View Full Version : Cup Final Tickets? Ocean 9.30 Fran Gavin
Rovers Maniac
28/10/2009, 11:15 PM
Anybody else hear we are only getting 3,000 and we have been told that if Fingal don't sell their full allocation we can have their left overs. Also the FAI won't sell the tickets via the clubs you have to buy them off Ticketmaster. Takes the shine off the final to say the least, we will have had more support at the semi final probably than the final, FAI are a shambles if this turns out to be true as the club may get a bit of a backlash around the town even though it's not their fault.
srfc1928
28/10/2009, 11:26 PM
Anybody else hear we are only getting 3,000 and we have been told that if Fingal don't sell their full allocation we can have their left overs. Also the FAI won't sell the tickets via the clubs you have to buy them off Ticketmaster. Takes the shine off the final to say the least, we will have had more support at the semi final probably than the final, FAI are a shambles if this turns out to be true as the club may get a bit of a backlash around the town even though it's not their fault.
If this is the case its an absolute joke.
3,000 tickets, how are they going to be divided up fairly.
There will be mayhem and a lot of disapointed fans or potential fans.
If this is the case it just goes to show how serious the FAI take domestic football and more importantly Sligo Rovers FC.:mad:
sligofan4ever
28/10/2009, 11:28 PM
Thats f*cking ridiculous if true. The maximum capacity at the moment in Tallaght is about 6000, We could easily fill that ground ourselves, i'm sure we'd get 6000 people that would travel from Sligo, plus the Dublin based supporters. Surely it would be a much better idea to put them on sale at Drogs game and put the rest on ticketmaster for the Johnny come lates ?
I'm sure the people of Sligo will understand its not the club's fault, its just yet another mistake made by the FAI.
Boo_Boy
28/10/2009, 11:29 PM
Feck it. Just let the club buy all the tickets on Ticketmaster, then re-sell them in the usual stores round the town.
Sorted.
sligofan4ever
28/10/2009, 11:32 PM
Feck it. Just let the club buy all the tickets on Ticketmaster, then re-sell them in the usual stores round the town.
Sorted.
Boo_Boy: Salesman/Ticketperson genius in the making.
Rovers Maniac
28/10/2009, 11:40 PM
They have done it before, i mean an allocation of 3,000 is a joke when both the local papers reported the crowd on Friday was 5,100. As 1928 said potential new fans lost, i was chatting to a lad brought his kids to the game last friday and the young lads now run around the house chatting Rovers and mad to see there next game, which is what it's about at the end of the day get people in to watch the games. I'm sure they will be asking what the point is when you can't get near the big games, and you can bet a lot good loyal fans p'd off over this. A 6,000 capacity stadium is a total joke for a cup final, if Pats or Shels were in the final v Fingal they would have the extra seating in place even though we are a better supported club than these. Joke if this rumor turns out to be true.
Well Red
29/10/2009, 8:18 AM
Your information is wrong and lets kill this story now, Rovers are getting in excess of 4000 tickets and from information that i have received are being treated very well by the FAI regarding tickets and loction where Sligo fans will be seated.
Anyway if they have to be bought from Ticketmaster how would they be able to tell between Rovers and SF supporters. If they go by address then it will be so easy to get around it.
29/10/2009, 9:56 AM
We're getting 2,500 tickets according to Ocean FM.
29/10/2009, 10:06 AM
Look as if this is the case. But SURELY the FAI have the cop on now to install temporary seating behind both goals now. Plus they'll grease themselves up with a bit more cash.
sligofan4ever
29/10/2009, 10:11 AM
Just heard that from one of my neighbour's, absolute joke :mad: Tallaght could easily sell out with Rovers supporters alone, we got 10000 up to the final in '94, now suddenly we're only allowed to bring 2,500 ? there are going to be so many Rovers fans p!ssed off about this, I wouldn't be surprised to see FAI receive plenty of complaints from Rovers fan, but as usual, they'll put all complaints in the junk/spam folder :rolleyes:. How are the rest of the ticket's being divided does anyone know ? So many supporters being left without a ticket who genuinely are interested in Rovers and aren't just event junkies or sunshiners, I hope our regulars get the tickets and aren't being denied a chance to be at this final by sunshiners.
red bellied
29/10/2009, 10:12 AM
They will have fcuking bucket seats for the play off game in Croke Park though.
rovers100%
29/10/2009, 10:29 AM
fai have confirmed no temporary seating for the final......... such sh1t if we were derry or cork or one of the dublin clubs they would have the seating arranged but because we are from the west they couldnt give a fook. i can see tickets being like gold dust yet. another shambles involving the fai !!!! should we expect anything less
redarmyfaction
29/10/2009, 10:45 AM
fai have confirmed no temporary seating for the final......... such sh1t if we were derry or cork or one of the dublin clubs they would have the seating arranged but because we are from the west they couldnt give a fook. i can see tickets being like gold dust yet. another shambles involving the fai !!!! should we expect anything less
Where is this confirmed?
