View Full Version : Simon Cox (F Western Sydney Wanderers b.1987)

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

Razors left peg
08/01/2010, 8:27 PM
fair enough

boovidge
08/01/2010, 8:36 PM
Did anyone really think that Ireland was his first choice? If it was he'd have been in the underage squads. What he's saying is very foolish when he seems to be on the brink of an Ireland call-up though. :confused:

Junior
08/01/2010, 9:12 PM
Lads, are we not getting a bit hot under the collar about nothing here?

Here are his quotes from the Sun article

"One of the Ireland scouts told me he was going to pass on my number to their No 2 Liam Brady.

"But if the goals and performances keep coming and the England manager ever phones, I can only say my Italian is rubbish!

"I'd be searching for the right words."

A fairly inoffensive response to a lazy Sun hacks leading question Id say.

irishultra
09/01/2010, 1:26 AM
http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/2007/07/09/hibrits-irelands-loss-englands-gain

When i mentioned Rooney i was thinking of that article, claims he comes from a very Irish area of Liverpool.
Seems he comes from a fairly Irish backround tbh, a predominantly Irish immigrant area with both sides of the family having Irish connections.

And I'm not denying he sees himself as English, i was saying in the general scheme of the granny rule, he would have seemed a prime candidate to want to play for us. As opposed to someone like Cox with just one grandparent and possibly an upbringing in some normal English area

...and to you sir....... what's the point?, you've shown yourself up again, in trying to say Rooney has no connection what so ever, you haven't a clue about any subject :rolleyes:

ye sorry i get you, my point was stupid but seriously i think very few english people of irish descent would select ireland with the talent rooney had at that age. just i was thinking compare winning the world cup with ireland and england. if you win world cup with england, you then can revel in that the following season amongst the fans, the buzz would be great, compare that to if ireland won, the the players would just disperse to their british clubs after. kinda anti-climax.

Predator
09/01/2010, 1:52 AM
Did I not say he had an Irish name? Yeah he may possibly have an Irish great-grandparent or grandparent but that does not make him Irish ffs:rolleyes:
In football terms, it does allow him to represent Ireland though, which is all that really matters.

What, in your opinion, are the pre-requisites for making someone Irish?

irishultra
09/01/2010, 3:12 AM
yeah it be like saying your french because you have a name like fitzgearld.

Junior
09/01/2010, 10:32 AM
but seriously i think very few english people of irish descent would select ireland with the talent rooney had at that age. just i was thinking compare winning the world cup with ireland and england.

For someone of Irish decent to win just one cap for Ireland would mean more than winning the World Cup with England, if that person considers themselves Irish (In my opinion at least). Its obvious Wayne didnt really have that feeling of Irishness or desire to play for Ireland, no issue at all with that in my book.

It would be interesting to know why his brother has declared his interest in Ireland. Is it because he is Irish and if so I wonder why Wayne didnt have the same feelings or is it simply because he is crap and thougt what the hell Ill try them out. Either way I dont suppose he'll be getting capped anytime soon;)

EastTerracer
09/01/2010, 2:31 PM
just i was thinking compare winning the world cup with ireland and england. if you win world cup with england, you then can revel in that the following season amongst the fans, the buzz would be great, compare that to if ireland won, the the players would just disperse to their british clubs after. kinda anti-climax.

Do you honestly think that any player is concerned about the fans' reaction the next season when they go into a World Cup? What a shallow view you have of the world? As professionals I am sure that 90% of footballers would be focused on the achievment of winning the tournament - not worrying about the "buzz" with the fans.

09/01/2010, 3:18 PM
I think as long as the player is eligible for Ireland and have a genuine desire to play for Ireland, rather than just for the purposes of furthering their career, then I have no problem with the granny rule. Can I ask, how many of us didnt celebrate St Ledgers goal against Italy with all our heart because he wasnt Irish born?? None I would say. Same would apply to Houghtons goals etc.

I wouldnt necessarily rule out a lad because he may have had a first preference for their country of birth. Both my parents are from Ireland, one from cork, one leitrim. So i cant really relate but for example if there ever had been an opportunity for me to play for leitrim I wouldve snapped at it, that doesnt mean I wouldnt have liked to play for Cork, but I certainly would give my all for leitrim.

09/01/2010, 4:59 PM
he means football ;0)

09/01/2010, 5:01 PM
Leitrim is not a foreign country....
jesus it was pretty obvious what he ment:rolleyes: gaaaaaaaah and those rivalries can be much bigger than those between us and the englis..
your lack of knowledge about irishness is a disgrace!

