View Full Version : Roy Keane on Henry and John Delaney

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

joema
20/11/2009, 4:57 PM
Bellend.

SUB of the day
20/11/2009, 5:00 PM
People will know from previous posts that I have always been a Keane fan.....not anymore.Using the Henry situation to vent personal spleen and animosity towards the FAI is pathetic.He will always be a football legend in my eyes, unfortunately that same person now comes across as a bitter twisted little man.

20/11/2009, 5:03 PM
I was referring to their current manager who had commented on my international team and who is the reason they are failing.

This is what you said

should be given all the attention that the opinions of any failing rural east Anglian football club manager deserve.

That's not a fair comment on Ipswich Town as a club whatever their current manager, ex-Ireland captain Roy Keane, thinks about Ireland when asked a question about Ireland

Greenbod
20/11/2009, 5:08 PM
Frankly, I find your concern for the sensitivities of Ipswich Town and their supporters* really heart-warming.

* both of them.

Doire Abu
20/11/2009, 5:09 PM
Of course it was bad defending, McShane should have pulled Henry back onside and then fisted the ball away. Problem solved.

20/11/2009, 5:11 PM
Frankly, I find your concern for the sensitivities of Ipswich Town and their supporters* really heart-warming.

* both of them.

I was waiting for you to go the whole barstooler hog so I could fully dismiss your views on football, cheers for doing so

Manc Irish Wolf
20/11/2009, 5:11 PM
I've never been a big fan of his, always believed he should have stuck out the World Cup in 02 and complained afterwards but he's spot on with everything he says in that interview, 100% correct Roy

Agree. Maybe in the cold light of next week when the emotion subsides, it will become evident how much of a chance Ireland themselves spurned to reach the World Cup.

Maybe so. However sadly for many of us proud Irish fans the emotion hasn't subsided - evidently, if not instantly, it has for Keane.

The fact that he uses the misfortune of a valiant team and the woes of a nation as a point scoring opportunity is a disgrace - ultimately coming back to his typical subject matter - poor old me, why didn't he ring me etc. etc, while reopening petty grievances with ex-colleagues and players who have let HIM down.

I used to worship the ground he walked on when he wore a green shirt, but simply can't believe what a bitter, cowardly, egotistical, self-centred, unempathetic c*** he has become. He is a traitorous, treachourous laughable man and i'll be rubbing my hands in glee as his ill-fated managerial career (and hopefully life) descends into ultimate decline.

Playing for your country is the greatest honour ever bestowed upon you - look at what it meant to lads like Andrews and St Ledger who were immense. Those players gave everything for the shirt (a lot more than anything he ever did in a vain bid to protect his precious Man Utd career). They may not have the ability he did, but they have the honour and dignity, which will extend beyond their careers - unlike him.

If the French want to do anything for us they should forget the replay, give us control of their next planned south pacific nuclear test and allow us to stick Roy and his dear friend Stephen on the desert island. I'd quite happily press the button.

Greenbod
20/11/2009, 5:13 PM
I was waiting for you to go the whole barstooler hog so I could fully dismiss your views on football, cheers for doing so

You didn't have to wait you know...........I dismissed yours ages ago.

Greenbod
20/11/2009, 5:16 PM
go the whole barstooler hog

Is this a dance?.......something like the time warp thing....anybody know??

20/11/2009, 5:20 PM
I thought you dismissed my opinion ages ago?

Why so concerned?

Greenbod
20/11/2009, 5:21 PM
Why so concerned?

I'm just a caring kind of person..............I worry for you.

20/11/2009, 5:23 PM
Bless

Greenbod
20/11/2009, 5:24 PM
thank you.

EastTerracer
20/11/2009, 6:00 PM
If it was an honest assessment of the chances we missed in the 90 minutes and the defending before the French handball / goal then it would just be another manager giving his opinion. However its clear he's settling his own personal issues with the FAI, Shay Given and World Cup 2002. Not worth listening to in my opinion.

cudsy1
20/11/2009, 6:13 PM
Playing for your country is the greatest honour ever bestowed upon you - look at what it meant to lads like Andrews and St Ledger who were immense. Those players gave everything for the shirt (a lot more than anything he ever did in a vain bid to protect his precious Man Utd career)

can i just point out that we would never have qualified 2002 without his displays, and our barren spell of non qualifications for major tournaments would currently be standing at 15 years and counting

20/11/2009, 6:15 PM
Apologies if this has already been said, but I'm finding Roy Keane telling people to 'Get over it' hilarious considering in the same interview he's still banging on about Delaney and Saipan.

markmc
20/11/2009, 6:19 PM
Busy deflecting the fact that Ipswich are crap. Bet he was not questioned about his team...

