View Full Version : "A skinny rat, a skinny little rat"

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

Emmet7
14/10/2009, 10:41 AM
When you call a creditable performance against the world champions shameful, and then go on to try and twist your way out of it by saying you were misunderstood, then I'd say it's personal, at least for the members of the squad (as evidenced by Hunt's reaction, and even Given's reaction talking about how you can never please some people).

I agree he did personalise an attack on Trap, although Trap is too professional to take the bait and has had dealt with a lot bigger fish than Dunphy in the media. After all, the Italian media is dominated by people like Berlusconi so you can imagine what it's like.

I don't like the way Dunphy tries to turn the Irish people against Trap. With Giles sitting in the corner nodding his head in agreement. That is really shameful. These two codgers had their go at management and their results were mixed. They don't give credit to Trap. They call some Irish players nothing players and disrespect them.

They do personalise their attacks, particularly on Trap by constantly going on about his tactics and team selection. An objective analysis of both Italian games would say there were periods when we dominated and there were periods when we didn't. But it's the same when Man Utd play or Liverpool play and they don't call their performance shameful.

I just wonder who are the real fans or the old Irish players Dunphy thinks have been shamed by Ireland's recent performance? Liam Brady? Cascarino? Lawrenson? The vast majority of ex Irish players think Trap is a good manager doing a decent job with limited resources.

Most fans think the same.

I am all for free speech and Dunphy can say what he wants. But if he is going to personalise attacks against managers or players he shouldn't be surprised or upset if he gets the same in return.

amaccann
14/10/2009, 10:49 AM
Has anyone, or any group of fans considered bringing a banner to tonight's match with something like "Dunphy Out"? I mean if that route of protest is good for chairmen or managers, then why not pundits? ;)

Polster
14/10/2009, 11:03 AM
http://i606.photobucket.com/albums/tt148/polster1/eamo.jpg

"No No No Bill, we need to bring back Leonardo and Donatello into the squad"

Duggie
14/10/2009, 11:05 AM
"skinny rats out"
this comment is going to have a life of its own i feel.
going to end up a classic.

blobbyblob
14/10/2009, 11:16 AM
Get your Hats Flags or

http://www.planetearthbillboard.com/images/1890s_Rat_Poison_Trade_Card_800.jpg

Defo going one better than the Ukrainians throwing this onto the pitch

14/10/2009, 11:18 AM
It was a misquote from Hunt

'twas more of a 'you dirthy little rat'

http://pamplinero.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/james-cagney2.jpg

Den Perry
14/10/2009, 11:33 AM
I remember that alright now. Didn't know your mans name or that he had a love fest with Dunphy the next day. Actually reflects worse on Liddle than Dunphy really, which is saying something.

Brady used be tough enough with Dunphy alright but even that tension seemed to ease in Brady's final days.

was Rod Liddle the guy who wrote the artice during WC 2002 questioning why everybody loved the Irish and going on about leprachauns, and Robbie Keane's celebrations etc? I remember there was some kind of petition that went around by email?

That aside I actually like Liddle's column in Sunday Times

Den Perry
14/10/2009, 11:53 AM
Robbie Keane needs a good kick up the backside at times, as does mcgeady, both great players, technically way ahead of hunt, but in my opinion could try harder at times. Then of course we have guys not in the squad for various reasons.

But its just an opinion, a counter to the one that Hunt is a useless moron not worthy of a green jersey.

If you want to talk about embarrasing/unnecessary interviews, how about Robbie Keane on the late late, telling us how great Stan was.

I just find it strange that so many want to condemn a guy who gives 100% everytime he plays, and although not the most articulated person in the world, I believe his heart is in the right place. I'm sure the rest of the Irish squad will be pathing him on the back for his Dunphy put down. It also illiminates any urge that Trap or anyone else involved in the setup might have had to respond.

If you believe that is 'utter bulls**t', that is your opinion, and your quiet entitled to voice it.

