View Full Version : Simon Cox (F Western Sydney Wanderers b.1987)
Pages :
[
2]
he was born in Scotland but has Irish blood and felt sufficient affinity to the country to play with Ireland. Its pretty simple, i think youre over-analysing this.
yapster
05/01/2010, 8:52 PM
he was born in Scotland but has Irish blood and felt sufficient affinity to the country to play with Ireland. Its pretty simple, i think youre over-analysing this.
That was his choice of course yet he has said that when he came back into the dressing-room after an Ireland game the first thing he did was to find out how Scotland go on.
05/01/2010, 9:02 PM
ok, what the hell has Nigerian blood got to do with Simon Cox?
Can we get half of this thread deleted?
yapster
05/01/2010, 9:07 PM
I agree 100%
05/01/2010, 9:32 PM
The solution is simple: get more africans to donate blood in Ireland.
I cam barely believe what I'm reading above.
yapster
05/01/2010, 9:36 PM
The solution is simple: get more africans to donate blood in Ireland.
I cam barely believe what I'm reading above.
you know what I mean...
SilkCut
05/01/2010, 9:51 PM
you know what I mean...
Are you perhaps trying to say that if you have a love for Ireland and are qualified to play for them then fair play and welcome aboard, but if you are qualified to play for Ireland and only do it to add international player to your C.V. then **** off? If so thats fine, if not, I for one am lost!!
As for the blood thing... mate give it up you just look stupid. Remember the mad German who wanted to populate the world based on peoples blood lines???? He was a terrible player too......
Paddy Garcia
05/01/2010, 9:53 PM
I hope Simon Cox doesn't read this thread:eek:
yapster
05/01/2010, 10:05 PM
Are you perhaps trying to say that if you have a love for Ireland and are qualified to play for them then fair play and welcome aboard, but if you are qualified to play for Ireland and only do it to add international player to your C.V. then **** off? If so thats fine, if not, I for one am lost!!
As for the blood thing... mate give it up you just look stupid. Remember the mad German who wanted to populate the world based on peoples blood lines???? He was a terrible player too......
Come back down to earth a small bit son, stop making a big deal over nothing...
You got the first one right btw...
leedslad
05/01/2010, 10:35 PM
If we just got half of the thread title deleated there would be a tenuous link:D
SilkCut
06/01/2010, 12:10 AM
Come back down to earth a small bit son, stop making a big deal over nothing...
You got the first one right btw...
Drop the son bit, very disrespectful, especially to someone who is actually giving you a chance and not slating you.
Back to Simon Cox, young striker playing well in a difficult league with a good footballing side. Definately worth a look, only saw him once against QPR when I was home but he looked a much better option than Folan and easily at least the equal of Best, quick strong and tricky with a powerful shot and bags of courage.
yapster
06/01/2010, 12:47 AM
I don't mean to disrespect anyone it's just a habit.
The Nigerian is blown out of proportion and fair play to you Silkcut you seem to have an objective mind.
If Cox wants to play for Ireland then he has every right to under the rules, I just think it's sad that Ireland are having to go down this road again. It was hard trying to explain it to Americans in 94,and tbh it is a prime subject for jokes. But he is available and Ireland do need all they can get I suppose.
SilkCut
06/01/2010, 1:12 AM
I don't see the problem with trawling England for players, every country does it. France and Holland trawl africa, Italy has Camoranesi from Argentina and Rossi from the States even England have Hargreaves who is Canadian. countries are much more multi cultural now, if there are second or third generation Irishmen out there who are good enough to play for us and want to play for us, bring 'em on.
yapster
06/01/2010, 1:54 AM
I suppose your right Silk and that does seem to be the way it's going but I do feel that it takes something away from International football. It may happen that it will be like club football in the future with anyone playing for whoever and who knows with all the money involved in the game now it may come down to mercaneries going to the highest bidder.
06/01/2010, 7:52 AM
I don't mean to disrespect anyone it's just a habit.
The Nigerian is blown out of proportion and fair play to you Silkcut you seem to have an objective mind.
If Cox wants to play for Ireland then he has every right to under the rules, I just think it's sad that Ireland are having to go down this road again. It was hard trying to explain it to Americans in 94,and tbh it is a prime subject for jokes. But he is available and Ireland do need all they can get I suppose.
Who is this supposed to be. Sounds like a character from a gangster novel. I'm finding it hard to remain respectful towards your posts. You are obviously a WUM
Dont understand this logic at all, particularly considering the irish history of emigration and diaspora we have. If you have ever been to an away game you will truly appreciate how people not born in Ireland but with connections to Ireland through parents/grandparents etc are as passionate about the team and the country as anyone born here. We have done well under the granny rule and the majority of beneficiaries have given there all for the jersey. Even 'suspect' cases like Clint, his commitment when playing for us cannot be questioned. We are a small country with a very little pool, if the likes of Holland, France, Portugal, Germany and Spain exploit the granny rule then we definitely should as well!