Greenforever
20/11/2009, 6:51 PM
We should just forget about Weds and get on with it so we can deal with Saipan and the terrible injustice done on RK by the country, the players, the fans, Delaney and anyonelse alive or dead at the time, as Roy said we should just get on with it and break Henry's legs next time we play him:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Drumcondra 69er
20/11/2009, 6:53 PM
He's right. we're bitching and moanin bout being robbed once again. The match should have been over in 90 minutes and McShane should never have let that ball bounce....

Rubbish. Say McShane had put the ball out for a corner and they'd scored from that? He'd be getting slated for giving away a needless corner. The ball was going out for a goal kick till Henry handled it and there were 2 players including the eventual goalscorer clearly offside, blaming the defence and the keeper is nonsense and is clearly a personal dig at the players involved. And the pure hypocrisy of the man saying we need to get over it at the start of his rant and then proceeding to give out yards about Saipan 7 years on is comical in a sad bitter sort of way. Those slavishly following him and still hanging on his every word sound more ridiculous by the day and all.

youngirish
20/11/2009, 6:59 PM
Why do we care what some sh*t Championship manager struggling to keep his job and avoid relegation thinks?

Drumcondra 69er
20/11/2009, 7:01 PM
can i just point out that we would never have qualified 2002 without his displays, and our barren spell of non qualifications for major tournaments would currently be standing at 15 years and counting

Can I just point out that without Jason McAteers goals home and away to Holland and him winning the penalty in the home leg of the play off we would never have qualified in 2002 and our barren spell of non qualifications for major tournaments would currently be standing at 15 years and counting.

Ditto for Robbie Keane and Ian Hartes goals in the qualifiers and Shay Given's displays in goal. Etc etc.

Keane was magnificent in that campaign but he wasn't the only man on the team.

20/11/2009, 7:27 PM
The only thing I disagreed with during Keano's rant was that it was Shay's fault. I don't think a keeper would go for a ball like that particularly when there were so many bodies in the way.

highlight100
20/11/2009, 7:36 PM
I think people respect Thierry Henry more than Roy Keane.

4tothefloor
20/11/2009, 7:56 PM
Keane had a few points (Georgia, Delaney) but the man is an absolute pig. What's he giving an extended interview at Ipswich about the Republic of Ireland for anyway? Do yourself a favour Roy and get over yourself, and concentrate on your own team because you're one **** manager. And by the way McShane was one of your signings, so go fcuk yourself while you're at it, Ipswich wouldn't defend themselves you hypocritical arsehole :rolleyes:

soccerboy
20/11/2009, 8:14 PM
you have to admit that keane makes a couple of good points...still i believe he is a bitter man,he's been waiting in the long grass to have a go at delaney for years..but in fairness it is time to forget about saipan,what is it with ireland and controversy when it comes to world cups...we were the talk of 2002 because of the shambles in saipan and now we are the talk of world football over wednesday night,i think keane is right and we have to move on and forget about it,yes we were cheated but granting a replay will open a huge can of worms for fifa in the future,every time there is a controversial match deciding decision replays will be sought (sunderland balloon incident,pedro mendes goal v united,i'm sure there is loads more)..people need to move on because all this talk of a rematch is just false hope for people,there's not a snowballs chance in hell that we'll get one!!

Girl in Green
20/11/2009, 8:17 PM
Just watched the interview, bet the reporter dat got that scoop is gettin a bonus in his next pay packet; amazin interview.
He defo had a rant but you have to agree with him on some levels. Some of his comments will hurt the Irish players for sure but the truth hurts; I was in Paris and I can honestly say that I have never seen an Irish team play so well but you have to ask yourself where were they for the rest of the campaign why were they not playing to dis potential we all know they have in them. I don't get any joy from sayin dat but having had 48hrs to digest it all now we had some lousy results and performances, crazy decisions by our manager with players call-ups (or expulsions) & team selections.
On the plus side we were unbeaten in the group and we drew with the Italians; I did'nt miss a game in the group home and away and I love supporting the bhoyz in green thru the highs and lows along the way. We have to think to the future and be positive.
I think we won in Paris both morally but most importantly on the pitch, there was never gona be a replay; they had to cheat to beat the bhoyz in green but "you'll never beat the Irish". Bring on Euro 2012.....

MeathDrog
20/11/2009, 8:24 PM
It still amazes me that people still think what this knacker has to say is relevant. The man was an absolute disgrace to his country and is in no position to criticise the Ireland team.

If he is such an expert on good defending, why is his team bottom of the League?

If anyone else said this, fair enough I wouldn't agree with their opinion, but they're entitled to it. But for Roy Keane to have a dig at the Irish players after they fought heroically against France (best performance since Holland 2001 IMO), is just not acceptable. It's cheap publicity if I've ever seen it. Especially from a man who ran from the cause of his country all those years ago. *****. How dare he even mention the Ireland team.

