View Full Version : Fenlon for Dundee United?
dcfc1928
08/01/2010, 4:39 PM
Dundee Utd will not pursure Fenlon deal according to BBC citing Bohs financial demands.
bluewhitearmy
08/01/2010, 4:42 PM
Yes of course. Stupid me.
They would have to let him go at that stage though it would be ridiculous to try and force him to stay.
CSFShels
08/01/2010, 4:43 PM
dundee utd will not pursure fenlon deal according to bbc citing bohs financial demands.
exclusive!!!!!
Jicked
08/01/2010, 4:45 PM
They would have to let him go at that stage though it would be ridiculous to try and force him to stay.
It's legalese though. If he hands in his resignation he's gone either way.
If they reject it they can sue him for breach of contract, and if he signed for DU straight away have a case against them.
if they accepted his resignation he could not be held liable, the Fenlon/Bohs relationship is effectively ripped up, so Bohs would have no case against DU or any other club.
Fr Damo
08/01/2010, 4:46 PM
[QUOTE]
IF however Bohs do owe money to Fenlon then they're in breach of his contract. He can then effectively rip up his contract and walk away for free (or sue for the money/breach). He'd then be free to join Dundee Utd and Bohemians would receive no compensation for him. Some Bohs fans seem to say that he is owed money, but that a verbal agreement was reached to deal with this. Despite what Bohs fans seem to think, that verbal agreement is not legally binding, unless Fenlon was offered some sort of consideration for that new renegotiated deal, and I personally can't think of what type of consideration they could have offered him.
[/QUOTE
Exactly. But would Dundee hire someone wh0 is in turn or the process of sueing Bohs for a breech of contract that may or may not be proven? Think Bohs could prove the consideration alright but aren't there more components to a contract than just money?
Bohs have shafted Pat Fenlon (and arguably themselves) bigstile here imo. Speaking as a nobody interested in LOI.
Jicked
08/01/2010, 4:54 PM
[QUOTE]
Exactly. But would Dundee hire someone whi is in turn sueing a breech of contract that may or may not be proven? Think Bohs could prove the consideration alright but aren't there more components to a contract than just money?
Bohs have shafted Pat Fenlon (and arguably themselves) bigstile here imo. Speaking as a nobody interested in LOI.
Don't really know what you mean about Dundee Utd being in breach of contract, in what way do you think they would?
In this case you're not strictly talking about forming of a new contract, but rather creating a new one for part-payment of an already existing debt, which must be supported by fresh consideration. I can't think of what sort of fresh consideration they'd have been able to offer him, to me it seems like it would have been a bare verbal promise which has no legal basis. Again though, contract law isn't my area of expertise, Marinobohs seemed to suggest it was his earlier so perhaps he can fill us in :)
And yeah, Bohs have shafted Fenlon big time here. They've also done the same to themselves, leaving themselves wide open to Fenlon walking away for nothing.
It's why any normal, well run football club would have reached a deal after allowing their manager to talk to other clubs, and him desperately pleading to go. How many times have you seen managers change clubs in the UK without this sort of carry on, quite simply because you're left in an awful position and every chairman knows it. Thats why a deal is always struck, and why its never a huge sum in comparison to what players go for.
Oh, did anyone just catch TV3 there? Pat's saying he's "unsure about his future...."
Fr Damo
08/01/2010, 4:57 PM
[QUOTE=Jicked;1302677][QUOTE=Fr Damo;1302669]
Don't really know what you mean about Dundee Utd being in breach of contract, in what way do you think they would?
In this case you're not strictly talking about forming of a new contract, but rather creating a new one for part-payment of an already existing debt,
Good point.
Sorry, corrected previous post.
Dalymountrower
08/01/2010, 5:02 PM
The way I see it is that Bohs saw SFA paid DU £300k for Levein, and ludicrously based their negotiations around that thinking they too should be entitled to such a figure.
Dundee Utd sought 1 million sterling compensation from the SFA for Craig Levein and settled for 300k stg. Sauce for the Goose etc.
For what its worth , Bohs handling of this has been self defeating in amateurishly publicly disclosing its unacheivable negotiating position and potentially alienating the best manager we have ever had. Dundee United`s approach has been no less amateur. Nutsy must be rightly ****ed off with both clubs. Could easily see him resign, face the legal consequences (if any) and try his luck with another club entirely.
