View Full Version : Simon Cox (F Western Sydney Wanderers b.1987)
Pages :
[
5]
08/12/2011, 6:15 PM
Would love to see him get to the Euros with us. So fingers crossed.
Jaysus
08/12/2011, 8:15 PM
Cox is right to want to move.
If Trap only picks 4 strikers then it will definitely be Keane, Doyle, Long and Walters. Then he has to hope Leon Best and Connor Sammon don't score goals. Not to mention Anthony Stokes is constantly beating his own drum, who is lucky that playing for such a big club (albeit in a poor league) is giving him so much exposure...not sure if that will count for anything in the end though.
09/12/2011, 10:22 AM
I would be slightly worried that either Long's or Doyle's places could be in danger having regard to some of Trap's comments concering the pair of them, especially Doyle who doesn't seem to have fully recovered from his injury. Still a lot of water to go under the bridge yet before Euro 2012 and it's unlikely that all will be fit for the tournament so it may sort itself out.
IsMiseSean
03/01/2012, 6:10 PM
Starts tonight against Spurs. Long misses out..
03/01/2012, 6:45 PM
Long is not even on the bench, is he injured?
It would seem he is. (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2081335/Tottenham-v-WEST-BROM-Injury-doubts-Chris-Brunt-Shane-Long.html?ito=feeds-newsxml)
Not sure which game to watch West Brom or Wigan.
he is injured according to BBC.
CraftyToePoke
04/01/2012, 2:53 PM
The i-paper today says Cox lined up on the right of a three man midfield behind a lone striker on their formation image. Interesting.
04/01/2012, 4:36 PM
The i-paper today says Cox lined up on the right of a three man midfield behind a lone striker on their formation image. Interesting.
6-3-1? Are you sure?
04/01/2012, 5:11 PM
I think he means this 4-2-3-1 thingy. Like what we played a bit last year.
CraftyToePoke
04/01/2012, 7:29 PM
I think he means this 4-2-3-1 thingy. Like what we played a bit last year.
Yes, this is what I meant. Let the record show.
toffeeforever
05/01/2012, 12:38 AM
great to see cox get a run but think he needs to look to new pastures if he wants to get his place on plane seat in June
05/01/2012, 1:58 AM
I think he's accepted as much himself. I reckon he's probably got his agent on the move as we speak. The game yesterday will have been a bonus but I don't think he'll expect to have a chance of getting in the first team.
theworm2345
07/01/2012, 4:00 PM
Hat trick for Cox today against Cardiff in the FA Cup.
Olé Olé
07/01/2012, 4:26 PM
Delighted with Cox's hat-trick. It's not as if they were playing a far lower league side and his goals were crucial. Hopefully he'll kick on for the rest of the season, but not necessarily to the detriment of the progress Long has made.
worth mentioning that Joe Mason got one for Cardiff today too.
It was in yesterdays times that Cox wants out of WBA as not getting game time he fears will ruin his chances of going to Poland. However, Hodgson has told him that he is going nowhere that he rates him and wants him in the squad.
I think the goals at the wkd were his first since that screamer he got away to Spurs last year.
09/01/2012, 9:32 AM
It was in yesterdays times that Cox wants out of WBA as not getting game time he fears will ruin his chances of going to Poland. However, Hodgson has told him that he is going nowhere that he rates him and wants him in the squad.
I think the goals at the wkd were his first since that screamer he got away to Spurs last year.Scored in the League Cup against Bournemouth in August: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=42170
09/01/2012, 10:03 AM
Keane, Doyle, Long, Cox, Walters: hard to see either Best or Stokes getting in ahead of any of those, injuries apart.
Murfinator
09/01/2012, 6:06 PM
I think he'll bring Keogh as a utility backup and leave one of those 5 at home personally. Don't think it'd be Cox though as he sees him as the most like for like replacement for Keane. It'd most likely be either Long or Walters.
Best and Stokes have zero chance unless theres 2 or more injuries.
the bear
09/01/2012, 6:14 PM
I think he'll bring Keogh as a utility backup and leave one of those 5 at home personally. Don't think it'd be Cox though as he sees him as the most like for like replacement for Keane. It'd most likely be either Long or Walters.