TrapAPony
09/01/2010, 6:02 PM
Being born on the Island and 2nd generation Irish.

I knowit allows him to represent Ireland under the rules but the point is he is not Irish.

The Granny Rule is there to be used, and we should use it. Gary Cahill, Jamie O'Hara, Kevin Nolan, Simon Cox, Gary O'Neil, Mark Noble etc. are all players we could do with. Take Germany for example. They have Podolski, Trochowski & Klose who are Polish, Boateng and Ozil who could easily have played for Ghana and Turkey and they also have Cacau who is Brazilian. Holland have been using Surinam born players for years and France have used many African born players. Portugal have Deco, Pepe, Liedson who are Brazilian & defender Rolando is from Cape Verde, even Italy have their Argentinian Mauro Camoranesi...anyway I think I've made my point. Paul McShane or Gary Cahill? Liam Miller or Kevin Nolan? I know who I'd choose every time.

09/01/2010, 6:07 PM
The Granny Rule is there to be used, and we should use it. Gary Cahill, Jamie O'Hara, Kevin Nolan, Simon Cox, Gary O'Neil, Mark Noble etc. are all players we could do with. Take Germany for example. They have Podolski, Trochowski & Klose who are Polish, Boateng and Ozil who could easily have played for Ghana and Turkey and they also have Cacau who is Brazilian. Holland have been using Surinam born players for years and France have used many African born players, Portugal have Deco, Ricardo Carvalho, Pepe, Liedson who are Brazilian & defender Rolando is from Cape Verde. Paul McShane or Gary Cahill? Liam Miller or Kevin Nolan? I know who I'd choose every time.
you forgot kevin kuranyi for germany and eduardo for croatia :)
just two random players poped into my head :)

Razors left peg
09/01/2010, 6:09 PM
you forgot kevin kuranyi for germany and eduardo for croatia :)
just two random players poped into my head :)

Deco for Portugal doesnt even have Portugese family, just playing for them from the residency rule

Now that I think of it, even the great Eusebio was african playing for Portugal.Other countries have been making use of this rule long before us so we would be stupid not to with the amount of Irish that have left the country over the years

Fixer82
09/01/2010, 6:20 PM
ye sorry i get you, my point was stupid but seriously i think very few english people of irish descent would select ireland with the talent rooney had at that age. just i was thinking compare winning the world cup with ireland and england. if you win world cup with england, you then can revel in that the following season amongst the fans, the buzz would be great, compare that to if ireland won, the the players would just disperse to their british clubs after. kinda anti-climax.

getting a little ahead of yourself there I think....2014 World Cup headline: Ireland win World Cup - Lawrence regrets Ireland opt due to lack of buzz from fans in Stoke

09/01/2010, 7:02 PM
The Granny Rule is there to be used, and we should use it. Gary Cahill, Jamie O'Hara, Kevin Nolan, Simon Cox, Gary O'Neil, Mark Noble etc. are all players we could do with. Take Germany for example. They have Podolski, Trochowski & Klose who are Polish, Boateng and Ozil who could easily have played for Ghana and Turkey and they also have Cacau who is Brazilian. Holland have been using Surinam born players for years and France have used many African born players. Portugal have Deco, Ricardo Carvalho, Pepe, Liedson who are Brazilian & defender Rolando is from Cape Verde, even Italy have their Argentinian Mauro Camoranesi...anyway I think I've made my point. Paul McShane or Gary Cahill? Liam Miller or Kevin Nolan? I know who I'd choose every time.

I think it's sad that Ireland cannot produce enough players of quality to have a genuine Irish side and have to rely on foreign to give them a chance of success on the field..

I think it's sad that Germany cannot produce enough players of quality to have a genuine German side and have to rely on foreign to give them a chance of success on the field.
I think it's sad that France cannot produce enough players of quality to have a genuine French side and have to rely on foreign to give them a chance of success on the field.
I think it's sad that Holland cannot produce enough players of quality to have a genuine Dutch side and have to rely on foreign to give them a chance of success on the field.
I think it's sad that Portugal cannot produce enough players of quality to have a genuine Portugese side and have to rely on foreign to give them a chance of success on the field.