FAI= Failures, Adlams, Idiots.
Guts&Glory
29/10/2009, 10:54 AM
Your information is wrong and lets kill this story now, Rovers are getting in excess of 4000 tickets and from information that i have received are being treated very well by the FAI regarding tickets and loction where Sligo fans will be seated.
Who advised that? Someone at the club?
If so did they say why the information you got hasn't being posted on the Rovers website to try and update the supporters and reduce fears many fans have of not getting tickets ?
rovers100%
29/10/2009, 11:32 AM
page 75 of the star. says talks between the fai and both finalists have prompted the fai not to erect temp seating behind the goals. the fai has also confirmed kick off time as 3.00pm
Brian Boru
29/10/2009, 11:33 AM
Anyway if they have to be bought from Ticketmaster how would they be able to tell between Rovers and SF supporters. If they go by address then it will be so easy to get around it.
However, there are probably more Sligo fans than Sporting fans living in Fingal!
Rovers Maniac
29/10/2009, 11:36 AM
I hear the FAI's line of excuses are it would cost too much money, they don't have enough time to get it organised and they don't think they would fill it. Seems like they are giving a wide range of excuses. They are a total joke and the Delaney fella is a joke.
rovers100%
29/10/2009, 11:38 AM
just shows we are considered nobodies by the fai. obviously filling our ground for semi and getting to europe not to mention 2 fai cups in the last decade count for nothing. i fear there will be a huge scramble for tickets now. any word on when they go on sale
sligofan4ever
29/10/2009, 11:50 AM
just shows we are considered nobodies by the fai. obviously filling our ground for semi and getting to europe not to mention 2 fai cups in the last decade count for nothing. i fear there will be a huge scramble for tickets now. any word on when they go on sale
'94 we won the treble
'95/96 (I think) we were in European action earning points against Heerenveen and Nantes
'98 we won the league Cup
'05 we got promoted to the premier division with a decent side
'06 we made the semi's
'08 we finished in the top 4
09 we've made the final with a great support in the semi's,semi final in League Cup and European Cup action.
In the last 15 years we've acheied alot when you think about it.
You seemed pretty sure when you posted this Well Red. As Guts and Glory asked, who from the club told you this news?
We're getting 2,500 tickets according to Ocean FM.
Unbelievable. Is there anybody who can put an end to the rumour mill? Can we have something put up on the official website maybe?
akearins
29/10/2009, 11:54 AM
I spoke with teh FAI earlier this morning......
Lads we ARE only getting 2500 for the final at the moment. On Monday all aprties will meet in Abbotstown to thrash things out so maybe we may increase our allocation from 2500 to possibly 3500 if Fingal do not take their full allocation.
(However what the FAI have failed to realise is that Tallaght stadium is actually Fingal County Councils ground and who is in the Final only Fingal. The CC will take the full allocation no doubt and distribute them to schools and homes in Fingal leaving us with 2500.)
If it was "Bohs and Shams, we would have put in bucket seating but its only Fingal".FAI seem to think that we would bring maximum 5000, said more close to 7000 -8000 but didnt think so.
We get 1500+ on a Tuesday playing Bray and we are fighting relegation, more than most teams get ona normal night.
To put it this way. On average evn though I do not go I'd say the Sligo GAA get between 500-1000 for a national league game.
How many travelled to the Connaught final..6,000 a hell lot more than 2500.
These aren’t all GAA fans but sligo fans whatever the sport.
Now if we are doing anyway well we get 50% more than the GAA so we should easily get 7000 for an FAI final.
FAI will NOT pay for bucket seating, nothing to do with time its cost.
Also afraid it would look bad on TV if seats empty.
This is the same FAI that MADE all LOI clubs, who have **** all money buy 10year tickets for the AVIVA stadium. Made them.
Explained what if 7000 travel and only 2500 have tickets, what happens when 5000 got to the gate to get in are the FAI prepared to allow this to happen. YES
Remember this is the same association that will make a minimum of €10, 000000 from the France play off but doesn’t give a damn about the LOI to spend a tiny fraction of this to accommodate genuine LOI football fans.