Best and Stokes have zero chance unless theres 2 or more injuries.
he'd want his head checked if he brought keogh instead of any of the 5 strikers, especially considering long doyle and walters can all play right wing as back up as well and in contrast to keogh can actually do it well
Murfinator
09/01/2012, 8:10 PM
I know Walters can but Trap has never played him there before, if he doesn't in the friendlies it may not be something he'd be willing to do in a tournament. When has Doyle last played right wing?
the bear
09/01/2012, 8:44 PM
watched doyle play RW for wolves for the second half a match a month or 2 ago, can't remember who it was against, but they started with him and fletcher up front as then pulled him out wide.
i'm not saying that doyler should be played on the wing, my main point is that keogh is crap especially on the wing
backstothewall
09/01/2012, 8:50 PM
I'd say the striking positions are picked already. Keane Doyle, Long Cox Walters. Can't see anyone else getting in.
Carrigaline
09/01/2012, 11:53 PM
I think he'll bring Keogh as a utility backup and leave one of those 5 at home personally. Don't think it'd be Cox though as he sees him as the most like for like replacement for Keane. It'd most likely be either Long or Walters.Keogh is almost certainly not ahead of Long or Walters. If that was the case, he would have started ahead of Walters against Estonia and he has had far less game time than Long in this campaign.
10/01/2012, 2:42 AM
I'm always been an advocate of Keogh in the squad but I think Walters has replaced him in Trap's mind, and he is a far better option there. I don't think Keogh will on the plane unless it's as a steward.
TrapAPony
14/01/2012, 2:18 PM
Starts today v Norwich. Long on the bench.
theworm2345
21/01/2012, 2:29 PM
Very lively start for Cox, but not necessarily strong. Has has two chances that he has got pretty badly wrong, then on a counter attack which was basically 3 on 3 he took it down the right and just gave it away. To top it off took a Glenn Whelan free kick right to the fact a moment ago.
EDIT: Just got put clean through by a look Foster kick (very windy day at the Britannia) but scuffed his shot somewhat...should've scored.
Carrigaline
01/02/2012, 7:28 PM
He's starting on right wing for West Brom tonight and having an excellent game so far. Easy to see why Trap would like him, for a forward player, he tracks back and is very mobile and puts himself about. Set up two great chances for Odemwingie and Fortune which they both managed to miss.
Carrigaline
01/02/2012, 7:31 PM
Just played another quality ball in behind the Fulham defence to put Odemwingie through. Shame he fell over the ball before he had a chance to shoot.
07/02/2012, 9:32 AM
Linked with a loan move to Brighton in the morning's papers
Carrigaline
07/05/2012, 10:56 AM
Nabbed an assist for the Baggies in their game against Bolton.
http://www.101greatgoals.com/gvideos/bolton-2-west-brom-2-motd/
07/05/2012, 2:17 PM
Quite a decent assist. Not sure if he knew the player was there but it was a dangerous ball regardless of whether he did or not.
DannyInvincible
10/05/2012, 2:03 AM
'Plastic Paddy jibe hurt us - Cox (Baggies ace states his passion for Ireland and wants full backing for Euro bid)' : http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/plastic-paddy-jibe-hurt-us-cox-3103397.html
Good interview with Aiden Fitzmaurice. I really like Cox's attitude. Rightly rubbishes what Ian Harte said the other day and speaks of his pride of playing for his country.
Olé Olé
10/05/2012, 10:56 AM
Nice comments from Cox referring to "my country." Interesting point regarding 17 of the 23 being born in Ireland. Further to that, I'm aware that Foley's first choice was always going to be Ireland and McGeady chose us from a young age too. Walter's connection is less than tenuous with an Irish mother. As regards Westwood, St. Ledger and Cox who rely on grandparents (like McGeady), they have always performed with great commitment.
From the 2002 World Cup squad, 11 out of 23 were English-born.
DannyInvincible
10/05/2012, 1:34 PM
A squad of which Ian Harte was part, of course, yet he makes daft and insulting remarks about the current squad featuring too many players born outside of Ireland?
10/05/2012, 2:46 PM
Did Cox not say ages back, around the time declared, that he didn't feel Irish as such but did feel acutely aware of his Irish roots? Stuff like his granny drinking whiskey and singing rebel songs at family gatherings.
I like Cox and have no issues with 2G Irish playing for us, though I prefer them to be in the minority as they are now, but "playing for my country" is quite a departure from what he said a couple of years ago.