Jicked
08/01/2010, 5:02 PM
But would Dundee hire someone who is in turn or the process of sueing Bohs for a breech of contract that may or may not be proven?
Yeah they'd be very happy to. If Fenlon and his legal team decide that the facts are that they can sue Bohs for breach of contract it would most likely be because it's an open and shut case. The big question would be what sort of payout he's entitled to, and the legal bitching would be around what sort of sum if any they should pay. That's a private legal matter for Pat Fenlon though, and wouldn't involve Dundee Utd, and shouldn't hinder Fenlon working there in any way.
08/01/2010, 5:20 PM
A question I would like to ask is why Dundee Utd took so long to get in touch with Conway to discuss compensation?? their delay in doing this weakened the deal imo...
Quadruple1928
08/01/2010, 5:31 PM
Latest word is that the deal is off because of Conway's ridiculous posturing, Dundee Utd saying they simply can't deal with Bohemians board :D
Fenlon understandably not too happy as Conway is shafting both Dundee Utd and Fenlon, he may well resign if the deal doesn't go through, leaving Bohs with no compensation and being without a manager. If he goes to Dundee Utd anyway expect a hilarious court case! Very funny stuff altogether
You have a serious obsession with Conway, an unhealthy one at that. Our board has more than one person on it ya fool, you would think you would know considering you copied our model. Also the board did the right thing in not being ripped off.
weecountyman
08/01/2010, 5:37 PM
Why didn't Pat do a Roddy and cite personal reasons, then the day before he offers his resignation agrees to go to DU? :-)
Hibs4Ever
08/01/2010, 5:41 PM
Why didn't Pat do a Roddy and cite personal reasons, then the day before he offers his resignation agrees to go to DU? :-)
As Paul Peschisolido did with St Pat's before becoming manager of Burton Albion the very next day
roinuj
08/01/2010, 5:47 PM
i think fenlon joining dundee would have been a step back.
take rangers and celtic out of that league and it would be worse then the eircom league
passerrby
08/01/2010, 5:51 PM
You have a serious obsession with Conway, an unhealthy one at that. Our board has more than one person on it ya fool, you would think you would know considering you copied our model. Also the board did the right thing in not being ripped off.
so it appears know you have a manager who does not want to be there and is owed money... wel done mr conway.
Jicked
08/01/2010, 5:55 PM
Jaysus, you do realise this is Conway's doing yet again. Look at every single quote from Bohs over this whole mess, every one has been from Conway. What could you possibly have against me referring to Conway when he's been the very public face of Bohs for the last few days giving radio, tv and press interviews.
The Betting Man
08/01/2010, 5:57 PM
Its Dundee United that wanted Fenlon not Dundee,bit of a difference between the 2 clubs
RoversHead
08/01/2010, 5:57 PM
You have a serious obsession with Conway, an unhealthy one at that. Our board has more than one person on it ya fool, you would think you would know considering you copied our model. Also the board did the right thing in not being ripped off.Howya Gerry :D
MeathDrog
08/01/2010, 5:59 PM
Its Dundee United that wanted Fenlon not Dundee,bit of a difference between the 2 clubs
Yeah its only one word.
Jicked
08/01/2010, 6:01 PM
Yeah its only one word.
and about 250 metres
http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/united_kingdom/scotland/dundee_tannadice_park.jpg
Yeah its only one word.
Bet you they're fans don't see it that way !!
Boh_So_Good
08/01/2010, 6:43 PM
and about 250 metres
http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/united_kingdom/scotland/dundee_tannadice_park.jpg
From an Irish perspective that's an incredible photo.
irishultra
08/01/2010, 8:05 PM
that is awesome
and about 250 metres
"that bit over there we sold it two times" sang the Dundee council...
irishultra
08/01/2010, 8:13 PM
id say there is such a good football banter there better than the crap we have here with liverpool and man utd ******* in dublin
wexfordned
08/01/2010, 9:39 PM
The depressing thing on this MB is that there are are more posts by Shamrock's fans creaming themselves over Bohs standing firm & refusing to be screwed by Dundee Utd rather than Boh's fans posting on the issue.
Talk about clutching at straws. If any non Shamrock's fans could look at their MB I'm sure one of their highlights of the season is Jason Byrne's missed pen in Wicklow, even though that result was used by Bohs to push on & win the league as Shamrock bottled it.