The same association that are "doing all they can to get extra tickets for Ireland fans". We are them and the FAI is now playing the role of the French FA. Hypocrisy of the highest order.
This is the cherry on top by the FAI in a year that they have highlighted their incompetency to run the league
So what do we do...
rovers100%
29/10/2009, 11:55 AM
hopefully someone from the club will tell us what is the truth.............
akearins
29/10/2009, 11:57 AM
This is the case straight from the FAI
We are getting 2500 guaranteed and if Fingal send any back.
Jeebus
29/10/2009, 12:03 PM
Tallaght is owned by South Dublin County Council Alan, not Fingal. Fingal County Council is on the northside of the city.
rovers100%
29/10/2009, 12:03 PM
scandalous shower of prics
I spoke with teh FAI earlier this morning......
(However what the FAI have failed to realise is that Tallaght stadium is actually Fingal County Councils ground and who is in the Final only Fingal. The CC will take the full allocation no doubt and distribute them to schools and homes in Fingal leaving us with 2500.)
Couldn't agree with you more Alan in all you say. What do we do now indeed. I'm flabbergasted.
Must take you up on the above post though. Tallaght stadium belongs to South Dublin County Council, not Fingal County Council.
Thanks for clearing up the confusion regarding the allocation though. Truly sickening news.
Sorry Jeebus, too quick for me
MMVIII
29/10/2009, 12:09 PM
If 2500 tickets is the case, its a fcuking joke. On the topic of temporary seating, maybe it has to do with the SDCC. Sure weren't Shams not allowed to put in temporary seating for their sell out versus Bohs?
Hope to fcuk its not true. Why couldn't they had it somewhere else ffs.
rovers100%
29/10/2009, 12:11 PM
its sickening. they will have to put the tickets on sale in the drog game or something i suppose to guarantee fans are buying them. it feels like the fai have just stood on us as a club !!!
red bellied
29/10/2009, 12:23 PM
Might as well play it in Longford as their ground has over 6,000 seats. The Fingal freebies won't bother travelling there. You can tell what the Fai think of the game here limiting the national final to 6000 capacity.
29/10/2009, 12:26 PM
Hopefully when the clubs meet up, someone will drill some sense into the FAI. Even one extra stand behind one of the goals would do a job. Move to RDS maybe? I'd rather be in the RDS with 8,000 of us, and the ground looking half empty, than be in Tallaght with 2,500 of us.
rovers100%
29/10/2009, 12:26 PM
i honestly think we could fill the ground on our own. hopefully something will be sorted when clubs meet the fai. i fear a bombardment of emails on the way to to the fai
Guts&Glory
29/10/2009, 12:39 PM
Throwing a bit of a mad one out here but say you can fit 2,000 buckets seats behind each goal.
Should Rovers suggest on Monday to the FAI that the club will pay for them to be installed on the basis that they sell the tickets for those seats thereby allowing another 4,000 (or whatever number of bucket seats can be installed behind the goals a la the Madrid game) to Rovers fans. We all know Rovers fans would snap up the extra tickets up and the club would hopefully be confident of that also.
Then sales money from the extra 4,000 seats pays for the cost of installation and the balance is split three ways as per FAI Cup games.
srfc1928
29/10/2009, 12:41 PM
2,500 tickets is shocking news.
The FAI dont give a damn about us and this is the evidence that proves it.
Clubs up and down the league are struggling for crowds all season, now when we have the potential of a big crowd for the cup final and finish the season on a high note for everyone involved in the league, after all the bad news, what do they do - limit the crowd.
Are the FAI now in the business of turning fans away.
It might be expensive to install temporary bucket seats but so what, if even a small percentage of fans return on the back of this final it will pay for itself in the long run.
Very short sighted and could end up doing more damage to Rovers in the long run, pi$$ing off regular fans and turning away potential ones also.
The FAI come up with ridiculous ideas such as the An Post scheme giving out free tickets trying to attract new fans, and now we have a situation where people will be crying out to pay for tickets and we cant facilitate them.
Ive never heard of anything more ridiculous in my life. The whole situation is very demoralising.
srfc1928
29/10/2009, 12:46 PM
Hopefully when the clubs meet up, someone will drill some sense into the FAI. Even one extra stand behind one of the goals would do a job. Move to RDS maybe? I'd rather be in the RDS with 8,000 of us, and the ground looking half empty, than be in Tallaght with 2,500 of us.