Roll on South Africa.

Just because he moans the odd time doesn't mean lessen his passion or commitment. If I remember correctly, Robbie played an away match for Ireland a few days after his father died. There can be no greater show of commitment than that. In addition, Mcgeady has taken years of abuse for choosing to play with us

Noelys Guitar
14/10/2009, 11:55 AM
Dunphy on the radio this morning is like a movie trailer for tonights match punditry. I agree with P O'Shea. Trap made Dunphy backtrack (of sorts) by not playing the game. Dunphy's rant has made it easier for Trap in dealing with questions about Andy Reid's non-inclusion. No reporter will pose the question again for quite some time. Trap 1, Dunphy 0. But don't take it too seriously.

Den Perry
14/10/2009, 11:56 AM
To seperate this out - the point thats being made is that you are more concerned about who is talking rather than whats being said -

1) Robbie Keane a hero and therefore everything that comes out of his mouth is golden - FALSE. Robbie Keane is a hero but standing up for Stan was a bad move. It doesnt diminish the man or what he does on the pitch though.
2) Hunt is a clown so everything that comes out of his mouth is a pile of rubbish - FALSE. While he might not be Maradonna, if you seperate the person from the words, his opinion is justified on occasions and this was one of those occasions.
3) Eamon Dunphy is a pundit that makes good television - TRUE - He comes out with some s**t 90% of the time but hes a bit like foot.ie - worth watching for the craic, but dont take it too seriously boys.

In Traps words "Who is this Dunphy. I dont know him. If he knows about football, I would like to meet him" - only to be met with the journalists laughter. I think that says it all.

That's a brilliant retort by Trap. Now contrast that to Hunt's apish response.....

Polster
14/10/2009, 12:16 PM
Just because he moans the odd time doesn't mean lessen his passion or commitment. If I remember correctly, Robbie played an away match for Ireland a few days after his father died. There can be no greater show of commitment than that. In addition, Mcgeady has taken years of abuse for choosing to play with us

You and some others seem to look at these things in a very black and white way...

Hunt is a moron, end of.
Robbie is a Saint, end of.

Like everyone they both have flaws and good points. Robbie is a legend, but he still needs a kick up the backside now and again. Thats my opinion, which you don't agree with, which is fine.
If Hunt had of went on the late late to tell us all how great Stan was, I have no doubt you and others would of roasted him, likewise had Robbie shot down his best mate Eamo, you probably would have cheered him for it. Its one thing defending your manager when someone sticks a mic under your nose, which is I agree with, but to orchistrate it the way he did was in my opinion embarrasing.
I love Robbie, all I'm trying to do is bring a bit of balance to this witch 'hunt' (pardon the pun) that is going on.
I'd say hes great for team moral, and will probably be aplauded within the squad for his comments.

It seems like the way Eamo always needs a crusade to shout about, the same can be said of a lot of people on here who need someone they can latch onto and vent their general frustrations at.

I think the whole episode has been highly comical, and has definitelty given me plenty to laugh about for the last few days. Try to chill out a bit and not take it all so serious.

Drumcondra 69er
14/10/2009, 12:23 PM
It seems like the way Eamo always needs a crusade to shout about, the same can be said of a lot of people on here who need someone they can latch onto and vent their general frustrations at.

I think the whole episode has been highly comical, and has definitelty given me plenty to laugh about for the last few days. Try to chill out a bit and not take it all so serious.

That's the crux of the matter, it has been funny. Only issue I'd have with Hunt is that skinny little rat is a bit of a naff insult, schoolboy stuff really.

Dunphy's backtrack is hilairous though, does he not realise that the post match analysis is available on the RTE website, it's blatantly obvious he was talking about the performance when he used the words terrible and shameful. And his 'real football people know' schtick is embarrassing at this stage.....

Emmet7
14/10/2009, 12:32 PM
Robbie is a legend. And Trap is a legend as well. They are all legends.