VinnyDCFC
08/01/2010, 11:58 PM
Far from over
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/dundee-united/fenlon-poised-to-quit-bohemians-as-united-pull-plug-on-deal-1.997253
Fenlon poised to quit Bohemians as United pull plug on deal
heraldscotland staff
http://www.heraldscotland.com/ui/img/blank.gif0 comments (http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/dundee-united/fenlon-poised-to-quit-bohemians-as-united-pull-plug-on-deal-1.997253#have-your-say)
Published on 8 Jan 2010
PAT FENLON was last night considering quitting as manager of Bohemians after Dundee United pulled out of a deal to take him to Tannadice, writes Robert Thomson.
The 40-year-old met the Bohemians board on Thursday to ask to be removed from his contract, paving the way for him to join United on the three-year contract he agreed 24 hours earlier. Fenlon was under the impression he had a gentleman’s agreement with his club allowing him to walk away for free because of unpaid bonuses – understood to run into six figures – which he was due for delivering four trophies in two seasons.
But during a stormy meeting, Bohemians refused to cede to his request and instead demanded compensation of €200,000 from United.
Stephen Thompson, the Tannadice chairman, offered them €100,000 yesterday but withdrew the bid at 5pm after Bohemians rejected the move.
Fenlon last night consulted his legal advisers and is looking into whether he can walk away citing breach of contract for the unpaid money.
His relationship with Bohemians has soured to such an extent that he may resign and run the risk of a court case to clinch his dream job in the SPL.
“We can’t agree a compensation fee with Bohemians so we’ve withdrawn our offer and that’s the end of it as far as we’re concerned. It’s disappointing, but we’ll move on from here and take a look at other options,” said Thompson.
Thompson will now turn his attentions to other candidates, with Archie Knox, recently installed as assistant to Craig Brown at Motherwell, a candidate
to take over in the interim.
Raith Rovers manager John McGlynn and Shamrock’s Michael O’Neill were also contenders, along with Fulham reserve coach Billy McKinlay so they will now come back into play.
Kilmarnock’s Jim Jefferies, whose future at Rugby Park is under threat, may also emerge as a possible alternative.
Thompson said: “We will have a think about the options available to us. Appointing an interim manager is something we may also look at.”
irishultra
09/01/2010, 1:09 AM
ok pat please go, does he actually think anybody wants him here? we won the league last 2 years in spite of him not because of him
de bowez
09/01/2010, 1:23 AM
ok pat please go, does he actually think anybody wants him here? we won the league last 2 years in spite of him not because of him
What a load of rubbish. He is irreplaceable.
Not going to believe everything I read in the Scottish papers either.
irishultra
09/01/2010, 1:28 AM
irreplacable that is a drastic overeaction. i thank him for being a figurehead when we won the league but no, personally not a fan, i hope i'm allowed express an opinion.:rolleyes:
Jicked
09/01/2010, 4:02 AM
The depressing thing on this MB is that there are are more posts by Shamrock's fans creaming themselves over Bohs standing firm & refusing to be screwed by Dundee Utd rather than Boh's fans posting on the issue.
Talk about clutching at straws. If any non Shamrock's fans could look at their MB I'm sure one of their highlights of the season is Jason Byrne's missed pen in Wicklow, even though that result was used by Bohs to push on & win the league as Shamrock bottled it.
What?
VinnyDCFC
09/01/2010, 11:36 AM
Paul Lennon (Daily Star) on BBC Radio Foyle just now claiming that it's 90% likely that Fenlon will resign and join Dundee Utd
brianw82
09/01/2010, 12:31 PM
Paul Lennon (Daily Star) on BBC Radio Foyle just now claiming that it's 90% likely that Fenlon will resign and join Dundee Utd
If he does, and no compo is owed, the Bohs board have royally screwed themselves.
09/01/2010, 1:28 PM
bye bye. seriously i dont care about him. get someone good in. what a joke it is though that it is deemed a step up for the title winning manager of a club to be going to some no hoper club in a country the same size as the one he just left. irish football is a joke.
There's a bit of a difference between Dundee United and Bohs. United have a better ground, bigger fanbase, more resources and have reached a European final in their history.