I agree. I couldnt give a toss where the final is played, but we cant turn away regular and potential fans. This needs to be sorted out very soon. No point increasing the capacity a few days before the final either, people will be traveling from England, US and other parts. Also if it turns into a mess a lot of the potential fans will turn around and say 'sod it i couldnt be bothered at this stage'
CF1989
29/10/2009, 12:52 PM
there not going to change it from tallaght now. not a hope. the FAI are a joke shop. they'll be too busy wondering what restaraunts to go to in paris and when they'll visit the eiffel tower to think about the LOI fans and giving something back to us for a change
Guts&Glory
29/10/2009, 12:54 PM
I agree. I couldnt give a toss where the final is played, but we cant turn away regular and potential fans. This needs to be sorted out very soon. No point increasing the capacity a few days before the final either, people will be traveling from England, US and other parts. Also if it turns into a mess a lot of the potential fans will turn around and say 'sod it i couldnt be bothered at this stage'
As a season ticket holder and permanent fixture at the International games I am thinking sod it, the FAI can stuff their Int match tickets up their a$%e in future and I will stick with my Rovers season ticket in future.
Too costly and too short notice to install bucket seats is just BS, who else is exactly going to be using them in Ireland/UK in late November ???
red_away
29/10/2009, 1:00 PM
Mr. Brannigan,
Can the club confirm the above claims?
And if so what steps are been taken to resolve the situation?
rovers100%
29/10/2009, 1:01 PM
hopefully season ticket holders and also people who made the huge effort and expense to go to albania will be looked after first. although how would anyone prove they were in albania. i dont think i kept anything from the trip.
The Lep
29/10/2009, 1:02 PM
Can I have your ticket?
ye, i'll post it to you on the 23rd
Guts&Glory
29/10/2009, 1:05 PM
hopefully season ticket holders and also people who made the huge effort and expense to go to albania will be looked after first. although how would anyone prove they were in albania. i dont think i kept anything from the trip.
Sure we all know when you are on a top secret mission no records can be kept.....
prodsc
29/10/2009, 1:05 PM
Won't they have hired bucket seats for Croke Park 8 days earlier? Now do a deal for Tallaght also, FAI.
dublinred
29/10/2009, 1:17 PM
This is the case straight from the FAI
We are getting 2500 guaranteed and if Fingal send any back.
Nothing to stop rovers fans buying them in fingal , plenty of dubs in the DSC.
rovers100%
29/10/2009, 1:18 PM
people on the labour cant get credit cards so stop lying lep............ if the match was on dole day in fingal ya wouldnt get 50 people to the game lol !!!!
redarmyfaction
29/10/2009, 1:18 PM
Fingal will not be handing back any tickets, heres why.
We will sell out our 2500 allocation in one day, disappointed supporters will not hang about waiting for Fingal to hand their surplus they will pose as Fingal supporters and many will get tickets that way, cue a potential for trouble at the game as both sets of supporters share the same area.
Meanwhile a large number of those who travelled without tickets search Tallaght for a pub to watch the game in, cue trouble with the locals in the pub, running riots in the Square.
This has disaster written all over and you have the right men in charge to help it happen.
29/10/2009, 1:24 PM
You say that over 2000 is given to people that care about LOI football but sligo heads keeps posting that you could easily get 10,000 at the final. Where have these extra 8 thousand or so come from? have they suddenly got an interest in loi football just because sligo are in the final when they didnt care about sligo rovers from march to november.
They care enough to pay in to see their club in the semi final though don't they? Fact is, our sunshiners are better than your sunshiners.
The Lep
29/10/2009, 1:29 PM
They care enough to pay in to see their club in the semi final though don't they? Fact is, our sunshiners are better than your sunshiners.
Those that was at the match on sunday was those that go to most home or away games and not just show up for the big games .
I cant believe you posted " Fact is, our sunshiners are better than your sunshiners "
29/10/2009, 1:31 PM
Those that was at the match on sunday was those that go to most home or away games and not just show up for the big games .
I cant believe you posted " Fact is, our sunshiners are better than your sunshiners "
It was meant to be funny, like Avvenalaff.
And use a multi-quote button when your doing your trolling please, your overly inflated post count doesn't make up for the fact you don't support a real club.
rovers100%
29/10/2009, 1:32 PM
on a serious note lep do ye think ye will sell all your allocation ???
CF1989
29/10/2009, 1:32 PM
on a serious note lep do ye think ye will sell all your allocation ???
they'll USE all their allocation anyway