10/05/2012, 2:48 PM
A squad of which Ian Harte was part, of course, yet he makes daft and insulting remarks about the current squad featuring too many players born outside of Ireland?
Ian Harte went down in my underestimation after those comments.
10/05/2012, 3:01 PM
does anyone remember quinn and townsend during the 1998 world cup on rte when england went out and quinn laughing and loving it on the phone in, and townsend just looking on in shock and disgust at him?
Murfinator
10/05/2012, 3:05 PM
Interesting point regarding 17 of the 23 being born in Ireland.
For comparison 28 out of 30 of the Rugby world cup squad were brought up in Ireland, we've still a high rate of "granny rule" players compared to other squads in the same or different sports, its progressive from what we used to have though it's still not anything to trumpet about.
I would have sympathy for Harte although his comments while aimed at different people is obviously going to hurt the likes of Kilbane etc. To dismiss them as irrelevant given the higher rate of earlier retirements and withdrawals we have with foreign raised players would be incredibly naive. For every Kilbane that we're proud to have represent us there's an Andy O'Brien with questionable commitment.
DannyInvincible
10/05/2012, 3:32 PM
Ian Harte went down in my underestimation after those comments.
Ha, I'm trying to decipher what that means exactly. Does it mean he went up in your estimation or went down even further than your already low opinion of him?
10/05/2012, 4:01 PM
Brought up in Ireland? So that gives you a chance to include ROG (USA) and Heaslip (Israel)?
The idea of calling someone like Kevin Kilbane plastic would be remarkable, even for you Murf?
And what about the London-born Dave O'Leary and Paul McGrath? Are they plastic too?
Edit: Murf edited before the inevitable onslaught.
DannyInvincible
10/05/2012, 4:09 PM
For comparison 28 out of 30 of the Rugby world cup squad were brought up in Ireland, we've still a high rate of "granny rule" players compared to other squads in the same or different sports, its progressive from what we used to have though it's still not anything to trumpet about.
It's not anything abnormal though either, is it? I mean, the rules and the rights they confer are there to be used, plus I think a healthy number of second or third generation players in the squad represents Irish heritage with its history of mass emigration rather well. Not to shirk the FAI of their duties within Ireland either, of course, but we'd still be a very competitive force even if we ignored diaspora players.
Came across this the other day: http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2012/0503/1224315584161.html
Lacking local talent, Poland searched far and wide for players with Polish roots.The squad includes defenders Damien Perquis from Sochaux and Werder Bremen's Sebastian Boenisch, as well as midfielders Ludovic Obraniak from Bordeaux, Fortuna Dusseldorf's Adam Matuszczyk and Mainz's Eugen Polanski. All were either born or raised abroad.
10/05/2012, 4:20 PM
Brought up in Ireland? So that gives you a chance to include ROG (USA) and Heaslip (Israel)?
The idea of calling someone like Kevin Kilbane plastic would be remarkable, even for you Murf?
And what about the London-born Dave O'Leary and Paul McGrath? Are they plastic too?
Edit: Murf edited before the inevitable onslaught.
Doesnt matter, if he wrote it initially its what he was really thinking.
Its only after measured thought he realised what he/it would sound like.
Olé Olé
10/05/2012, 4:53 PM
I'm not sure many parallels should be drawn with rugby. The players we have that aren't in effect born or raised here seem to come from Australia or New Zealand in the most part (Tom Court, Isaac Boss and Keith Gleeson prior to that, among others). While many English-born players seem to ignore very strong Irish roots; Nick Kennedy, Shane Geraghty, Declan Danagher and Kyran Bracken in particular.
Perhaps one conclusion to be drawn from this is the theory put forward by Joey Barton: if you're not good enough for England, go off and play for Ireland. That seems to be what the Australian-born players seem to do (a recent instance of a former Leinster reserve throwing his lot in with Australia may stand as an exception, can't remember his name). Whereas, the afore-mentioned England players have tended to stick with England. In this regard, Ireland and England offer a rugby player a fairly similar opportunity to play international rugby. If you're good enough to play for Ireland, by deduction you should be good enough to play for England.
Again, I'll re-iterate, it's very difficult to draw parallels due to the equal footing Ireland and England seem to stand on in rugby terms and many other factors.
