View Full Version : Uniquely Irish

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

stann
15/01/2010, 4:06 PM
A naggin (correct spelling) in the Irish pub trade is a set size of bottle (almost sure it's 8 measures), but it's not an especially Irish word I don't think.

A flagon is not 2 litres, it's just a large capacity vessel, though it is often used in Ireland to refer to the 2 litre plastic cider bottles. You also had the glass bottle flagon of red lemonade, for example, in the pubs down this way at least, which was about 700/750 ml I think.

irishultra
16/01/2010, 2:04 AM
disagreeing with basically every teaching of the catholic church but not having the awarness to call themselves just christians or theists(id say many irish do believe in some 'higher force')

16/01/2010, 2:01 PM
disagreeing with basically every teaching of the catholic church but not having the awarness to call themselves just christians or theists(id say many irish do believe in some 'higher force')

XUVNZFylTdo

16/01/2010, 2:05 PM
XUVNZFylTdo
Funny, but slightly inaccurate:
http://www.countmeout.ie/

16/01/2010, 3:13 PM
The concept of "craic".

I always find it hard to explain to someone who's never been to Ireland what it is. It feels like more than just a "good night out".

SilkCut
19/01/2010, 1:57 AM
Irish people (by which I mean me) swear a **** load, by the way. I always notice it when I'm abroad. Particularly in England, cos of the lack of a language barrier.

Ha Ha I find the Aussies love when I swear, its what we appear to be known for. I think they just like how it sounds when we use the word F#ck, when other nationalities use it it sounds harsh and confrontational, when we use it its just like part of the sentance. What the F#ck? Where the F#ck? Who the F#ck? Get to F#ck. I will in me F#ck. They love it, possibly because words like d1ckhead and wank3r are everyday words here, as in regulars on tv including the news and ads.

Tommy Tiernan put it best.
The english language is a wall between me and you, and F#ck is my chisel.

19/01/2010, 12:56 PM
I love when the americans say "lets F**k"

Deckydee
21/01/2010, 10:14 AM
The poor 'creator'

Old people usually say that

21/01/2010, 10:21 AM
The poor 'creator'

Old people usually say that
It's 'créatúr' - Irish for 'creature'.

smellyfeet
21/01/2010, 10:34 AM
kick the sh1t out of ya
bate the crap outa him
ring his neck
Knock seven colours of sh1t.

21/01/2010, 10:44 AM
ring his neck
Wring. Not uniquely Irish at all. It's how you kill a chicken.

smellyfeet
21/01/2010, 10:49 AM
Wring. Not uniquely Irish at all. It's how you kill a chicken.

I'll ring your neck, hows that.:)

21/01/2010, 11:04 AM
I'll ring your neck, hows that.:)
Well, I have been accused of having a brass neck, but it'd be a first. :p

smellyfeet
21/01/2010, 12:08 PM
Well, I have been accused of having a brass neck, but it'd be a first. :p

You have some neck, is that Uniquely Irish

21/01/2010, 12:57 PM
I think it is, yes.

smellyfeet
21/01/2010, 1:38 PM
When Munster Rugby Fans sing the fields of Athenry, Isn't Athenry in Connacht.

stann
22/01/2010, 6:37 AM
You have some neck, is that Uniquely Irish

Just the general use of some in that sense is probably unique I'd guess? As in plenty of, a lot, or big.
You've some neck, there's some b****xes in that place, some hammer in your trousers boy!

Also, inviting a response to a statement with the addition of wha? to the end. [for the townies]

Referring to all soft drinks under the blanket term mineral (often pronounced with a gh somewhere in the middle) [for the culchies]

oscar
22/01/2010, 8:23 AM
getting twisted,dying with a hangover the next day,swearing we'll never do it again then low and behold we do it all over again:D

22/01/2010, 8:56 AM
"I did so I did."

"He did so he did. "

etc.

22/01/2010, 9:27 AM
"I did so I did."
I can't help it: when I read that, it's Steve Staunton's voice I 'hear'.

22/01/2010, 9:31 AM
Referring to all soft drinks under the blanket term mineral (often pronounced with a gh somewhere in the middle) [for the culchies]
On that, does pronouncing "sandwiches" with either as "samwidges" or as "sangidges" count?

Calcio Jack
22/01/2010, 9:57 AM
Inner city urchins in Dublin shops asking "...gis a package of cripps mister...."

22/01/2010, 12:29 PM
On that, does pronouncing "sandwiches" with either as "samwidges" or as "sangidges" count?

now you are talking about pronounciation but you still have it wrong. Its sangwidges, tae and hang sangwidges. And Nittles too. Hopital or something liket hat, bungle bee for bumble bee.