It's not too difficult to be entertaining on a football panel. Who would you find more entertaining to listen to, someone who knows their stuff, gives an accurate analysis of the match and goes into detail. Or someone who just insults everyone, managers, players, and other panel members?

If you want razz-ma-tazz and entertainment, by all means watch Dunphy. If you want detailed, non biased and accurate analysis, please don't.

I actually think Mark Lawrenson is a good analyst. He can spot problems in a team or a setup. But he doesn't go over the top and insult everyone.

Reality Bites
14/10/2009, 12:32 PM
I think the real shameful part is that none of the other members of the panel have the balls to put him in his place, Giles is just too nice and Bill is just there too poke,, no real knowledge,I would have thought that Souness would have the toughness to challenge Dunphys daft assertions but disappointly he didn't!

noddy102
14/10/2009, 12:34 PM
Dunphy is a despicable human being.

I listened to the radio conversation this morning at around 8.40am, and heard him defend himself about what he had said. Not only did he deflect the attention away from himself, he also went on to claim that in his opinion the performance on Saturday was Ireland's worst competitive performance under Trap AND then compare it to our best performance... the away Italian performance.

Now hold on a second, just there.

Is this dirty skinny little rat, trying to con everybody into thinking that he actually believes the Irish performance in Bari was in his opinion our best? I remember the rant he went on that night about how Trapattoni blew it and I can remember exactly how he thought he got lucky when gambling with substitutions. He claimed it was the worst Italian team ever, and not once did he mention how it was Ireland's best performance in the campaign thus far.

The man is a joke, and I hope to God he is gotten rid of, so I can once again enjoy watching the post match analysis.

Wolfie
14/10/2009, 12:55 PM
I think the real shameful part is that none of the other members of the panel have the balls to put him in his place, Giles is just too nice and Bill is just there too poke,, no real knowledge,I would have thought that Souness would have the toughness to challenge Dunphys daft assertions but disappointly he didn't!

That said - Souness did state "I'd love Scotland to be in this position" in answer to some of Dunphys more outlandish part of his rant.

Den Perry
14/10/2009, 1:05 PM
You and some others seem to look at these things in a very black and white way...

Hunt is a moron, end of.
Robbie is a Saint, end of.

Like everyone they both have flaws and good points. Robbie is a legend, but he still needs a kick up the backside now and again. Thats my opinion, which you don't agree with, which is fine.
If Hunt had of went on the late late to tell us all how great Stan was, I have no doubt you and others would of roasted him, likewise had Robbie shot down his best mate Eamo, you probably would have cheered him for it. Its one thing defending your manager when someone sticks a mic under your nose, which is I agree with, but to orchistrate it the way he did was in my opinion embarrasing.
I love Robbie, all I'm trying to do is bring a bit of balance to this witch 'hunt' (pardon the pun) that is going on.
I'd say hes great for team moral, and will probably be aplauded within the squad for his comments.

fair enough, and you are entitled to your opinions. I wonder is Hunt that popular in the squad? He's always mouthing off and seems to have a very high opinion of himself...and why the hell was he warming up by himself the other night? to me it was him looking for attention. Maybe I am being blinkered, but I just cannot stand him. That said, if he scores the goal that sends us to South Africa I'll be delighted...but I still won't like him

DeLorean
14/10/2009, 1:09 PM
I hope to God he is gotten rid of, so I can once again enjoy watching the post match analysis.

You must be pretty old if you remember enjoying it pre-Dunphy:)

DeLorean
14/10/2009, 1:11 PM
That said - Souness did state "I'd love Scotland to be in this position" in answer to some of Dunphys more outlandish part of his rant.

He did but there was no conviction in his responses. Brady at his best was the only one that made Dunphy look foolish, Souness mutters out the odd Dunphy contradiction but appears to be walking on eggshells a bit I think.