Now, im speaking your language there so maybe you will acknowledge and "get" the point that TrapAPony made.

irishultra
09/01/2010, 10:29 PM
I think it's sad that Germany cannot produce enough players of quality to have a genuine German side and have to rely on foreign to give them a chance of success on the field.
I think it's sad that France cannot produce enough players of quality to have a genuine French side and have to rely on foreign to give them a chance of success on the field.
I think it's sad that Holland cannot produce enough players of quality to have a genuine Dutch side and have to rely on foreign to give them a chance of success on the field.
I think it's sad that Portugal cannot produce enough players of quality to have a genuine Portugese side and have to rely on foreign to give them a chance of success on the field.

Now, im speaking your language there so maybe you will acknowledge and "get" the point that TrapAPony made.

Klose is more like Darren Gibson than Ray Houghton. Where Klose is from it used to be a German territory. Podolski grew up in Germany.

I can't think of any Dutch players who are foreign.

Portugal have Deco and that is it.

It can't be denied that Ireland have taken the granny rule thing and ran with it.

09/01/2010, 10:55 PM
who is denying it IU?

EastTerracer
09/01/2010, 11:00 PM
Where Klose is from it used to be a German territory. Podolski grew up in Germany.

I can't think of any Dutch players who are foreign.

Portugal have Deco and that is it.

It can't be denied that Ireland have taken the granny rule thing and ran with it.

Used to be German territory - ffs, in that case there is a fair chunk of western Europe that would meet this description!

Below is a list of foreign born players who were named in their national squads for Euro 2008. Now can we please stop this crap.....

Croatia
Josip Šimunić - Australia
Robert Kovač - Germany
Niko Kovač - Germany
Ivan Klasnić - Germany
Ivan Rakitić - Switzerland
Vedran Ćorluka - Yugoslavia (Bos-Herz)
Mladen Petrić - Yugoslavia (Bos-Herz)

France
Jean-Alain Boumsong - Cameroon
Florent Malouda - French Guiana [1]
Lilian Thuram - Guadeloupe [1]
Steve Mandanda - Zaire (DR Congo)
Claude Makélélé - Zaire (DR Congo)
Patrice Evra - Senegal
Patrick Vieira - Senegal

Germany
Kevin Kurányi - Brazil
Miroslav Klose - Poland
Piotr Trochowski - Poland
Lukas Podolski - Poland
Oliver Neuville - Switzerland

Portugal
Pepe - Brazil
Deco - Brazil
Nani - Cape Verde
José Bosingwa - Zaire (DR Congo)
Petit - France

Switzerland
Gelson Fernandes - Cape Verde
Johan Vonlanthen - Colombia
Johan Djourou - Cote d'Ivoire
Valon Behrami - Yugoslavia (Kosovo)
Eldin Jakupović - Yugoslavia (Bos-Herz)

Turkey
Mehmet Aurélio - Brazil
Colin Kazim-Richards - England
Mevlüt Erdinç - France
Hakan Balta - Germany
Hamit Altintop - Germany

Austria
Ronald Gërçaliu - Albania
Ivica Vastić - Yugoslavia (Croatia)
Martin Harnik - Germany
György Garics - Hungary

Italy
Mauro Camoranesi - Argentina
Simone Perrotta - England

Spain
Marcos Senna - Brazil

Greece
Loukas Vyntra - Czech Republic

Poland
Roger Guerreiro - Brazil

Sweden
Tobias Linderoth - France

Czech Republic
NONE

Netherlands
NONE

Romania
NONE

Russia
NONE

EastTerracer
09/01/2010, 11:13 PM
Irelands abuse of this crazy rule is disgraceful and an insult to genuine Irish supporters. Charltons teams at times had 7 or 8 foreign players on the pitch in some games.

I'd like to think I'm a "genuine Irish supporter" as you put it - haven't missed a game in Dublin since 1983 and plenty of away trips to go along with that. I can assure you that I am not one bit insulted by this. I am born and bred in Dublin but have stood proudly alongside 2nd and 3rd generation Irish supporters on the terraces as well as supporting them on the pitch.

You've been on this site for a couple of months now spouting your purity nonsense yet you have described yourself as Irish-American. I think we'd all be very interested to know how you can describe yourself as Irish and American while holding your views that many of these players are not Irish.

Razors left peg
09/01/2010, 11:13 PM
Irelands abuse of this crazy rule is disgraceful and an insult to genuine Irish supporters. Charltons teams at times had 7 or 8 foreign players on the pitch in some games.

Genuine supporters like u who just spent their time bitching and moaning is it?

TrapAPony
10/01/2010, 1:24 AM
How someone made out that Ricardo Caravaho was Brazilian is beyond me..

