View Full Version : Pre-season friendlies 2010

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

seand60
10/02/2010, 2:41 PM
Are Athlone not due to play Sligo on Saturday?

Presume game is off so?

10/02/2010, 3:11 PM
Actually, gufct is implying there that Rovers and Bohs' budgets are the same (which is pretty certainly not true) and that Sligo's budget is 3/4s of both (which cannot possibly be true). Bohs' budget is about E40k a week, so he's implying that Sligo's is E30k a week whereas poor little Galway's is E10k a week. I think it's clear he's talking nonsense.

GalwayRed
10/02/2010, 3:16 PM
Was at the Galway-Mervue game. Galway were completely outplayed second half. I know it was mainly trialists but I was expecting them to be better than that.

gufc2000
10/02/2010, 3:22 PM
Actually, gufct is implying there that Rovers and Bohs' budgets are the same (which is pretty certainly not true) and that Sligo's budget is 3/4s of both (which cannot possibly be true). Bohs' budget is about E40k a week, so he's implying that Sligo's is E30k a week whereas poor little Galway's is E10k a week. I think it's clear he's talking nonsense.
A rough estimate at our budget would be E3k a week

10/02/2010, 3:24 PM
Could well believe that. It shows gufct is making up numbers to suit himself again. No way are Bohs on E12k a week.

10/02/2010, 3:30 PM
his lack of accuracy on the exact figures doesnt make his point any less valid... no need for the sniping.

10/02/2010, 3:41 PM
gufct has a habit of making up numbers to "prove" points in a condescending way, and I think it's fair to challenge him on that.

Also, he wasn't making a point; a comparison between Galway and Bohs' budgets is irrelevant when talking about them losing a friendly to Mervue.

gufcfan
10/02/2010, 4:29 PM
poor little Galway's is E10k a week.
€10k a week? hahahahaha... We fcuking wish.

10/02/2010, 9:28 PM
what was the game like? we look any bit decent?

Donohoe10
10/02/2010, 9:42 PM

game was alri!!! first half was poor second half much better... use did ok first half but second half use couldn't hanble gareth coughlan on the left wing he ripped use apart.

10/02/2010, 11:11 PM
allegedly about €3,500 but i better get that spot on for Mr. perfect himself.

danthesaint
11/02/2010, 8:19 AM

no, i thought yaz were very poor imo, altho you cant really read into it this early.
game wasnt the best, we created a few chances in first half, but they died down abit, until coughlan came on.
not many town fans came down i dont think, 3 or 4 were in the pub anyway

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hz7YNYUAtgI - Guy 1-0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6kbLjWtAdA - Coughlan 2-0

danthesaint
11/02/2010, 8:36 AM
did anyone hear anything about what happened at the Rovers and Shels game the other night??

11/02/2010, 9:00 AM
Indo report today: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/no-security-on-luas-as-football-thugs-ran-riot-2058042.html

From earlier reports it sounded like innocent Shels fans being ambushed but this puts another spin on it.

11/02/2010, 9:01 AM
allegedly about €3,500 but i better get that spot on for Mr. perfect himself.
Heaven forbid someone take you to task for repeatedly talking nonsense.

danthesaint
11/02/2010, 9:19 AM
Indo report today: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/no-security-on-luas-as-football-thugs-ran-riot-2058042.html

From earlier reports it sounded like innocent Shels fans being ambushed but this puts another spin on it.

i dont think thats the full story there, i heard other things happend, i heard last night, that 2 separate shels fans were set upon by some rovers fans and got a hiding as well, i think then someone else tried to help them and he got a worse hiding than the 2 youngfellas

11/02/2010, 9:21 AM
Given how these stories always (and I mean always) run on here, can we leave out hearsay and either discuss facts or don't discuss it at all?

**FrOsTy**
11/02/2010, 10:10 AM
We played Cork Oscar Traynor last night beating them 3-0. Close range finish from Timmy Purcell from a Vinny Sullivan cross. Vinny Sullivan then doubled the lead with a fantastic cross goal volley into the top corner from 25 yards. Willy John Kiely was then fouled in the box and he picked himself home to hammer home the peno.

Liam Kearney and Timmy Purcell were impressive. We look like were short a goalscorer and a centre half.

pmgraham
11/02/2010, 12:03 PM
I'm new to this forum and I will be visiting Dublin for the first time Feb 28 - Mar 4. I was hoping to find a match of any level to watch. I understand that the premiere league will begin right after I leave, so my timing was not good for this visit. Can anyone tell me when and where there might be some matches to attend?

- Patrick Graham

Candystripe
11/02/2010, 2:24 PM
Derry City beat Institute 3-0 last night away from home.

A great deal of lovely football was played from the new look young Derry players.

Farren,Molloy,Deery,Doherty,Parkhouse and McLean didn't play.