Edit: I know this post is on page 6 but it came up as the last post for me at the time I quoted it.
Ezeikial
09/01/2010, 1:32 PM
There's a bit of a difference between Dundee United and Bohs. United have a better ground, bigger fanbase, more resources and have reached a European final in their history.
Edit: I know this post is on page 6 but it came up as the last post for me at the time I quoted it.
They have also managed to rake up more debt then Bohs - quite an acheivement!
RoversHead
09/01/2010, 1:34 PM
DUFC,s deadline and ending of negotiation would suggest a plan B re unpaid bonuses to Fenlon,what difference is there between 100 grand and not paying the six figure bonuses and 200grand and having to pay?
09/01/2010, 1:40 PM
You quoted it two days ago? ;)
09/01/2010, 1:48 PM
You quoted it two days ago? ;)
So I'm a slow typer.:o
According to BBC radio Scotland this morning, nutsy was paid his owed bonuses last night thus ending any chance of him walking citing non-payments.
de bowez
10/01/2010, 12:07 AM
DUFC,s deadline and ending of negotiation would suggest a plan B re unpaid bonuses to Fenlon,what difference is there between 100 grand and not paying the six figure bonuses and 200grand and having to pay?
Bonus paid according to Scottish BBC radio.
http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=196&fid=101&sty=1&act=1&mid=2123315821
weecountyman
10/01/2010, 6:33 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/dundee-united-to-hold-out-for-fenlon-2007176.html
Still no end to the saga. Interesting roll of honour given to Bohs managers and the list of recent court cases. I'd forgotten Joe McGrath!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
10/01/2010, 10:17 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/dundee-united-to-hold-out-for-fenlon-2007176.html
Still no end to the saga. Interesting roll of honour given to Bohs managers and the list of recent court cases. I'd forgotten Joe McGrath!
I never knew he was the feckin Messiah. Did he get a PR agency to write that article for him?
Jicked
10/01/2010, 10:44 AM
I never knew he was the feckin Messiah. Did he get a PR agency to write that article for him?
Maybe just maybe Pat's been out talking to the press. Where else were they getting anecdotes about Nutsy opening the club shop and helping a load of ducklings across a road. Sounds like he's trying to put the pressure on through the press.
weecountyman
10/01/2010, 11:48 AM
And why not Jicked, unfortunately that's the way things are done and then loads of losers start discussing it in forums and, oh wait, no, then intelligent and highly perceptive indviduals engage in internet discussions on the rights, wrongs and wherefores of the matter so that we can make this world a better place. :-)
brianw82
10/01/2010, 11:51 AM
I heard he also reads to sick children at the hospital after training.
Whereas the rumours of Sean Connor pushing old ladies in front of speeding cars have, so far, been unfounded.
10/01/2010, 11:59 AM
He was quoted in today's Star as saying he's reporting back to Bohs and is staying on. He was "very interested" in the Dundee United job but not if "the deal wasn't right for all parties". Then some other quotes about how great Bohs have been to him since he's been there. The article mentioned that he had received legal advice that his contract was binding. There was also a suggestion of him renegotiating his contract and putting in an agreed compensation amount, there were no quotes about that though.
LukeO
10/01/2010, 12:51 PM
Maybe just maybe Pat's been out talking to the press. Where else were they getting anecdotes about Nutsy opening the club shop and helping a load of ducklings across a road. Sounds like he's trying to put the pressure on through the press.
I'd imagine they came from someone in the club tbh.
Whereas the rumours of Sean Connor pushing old ladies in front of speeding cars have, so far, been unfounded.
I saw him do it!
weecountyman
10/01/2010, 12:51 PM
He was quoted in today's Star as saying he's reporting back to Bohs and is staying on. He was "very interested" in the Dundee United job but not if "the deal wasn't right for all parties". Then some other quotes about how great Bohs have been to him since he's been there. The article mentioned that he had received legal advice that his contract was binding. There was also a suggestion of him renegotiating his contract and putting in an agreed compensation amount, there were no quotes about that though.
He should have done a Roddy, run away, signed a contract and then say sorry. But my guess is the SPL would have kicked Dundee United United out of the league.
I never knew he was the feckin Messiah.
http://www.virginmedia.com/images/funny_songs_monty_python.jpg
He's not the messiah, he's a very naughty boy!