Apologies, that was a bad error on my behalf but you're clutching at straws. What about the rest of them
mentioned.

irishultra
10/01/2010, 1:35 AM
Used to be German territory - ffs, in that case there is a fair chunk of western Europe that would meet this description!

Below is a list of foreign born players who were named in their national squads for Euro 2008. Now can we please stop this crap.....

Croatia
Josip Šimunić - Australia
Robert Kovač - Germany
Niko Kovač - Germany
Ivan Klasnić - Germany
Ivan Rakitić - Switzerland
Vedran Ćorluka - Yugoslavia (Bos-Herz)
Mladen Petrić - Yugoslavia (Bos-Herz)

France
Jean-Alain Boumsong - Cameroon
Florent Malouda - French Guiana [1]
Lilian Thuram - Guadeloupe [1]
Steve Mandanda - Zaire (DR Congo)
Claude Makélélé - Zaire (DR Congo)
Patrice Evra - Senegal
Patrick Vieira - Senegal

Germany
Kevin Kurányi - Brazil
Miroslav Klose - Poland
Piotr Trochowski - Poland
Lukas Podolski - Poland
Oliver Neuville - Switzerland

Portugal
Pepe - Brazil
Deco - Brazil
Nani - Cape Verde
José Bosingwa - Zaire (DR Congo)
Petit - France

Switzerland
Gelson Fernandes - Cape Verde
Johan Vonlanthen - Colombia
Johan Djourou - Cote d'Ivoire
Valon Behrami - Yugoslavia (Kosovo)
Eldin Jakupović - Yugoslavia (Bos-Herz)

Turkey
Mehmet Aurélio - Brazil
Colin Kazim-Richards - England
Mevlüt Erdinç - France
Hakan Balta - Germany
Hamit Altintop - Germany

Austria
Ronald Gërçaliu - Albania
Ivica Vastić - Yugoslavia (Croatia)
Martin Harnik - Germany
György Garics - Hungary

Italy
Mauro Camoranesi - Argentina
Simone Perrotta - England

Spain
Marcos Senna - Brazil

Greece
Loukas Vyntra - Czech Republic

Poland
Roger Guerreiro - Brazil

Sweden
Tobias Linderoth - France

Czech Republic
NONE

Netherlands
NONE

Romania
NONE

Russia
NONE

Ireland:
Kevin Foley
Kevin Kilbane
Aiden McGeady
Sean St.Ledger
Steven Reid
Darren Gibson
Liam Lawrence
Leon Best
Caleb Folan
Martin Rowlands
Ciaran Westwood

Call up people whose parent(s) are Irish or who have grown up here.

Ireland is probably the biggest exploiter of the rule in football.

__________________________________________________ ____

10/01/2010, 9:59 AM
Ireland:
Kevin Foley
Kevin Kilbane
Aiden McGeady
Sean St.Ledger
Steven Reid
Darren Gibson
Liam Lawrence
Leon Best
Caleb Folan
Martin Rowlands
Ciaran Westwood

Only 6 from that list were in the squad for the play off games and Gibson is not part of that list, he is automatically entitled to Irish citizenship.

EastTerracer's list demonstrates that our use of the dual nationality eligibility bears fair comparison to its use by 7 of those countries at Euro 2008.

boovidge
10/01/2010, 10:36 AM
Ireland:
Kevin Foley
Kevin Kilbane
Aiden McGeady
Sean St.Ledger
Steven Reid
Darren Gibson
Liam Lawrence
Leon Best
Caleb Folan
Martin Rowlands
Ciaran Westwood

Having Gibson in that list is a disgrace.

10/01/2010, 11:03 AM

Posting the list in the first place is a disgrace.
The standards on the forum really are dropping lately. Instead of rational discussion, it's turning into angry pointless ranting.
Why haven't the mods done anything about this?

republicofwhite
10/01/2010, 11:42 AM
Standards dropped overall lately? The tone utterly lowered. Undoubtedly. Hardly a coincidence given that it has occurred with the emergence of this 'yapster' character trying to take over the entire forum, spread his inane views and and go on a selfish, uninhibited wind up spree that is regressive for all concerned. Its all just getting really, really grating and I'm starting to lose faith this entire forum

Manc Irish Wolf
10/01/2010, 12:17 PM
Ireland:
Kevin Foley
Kevin Kilbane
Aiden McGeady
Sean St.Ledger
Steven Reid
Darren Gibson
Liam Lawrence
Leon Best
Caleb Folan
Martin Rowlands
Ciaran Westwood

Have you ever thought that the reason that Ireland have been so successful at "exploiting" the Parent/Grandparent rule might be because of the national pride that these players have in the first place? Players like Foley, Kilbane, St Ledger, McGeady and Best have been brought up in proud Irish families within proud Irish Communities (I can't comment on the rest as I do not know enough about their backgrounds). It is easy to snipe about their legitimacy, however to wear the shirt with pride as a Kid is a big statement of their identity - especially when surrounded by England/Scotland fans at a time in your life when most Kids just want to be part of the pack, which I'm sure all of these lads did - their commitment to the cause should never be questioned.