14/10/2009, 1:33 PM
Ya i think you are right. at first i think souness seemed to enjoy it there and that they spoke how they feel but now feels its a bit of a losing battle trying to challenge them as they monopolise the conversation and he doesn't realy get listened to or a chance. Bill doesn't include him much either, its like an old boys network. Its probably quite difficult on him actually. I think he needs another panel member to come in. Id like someone to email in and say i dont know how you go on listening to the old boys network.

KK77
14/10/2009, 1:54 PM
Ya i think you are right. at first i think souness seemed to enjoy it there and that they spoke how they feel but now feels its a bit of a losing battle trying to challenge them as they monopolise the conversation and he doesn't realy get listened to or a chance. Bill doesn't include him much either, its like an old boys network. Its probably quite difficult on him actually. I think he needs another panel member to come in. Id like someone to email in and say i dont know how you go on listening to the old boys network.

Yeah agree with you about Souness enjoying it. Seems to always try and egg Dunphy on to push him over the edge (most memorably Gareth Crooks/Sven interview WC06!). As a whole Souness always come across with an excellent knowledge of the game and talks a lot of sense. Pity he couldn't aply it to management:D

as_i_say
14/10/2009, 2:06 PM
Sure when Bill first started to talk after the game he addressed the panel "So what did you BOTH think of that?":rolleyes:

14/10/2009, 2:30 PM
Sure when Bill first started to talk after the game he addressed the panel "So what did you BOTH think of that?":rolleyes:

I didnt notice it but its exactly what im talking about. It must be quite difficult for him.

14/10/2009, 3:06 PM

He asked "do you both agree that Ireland were haunted to get the point?"
Which brings up more questions
Both? was Bill temporarily perplexed by the image of a holy pundit trinity?
haunted? did Bill mean cursed by a destiny ?

Deckydee
14/10/2009, 3:36 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1014/dunphy_interview_av.html

He said he was sorry :p

14/10/2009, 4:03 PM
When he said he was sorry at the end, he actually contradicted himself on what he had said at the beginning of the interview :)

Noelys Guitar
14/10/2009, 4:54 PM
latest Dunphy Video
http://www.grapheine.com/bombaytv/v2/play.php?id=135171

Den Perry
15/10/2009, 11:36 AM
I couldn't really hear the post match interview last night, but caught a bit of Hunt's and thought I heard him tell Tony O'Donoghue to "leave it out" or something along those lines in quite a sulky way. Did that happen?

In addition, he appeared to scream at a ball boy midway through the first half when the ball went out for a throw in. I could be wrong, but did anybody else notice this?

Polster
15/10/2009, 11:40 AM
I couldn't really hear the post match interview last night, but caught a bit of Hunt's and thought I heard him tell Tony O'Donoghue to "leave it out" or something along those lines in quite a sulky way. Did that happen?

In addition, he appeared to scream at a ball boy midway through the first half when the ball went out for a throw in. I could be wrong, but did anybody else notice this?

haha, give it a break, your worse than a Dunphy vendetta anyday

Emmet7
15/10/2009, 11:40 AM
Yes he did tell O'Donoghue to leave it out and he was right. O'Donoghue has an irritating habit of trying to stir things such as when he mentioned Andy Reid to Trap. He's trying to get a reaction from the players and it's annoying and a little immature.

Just stick to questions about the game, there's a good lad.

Den Perry
15/10/2009, 11:44 AM
Yes he did tell O'Donoghue to leave it out and he was right. O'Donoghue has an irritating habit of trying to stir things such as when he mentioned Andy Reid to Trap. He's trying to get a reaction from the players and it's annoying and a little immature.

Just stick to questions about the game, there's a good lad.

But if Hunt was willing to make the comments about Dunphy, he should have been prepared for the controversy that followed. He is an arrogant little t***

I'd love to know what the rest of the squad think of him

Polster
15/10/2009, 11:53 AM
But if Hunt was willing to make the comments about Dunphy, he should have been prepared for the controversy that followed. He is an arrogant little t***

He said they all had a laugh about it. So what if he told Tony O Donoghue to leave it out? He said it in a joking way, and admitted his comment was a bit mad, but hey all had a laugh, which is what it was for most people, a bit of fun.