Wangball
06/01/2010, 9:31 AM
What was hard to explain to Americans?? Ae you seriously suggesting that Americans could not comprehend how somebody born outside Ireland came to represent us in the World Cup??
In the very same tournament the American squad featured Roy Wegerle, a South African born & bred, he qualified through the back door by residency, he hadn't even gotten any links to the States. Another guy, Fernando Clavijo was born in Uraguay and Mike Perez is Salvadoran.
Bringing that up to date, what part of the US was Freddy Adu born in??
And thats only in Football, you take a look back at American representative sides in any sport and you'll see them exploiting rules to field "non native" players, from Africans to Cubans....so I find it ridiculous that you would say that Americans were in some way ignorant to the phenomenon! They have a track record of exploiting it as much as we do.
Paulie
06/01/2010, 10:01 AM
This thread is funny.
Ozymandias
06/01/2010, 11:39 AM
This thread is funny.
I Know.....It is actually a thread about Simon Cox..as ripley would say
Believe it or not
Yard of Pace
06/01/2010, 12:23 PM
I can't believe you all actually bother engaging with yapster! There's a couple more like him too. It's a nuisance.
yapster
06/01/2010, 4:26 PM
Who is this supposed to be. Sounds like a character from a gangster novel. I'm finding it hard to remain respectful towards your posts. You are obviously a WUM
Typing error, I meant the Nigerian thing..
gilberto_eire
07/01/2010, 10:02 PM
It's such a shame that Ireland can't produce quality players who are born in Ireland. Thats the good thing about the infusion of foreign people into Ireland in the last 15 years or so is that the offspring of these people will bring some badly needed skill & intelligence to Irish football.Look at Paul McGrath with his Nigerian blood that made him the player he was. The Jack Charlton years were a joke and a disgrace to international football with this grannyrule. Owen Coyle & Bernie Slavin & o'Cascarino ffs. The influx of all these people from foreign lands will enhance Irish sport and who knows Ireland may get a decent Heavyweight boxer out of it.
I took a lot of stick of this site, over(honest)general opinions which didn't meet the requirements of the super-intellects, but this is the biggest load of garbage i've read in a long time.
When were Nigerians ever associated with being hardy, slow, center backs? :D
I don't think someone who posts stuff like this even deserves blocking, outright banning from the Ireland forum IMO :D
As for Cox, how old is he?. type of striker? Wouldnt get too worked up, obviously haven't seen him, but manys a player has scored 20+ in that division and struggled to get goals up above.
07/01/2010, 10:50 PM
Cox is 22 - I haven't seen him play, but to be commanding a regular place in a possibly Premiership-bound team is not too shabby.
I have no idea what his reasons are for declaring for Ireland, but I'd be perfectly willing to give him a chance. If his heart's not in it, he won't perform to the required level and be dropped - natural selection at work.
That's assuming Nigeria don't snatch him from under our noses, of course...
irishultra
08/01/2010, 12:26 AM
never heard of him, dont think he will make the team. seriously if your gonna go down that route there is a good chance that half the team would be born in england. you can distort facts and mention france, england etc.(if anything with france its african countries taking their players) all you want but ireland really shouldn't go over the top with this rule. a lot of people in england have some irish ancestry it doesn't mean they should get in the team.
i think there is a differerence. france national team reflects their country, they have had mass immigration from north africa and other parts since the 60's, they might be african descent but they are french) this is in sharp contrast to ireland picking english developed players.
i want people like kilbane, david connolly, these players are 'irish' in that they connect with ireland whatever that connection is i dont know but they have it, what i dont want is just picking ireland because it gives them a chance at international footbal.
yapster
08/01/2010, 1:44 AM
The Charlton years were a joke with all this granny-trawling and fair play to Kerr even though his reign wasn't successful he did try to bring Irish born players into the fold. The first-generation is ok and should be cut off at that. Yes other countries exploit this but Ireland has it down to an art. It's not fair on the home-grown players and it's not fair on the countries that they are poached from. In a generation or so if the off-spring of the people who have emigrated to Ireland start opting for their parents and grandparents countries I can guarantee you these players will get the abuse McGeady & McCarthy have recieved in Scotland.
yapster
08/01/2010, 1:59 AM
Just imagine that Paul McGrath had opted to play for England the country of his birth or Nigeria where his dad was from or David o Leary or Liam Brady opting for his mothers country?
dr_peepee
08/01/2010, 10:52 AM
never heard of him, dont think he will make the team. seriously if your gonna go down that route there is a good chance that half the team would be born in england. you can distort facts and mention france, england etc.(if anything with france its african countries taking their players) all you want but ireland really shouldn't go over the top with this rule. a lot of people in england have some irish ancestry it doesn't mean they should get in the team.
i think there is a differerence. france national team reflects their country, they have had mass immigration from north africa and other parts since the 60's, they might be african descent but they are french) this is in sharp contrast to ireland picking english developed players.
i want people like kilbane, david connolly, these players are 'irish' in that they connect with ireland whatever that connection is i dont know but they have it, what i dont want is just picking ireland because it gives them a chance at international footbal.
