View Full Version : "A skinny rat, a skinny little rat"

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

13/10/2009, 5:00 PM
eh, me?

You would have to have heard it first before you can say you forgot it.

DeLorean
13/10/2009, 5:27 PM
You would have to have heard it first before you can say you forgot it.

Fill us in then, I don't know what you're talking about either?

Not surprised though cos he used be slating Sinn Fein and Gerry Adams and their connection to the IRA at one stage. I heard Adams on his radio programme one day and he was brown nosing the life out of him. Same with Allister Campbell on the Dunphy Show, even though he was slating the British interference in Afghanistan.

13/10/2009, 5:34 PM
the gist of it:

the two had a love in about how great they were on national radio after dunphy made some derogatory remarks about him. Liddle rang up the show saying how great dunphy was and loved him when he played at milwall. Dunphy told him he admired him as a journalist and they then engaged in 96(dyslexic sex - for liddle)

13/10/2009, 5:41 PM
Didn't Liddle write some viciously patronising article on Irish football some time ago? Was this related?

Carrigaline
13/10/2009, 6:10 PM
When did he play at Man Utd?

Dunphy signed as a schoolboy with Man Utd, as have thousands of other kids.

He didn't play one senior match with Man Utd, not one.

He was let go because Busby saw he was not up to it.

He plied his trade as a journey man pro in the old Division Two mainly, in and out of teams.

He never played a first division game. He never played in a world cup. He never played in a European club competition. He never played at the top level of club soccer or an international tournament.

I know that shouldn't disqualify anyone, but he's talking from a theoretical viewpoint when he talks about the top level. He thinks beating the Italians, Germans, etc is easy. He thinks we have world class players.

The guy is completely deluded.What a crock of sh!t.

Arsene Wenger is one of the greatest managers in the game, yet by all acounts, he was a gash footballer.

Maradonna was one of the greatest players of all-time, yet he's one of the most ineffective managers I've ever seen.

Ability to play football has no baring whatsoever on analysis of the game.

13/10/2009, 6:34 PM
Didn't Liddle write some viciously patronising article on Irish football some time ago? Was this related?
Nothing to do with that.
It started on the RTE CL panel, Brady had already wound Dunphy up to an excited rat like state about Keane. Bill decides to pour petrol on the already blazing fire to turn it into an inferno, he introduced some comment on Keane quoting an article which cast thuggish aspersions against our holy annointed Roy Keane. Dunphy took great exception and becoming more rat like by the second demanded to know who wrote it. He then launched into a diatribe against the so called gutter journalist Liddle because he claimed Liddle ran away with a young one leaving his wife behind.

As paul remembered, Rod and Eamonn professed undying love for each other on RTE radio the next day, truly nauseating radio.

13/10/2009, 6:52 PM
Why all the mention of Dunphy? I didn't see it. Did Giles contradict him? I suspect not.

This has been my main complaint since 1988 and indeed under the Hand era as well I think. The national broadcaster, hosted by a laughing idiot, use our license fees to attack every one of the last 6 Irish managers WITHOUT ANY BALANCE. Other than in the Keane debate, for over 20 years it has been "I agree with John", I agree with Eamon". That is the disgrace. Let Dunphy say what he wants but PLEASE have someone who will put forward a different view and will contradict the utter cr*p DUnphy comes out with.

Is there no articulate footballer out there prepared to put forward a different viewpoint or do the 3 Amigoes make sure it's the "I agree with John/Eamon" sshow.

Infadel
13/10/2009, 7:09 PM
Why all the mention of Dunphy? I didn't see it. Did Giles contradict him? I suspect not.

This has been my main complaint since 1988 and indeed under the Hand era as well I think. The national broadcaster, hosted by a laughing idiot, use our license fees to attack every one of the last 6 Irish managers WITHOUT ANY BALANCE. Other than in the Keane debate, for over 20 years it has been "I agree with John", I agree with Eamon". That is the disgrace. Let Dunphy say what he wants but PLEASE have someone who will put forward a different view and will contradict the utter cr*p DUnphy comes out with.

Is there no articulate footballer out there prepared to put forward a different viewpoint or do the 3 Amigoes make sure it's the "I agree with John/Eamon" sshow.

Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't Souness have a different opinion to Dunphy over Wenger having money to spend which Dunphy responded by shouting at him and Souness went quiet for the rest of the show.

The problem is Dunphy runs the whole panel and will shout down any pundit that disagrees with him.

DeLorean
13/10/2009, 7:16 PM
Nothing to do with that.
It started on the RTE CL panel, Brady had already wound Dunphy up to an excited rat like state about Keane. Bill decides to pour petrol on the already blazing fire to turn it into an inferno, he introduced some comment on Keane quoting an article which cast thuggish aspersions against our holy annointed Roy Keane. Dunphy took great exception and becoming more rat like by the second demanded to know who wrote it. He then launched into a diatribe against the so called gutter journalist Liddle because he claimed Liddle ran away with a young one leaving his wife behind.

As paul remembered, Rod and Eamonn professed undying love for each other on RTE radio the next day, truly nauseating radio.