And so what if he did shout at a ball boy for a quicker ball, maybe the ball boy needed shouting at, if he was slow returning it? I didn't see this by the way, and heard no one else bring it up until you did, but obviously your tracking Huntys every step and word, fair play but it seems a bit sad to me.

Drumcondra 69er
15/10/2009, 11:56 AM

Jesus man, you have some chip on your shoulder over Hunt, did he run off with your missus or something?!

Den Perry
15/10/2009, 12:00 PM
He said they all had a laugh about it. So what if he told Tony O Donoghue to leave it out? He said it in a joking way, and admitted his comment was a bit mad, but hey all had a laugh, which is what it was for most people, a bit of fun.

And so what if he did shout at a ball boy for a quicker ball, maybe the ball boy needed shouting at, if he was slow returning it? I didn't see this by the way, and heard no one else bring it up until you did, but obviously your tracking Huntys every step and word, fair play but it seems a bit sad to me.

Perhaps I am.However, when one has a bee in their bonnet regarding somebody, they tend to notice any annoying thing they do. This is a forum where we state our views. I've seen Mcshane,Dunphy, Staunton,Roy Keane and many more lambasted on it. Therefore, I think I am entitled to criticise Stephn Hunt. To me he acts as a big-time Charlie with a hugely inflated ego.

In addition, the ball had only just gone out of play and the young-fella had to run and fetch it. As I stated earlier he may not have shouted at him...

Emmet7
15/10/2009, 12:04 PM

So only pundits should be allowed speak their mind? And if they do, they are hailed as heroes. But if footballers, you know, the guys who actually play the game, speak their mind, they are labelled as arrogant.

Ya cannot have it both ways.

I suspect Hunt gained a lot of respect from a lot of people in the last few days. You can be sure a lot of other players have been dying to say the same but bit their lip. Hunt said what he had to say.

It would be a very sad day if only pundits can say what they like and insult as they please. However I think Hunt said what he did in the heat of the moment and he was rightly angry after what was one of the highlights of most of the player's careers and playing for Ireland is the highlight for most of these players, players like Kilbane, Whelan, Andrews, Hunt, Folan, etc who will probably never win a league or an FA cup, and playing the world champions would be a particular highlight, that someone would come along and try to grab all the headlines by saying the performance was poor, which by the way it wasn't.

In any case, I don't want to put fuel on the fire of what was said or not. I think for everyone concerned the best thing to do would be to draw a line under the whole episode and for everyone to get behind the Irish team for the qualifiers.

People may disagree with Trap, but that shouldn't stop them wishing the best for the team and supporting them to the last.

blobbyblob
15/10/2009, 12:05 PM
Jesus man, you have some chip on your shoulder over Hunt, did he run off with your missus or something?!

If anything should happen the Hunt family, it will hardly be a case for Inspector Morse

Emmet7
15/10/2009, 12:15 PM
Perhaps I am.However, when one has a bee in their bonnet regarding somebody, they tend to notice any annoying thing they do. This is a forum where we state our views. I've seen Mcshane,Dunphy, Staunton,Roy Keane and many more lambasted on it. Therefore, I think I am entitled to criticise Stephn Hunt. To me he acts as a big-time Charlie with a hugely inflated ego.

In addition, the ball had only just gone out of play and the young-fella had to run and fetch it. As I stated earlier he may not have shouted at him...

As Gilsey says, when the ball goes dead, you come alive. He probably spotted a Montenegro defender out of position and wanted a quick throw. If Ireland scored a goal, people would be hailing his quick thinking.

Obviously you can't win with some people.

Den Perry
15/10/2009, 12:25 PM
So only pundits should be allowed speak their mind? And if they do, they are hailed as heroes. But if footballers, you know, the guys who actually play the game, speak their mind, they are labelled as arrogant.