Den Perry
20/11/2009, 8:28 PM
Rubbish. Say McShane had put the ball out for a corner and they'd scored from that? He'd be getting slated for giving away a needless corner. The ball was going out for a goal kick till Henry handled it and there were 2 players including the eventual goalscorer clearly offside, blaming the defence and the keeper is nonsense and is clearly a personal dig at the players involved. And the pure hypocrisy of the man saying we need to get over it at the start of his rant and then proceeding to give out yards about Saipan 7 years on is comical in a sad bitter sort of way. Those slavishly following him and still hanging on his every word sound more aiculous by the day and all.

I have to say I always defended Keane and still agree with him on some issues, but his comments today are terrible.Ok, we had enough chances to win,Mcshane should have cleared.However, the fact is we were done by a goal at should have been disallowed.everything else is irrelevant when discussing that goal.his lack of sympathy is awful.

Anybody know what the problem between him and Given is? does it relate to the the incident of the goalkeepers not training as much in Saipan ?

Greenbod
20/11/2009, 8:29 PM
Bring on Euro 2012.....

Yes!......the sooner we have another competitive game the better. Unfortunately we're going to have to wait a while. (it won't be a replay)

Hunty's Flatcap
20/11/2009, 8:40 PM
That interview is a disgrace on so many levels.

Firstly, what an insult to Trapp to criticise his players so publicly, players he shared a dressing-room with let's not forget.
As highlighted so eloquently by so many earlier, the hypocrisy in the article is laughable.
Bringing up "Saipan" and then emphasising the phrase "get over it" being a particular highlight. The McShane criticism another. The criticism of ex-players for making money from the press over the incident! Sorry Roy, how much money did you make from your post-Saipan autobiography!?

Roy Keane was a great footballer. A joy to watch and an immense presence in the middle of the park. There is no doubting this.
However, it seems the very same character traits that made him a great player make him a bad manager. There's no compromise, no empathy.
He's the centre of his own world and is seemingly driven entirely by bitterness and hate. He's used this incident to fuel his own anti-FAI agenda.
Regardless of how wednesday's game was settled, on the field that night were eleven men who gave their all for the cause. They ran themselves into the ground on foreign soil, against all odds and deserved so much for their efforts. To criticise them after a performance like that is an absolute scandal. I have no good feeling towards Roy anymore.
What was it his great mate Dunphy once called Venables? "An A-List celebrity, a Z-List Manager".

Deckydee
20/11/2009, 8:48 PM
Keane - Shut it

Manc Irish Wolf
20/11/2009, 8:52 PM

Typical s**te from a no doubt proud Man U fan/Corkonian? If that's your alliegance above Ireland get yourself on Red Issue.

Ireland has and always will be about the sum of the parts. The same team work ethic which reduced the mighty team of french individuals to bystanders on Wednesday night. Keano wasn't the only standout player of that campaign, as Drumcondra rightly says, and as our "stellar player" weren't we due a good campaign from him? The fact of the matter is that for all his footballing prowess can you honestly say that we reaped the full benefits of his ability across his career in comparison to his Captain Fantastic appearances for United?

The man is steeped in bitterness by the bare facts. He was a relative bystander in 94, we didn't qualify for anything with him in the team for 10 years and then when we did he walked out on his country like a petulant child.

He walked out on his country and took the hopes of a nation with him when it mattered most. In his own words "What goes around comes around", and I sincerely hope it haunts him to his dying day.

theworm2345
20/11/2009, 9:18 PM
http://img697.imageshack.us/img697/5750/keane2.png
(maybe I should've gone with the evil clown look but this will do I suppose)

noddy102
20/11/2009, 9:24 PM
He is right about:

- The acceptance of cheating in the game has been rampant for years - therefore it is unfair to blame Henry.

He has a slight point about:

- Ireland should have defended the freekick better.

He is wrong about:

- More or less everything else.

He is a **** because:

He is a bitter bitter man only interested in his stubborn ego and views.

EastTerracer
20/11/2009, 9:30 PM
Anybody know what the problem between him and Given is? does it relate to the the incident of the goalkeepers not training as much in Saipan ?

I believe that was the start of it. I watched a lot of Newcastle v. Man. United games since then and never once saw Shay and Roy shake hands before or after a game let alone have any form of conversation.

Roy has had a go at him on a number of occasions about chasing caps. Personally I think Shay is a legend for his dedication (along with Kilbane, Dunne, Duffer and Robbie).

Greenbod
20/11/2009, 9:37 PM
Anybody know what the problem between him and Given is?

Yes. Given is a great player and decent human being, while Keane was a great player and is a complete and utter tosser. That's why they don't get on.

