View Full Version : Cup Final Tickets? Ocean 9.30 Fran Gavin

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

29/10/2009, 4:53 PM
This I what I got in reply from Noel Mooney

Thank you for your email- no decision made until next week so we shall bear this in mind.

Kindest Regards,

celticV3
29/10/2009, 4:53 PM
No, knowing the capacity is 6,000 and previous finals has attracted more and knowing that if you did make the final that your demand for tickets would be great.
We didn't know then, we know now and are hopefully going to sort this out with the FAI next week.
There was no reason for us to count our chickens before playing derry,cork, bohs and waterford.

dong
29/10/2009, 4:54 PM
You can be sure that the sligo board will ge giving away free tickets to local td's etc so dont kid yourself.
Im in a position to comment on your club now :)

We will sell over 2500 for sure.

Sligo heads needs to calm down and see what happens at that meeting.

Ive e-mailed the fai as well saying that sligo shouldnt get any extra tickets as its not fair for fans of other clubs who like to attend the final as nutrals. Im sure a few bohs and rovers fans will be attending it.

This is a problem for fans of Sligo Rovers FC who feel genuinely worried that they will not get tickets for the game.
I'm not going to get into a slagging match with you despite your persistent attempts to wind people up.
All I will say is that I've waited 14 years for a day like this to come around and the possibility that I may miss out on a ticket makes me sick to my stomach.
I've e mailed Noel Mooney to that effect.

MMVIII
29/10/2009, 4:54 PM
You can be sure that the sligo board will ge giving away free tickets to local td's etc so dont kid yourself.
Im in a position to comment on your club now :)

Ive e-mailed the fai as well saying that sligo shouldnt get any extra tickets as its not fair for fans of other clubs who like to attend the final as nutrals. Im sure a few bohs and rovers fans will be attending it.

You really are a pathetic cnut. Why give tickets to neutrals when there isn't enough tickets for the fans of the teams partaking in it. Cop on would ya.

If you can't understand where were coming from then you really are clueless.

The Lep
29/10/2009, 4:56 PM
Yee might get rid of them by throwing them out of the back of a moving car but you'll not sell them to supporters you don't have. You comment on us wanting tickets for sunshiners, ironic seeing as your club are praying they can attract more than the 100 regulars to come support you in a cup final.

So your requesting that the FAI push supporters of a club that made the final out to make room for a few people that would be just as happy to watch it on TV as a neutral?:confused: Mind numbing stuff.

Do you think that they should allocate all the seats to sligo then? Have a word will you :) there are plenty of people who go to the final no matter if ther team is playing or not. These go to their own team's game home and away from march to november and are fans of the league but you are saying stuff them so some people who have never been to a league game can can a ticket for the final which may be their one and only game they will see.? Typical selfish attitude of some sligo heads on here.

celticV3
29/10/2009, 4:56 PM
Of course he doesn't. The thought of having a large demand for tickets is inconceivable to the leper.

The Lep
29/10/2009, 4:59 PM
We didn't know then, we know now and are hopefully going to sort this out with the FAI next week.
There was no reason for us to count our chickens before playing derry,cork, bohs and waterford.

Im not talking just about sligo but about any team that had potential to bring a large support to the final.

celticV3
Do you think that they should allocate all the seats to sligo then? Have a word will you :)
How does your mind work? I think, like the rest of the rovers supporters on here, that the FAI should put temporary seating in place. Therefore increasing the number of tickets available so that we can meet the demand for tickets that is already circulating around the club.

RoversInn
To primary school kids, is that problem ?

Yes, You giving them away to Primary school kids is stopping us from bringing our loyal fans to the final.

The Lep
29/10/2009, 5:01 PM
You really are a pathetic cnut. Why give tickets to neutrals when there isn't enough tickets for the fans of the teams partaking in it. Cop on would ya.