About 300-400 Derry fans attended.

11/02/2010, 2:43 PM
I'm new to this forum and I will be visiting Dublin for the first time Feb 28 - Mar 4. I was hoping to find a match of any level to watch.
League games begin on 5 March alright.

Bangor Celtic play UCD on 28 February, though the venue isn't decided yet. It's in the Leinster Senior Cup, but will basically be a friendly. Possibly even a fence around a pitch job. Other LSC games are down for that weekend too.

11/02/2010, 4:45 PM
http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/gardai-hunt-football-thugs-in-brutal-luas-attack-on-rival-fans-2058612.html

Gardai hunt football thugs in brutal Luas attack on rival fans
FEAR: Shels supporters set upon by Rovers gang
By Cormac Byrne

Thursday February 11 2010

Gardai are investigating a soccer riot which occurred on the Luas when a group of Shamrock Rovers fans kicked and punched opposing fans.

The incident took place after a friendly game between Rovers and Shelbourne last Friday.

As many as seven Rovers fans set upon a Shelbourne supporter, while another two who tried to diffuse the situation took a heavy beating from the thugs.

The attack last Friday took place at 10.20pm between the Belgard and Kingswood stops on the Luas Red Line and gardai are investigating CCTV footage to try to identify the thugs.

Unbelievable

One of the injured Shels fans spoke of the ordeal which occurred in front of a packed tram of innocent commuters.

"It was unbelievable, I've been involved in football for 20 years and I've never had an experience like last Friday night," the fan said.

"When they got on first they walked right down the carriage, they were scoping out who was on the tram, they picked out a Shelbourne fan and started throwing digs at him. He hit the ground and they started kicking and punching him.

"My friend and I tried to separate them and we stood over the poor guy on the ground and then they started hitting us.

"My mate had a busted nose and I got a belt over the eye, an ambulance worker told me after that the person who hit me had to have been wearing a large ring or a knuckle duster.

"I have two black eyes from the attack which was completely unprovoked, it happened so fast, all within one stop.

"They knew what they were doing. They started the row a minute before the next stop and then hopped off.

"The League of Ireland clubs and the FAI have to act now before someone is seriously hurt or killed in one of these attacks."

Shamrock Rovers FC have condemned the attack. Club spokesman John Byrne said: "Since the move to Tallaght we've enjoyed fantastic success and were not going to tolerate anti-social behaviour.

"Our club is on the way up and we don't want to be associated with this kind of thuggery. If they are identified they will never get anywhere near the stadium again, they're history."

Shelbourne FC have conducted an investigation into the incident and prepared a report for the FAI and the gardai.

"Our club chairman Joe Casey made an appeal to any Shelbourne fans that witnessed or were involved in the incident to email him with the details of what happened," said a spokesperson for the club.

11/02/2010, 4:47 PM
also, Bohemians beat the Malaga "B" team in Spain today, 2-0. Goals came from Quigley and Madden. Aaron Greene was there - played and set up the first, despite rumours of a move to Dundalk.

11/02/2010, 6:40 PM
Has Raf played much for ye yet?

11/02/2010, 6:43 PM
injured himself in training prior to the Athlone game so no, he hasnt togged out. Not sure how serious it is, but i dont think its too bad.

jafrazer
11/02/2010, 11:41 PM
HD Highlights of Dundalk v Shels from Tuesday night for those of you that are interested.

http://vimeo.com/9388077

weecountyman
12/02/2010, 7:31 AM
http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/gardai-hunt-football-thugs-in-brutal-luas-attack-on-rival-fans-2058612.html

Gardai hunt football thugs in brutal Luas attack on rival fans
FEAR: Shels supporters set upon by Rovers gang
By Cormac Byrne

Thursday February 11 2010

Gardai are investigating a soccer riot which occurred on the Luas when a group of Shamrock Rovers fans kicked and punched opposing fans.

The incident took place after a friendly game between Rovers and Shelbourne last Friday.

As many as seven Rovers fans set upon a Shelbourne supporter, while another two who tried to diffuse the situation took a heavy beating from the thugs.

The attack last Friday took place at 10.20pm between the Belgard and Kingswood stops on the Luas Red Line and gardai are investigating CCTV footage to try to identify the thugs.

Unbelievable

One of the injured Shels fans spoke of the ordeal which occurred in front of a packed tram of innocent commuters.

"It was unbelievable, I've been involved in football for 20 years and I've never had an experience like last Friday night," the fan said.

"When they got on first they walked right down the carriage, they were scoping out who was on the tram, they picked out a Shelbourne fan and started throwing digs at him. He hit the ground and they started kicking and punching him.

"My friend and I tried to separate them and we stood over the poor guy on the ground and then they started hitting us.