My favourite:

Did you re-ges-ter the horse. :D

Or

Wheres his cer-ti-fic-ate?

22/01/2010, 12:45 PM
Definitely a sangidge, not a sangwidge.

smellyfeet
22/01/2010, 1:34 PM
Definitely a sangidge, not a sangwidge.

Heard sangwidge alright but not sangidge, suppose it depends on what part of the country your at.

smellyfeet
22/01/2010, 1:42 PM
The Men left the scene in a red vehicil, The Gardai.

Also, My friends Da's name is Matty, but they all call him Mahhy:rolleyes:

23/01/2010, 12:54 PM
Cogging homework and mitching school.

Mad Moose
23/01/2010, 2:28 PM
mitching school.

I think we used to say scheming school. Not sure of its origins.

Mad Moose
23/01/2010, 4:12 PM
chicken tandoori and rice.

Well maybe the Birdseye range :D

peadar1987
23/01/2010, 10:26 PM
Grinds

Wearing the face off of

Not in the slightest way related!

23/01/2010, 10:33 PM
Getting the jo maxi into town...

24/01/2010, 1:54 PM
Getting the shift.Then wiping your friends eye(stealing the girl)...:D

juan
27/01/2010, 12:00 AM
Then wiping your friends eye(stealing the girl)...:D

I've only ever heard that once. I was out enjoying myself in a City centre nightspot a few years ago. I was throwing down a few moves on the dancefloor and i ,literally, bumped into a girl i knew from work, we started chatting for a few mins when her boyfriend, whom a i knew, signalled her over. My friend came over and started sayin he wiped my eye. Me being in my drunken state began to touch my eye to see if it was damp.

smellyfeet
27/01/2010, 9:02 AM
Go training tuesday and thursday and then don't show up for game on sunday.

smellyfeet
27/01/2010, 4:29 PM
the bodhrán

28/01/2010, 12:46 PM
using "could of" where "could have" should be used.

Thanks ifk for that one ;)

Wolfie
28/01/2010, 12:51 PM
10 pages. We're not that f*ucking unique, are we?

28/01/2010, 1:21 PM
10 pages. We're not that f*ucking unique, are we?
How do you catch a unique Irishman?

Unique up on him!:D

stann
28/01/2010, 11:11 PM

Absolutely not unique. Hugely prevalent in the UK too. For one thing I recall Carol Vorderman taking the p!ss out of it many a time on Countdown! :D

Jo Maxi is a funny one, that is uniquely Irish I'd say, but for a different reason than you might think.
It began as Joe Baxi, originally English slang for a taxi (probably after the boxer Joe Baksi), and that got a new lease of life and became Jo Maxi over here because of the kids programme of the same name in the late 80s / early 90s.

29/01/2010, 1:07 AM
Was told today by a dub, roscommoner, & 2 cavan men that this is uniquely Monaghan but not sure about this:

"I would rather be looking at it than looking for it"

BillytheFin
30/01/2010, 5:41 PM
tayto sandwichs

brianw82
30/01/2010, 7:51 PM

I always thought that was just people not knowing how to spell properly?

31/01/2010, 9:34 AM
Jo Maxi is a funny one, that is uniquely Irish I'd say, but for a different reason than you might think.
It began as Joe Baxi, originally English slang for a taxi (probably after the boxer Joe Baksi), and that got a new lease of life and became Jo Maxi over here because of the kids programme of the same name in the late 80s / early 90s.

I always thought that was purely because of the kids TV show. Interesting to know that..

Saying 'cmere till I tell ya' on the phone...

01/02/2010, 12:46 PM
Where's the thanks button when you need it?

02/02/2010, 7:38 AM

I blame the Irish education system brainw82. You should do too as you have always believed a grammar mistake was a spelling mistake ....

02/02/2010, 10:30 AM
It's a bit of both: a phonetic spelling of "could've".

smellyfeet
02/02/2010, 12:05 PM
When playing fooball, someone says,"watch you house" or just "house", is it mostly in Dublin they say it?

stann
02/02/2010, 7:09 PM
I think it is, yeah.
First time I heard it anyway was from a lad who had been in Dublin for years before moving back down here.
Most other parts of the country would have "Man on!" I suppose.
Fella I used to play with used to helpfully communicate the very, very close proximity of an opponent with the somewhat regrettable variation "Hard on!" :D

redobit
03/02/2010, 9:31 AM
When passing someone and they say all in one go:

'How are you Im grand thanks'.

The person will ask how you are and reply how they are, without you even saying a word to them.

03/02/2010, 11:50 AM
everyone in longford says ''(watch your)house'' aswell