Saying that.. It's better to have a player and not need him, than to need him and not have him. I don't know enough about him to validate his herritage but he's been committing to Ireland for a long time now. Has been mentioned on this site since he was at Reading in the premiership, so he's hardly doing a Zat Knight on it.
08/01/2010, 12:34 PM
Cox has always wanted to play for Ireland. During his time with Reading, he was quoted as saying that he asked Doyle and Hunt to let it be known that he wanted to play for the Ireland where he mother was born and bred.
If a player is genuinely commmitted to us and has the proper qualifications, they should be given the chance. What we don't want to the likes of Kevin Nolan.
08/01/2010, 1:00 PM
Cox is 22 - I haven't seen him play, but to be commanding a regular place in a possibly Premiership-bound team is not too shabby.
I have no idea what his reasons are for declaring for Ireland, but I'd be perfectly willing to give him a chance. If his heart's not in it, he won't perform to the required level and be dropped - natural selection at work.
What a corney intro....was i the only one to chuckle at this?!
08/01/2010, 1:17 PM
In fairness if he uses the word "nan" to describe his granny he cant be that irish.
third policeman
08/01/2010, 1:19 PM
never heard of him, dont think he will make the team.
If you have never heard of him, and therefore I assume never seen him play or have any knowledge of his ability, how can you possibly deduce he will not make the team?
Check him out he has a decent record (Highest scorer in English Leagues last season with Swindon), scored some exceptional goals and clearly does want to play for us. Unless you are advocating a total ban on 2nd G players, I suggest you allow a few relevant facts to guideyour judgement on individual cases.
08/01/2010, 1:40 PM
This goal in particular is brilliant
Qy0YuNuPrhw
Ozymandias
08/01/2010, 3:14 PM
great goal....thanks joe
gilberto_eire
08/01/2010, 5:09 PM
In fairness if he uses the word "nan" to describe his granny he cant be that irish.
Is that some kind of non-obvious joke?
So even though i was born and raised in Galway (with 100% Irish blood) because i was raised calling my Granny my ''Nanny'' i ain't Irish?
You call your mother/father/granny by whatever name you hear around the house :rolleyes:
RiffRaff
08/01/2010, 6:26 PM
gone off him already!
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/2799330/Cox-after-Capello-call.html
irishultra
08/01/2010, 6:43 PM
LOL. look after one generation its stupid to keep up a past identity especially in europe. its ok in new world countries because those countries are built on immigrants but its laughable for people in scotland or england to consider themselves irish after 3 or 4 generations.
gone off him already!
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/2799330/Cox-after-Capello-call.html
Hmmmm was just about to post that he starts for WBA tonight, which is on sky, but not so bothered now.
carloz
08/01/2010, 7:13 PM
gone off him already!
So basically we are a back up for him. Good ****ing riddance.
Razors left peg
08/01/2010, 7:14 PM
thats not much different to what Clinton Morrison said back in the day so doesnt bother me as long as he performs if he puts on the green
gilberto_eire
08/01/2010, 7:29 PM
thats not much different to what Clinton Morrison said back in the day so doesnt bother me as long as he performs if he puts on the green
But playing International is different... your heart has to be in it, there's no massive pay check at the end of the week. For a country like us that will always lack the talent over the bigger countries we need lads who are willing to put their bodies on the line and push themselves that bit further.
That's not to say that only truly Irish people can do that, some wouldn't, while some lads with no connection can naturally push themselves
But i personally think if you take 10 lads frm both sides, the man with the passion for the cause will push himself that little bit more.
I just don't understand how anyone who truly feels they're Irish could ever even consider the notion of playing for England given our countries long and difficult past. If the taught even crosses their minds then they have no true passion for the land, this isn't club football this is supposed to be something more
But all said and done having only one grandparent he is more English then Irish, someone like Rooney gets to me though, having come from such a strong Irish area and family
EastTerracer
08/01/2010, 7:41 PM
Since when did anyone believe anything written in The Sun? I'm willing to wait and see what the guy has to say himself rather than rely on that rag.