Ya cannot have it both ways.

I suspect Hunt gained a lot of respect from a lot of people in the last few days. You can be sure a lot of other players have been dying to say the same but bit their lip. Hunt said what he had to say.

It would be a very sad day if only pundits can say what they like and insult as they please. However I think Hunt said what he did in the heat of the moment and he was rightly angry after what was one of the highlights of most of the player's careers and playing for Ireland is the highlight for most of these players, players like Kilbane, Whelan, Andrews, Hunt, Folan, etc who will probably never win a league or an FA cup, and playing the world champions would be a particular highlight, that someone would come along and try to grab all the headlines by saying the performance was poor, which by the way it wasn't.

In any case, I don't want to put fuel on the fire of what was said or not. I think for everyone concerned the best thing to do would be to draw a line under the whole episode and for everyone to get behind the Irish team for the qualifiers.

People may disagree with Trap, but that shouldn't stop them wishing the best for the team and supporting them to the last.

I never stated that only pundits should be allowed criticise. What I stated was that if Hunt was willing to make such a controversial comment, he should have known that he would be questioned further on it.Perhaps he is too thick to realise this.Trap responded in a far more dignified way

For the record, I am not supporting Dunphy either. I find him entertaining but think he was way off in his analysis on Sat night

Den Perry
15/10/2009, 12:27 PM

No, my missus only likes good looking blokes like me:D

15/10/2009, 12:44 PM
I suppose there are some people gullible enough to swallow Dunphy still trying to put his 'performance was shameful' remarks in the context of the Andy Reid ommision.
Hardly pausing for a breath intake, a misty eyed Dunphy went on to extoll Andy's generous contributions to real charities involving real needy people (unlike that lanky creep) and that the poor lad must be devastated at his vindictive, unjust and disgraceful exclusion from the squad.
I'm sure there was a real tear at the end but my eyes were so welled up I could not be sure.

Duggie
15/10/2009, 12:48 PM
oh and if i hear the "we have the best golfers......rugby players.....great sportsmen like kilkenny hurlers bla bla bla" BLODDY SHUT UP WITH THAT.

SuperDave
15/10/2009, 12:50 PM
As Gilsey says, when the ball goes dead, you come alive. He probably spotted a Montenegro defender out of position and wanted a quick throw. If Ireland scored a goal, people would be hailing his quick thinking.

Obviously you can't win with some people.

Like this chap?

Video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PAZ3dRYplss)

Den Perry
18/10/2009, 2:59 PM
good article by Richie Sadlier re Hunt's comments today

Drumcondra 69er
18/10/2009, 6:57 PM
good article by Richie Sadlier re Hunt's comments today

To be honest I find it amusing that Richie Sadlier is talking about bullsh1t in it having read his work for the last couple of years....

blobbyblob
19/10/2009, 8:37 AM
Its a funny article in that he talks about there being a misconception in football that the bigger the name the more valuable and valid the opinion. He certainly didnt get a job in the Indo himself for his writing skills. :o

Still I think a lot of what he was trying to say was accurate enough (even if he was sitting on the fence throughout).

weecountyman
20/10/2009, 4:26 PM
It's a little bit like a Russian election, only one side allowed a voice. Fans can abuse players, pundits likewise, but it's a bit Dad's Army when it goes the other way around, as in "They don't like it up 'em Captain Mainwaring". Hunt isn't the brightest spark, but giving into a polemicist like Mr. Dunphy is the same as having a go at Kevin Myers. You just give them more notice!

Jicked
20/10/2009, 4:36 PM
Was I seeing things this morning or was Dunphy on the front of one of the tabloids, claiming that Ireland will beat France?? :D This is the same shameful Ireland who have been an embarassment to dear old Eamo all campaign?

blobbyblob
21/10/2009, 12:24 PM
Sneak preview of Giles and Dunphys rehersals prior to play offs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBSF0Gi7oM0