"My mate had a busted nose and I got a belt over the eye, an ambulance worker told me after that the person who hit me had to have been wearing a large ring or a knuckle duster.

"I have two black eyes from the attack which was completely unprovoked, it happened so fast, all within one stop.

"They knew what they were doing. They started the row a minute before the next stop and then hopped off.

"The League of Ireland clubs and the FAI have to act now before someone is seriously hurt or killed in one of these attacks."

Shamrock Rovers FC have condemned the attack. Club spokesman John Byrne said: "Since the move to Tallaght we've enjoyed fantastic success and were not going to tolerate anti-social behaviour.

"Our club is on the way up and we don't want to be associated with this kind of thuggery. If they are identified they will never get anywhere near the stadium again, they're history."

Shelbourne FC have conducted an investigation into the incident and prepared a report for the FAI and the gardai.

"Our club chairman Joe Casey made an appeal to any Shelbourne fans that witnessed or were involved in the incident to email him with the details of what happened," said a spokesperson for the club.

Isn't there cctv on the Luas? Surely they'd be able to pick up the gobdaws and have them arrested, plus find out exactly what happened.

12/02/2010, 4:41 PM
League games begin on 5 March alright.

Bangor Celtic play UCD on 28 February, though the venue isn't decided yet. It's in the Leinster Senior Cup, but will basically be a friendly. Possibly even a fence around a pitch job. Other LSC games are down for that weekend too.

I always would have treated LSC games pineapple as proper games.. It was something that I meant to raise in the past..

seand60
12/02/2010, 6:48 PM
Presume game is off so?

They say never rely on somebody else to find out for you! Anyways after much detective work I have finally found out (not from an Athlone Town or Sligo Rovers source) that the game goes ahead tomorrow at the Athlone IT pitch at 3pm. I have heard about games being played behind closed doors but this is crazy. Do the clubs not want people to know about the game.

Hairy Bowsie
12/02/2010, 10:05 PM

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=1418

Also can i state how much of a digusting rag the Indo is.

gufc2000
12/02/2010, 10:57 PM
Galway and Derry tomorrow at 5pm in the Brandywell

Dillonman
12/02/2010, 11:07 PM
Was there any matches on tonight?

DRDoc
13/02/2010, 8:56 AM
Galway and Derry tomorrow at 5pm in the Brandywell

:( No - its a 6.30 kick off

gufc2000
13/02/2010, 10:15 AM
:( No - its a 6.30 kick off
It says on our official website 5pm

gufcfan
13/02/2010, 3:22 PM
Can anyone confirm the kick-off time for the Derry - Galway match?

shep
13/02/2010, 3:33 PM
Dundalk beat Bray 3-1 today .... Gaynor,Maher and Fenn for Dundalk....o neill for bray

13/02/2010, 3:43 PM
Derry game is half six.

13/02/2010, 5:28 PM
Was there any matches on tonight?

we are playin Cork City tonight in Flancare at 7.45 pm..

Doomofman
13/02/2010, 5:35 PM
We're playing Limerick tonight in Richmond... KO 7:45pm

Dillonman
13/02/2010, 5:39 PM
we are playin Cork City tonight in Flancare at 7.45 pm..

Cheers Martinho, I asked that last night though!haha

13/02/2010, 7:26 PM
Derry City 2-1 Galway Utd FT

McLean and Sweeney for City.

13/02/2010, 7:56 PM
Derry City 2-1 Galway Utd FT

McLean and Sweeney for City.

Derke OBrien for Galway any chance of the GUFC lineup

13/02/2010, 9:08 PM
Are you a Shamrock fan HB?
More of a Loop The Loop fan I'd say given how his team have done in recent seasons.

14/02/2010, 12:11 AM
Are you a Shamrock fan HB?

yeah, he loves them.

D.24saint
14/02/2010, 1:06 AM
1 all between pats and limerick average game not much to be judged on imo

Dalymountrower
14/02/2010, 2:19 PM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=1418

Also can i state how much of a digusting rag the Indo is.

It may well be , but you`ve got to admire their investigative skills in identifying the Shels fans and whether they are barred from Tolka, and all this simply from a briefing from a Rovers PR spokesperson (allegedly)

14/02/2010, 3:52 PM
UCD beat Monaghan 2-0 this afternoon. Graham Rusk scored in the first minute and Sean Harding scored a penalty in the second half.

14/02/2010, 4:17 PM
Not a bad run out missing two of our best players (Ev and Corry). But very much a pre-season friendly.

14/02/2010, 5:59 PM
town lost 4-1 to cork city last nite.. derek glynn with our goal.. Dave Rogers was playing for cork last night..

14/02/2010, 9:07 PM
I wasn't at it but I heard that Cork didn't even have water bottles for the players. Some mess they're in!