Calm down there mrs. There is enough tickets for sligo fans who go week in week out to watch sligo rovers play.

dong
Do you think that they should allocate all the seats to sligo then? Have a word will you :) there are plenty of people who go to the final no matter if ther team is playing or not. These go to their own team's game home and away from march to november and are fans of the league but you are saying stuff them so some people who have never been to a league game can can a ticket for the final which may be their one and only game they will see.? Typical selfish attitude of some sligo heads on here.
The point is, Lep, that a bigger venue or more seats are required to accommodate everybody who wants to see the game.
At no point did any body say:
A) All the seats should go to Sligo or
B) Neutrals should be denied a ticket.

sligofan4ever

Something's scream's clueless about this guy. How are we being selfish when we are only getting 2,500 tickets with the max. capacity being 6000 ? any team would be outraged at having that many tickets allocated to them. Many of our regulars and potential new fans may miss out on what could prove to be a great final, and we want whats best for those who want to attend, especially does who come out to The Showgrounds every game no matter what, some regulars could miss out because of sunshiners who will probably never attend another game all season in 2010 if we dont make another semi final. The town is buzzing already about the final and mad for tickets and it shows just how much cup football means to the people of Sligo. I'd say both Fingal fans are just as excited as a whole town rich in football history thanks to this proud club.

The Lep
29/10/2009, 5:02 PM
Yes, You giving them away to Primary school kids is stopping us from bringing our loyal fans to the final.

The final isnt at morton is it?

The Lep
29/10/2009, 5:03 PM
The point is, Lep, that a bigger venue or more seats are required to accommodate everybody who wants to see the game.
At no point did any body say:
A) All the seats should go to Sligo or
B) Neutrals should be denied a ticket.

Thats whats being posted Dong.

dong
29/10/2009, 5:03 PM
Calm down there mrs. There is enough tickets for sligo fans who go week in week out to watch sligo rovers play.
You are obviously missing the point on purpose here.

red bellied
29/10/2009, 5:07 PM

He has posted enough drivel. Where is the famous moderator?

sligofan4ever
29/10/2009, 5:08 PM
Anyone else notice The Lep is the only Fingal fan in this thread ? its spanned over 5 pages so far. Lampers is the only other Fingal fan here it seems. This actually backs the possible fact there are only two Sporting Fingal supporters.

The Lep
29/10/2009, 5:11 PM

No, i understood the point that you want sligo to get more tickets for those who have never seen sligo play before but want a day out at the final and give less tickets to those of other clubs who follow the league week in week out and attend the final every year. Concentrate on getting tickets to your season ticket holders and reqular fans first before crying for tickets for the one off specialists.

Sicuani
29/10/2009, 5:12 PM
Anyone else notice The Lep is the only Fingal fan in this thread ? its spanned over 5 pages so far. Lampers is the only other Fingal fan here it seems. This actually backs the possible fact there are only two Sporting Fingal supporters.

Only one and it is Andy Goram.

29/10/2009, 5:13 PM
Ah, lads, can ye not spot a wind up merchant? Just don't reply to him and he'll go back to his lego set.

celticV3
29/10/2009, 5:13 PM
No, i understood the point that you want sligo to get more tickets for those who have never seen sligo play before but want a day out at the final and give less tickets to those of other clubs who follow the league week in week out and attend the final every year. Concentrate on getting tickets to your season ticket holders and reqular fans first before crying for tickets for the one off specialists.
Irony

The Lep
29/10/2009, 5:14 PM

Foot.ie isnt the mecca for all fingal fans and some prefer to post elswhere and its a silly suggestion then that there are only 2 fingal supporters now aint it :D

rovers100%
29/10/2009, 5:16 PM
2 fingal fans is 20% of yer total support going from the semi final. now my little lep take the lift back down to the ground floor and feed your pony. watch out for the cars on fire on your way lol

The Lep
29/10/2009, 5:18 PM
Ah, lads, can ye not spot a wind up merchant? Just don't reply to him and he'll go back to his lego set.

pot kettle black

The Lep
29/10/2009, 5:21 PM
2 fingal fans is 20% of yer total support going from the semi final. now my little lep take the lift back down to the ground floor and feed your pony. watch out for the cars on fire on your way lol

Sligo heads are a mighty touchy when someone disagrees with them :D
Are you sure you arent shels in disguise.

29/10/2009, 5:33 PM
i agree i think they are the only two god help them :D but lep will reply 'well na na na na in your face were in the cup final, were a comunity club, crowds will grow, sure you have no fans either and did i mention were in the cup final' :D

MMVIII
29/10/2009, 5:36 PM
i agree i think they are the only two god help them :D but lep will reply 'well na na na na in your face were in the cup final, were a comunity club, crowds will grow, sure you have no fans either and did i mention were in the cup final'

Would you ever grow up.

29/10/2009, 5:40 PM
Would you ever grow up.
i'm only joking mate :D just made an observation on what lep mostly says in his posts dont mind fingal at all really :D

MMVIII
29/10/2009, 5:45 PM
i'm only joking mate :D just made an observation on what lep mostly says in his posts dont mind fingal at all really :D

Thats great

29/10/2009, 5:58 PM
Something's scream's clueless about this guy.

It's probably the crest beside his name. ;)

He's just on the wind up, ignore him and he'll go away.

RoversInn
29/10/2009, 6:09 PM
The final isnt at morton is it?

No, Its at Tallaght.

bingoballs
29/10/2009, 6:25 PM
[QUOTE=The Lep;1260706]
Who cares about history, its the future thats important.
Put it like this, there is no glamour for us either to be playing Sligo in the final. I would have prefered a bigger club.[/QUOTE
Football is all about history pal. Being a Sporting Fingal fan I can appreciate this concept may be alien to you but its the truth.

Lamper.sffc
29/10/2009, 6:30 PM
Just seen this. We have been busy.

Just like to say.

1) I hope they do put up more seating to accomodate more sligo fans. As its obvious yous will have more than us.

2) Its not our fault that the FAI are doing this.

3) Obviously the tickets should get to the regular supporters of your club. Which is between 1500 to 2000 I believe.

4) If it is 2500 each it just means you will have less sunshiners than us.

5) I doubt very much their will be many free tickets given away from our side. So yous might get some tickets back.

6) Could yous please leave my name out of an argument im not involved with. (to whom it concerns)

All the best boys

srfc1928
29/10/2009, 6:53 PM
Just seen this. We have been busy.

Just like to say.

1) I hope they do put up more seating to accomodate more sligo fans. As its obvious yous will have more than us.

2) Its not our fault that the FAI are doing this.

3) Obviously the tickets should get to the regular supporters of your club. Which is between 1500 to 2000 I believe.

4) If it is 2500 each it just means you will have less sunshiners than us.

5) I doubt very much their will be many free tickets given away from our side. So yous might get some tickets back.

6) Could yous please leave my name out of an argument im not involved with. (to whom it concerns)

All the best boys
Fair play Lamper.
I hope Fingal can sell their allocation tbh.
But the fai have to inrease the capacity for the game, no one should be denied the chance to go. i dont care if they go to one game or 40 games a season if we are serious about promoting the game of football this needs to be sorted.
The fai spend a lot of money on mareting etc. and now they are going to turn away the very people they are trying to attract to games in the first place. It just doesnt make any sense.
The GAA must be wetting themselves with laughter at this carry on

mint sauce
29/10/2009, 7:15 PM
i'm just thinking did the FAI not see how many people were at the showgrounds last week, now add to that the number who were at the second semi, granted not many, but now this is a final this will bring more people out from both clubs to support them, add to this the neutrals, lovers of the game generally, and the usual allocation of tickets to local communities, schools etc. think theres an arguement for extra seats some where in there, or move the game to the RDS

if this was shams v bohs they would probably have the extra seats in like that

:mad:

CF1989
29/10/2009, 7:22 PM
was talking to a very good source a few minutes ago, he said season ticket holders and 400 club members etc will get first preference on tickets

rob mcdonald
29/10/2009, 7:29 PM
Alan time to get onto MNS as well and get support from George Hamilton and the others who were in the showgrounds last w'end. Then get them to demand an explanation/comment from the FAI. How would they have acted if any of the clubs they have bailed out recently were in the final? They would have maximised seating to boost the gate receipts. Has common sense gone out the window.
Could you give me the MNS email, lets bring this to national attention.....

29/10/2009, 7:47 PM
i assume it's mns@rte.ie ???

unclekev
29/10/2009, 7:58 PM
I see someone asking Mr Brannigan to come on and tell about tickets. I think myself that Mr Brannigan might have much more information like what the team will be wearing in the final.. . . . now that could be interesting from what I hear.
Saying that Mr Brannigan should be good for tickets.

oldrover
29/10/2009, 8:05 PM
My email effort to the FAI

The report that the FAI is planning to limit attendance at the FAI cup final to 6,000 is surely a mistake. The FAI would never treat real soccer supporters i.e LOI supporters or real die hard supporters like those who follow Sligo Rovers in such manner.I know this has to be some joke or publicity stunt! The FAI is well aware that there were almost 5,000 fans in the showgrounds at the semi and that some 10,000 fans from the west travelled to the last final in 1994 to cheer on the bit of red. One of the best supported clubs relative to population (imagine if 25% of the population of Dublin turned up to a match involving a Dublin club) would never be disadvantaged by the FAI. Its time to ease the panic in Sligo and confirm that extra seating will be provided so that all fans will be accommodated at the showpiece game of the season.

Sportingly yours

29/10/2009, 8:07 PM
i assume it's mns@rte.ie ??? yea thats it but doesnt ever work for me:confused:

mint sauce
29/10/2009, 8:12 PM
My email effort to the FAI

The report that the FAI is planning to limit attendance at the FAI cup final to 6,000 is surely a mistake. The FAI would never treat real soccer supporters i.e LOI supporters or real die hard supporters like those who follow Sligo Rovers in such manner.I know this has to be some joke or publicity stunt! The FAI is well aware that there were almost 5,000 fans in the showgrounds at the semi and that some 10,000 fans from the west travelled to the last final in 1994 to cheer on the bit of red. One of the best supported clubs relative to population (imagine if 25% of the population of Dublin turned up to a match involving a Dublin club) would never be disadvantaged by the FAI. Its time to ease the panic in Sligo and confirm that extra seating will be provided so that all fans will be accommodated at the showpiece game of the season.

Sportingly yours

we are talking about the same FAI, prehaps we're all dreaming and its in the RDS as usual

shedhead
29/10/2009, 8:23 PM
Could they just not change the game to Dalymount or Tolka. Surely this would solve all the problems. Im guessing the attendances of those stadia would be close to 10,000 which should be be enough. RDS is prob out of the question as Ireland are playing Fuji there on the Saturday.

29/10/2009, 8:30 PM
Ireland are playing Fuji there on the Saturday.The camera crowd?:confused:

redarmyfaction
29/10/2009, 8:33 PM
If the FAI are not prepared to listen to our concerns we ought to Boycott the final. A big screen in the Showgrounds to show the game. Even if you are lucky enough to get a ticket the occasion will be diminished by the absence of friends and family who aren't there. Its not the FAI couldn't do something if they wanted, they just couldn't be bothered.

Brian Boru
29/10/2009, 9:10 PM
Emailed MNS suggesting lobbying the FAI to increasE Tallaght capacity or move it to Tolka Park.

Tolka is the simple option. More of us will be able to go. More neutral LOfI fans will be able to go. More Fingal fans will go ( it's in Fingal I think).

The FAI will make more money.

The atmosphere will be great.

I live beside Tolka Park.

Leaving aside the last reason there is a compelling case to move the match to Tolka.

Remember our last away game v the Hoops was moved with 24 hours notice.

1 month to go it should be moved and everybody will be happy!!l

red arrow
29/10/2009, 9:23 PM
i've read through all the posts and must commend that nearly everybody is fairly level headed at the moment with regard to this ghastly situation. i have to say firstly that boycotting the final (as some suggest) wont achieve very much. this is my opinion only. so lets not start a thread debating this point. everybody should remain calm for the moment and all of the e mails that iread that were sent to noel mooney made great sense. i want to make a suggestion (its one that will take some effort) and this is it. would it be possible to make a head count on the number of buses that have already being booked for the final and see what numbers ther are. next up is there a specila train going and what numbers will be on it. how many ex pats are flying over from england. how many rovers fans living in dublin will attend etc etc. i i know these stats will be difficult to put togeather but maybe ocean fm might get it going . i would be fairly confident that if we can say to the fai that these are the numbers we already have and we expect (confidently) that within the next two weeks we will have increased our numbers then this may be the catalyst for them to put in extra seating. unfortunately the fai are not reading between the lines & that is people who thought that they would get tickets have already booked and paid deposits to hotels, other people may have booked flights from england. i believe that at this point we could confidently say to the fai tha we have at this point &time 4000 supporters. i'm sure that will increase to another 1000. this in my mind justifies additional seating at the venue. i also believe that the fai were caught short with regard to extra seating at the last 2 finals in the rds because if my mind serves me correctly there were a lot of empty seats behind the goals. they obviously lost money on the event. they are now making error to much on the side of caution (my opinion). if we can get this message across in a proper manner, let nobody go off the rails and begin to make wild statements saying that we will have 10000 supporters. if we get 6000 we will be doing extremley well. unfortunately that time of year the weather is mostly bad & people will prefer to sit in front of the fire & watch it on the box but i still feel that the fai have miscalculated and everybody wheather they are die hards or sun shiners who want to watch the game should be accomodated for.

oldrover
29/10/2009, 9:33 PM
more emails to FAI, RTE Sport, MNS etc ...show them what this means to us

Redexile
29/10/2009, 9:39 PM
Sent an email to the FAI to protest.The more the merrier.I also pointed out that there were 2700 views on this thread in just 8 hours.Now there are over 3000.I'll be travelling from the UK for the game as will many others I suspect,provided tickets can be got of course!

CRFC&SRFC
29/10/2009, 9:41 PM
To Whom It May Concern

I am deeply concerned at the proposed allocation of 2500 tickets for Sligo Rovers fans for the forthcoming FAI Cup final. I do not believe this will be anywhere close to meeting demand. There was in excess of 5000 fans at our semi final 150-200 who were Waterford fans.

At the semi final there was a large proportion of Rovers fans who were there for their first time or there after been away from club for some time. These are the very people that the League of Ireland needs to be attracting and keeping in order for our game to progress. I believe it is of crucial importance for these people and their children to source tickets for the final.

I am a season ticket holder and travel to as many away games as possible and it is clearly evident that the league including Sligo Rovers needs to attract new fans. As a season ticket holder I alone have been contacted by several people (30+) who are not regular fans, asking me to source tickets for them. It would be a travesty if these people and children(The leagues future) were denied the chance of travelling to the final.

I remember travelling to Landsdown Road in 94 as a 12 year old and what a great occasion that was with 10000 Rovers fans roaring on their team. It is a memory that has always stayed with me and I have no doubt it was a major contributing factor for me continuing my support since then. Again it would be terrible if the people of Sligo and other potential LOI fans were to miss out on this final.

It is of paramount importance that the league erects temporary seating to accommodate these fans. An announcement should be made as soon as possible so as both clubs can commence marketing the game at local levels and ensuring everyone who wants a ticket has the opportunity of getting one.

The FAI needs to act quickly and show its commitment to football at this level.

As a Rovers season ticket holder and Lotto subscriber, Irish fan who has been to every home World Cup qualifying games and been to Bari and Sofia games, Rovers game in Albania, and genuine LOI fan who wants to see the league progress, I ask you strongly, to increase the capacity and ticket allocation for Rovers fans for the Cup final.

Kind Regards

Shout and hopfully might get heard......