If we were to lose Walters and Cox then it wouldn't be the end of the world (Keogh, Best, Stokes, Jon Daly are all doing alright at club level). Similar situation stands for Foley and St. Ledger (although he has acquitted himself well), and Westwood's doesn't play with any regularity due to given. McGeady would be the biggest loss from the group, and the emergence of McClean would come some way towards mitigating his loss.
Not that I'm intending to belittle the contribution of any of those players, just stating that they're cogs in the machine for Trap rather than standouts, in a team which does place value in all the cogs.
10/05/2012, 5:00 PM
we've still a high rate of "granny rule" players compared to other squads in the same or different sports.
To dismiss them as irrelevant given the higher rate of earlier retirements and withdrawals we have with foreign raised players would be incredibly naive. For every Kilbane that we're proud to have represent us there's an Andy O'Brien with questionable commitment.Or a Stephen Carr or Stephen Ireland - Irish born and bred and who decided they couldn't be arsed when they had plenty to give.
Other countries & other sports? Yes - but relatively marginal. England, the world no. 1 test cricket team's most impoprtant players are South African. Spain's first trophy of their recent dominance was massively down to a naturalised Brazilian, Marcos Senna. Everyone does it and across many sports.
10/05/2012, 5:04 PM
Not that I'm intending to belittle the contribution of any of those players, just stating that they're cogs in the machine for Trap rather than standouts, in a team which does place value in all the cogs.Or in other words, we used to be dependent on the granny rule, now its benefits are marginal. That is progress indeed. Not worth trumpeting but definitely worth noting. Now if only we could find a world class central midfielder - born in Tipperary or Timbuktu I couldn't care less.
AlaskaFox
10/05/2012, 6:26 PM
It's not anything abnormal though either, is it? I mean, the rules and the rights they confer are there to be used, plus I think a healthy number of second or third generation players in the squad represents Irish heritage with its history of mass emigration rather well. Not to shirk the FAI of their duties within Ireland either, of course, but we'd still be a very competitive force even if we ignored diaspora players.
Came across this the other day: http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2012/0503/1224315584161.html
3 of Germany's preliminary squad were born outside Germany - Lukas Podolski and Miroslav Klose are Poles and Cacau Brazilian. Klose's dad is German, Podolski's grandparents, while Cacau qualifies because he's lived in Germany since 1999.
Of Croatia's squad that was named today, Josip Simunic is Australian-born to Croat parents, in fact he never lived in Croatia until joining Dinamo Zagreb last year. Vedran Corluka, Nikica Jelavic, and Dejan Lovren were born in Bosnia, Ivo Ilicevic was born in Germany, Ivan Rakitic was born in Switzerland and played for their u21s, while Eduardo is Brazilian and became eligible for Croatia (like Cacau with Germany) by having lived there since 199.
10/05/2012, 6:35 PM
3 of Germany's preliminary squad were born outside Germany - Lukas Podolski and Miroslav Klose are Poles and Cacau Brazilian. Klose's dad is German, Podolski's grandparents, while Cacau qualifies because he's lived in Germany since 1999.
Germany are a special case of late as the DFB refused to pick such players until relatively recently.
Yard of Pace
10/05/2012, 6:55 PM
Ireland is a country that people leave. I couldn't care a damn if any of our players were born and raised abroad so long as they have Irish blood in them. If they're ultimately a product of Ireland (and whichever other country) that's good enough for me. My nipper is half-Polish, born in Ireland. If someone in Poland suggested for a second he shouldn't play for their national team, I'd be appalled. (Though of course Ireland get first dibs)
I think its great that so many of our squad is Irish born, particularly when you compare it to the make up of the 1990 and 1994 squads. Is the fact that there are more Irish born players in the squad an indirect result of the successes of 88/90 and 94 - you can be damn sure it is!!
Not that it really matters imo. Someone has already mentioned Killer, but Sean St Ledger is the KK for the next 5 years. You will not find a player more dedicated to the cause and who is very much in touch with fans. A real favourite in my opinion. We are very lucky that in general the non Irish born lads that come in almost always seem to have a positive influence. For example, many were very unsure of Clinton Morrison back in the day and no one can doubt the commitment he put in the green.
Finally as someone else has mentioned above we are far from the only country to draft in 2G players and why not. If anything, it is reflective of our isle.