Brendan 82
08/01/2010, 7:43 PM
Some craic that he thinks he is a potential England international. He'd be a backup for us at best. What a muppet
edit: If said article is factual, it is the Sun after all I suppose
Razors left peg
08/01/2010, 7:45 PM
But playing International is different... your heart has to be in it, there's no massive pay check at the end of the week. For a country like us that will always lack the talent over the bigger countries we need lads who are willing to put their bodies on the line and push themselves that bit further.
That's not to say that only truly Irish people can do that, some wouldn't, while some lads with no connection can naturally push themselves
But i personally think if you take 10 lads frm both sides, the man with the passion for the cause will push himself that little bit more.
I just don't understand how anyone who truly feels they're Irish could ever even consider the notion of playing for England given our countries long and difficult past. If the taught even crosses their minds then they have no true passion for the land, this isn't club football this is supposed to be something more
But all said and done having only one grandparent he is more English then Irish, someone like Rooney gets to me though, having come from such a strong Irish area and family
But there are plenty of example of lads who considered themselves english that gave everything for us. Townsend would be my favorite example. I remember him telling a story about watching Ireland beat England in euro 88 while he was on hols and being gutted after the match watching the irish lads in the pub celebrating. But yet when he played for us I dont think anyone could have doubted his commitment on the pitch and he was a great captain for a time
irishultra
08/01/2010, 7:45 PM
ok your line of thinking causes division, rooney is from an english area with an english family. the guy has like an english tattoo. not everyone in england with irish ancestry feels a connection and a lot of people have other roots as well. the guy has an english accent fgs.
i agree about the country thing tho, even tho im not so patriotic and dont really care but when it comes to football im a nationalist.
stiffler
08/01/2010, 7:48 PM
Wouldnt believe ANYTHING i read in the sun!
irishultra
08/01/2010, 7:51 PM
why would they make up a story about some nobody?
08/01/2010, 8:14 PM
Rooney is English,his parents are English and supported England as a kid. Just because he has an Irish name qualifies him to play for Ireland??? If so they what about Irish born players with Anglo names,Scottish names,European names.African names and so on...
Wayne's brother John has said he wants to play for Ireland, but hasn't been called into any squads yet, so if he qualifies, then Wayne also qualified.
stiffler
08/01/2010, 8:15 PM
why would they make up a story about some nobody?
No idea, though if you believed everything you read in the papers, you would eat everything you see
irishultra
08/01/2010, 8:17 PM
i think its because his brother is a talentless hack might be the reason for that.
gilberto_eire
08/01/2010, 8:24 PM
But there are plenty of example of lads who considered themselves english that gave everything for us. Townsend would be my favorite example.
I never disagreed with that, i even said you can't say conclusively that just because some ones Irish they would give it their all, same as someone with no connection(some people can give it their all no matter who they play for). But i said if you took 10 from each side you would more the likely end up having more passion and commitment from the lads with a connection.
Also going back to the Charlton years, we had more talent then, the starting 11 mostly consisted of players who played for big teams, when your lacking talent(which we are now) you need work ethic and you'll get more of that from lads who WANT to be there
ok your line of thinking causes division, rooney is from an english area with an english family. the guy has like an english tattoo. not everyone in england with irish ancestry feels a connection and a lot of people have other roots as well. the guy has an english accent fgs.
i agree about the country thing tho, even tho im not so patriotic and dont really care but when it comes to football im a nationalist.
This is an Irish part of town. All the older people, like Patricia Fitzsimons, were moved here in the slum clearances of the late1940s and 1950s. They, like thousands of Irish before them, lived in Scotty Road, as they call it. Scotty is down by the docks, the first port of call for desperate Irish emigrants who flooded Liverpool for over 100 years after the Famine.
Like its black community, Liverpool hosts the oldest Irish community in Britain and Irish immigrants and their descendents have been central to the development of the city. As Liverpool’s economic strength declined, so too did new arrivals from Ireland. Yet, even today, when only 10% of the population of England is Catholic, 60% of Croxteth’s children are baptised Catholic. They are Irish, Catholic, Evertonians and proud of it.
http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/2007/07/09/hibrits-irelands-loss-englands-gain
When i mentioned Rooney i was thinking of that article, claims he comes from a very Irish area of Liverpool.
Seems he comes from a fairly Irish backround tbh, a predominantly Irish immigrant area with both sides of the family having Irish connections.
And I'm not denying he sees himself as English, i was saying in the general scheme of the granny rule, he would have seemed a prime candidate to want to play for us. As opposed to someone like Cox with just one grandparent and possibly an upbringing in some normal English area
Rooney is English,his parents are English and supported England as a kid. Just because he has an Irish name qualifies him to play for Ireland??? If so they what about Irish born players with Anglo names,Scottish names,European names.African names and so on...
...and to you sir....... what's the point?, you've shown yourself up again, in trying to say Rooney has no connection what so ever, you haven't a clue about any subject :rolleyes: