View Full Version : Roy Keane on Henry and John Delaney

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

ericdred
20/11/2009, 11:26 AM
Sorry about the quality of the audio but it was recorded off my phone from sky sports news!!

http://www.4shared.com/file/155879038/dfcb5f96/roy_keane_on_henry_and_delaney.html

Drumcondra 69er
20/11/2009, 11:33 AM
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/international/article6925119.ece

Anyone still into defending this complete **** of a man?

“It was instinct for Henry. Would I call him a cheat – no I wouldn’t think so," he said. "Did he bend the rule a little? – Maybe. You see cheating going on all the time in games. Nobody wants a cheat.

“I wouldn’t agree that Henry is a cheat. He is a top, top player who took advantage of the situation.”

endabob1
20/11/2009, 11:36 AM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5706539,00.html

Alf Honn
20/11/2009, 11:36 AM
Agree him though about Delaney. He's some man to be preaching about honesty and integrity.

The Don
20/11/2009, 11:39 AM
He is such a tosser. Manipulating the situation yet again just to stick the knife in.

ronburgundy
20/11/2009, 11:45 AM
he has turned into a real *****. he tells the irish players to forget about it? he was asked about this incident and on he went about 2002 again. i think hes the one that needs to forget about it. he is still holding a grudge against Given for not being a little lapdog to him through the years. He has some cheek complainin about Irelands defending when you see what his Ipswich team get up to week in week out. Its sad to see, once he was the greatest hero in ireland, now he is almost anti irish and a bitter old ****.

Duggie
20/11/2009, 11:46 AM
little disappointing, come on roy your an irishman. no matter what he says i still cant get away from the fact that he was a legend for us in the green shirt.(saipan is another debate).

KK77
20/11/2009, 11:48 AM
Rent a quote. So shocked he has something to say on this -NOT!

Noelys Guitar
20/11/2009, 11:48 AM
A self regarding piece from Roy. I thought he went shopping when we played games?

smasher
20/11/2009, 11:53 AM
What do you expect from a pig but a grunt!
That guy would'nt know honesty or fair play if it hit him in the face.

onenilgameover
20/11/2009, 11:55 AM
Horrible man and manager.

macdermesser
20/11/2009, 11:56 AM
Who signed Paul Mc Shane again? in reference to where are the defenders in the 6 yard box?

Bitter man .. bringing Saipan into it... but his comments about Delaney are not far off the mark. 70 euro for a child to watch a home game at Croker etc etc blurg

20/11/2009, 11:57 AM
Although I do agree we need to move on, the idea of Keane ( multiple winner of World Champion Grudge Bearer title) telling anyone else to move on and forget about it is absolutely hilarious (to everyone bar Haaland at any rate).

dan o d
20/11/2009, 11:58 AM
theres a march tomoro at 2pm from landsdowne road to the french embassy in protest of fifa, the fff thierry henry

Park_Lane
Good man Roy bitter as ever. Enjoy managing in league one if you even last that long you c*nt.

Greenbod
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/international/article6925119.ece

“It was instinct for Henry. Would I call him a cheat – no I wouldn’t think so," he said. "Did he bend the rule a little? – Maybe. You see cheating going on all the time in games. Nobody wants a cheat.

This "instinct" excuse really gets my goat...How could it possibly be instinctive for a professional footballer to handle a ball.....a goalkeeper maybe..but these guys train everday.........with their feet!!! It could only be instinctive for a cheating footballer.

And deliberate hand ball is now "maybe bending the rules a little"....my god I think Keane is suffering early onset dementia.

Leeside Swagger
20/11/2009, 12:00 PM
He makes a vaild point though; we had plenty of chances to score and we even had a chance to clear our lines before they scored, all this talk of a replay is embarrassing nonsense. Seeing all these politicians rubbing their hands together and trying to associate themselves with this "injustice" makes me sick.

If the FAI just focused on using this to highlight the need for video replays and eliminating cheating rather then asking for the impossible id have a lot more respect for them.

Two Touch
20/11/2009, 12:03 PM
I used to love Roy Keane-as a player & as a person-for the fact that he used to stand up to all the b*llsh*t that surrounds the PL but now i am beginning to find his comments a little embarressing. How he expects people to just 'move on' after what happened this week is beyond me.

I think that he may have been secretly delighted that we did'nt qualify such is his hatred for the FAI.

20/11/2009, 12:03 PM
That's it lads, slag him off and don't try and answer his point about Georgia or the shocking defending

Not that ye all haven't become masters of evading proper questions on this forum :rolleyes:

macdermesser
20/11/2009, 12:05 PM
the funniest part of the video was when the phone went off. He's becoming a parody of himself. Little angry multimillionaire with a God complex.

RiffRaff
20/11/2009, 12:06 PM
I don't like that guy but I have to admit he has a point. We did get a ridiculous penalty decision against Georgia - at least as debatable as the Henry incident - and we should have cleared the ball. There is obviously bad feeling between him and McShane / Given so he managed to get a dig in there. He's also right about Delaney. Maybe he should have been answering questions about how his own team is so sh1t though.

Greenbod
20/11/2009, 12:06 PM
He makes a vaild point though; we had plenty of chances to score and we even had a chance to clear our lines before they scored,

He makes obvious points, which everybody are well aware of and which are totally irrelevent to the fact that Henry cheated.

macdermesser
20/11/2009, 12:09 PM
That's it lads, slag him off and don't try and answer his point about Georgia or the shocking defending

Not that ye all haven't become masters of evading proper questions on this forum :rolleyes:

shocking defending after 115 minutes .. right you are. Comparing the Georgia game to a game of this magnitude ..

(its a fair point about the penalty but it was not a deliberate action (i.e. error by the ref) to compare with Henry's cheating)

Just shows his managerial style when he says he would have laid into Shay after the game for his mistake and not mentioned the handball. Like to have seen him try.

He would have been better served by keeping his mouth shut for a few days .. but as usual the man has certain revenge missions to get out of his system.

Drumcondra 69er
20/11/2009, 12:10 PM

What about the stonewall penalty for handball we didn't get away to Montenegro, was Roy out walking the dog when that game was on? Or does not mentioning that while crapping on about Georgia suit his agenda better? And for him to go on about moving on and getting over things? Please. :rolleyes:

Scram
20/11/2009, 12:15 PM
Why another thread on this self-publicising ASS?

I don't know what he says, I don't care what he says and, shouldn't a guy who can't take a team out of the bottom three of the Championship be concentrating on that task?

The Don
20/11/2009, 12:18 PM

What is his point. If can you find one, somebody might be able to answer it.

20/11/2009, 12:18 PM
What about the stonewall penalty for handball we didn't get away to Montenegro, was Roy out walking the dog when that game was on? Or does not mentioning that while crapping on about Georgia suit his agenda better? And for him to go on about moving on and getting over things? Please. :rolleyes:

That penalty doesn't matter because you've missed his point basically.

Which is the same as my point, which is as follows

If the Irish want to call foul and scream about fair play and the good of the game and hold them up as shining lights of integrity then do you not see us taking the penalty and the three points against Georgia instead of either a) telling the ref it was never a penalty, or b) saying we'll replay the game when it became obvious afterwards we should never have had it is a little hypocritical?

Doesn't matter about the magnitude of the game either, you're either for fair play or you're not, no degrees of cheating or fairness can be accepted

Alf Honn
20/11/2009, 12:25 PM
Cheek of this man to make a series of valid points, especially our greatest (if not the greatest of all, according to Alan Hansen) player in Premier League history!

The truth hurts, sometimes we don't want to hear it - McShane was at fault for the goal, Duffer has admitted he would have done the same as Henry and we're not going to South Africa.

It must also be pointed out that Henry didn't deny us a place in the World Cup, just a penalty shoot-out.

Who's to say France wouldn't have scored in extra-time anyway. They were the more dangerous team at that point and we didn't create didly squat in the entire 30 mins of extra-time.

macdermesser
20/11/2009, 12:27 PM
Cheek of this man to make a series of valid points, especially our greatest (if not the greatest of all, according to Alan Hansen) player in Premier League history!

The truth hurts, sometimes we don't want to hear it - McShane was at fault for the goal, Duffer has admitted he would have done the same as Henry and we're not going to South Africa.

It must also be pointed out that Henry didn't deny us a place in the World Cup, just a penalty shoot-out.

Who's to say France wouldn't have scored in extra-time anyway. They were the more dangerous team at that point and we didn't create didly squat in the entire 30 mins of extra-time.

stopped reading after "Premier League history"

SeanDrog
20/11/2009, 12:28 PM
regardless of what keane has to say at this point, his point is is lost for many people - reason being he seems to only appear and comment when there is a chance to have a dig.

20/11/2009, 12:30 PM
I'm all for fair play as it happens and no Irish players cheated Georgia. We were given a soft penalty decision. If France were given a soft penalty decision - one earned not by cheating but just by refereeing error - I doubt anybody in Ireland would be calling for a replay. We'd just moan our bad luck instead.

In a big knock out game like this the significance is magnified. It's not just "one of those things that even themselves out over a season".

Maroon 7
20/11/2009, 12:33 PM
Just Keano doing some more score settling. Nothing more to see here.

Emmet7
20/11/2009, 12:34 PM
He makes a vaild point though; we had plenty of chances to score and we even had a chance to clear our lines before they scored, all this talk of a replay is embarrassing nonsense. Seeing all these politicians rubbing their hands together and trying to associate themselves with this "injustice" makes me sick.

If the FAI just focused on using this to highlight the need for video replays and eliminating cheating rather then asking for the impossible id have a lot more respect for them.

How is it embarrassing nonsense?

Only someone who has no real interest in sport or the principles of sport would think it was embarrassing nonsense.

This is much bigger than Henry's goal. It's about standing up for what's right in sport. The fact Ireland is involved in incidental. If it happened to any other country I hope we would all feel the same way about this.

The French achieved a blatently unfair advantage. If this was an athletics race and it was discovered the winner had taken steroids or other enhancing drugs, what then? Disqualify them and strip them of their medal, or just turn a blind eye to it and say it would be embarrassing nonsense and a sore loser to disqualify them.

I would wish the French well if they won the match any other way, penalty shoot-out, flukely but legal goal, wicked deflection, etc etc. But not by cheating which Henry clearly did. A competitve match was turned into a farce by his illegal actions. As far as I am concerned the final result is not legitimate and I don't care what FIFA are saying at the moment. If it was Ireland who scored you can be sure they would be demanding a replay right at this very moment.

Like I said this is bigger than just the Irish soccer team. It's fundamentally about the integrity of soccer and if you think protecting the integrity of soccer is embarrassing nonsense, then I'm sorry you are not a true soccer fan.

20/11/2009, 12:40 PM
This is much bigger than Henry's goal. It's about standing up for what's right in sport. The fact Ireland is involved in incidental. If it happened to any other country I hope we would all feel the same way about this.
We wouldn't though. If it'd happened to England most people would be jumping about celebrating and slagging them about it.

The Don
20/11/2009, 12:45 PM
That penalty doesn't matter because you've missed his point basically.

Which is the same as my point, which is as follows

If the Irish want to call foul and scream about fair play and the good of the game and hold them up as shining lights of integrity then do you not see us taking the penalty and the three points against Georgia instead of either a) telling the ref it was never a penalty, or b) saying we'll replay the game when it became obvious afterwards we should never have had it is a little hypocritical?

Doesn't matter about the magnitude of the game either, you're either for fair play or you're not, no degrees of cheating or fairness can be accepted

All valid points, but not from a man who himself is a hypocrite and never followed a doctrine of fair play. He has just used this situation like many others to settle perceived injustices towards him.

20/11/2009, 1:08 PM
As usual, Keane is only answering the hacks questions - Managers having a press conference on a Friday before a game, who'd have thunk it?

The only point I could really see people taking issue with was trying to blame Given. McShane should've put the ball out instead of letting it go, Ireland did have the chances to win it in normal time, there was no clamour for a replay after Georgia and Delaney is a knob.

I think the supporters deserve better, the manager (Giovanni Trapattoni) deserves better and probably most of the players deserve better, but I'm not sure the FAI deserve better.
Fair enough comment to me, being anti FAI/ Delaney isn't being feckin anti-Irish.

20/11/2009, 1:08 PM
Roy Keane can go to hell, I have completely changed my mind upon him, he is a traitor and a piece of sh*t.

He should shut up, he is a thug and a crap manager, pushing up the Championship with a team he wasted millions on, all his own work no excuses for him.

He won't make it as a manager because he is a spineless selfiish **** bit like Stephen Ireland but with less skill and more thuggary.

**** off Keano you tawt. League one for you assuming they don't sack you first.

What a ****.

Leeside Swagger
20/11/2009, 1:10 PM
How is it embarrassing nonsense?

Only someone who has no real interest in sport or the principles of sport would think it was embarrassing nonsense.

The French achieved a blatently unfair advantage. If this was an athletics race and it was discovered the winner had taken steroids or other enhancing drugs, what then? Disqualify them and strip them of their medal, or just turn a blind eye to it and say it would be embarrassing nonsense and a sore loser to disqualify them.

I would wish the French well if they won the match any other way, penalty shoot-out, flukely but legal goal, wicked deflection, etc etc. But not by cheating which Henry clearly did. A competitve match was turned into a farce by his illegal actions. As far as I am concerned the final result is not legitimate and I don't care what FIFA are saying at the moment. If it was Ireland who scored you can be sure they would be demanding a replay right at this very moment.

Like I said this is bigger than just the Irish soccer team. It's fundamentally about the integrity of soccer and if you think protecting the integrity of soccer is embarrassing nonsense, then I'm sorry you are not a true soccer fan.