10/01/2010, 2:53 PM
Posting the list in the first place is a disgrace.
The standards on the forum really are dropping lately. Instead of rational discussion, it's turning into angry pointless ranting.
Why haven't the mods done anything about this?

only explanation is we're at stage 4 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K%C3%BCbler-Ross_model)...

Predator
10/01/2010, 4:39 PM
My sentiments exactly.

10/01/2010, 5:16 PM
only explanation is we're at stage 4 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K%C3%BCbler-Ross_model)...

Surely not the only explanation.
On occasion and for indefinite periods, strange creatures masquerading as Irish fans have been spotted crawling out from their place of refuge.

http://www.elderberryshire.com/images/11.jpg

irishultra
10/01/2010, 6:39 PM

Then having Vedran Corluka on the list of 'foreign' Croatians is a disgrace. That is why I mentioned him(Gibson)

mark12345
10/01/2010, 6:46 PM
REPLY TO YAPSTER

"Sad to see Ireland going down the 'Grannyrule' crap again"

Even sadder to see the likes of you come out of the woodwork with such statements, as you invariably do!

10/01/2010, 10:54 PM
What a corney intro....was i the only one to chuckle at this?!
haha I only just noticed this

Coincidence, I promise!

11/01/2010, 9:39 AM
Do't even have their own stadium and having to go cap in hand to the GAA and the IRFU ffs.

how many associations in the world own their own stadiums?
id say its less than 10%, if even. most are owned by clubs or the city authorities, national government etc.
The FAI will shortly jointly own their own stadium so that puts them ahead of most.

your assertion that the FAI is a joke from top to bottom is the real joke. yes, they make headlines for the wrong reasons from time to time but for such a small organisation they actually do a large amount of great work at grass roots level etc.

11/01/2010, 9:41 AM
make yapster go away he makes baby jesus cry

endabob1
11/01/2010, 10:13 AM
Have you ever thought that the reason that Ireland have been so successful at "exploiting" the Parent/Grandparent rule might be because of the national pride that these players have in the first place? Players like Foley, Kilbane, St Ledger, McGeady and Best have been brought up in proud Irish families within proud Irish Communities (I can't comment on the rest as I do not know enough about their backgrounds). It is easy to snipe about their legitimacy, however to wear the shirt with pride as a Kid is a big statement of their identity - especially when surrounded by England/Scotland fans at a time in your life when most Kids just want to be part of the pack, which I'm sure all of these lads did - their commitment to the cause should never be questioned.

There’s an interesting move in the eligibility that is happening in Ireland, for a century and a half Ireland had net emigration and so the players that qualified were sons and grandsons of Irish emigrants, the eligibility and commitment of players like Kilbane could never imo be questioned, there have been others that have convinced me less about their desire and/or reasons to wear the shirt but as an emigrant myself I can honestly say it would be my absolute preference for my kids to represent Ireland above anywhere else.
The interesting shift comes in because from 1995/6 through to the last 12 months there was a net inward flow of Migrants, of course some of them were returning emigrants but there are now a lot of non-national born Irish citizens who (like the lad originally from the DRC) are qualified to play for ROI.
Looking at the list of players for France, Germany, Portugal (and while the Dutch had none this time there have been plenty in the past) they are countries who had large migrant populations and to a large degree they have reaped the benefit of it.
I wonder if in 10 years time this debate will be about players born in DRC or Poland or Nigeria representing Ireland.

11/01/2010, 10:23 AM
I think the key difference here is how ireland has gone about to try and ensure that these feel welcome and are integrated into society. These have seen the adverse effects of mass emigration to certain spots of the UK and tried to ensure that doesn't happen in ireland.

Another big thing is the immigrants in Ireland moved all over the country, to little towns and villages working in shops, hotels, on building sites etc. In a small town it is very difficult not to integrate or to become known amongst the locals, especially the way irish people are.

