love that

ken foree
13/01/2010, 8:51 PM
...and the references to Yer Man & Yer Wan

ahh so true about your man, when i say it many americans here invariably respond with "he's not MY man" in an attempt to disassociate themselves from potentially unbecoming behavior.. i'm thinking 'nooo no dolt, i know he's not YOUR man..."

Mad Moose
14/01/2010, 12:01 PM
complete strangers ( usually oldfellas) saluting you as you drive through the countryside :D

Aah ya see I still do this here so driving around the Dales I would randomly salute oncoming drivers or pedestrians. I don't get many return salutes but occasionally

14/01/2010, 12:03 PM
I like the fact that we call the police the 'guards'...

Wolfie
14/01/2010, 12:04 PM
Japanese people do it much more than Irish.

Could be a Catholic guilt thing.

smellyfeet
14/01/2010, 12:08 PM
We turn our heads to the side ( i do it to the right side ) to say hi.

Fella that used to work with me was from Swaziland, he would shift his head up a little, fairly fast tho, strange how these things come about.

smellyfeet
14/01/2010, 12:14 PM
I like the fact that we call the police the 'guards'...

Its because they are The Garda Siochana, Not the Guards.

14/01/2010, 12:21 PM
Ya exactly pauro, wasnt that obvious!!

14/01/2010, 12:29 PM
Its because they are The Garda Siochana, Not the Guards.

That's what I meant... anyway..

14/01/2010, 2:51 PM
We turn our heads to the side ( i do it to the right side ) to say hi.

I've often wondered if the side to which we turn our heads is related to on which side (left or right) the person will pass. I think we give a little jerk of the chin, but generally away from the side that the person will pass us.

smellyfeet
14/01/2010, 3:21 PM
I've often wondered if the side to which we turn our heads is related to on which side (left or right) the person will pass. I think we give a little jerk of the chin, but generally away from the side that the person will pass us.

I'm not sure...., but fair point tho osarusun.

Only reason i say this is, what would my Swazi friend be doing.:confused:

14/01/2010, 3:25 PM
I'm not sure...., but fair point tho osarusun.

Only reason i say this is, what would my Swazi friend be doing.:confused:
I wonder if we don't jerk our heads straight up in the air as well (raising our eyebrows at the same time), but that means "I recognise your arrival", whereas the sideways jerk means "a'right".

14/01/2010, 3:55 PM
What though sets us apart as a people.Voting for Fianna Fail, complaining about what they do in power, then voting for Fianna Fail again.

14/01/2010, 4:11 PM
Voting for Fianna Fail, complaining about what they do in power, then voting for Fianna Fail again.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_presidential_election,_2004

14/01/2010, 4:16 PM
Don't think George Bush is Fianna Fáil. ;)

14/01/2010, 5:04 PM
He has a point though... :)

Mad Moose
14/01/2010, 6:49 PM
I wonder if we don't jerk our heads straight up in the air as well (raising our eyebrows at the same time), but that means "I recognise your arrival", whereas the sideways jerk means "a'right".

Thank you. 5 pages in and we have the definitive answer. This is the most uniquely Irish thing we do actually. I've grown up with it and still do it at home. I always thought the upward jerk of the head and associated eyebrow movement was acknowledgement and 'a'right'. Actually now I try it sideways and its the same. We have a winner though.

Why do we do it and whats its origins?

14/01/2010, 7:40 PM
Thank you. 5 pages in and we have the definitive answer. This is the most uniquely Irish thing we do actually. I've grown up with it and still do it at home. I always thought the upward jerk of the head and associated eyebrow movement was acknowledgement and 'a'right'. Actually now I try it sideways and its the same. We have a winner though.

Why do we do it and whats its origins?
Hmmm...Lack of a sexual relationship, therefore we like to jerk our heads?

Deckydee
15/01/2010, 6:41 AM
He made a big shobuck about it - He made a big deal about it

He lepped out of nowhere - He jumped out of nowhere

endabob1
15/01/2010, 7:22 AM
Voting for Fianna Fail, complaining about what they do in power, then voting for Fianna Fail again.

Change Fianna Fail for the ANC and you have South Africa's favourite pastime summed up.

Deckydee
15/01/2010, 8:13 AM
Well Ware - When you get a new car

Fair F*cks to ya - When you do something good

smellyfeet
15/01/2010, 9:25 AM
Going to Mass and standing outside.

First alcaholic drink being Cider, Linden Village.

Deckydee
15/01/2010, 10:32 AM
Going to Mass and standing outside.

First alcaholic drink being Cider, Linden Village.

For me it was a 'naggin' of Vodka

Is that a unique irish word?

How about a 'flaggin' of Linden Village?

smellyfeet
15/01/2010, 11:17 AM
When saying something is mean, Thats Lowzy

Deckydee
15/01/2010, 11:43 AM
HOLLY -- e.g "I gave it holly".......I put a fair bit of effort into it
****** -- Pat Spillane, a dangerous player or any Clare players or supporters
MIGHTY -- very good
HAMES -- a right ****e e.g. "He made a hames of that chance"
TIMBER -- Intimidation of a hurling opponent e.g. "Show him some timber"
LAMP -- A good thump e.g. "I swung for the sliothar, missed by three feet and lamped the fullback.
A CROWD -- A gathering of people who watch a match and hope for random acts of violence e.g. Clare supporters
MANTACH (east Galway)--- missing front teeth eg Mairtin Staunton is mantach
SCHKELP -- to remove living tissue in the absence of surgical procedures e.g. "That ****** of a fullback took a schkelp outta me leg".
HATCHET MAN -- Mountainy type, uses hunter/gatherer instincts
BULLIN' -- Angry e.g "The fullforward was bullin after I lamped him".
BULL THICK -- very angry e.g. "The fullforward was bull thick after I lamped him again".
CITEOG -- left sided player. Takes frees by putting the hurley between his legs.
JOULT -- A push e.g. "I gave him a joult and he's wearing a neck brace with two weeks".
THE COMM-A-TEE -- Local GAA bull****ters in general.
BUSHTED -- An undefined soreness e.g. "Jayz me finger is bushted".
THE BOMBER -- Popular name for a fat hairy GAA player
TULLYALLEN (Meath)-- Extra effort to achieve height and length in a clearance ("Give it Tullyallen"). Also common in Louth
HANG SANGWIDGE -- Consumed with "tay" by the Tipp supporters on the sides of roads after matches in Croker or Thurles, usually contains half a pound of butther.
RAKE -- A great amount of anything, usually pints of Guinness the night before a big match.
INDANAMAJAYSUS! (in da nama Jaysus) -- What was that for ref !
YA ****** YA -- Corner back's recognition of a score by his opponent
LEH-IT-IN-TA-****-WUD-YA -- Full forward's appeal to a midfielder for a more timely delivery of the pass.
MULLOCKER -- untidy or awkward player released for matches.
BURST THE ****** -- instructions from the sideline to tackle your man.
ROW -- disagreement involving four or more players.
MASSIVE ROW -- disagreement involvong both teams, including goalies, subs and supporters jumping fences.
ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE -- a massive row that continues out in the parking area or dressing room areas, usually resolved by the Gardaí.

15/01/2010, 1:19 PM
For me it was a 'naggin' of Vodka

Is that a unique irish word?

How about a 'flaggin' of Linden Village?

maybe not.

flaggin is two litres.

i thought naggin was incorrect terminology and its "an agen"(sp) but cant find anything in google.