I've noticed in a lot of your posts you label people who disagree with your points as not knowing anything about football or not true fans (twice in the above post alone), this point of view is narrow minded and doesn't assist me and most people on here who are trying to have an intelligent debate.

Its nonsense because it simply can't and won't ever happen. Even Trapp agrees (i suppose he knows nothing about football as well?). If you read the end of my post I suggested how the FAI could go about this with dignity and maybe help bring in a change that would eliminate these issues in the future.

Emmet7
20/11/2009, 1:12 PM
We wouldn't though. If it'd happened to England most people would be jumping about celebrating and slagging them about it.

You are confusing nationalism with support for the integrity of soccer.

If it happened to England, (a) there would be an even bigger fuss and demand for a replay with Gordan Brown demanding a replay (even though he's Scottish) and (b) they'd have the same right to demand a replay as us.

The whole issue here is the integrity of soccer. The current system where linesmen and referees can make massive mistakes and then FIFA can say, 'it's none of our business, mistakes like these must stand' is just not good enough. There has to be a change. Video refereeing has to be brought in for such major instances in matches.

IsMiseSean
20/11/2009, 1:12 PM
The one thing he says that really gets to me is "probably most of the players deserve better"
Name one player Roy that doesn't deserve better?
Just because you have a massive chip on your shoulder and are angry with the FAI dont take it out on the players who gave EVERYTHING they had for Ireland on wednesday night...
Dont take digs at players who witnessed you make a TOTAL fool of yourself in a meeting room in Saipan just because they wanted to play in a world cup instead of backing you up when you couldn't keep your mouth shut for another month

Roy you are an a**hole and I despise you greatly....

Rant over!!!

20/11/2009, 1:14 PM
The whole issue here is the integrity of soccer. The current system where linesmen and referees can make massive mistakes and then FIFA can say, 'it's none of our business, mistakes like these must stand' is just not good enough. There has to be a change. Video refereeing has to be brought in for such major instances in matches.
But "we" aren't calling for a TMO, we're calling for a feckin replay. As someone else said, that's where the focus should be for the integrity of football.

20/11/2009, 1:20 PM
You are confusing nationalism with support for the integrity of soccer.
Do you honestly believe all the Irish fans are campaigning for the 'integrity of soccer'?

20/11/2009, 1:22 PM
How do I know it is Saturday?

Ipswich lost!!

cudsy1
20/11/2009, 1:40 PM
look, everyone knows hes just another angry norrie, but in trying desperately to move on from this utter disaster, i welcomed some of his comments. yes, hes been talkin ****e regularly for a long time now. but feck it, at least some of these comments help ease the sense of injustice somewhat. however, duffers comments about how the players reckoned the french players heads were gone even in the first half brought me back to wistful sighs....remember how many times they kicked simple passes out of play? they were woeful!!

20/11/2009, 1:42 PM
Do you honestly believe all the Irish fans are campaigning for the 'integrity of soccer'?

I think a lot of fans are, there is support from all around the world, I have seen support from Serbs who say they will cripple Henry!!

carloz
I idolise roy keane but hes making me embarassed to say i do here, very disapointing comments. Bitter man

Agreed. As with you i love Keane. But he was asked a question about Wednesday night and he made it a personal issue about himself and Delaney from 7 years ago, and also got a dig in at Given and McShane. poor form Roy

This is much bigger than Henry's goal. It's about standing up for what's right in sport. The fact Ireland is involved in incidental. If it happened to any other country I hope we would all feel the same way about this. How many other poor decisions that impacted any other clubs or countries have you campaigned so strongly against as a matter of interest?

Like I said this is bigger than just the Irish soccer team. It's fundamentally about the integrity of soccer and if you think protecting the integrity of soccer is embarrassing nonsense, then I'm sorry you are not a true soccer fan.Yup, I'm a football fan meself.

passerrby
20/11/2009, 1:44 PM

he is a quiter and a tosser who let his country down the fact that he was our most talented player does not make him any kind of expert ,like us all he a asrehole with a opinion. but we choose to support our country

20/11/2009, 1:45 PM
So Keane goes on TV suupports injustice and then expects people to play for him, he is an idiot.
He is not fit to maage a brothel, although he would probably fail at that too.

20/11/2009, 1:46 PM
he is a quiter and a tosser who let his country down the fact that he was our most talented player does not make him any kind of expert ,like us all he a asrehole with a opinion. but we choose to support our country

And that negates his point about Ireland bottling chance after chance, the shocking defending leading up to the goal, and the hypocritical nature of Irish fans, players and management crying foul when it suits them how?