I feel all this will help integrate the offspring of these immigrants and make them feel as Irish as seamus o'shea.

endabob1
11/01/2010, 10:29 AM
I ceratinly hope you're right Paul.

11/01/2010, 10:36 AM
Ya, we can only hope, that they identify as Irish first, polish/nigerian/whatever creed or race second. Plastics identify as Irish only.

11/01/2010, 2:51 PM
I think the key difference here is how ireland has gone about to try and ensure that these feel welcome and are integrated into society. These have seen the adverse effects of mass emigration to certain spots of the UK and tried to ensure that doesn't happen in ireland.

Another big thing is the immigrants in Ireland moved all over the country, to little towns and villages working in shops, hotels, on building sites etc. In a small town it is very difficult not to integrate or to become known amongst the locals, especially the way irish people are.

I feel all this will help integrate the offspring of these immigrants and make them feel as Irish as seamus o'shea.

Whats that Tommy T joke about how the Irish invade a place? First one Irish couple arrive, nice and quiet barely noticed, then all of a sudden, a few months later theres 40 Irish in the place. Its alot more funny that the way I just wrote it.

Where Im originally from in Cork, there was a sizeable influx of Brazilian lads working in the local factory a few years back. They integrated with the 'classy' Irish women in the town particularly well, so much that the under 10 football team at home is now full of half Brazilians.

11/01/2010, 3:30 PM
Whats that Tommy T joke about how the Irish invade a place? First one Irish couple arrive, nice and quiet barely noticed, then all of a sudden, a few months later theres 40 Irish in the place. Its alot more funny that the way I just wrote it..

unlike the english, we dont invade - we infest... an irish lad arrives in the States armed with only a suitcase and a phone number...

something to that effect

ken foree
11/01/2010, 3:38 PM
unlike the english, we dont invade - we infest... an irish lad arrives in the States armed with only a suitcase and a phone number...

something to that effect

we don't breed like we used to though :(

mark12345
11/01/2010, 4:19 PM
There is no such thing as an Irish born foreigner, if you are born & bred on the Island of Ireland you are Irish regardless of color or creed!!

Yes if people of Irish descent feel they are Irish then they are Irish. I accept that 2nd generation Irish should be entitled to play for their parents country but the granny thing is taking the ****.

I just love these racial purists who pop their heads up every now and again. Let me ask you Yapster - how do you define who's Irish and who's not? I mean you are the sole authority on the subject, aren't you?

You will give preference to someone born in Ireland of say (for example, Bosnian, Romanian, Nigerian or Moroccan parents). You will call them Irish, yet you will shut the door to the grandkids of people (who were actually born in Ireland and lived there for decades)?

Gets sort of complicated doesn't it when you start drawing lines on heritage? Just let the Irish Passport Office decide will you. They know what they're doing.

Sorry guys for a rant which has little to do with the game, but just can't sit here and listen to the crap.

Larssonisghod
15/01/2010, 7:15 PM
The Jack Charlton years were a joke and a disgrace to international football with this grannyrule. Owen Coyle & Bernie Slavin & o'Cascarino ffs. The influx of all these people from foreign lands will enhance Irish sport and who knows Ireland may get a decent Heavyweight boxer out of it.

why do you say that? plenty of people who are 3G irish are pround of their irish roots.. yes there was some notable exceptions as you mentioned but on the whole its a worthwhile rule considering our diaspora. Do you hold the italian national teams use of this rule in similar disgrace??

Razors left peg
15/01/2010, 7:20 PM
why do you say that? plenty of people who are 3G irish are pround of their irish roots.. yes there was some notable exceptions as you mentioned but on the whole its a worthwhile rule considering our diaspora. Do you hold the italian national teams use of this rule in similar disgrace??

dont bother with that bloke

Paddy Garcia
15/01/2010, 7:24 PM
Razor - if Yappy had his way you would have to change your name:eek:

Larssonisghod
15/01/2010, 7:27 PM
dont bother with that bloke

why? is he well known for those kinda statements? new here so best to know who to watch out for :) :)

Razors left peg
15/01/2010, 7:29 PM
Razor - if Yappy had his way you would have to change your name:eek:

Haha well spotted, just goes to show what a joke that way of thinking is

Razors left peg
15/01/2010, 7:32 PM
why? is he well known for those kinda statements? new here so best to know who to watch out for :) :)

yeah he just appeared recently and took over every thread with statements designed just to wind people. Ive been sucked in a few times but its best to just ignore :)