20/11/2009, 9:51 PM
At least Shay Given turned up for the second leg of the play off.

Roy Keane played a critical role in getting us to the playoffs in 2001. Shay Given got us to the finals.

Even if every word Keane said was right (I've already categorically disputed the comparison with the Georgia incident and a lot of the rest is debatable) the tone of his interview singles him out as a bitter sad man.

I'm proud of every single one of the lads who took to the pitch on Wednesday, even poor McShane who I thought was miles out of his depth. I'll maintain until my dying days that Roy Keane was a great great footballer but I've no pride in him whatsoever. He could be from Kazakhstan for all we have in common.

co. down green
20/11/2009, 9:52 PM
Bizarre interview by Keane, i honestly think the guy is mentally unstable.

Tells Ireland to move on and get over it & then proceeds to go back to when he abandoned his country in 2002 and moaning abour Delaney etc..

"Didn't even phone me", "didn't even knocked the door of my room"

Act your age Roy!

Roy's all ME..ME..ME.

4tothefloor
20/11/2009, 10:37 PM
Roy is definitely not the full shilling. In his playing days he was able to channel his energies on the pitch, where he patrolled the pitch like a lunatic. These days he doesn't have that outlet so instead we now have to listen to him pontificating with his anal bulls**t on a regular basis. Roy Keane has a go at someone, wow stop the press :rolleyes: Keane is typical of the working class knacker that fashions a career in football. No class, no intelligence, no integrity, no brains. I hope he keeps his mouth shut on Ireland matters in the future as nobody wants to hear his bitter bile. Won't be long before we'll all be laughing at him when he's out of a job again in a few months time anyway so it's all the one.

Emmet7
21/11/2009, 12:11 AM
Will Keane ever let Saipan rest?

In fact does he ever get over any grudge?

Ok so he has a grudge against John Delaney, but blaming the FAI for all this and saying basically this was deserved by some of the team and the FAI is going way over the top. I hope that occurs to him.

Get behind the Irish team Roy.

Yes chances were missed, that doesn't mean Ireland deserved to lose.

21/11/2009, 12:12 AM
I haven't read through the whole thread, but did anyone think to point out to Keane that he was offside, so the defence did in fact do their job in the first place?

Emmet7
21/11/2009, 12:20 AM
Agreed plus there was no way Given could have gotten to it. McShane was expecting Dunne to head it away as normally but Dunne was obstructed by a player returning from an offside position.

There was about 5 different reasons why that goal should have been disallowed.

21/11/2009, 12:33 AM
I haven't bothered reading this thread but I heard Keane's rant in full. He seems to have a major grudge against Given amongst other. He insults all and sundry and sounds extremely bitter.

Emmet7
21/11/2009, 12:40 AM
According to OfftheBall guys, it's because Given was friendly with Packie Bonner who in turn was friendly with Mick McCarthy, tenuous I know.

It seems he has a grudge against everyone linked to the FAI or Delaney or Mick, a working with the enemy type thing, them and us.

galwayjames
21/11/2009, 12:46 AM
I don't know why anyone listens to Roy anymore, he has some outrageous views and this is another on a long line of them.

21/11/2009, 12:49 AM
Keane is a sad bitter man living on his reputation as a tough footballer. His managerial skills seem inept. Its almost Xmas and he has won 1 game. Its a pity nobody asked him how he reckons, by his own high standards, he is doing with Ipswich. He has an answer for everybody else's problem but he seems dumbfounded by his own problems.

cheifo
21/11/2009, 2:32 AM
He seems obsessed and unhinged. Its comes acroos like the he has been getting worked up watching the fall out from Weds match working himself into a rage and revisiting resentments until he could finally vent his anger to the press/World...and then a Reporters phone rings.:rolleyes:

If I was an Ipswich fan or Director I would be very concerned where his focus seems to lie.

If I was an Ipswich Player I would be checking House Prices outside of East Anglia.

21/11/2009, 2:47 AM
I haven't read through the whole thread, but did anyone think to point out to Keane that he was offside, so the defence did in fact do their job in the first place?

Never heard of play to the whistle no?

21/11/2009, 2:51 AM
Keane had a few points (Georgia, Delaney) but the man is an absolute pig. What's he giving an extended interview at Ipswich about the Republic of Ireland for anyway?

he was giving a pre-match press conference for Ipswich's weekend game and was asked numerous questions about the Irish incident given that he is the former Irish captain. Not hard to figure out why he talked about it to be fair.

I'd be more worried about why Harry Redkanpp, Sir Ferg and Lee Dixon were talking about it

Giuly
21/11/2009, 7:01 AM
Cantona defending Ireland, Keane defending France... So fuuuuuunny...