I remember that alright now. Didn't know your mans name or that he had a love fest with Dunphy the next day. Actually reflects worse on Liddle than Dunphy really, which is saying something.

Brady used be tough enough with Dunphy alright but even that tension seemed to ease in Brady's final days.

livehead1
13/10/2009, 9:38 PM
Dunphy was wrong in what he said no doubt in my mind, but Hunt has showed once again how stupid and immature he is with an outburst more akin to a playground. I can never remember having despised an Irish player before, but this guy is a complete moron

No Way!! You're well off the mark there by using this as an example of Hunt being stupid or immature. I think he speaks his mind in interviews with the press. The main difference between Hunt and many other English Premiership players is that Hunt spent many years in the lower leagues in England. Most lads who are brought up through academy's and playing at the highest level from day one are coached on how to deal with the media and how to give generic answers. Lower league players aren't.

13/10/2009, 9:47 PM
I remember the radio interview. Didn't Liddle say something along the lines of that he was a Millwall season ticket holder, and had been for years, and it was a privilege to have spoken to one of his childhood heroes?

hoops1
13/10/2009, 9:50 PM
Dunphy's general view on Trap and the way the Irish team play is right. Even if he does go OTT in the way he says it. Hunt is a moron. Anyone who seen him on the Turbidy show a while ago will realise this. Hunt sees himself as a Roy Keane figure, outspoken and competitive. Only thing is he is a poor footballer and not very clever in what he says.

13/10/2009, 10:13 PM
Nothing to do with that.

The thing is, I think i remember more of it from what people on here said! Im sure stutts read the same!

13/10/2009, 11:45 PM
Liddle is a creep though for once Dunphy was right. Dunphy was so OTT on Sat night it was laughable. I think Giles has stuck up for Trap at times during the campaign but I do think Traps style goes against Giles principles. I have not problem with Giles being on the panel, but Dunphy is the clown. I think Giles has articulate criticisms of nearly ever team, as he takes perfection as the bench mark and works back. Despite the fact he was not pefect himself.

Hunty is a passionate player who cares about playing for his country and gives 100 per cent. that is all I ask of any player who plays for Ireland. Dunphy shoulted against his own country. Need I say anymore

14/10/2009, 1:01 AM
Liddle is a creep though for once Dunphy was right.
You missed the point by a country mile.

14/10/2009, 7:32 AM
Dunphy's general view on Trap and the way the Irish team play is right.

you play to your strengths. under trapp we are and we are in the play offs as a result. good enough for me

Polster
14/10/2009, 7:37 AM
Ok, name the players in the squad, including the senior players who don't have Hunt's "passion and pride"....what total and utter bull

Just because he talks ****e and runs around (aimlessly most of the time) does not mean he is more passionate...

Robbie Keane needs a good kick up the backside at times, as does mcgeady, both great players, technically way ahead of hunt, but in my opinion could try harder at times. Then of course we have guys not in the squad for various reasons.

But its just an opinion, a counter to the one that Hunt is a useless moron not worthy of a green jersey.

If you want to talk about embarrasing/unnecessary interviews, how about Robbie Keane on the late late, telling us how great Stan was.

I just find it strange that so many want to condemn a guy who gives 100% everytime he plays, and although not the most articulated person in the world, I believe his heart is in the right place. I'm sure the rest of the Irish squad will be pathing him on the back for his Dunphy put down. It also illiminates any urge that Trap or anyone else involved in the setup might have had to respond.

If you believe that is 'utter bulls**t', that is your opinion, and your quiet entitled to voice it.

Roll on South Africa.

Duggie
14/10/2009, 7:50 AM
Robbie Keane needs a good kick up the backside at times, as does mcgeady, both great players, technically way ahead of hunt, but in my opinion could try harder at times.

are u for real ? robbie kills himself on the pitch, hes scored 40 goals..YA 40. such a stupid statement.

irishfan86
14/10/2009, 7:55 AM
I agree- Robbie tries very hard and does a lot of running, especially off the ball. When we don't have a lot of possession, it's easy to forget that he's making all of those runs, and showing for the ball.

On McGeady- he was caught flat-footed on one play in particular last match, but he does do a lot of tracking back. In addition, all that fancy footwork is incredibly draining. Keeping the ball and jinking around like he does is one of the hardest things to do on a pitch fitness wise.

Polster
14/10/2009, 8:18 AM
are u for real ? robbie kills himself on the pitch, hes scored 40 goals..YA 40. such a stupid statement.

I love Robbie, and yes 40 goals is an amazing achievment, however I don't think it's a stupid statement to say at times he could be trying a bit harder. I have seen him in games where things arent going great and he will become moany and start blaming others, on those occassions I think he could get the head up a bit more, stop the moaning and get on with it. Again just my opinion.

blobbyblob
14/10/2009, 8:26 AM

Robbies given us his fair share of good times but he has to be our top flapper and yapper as well.

How many times does he stop chasing after balls looking at the ref trying to get a referee for the first time in history to change his mind - and while Hunts interview/opinion is condoned, Robbies was a cringefest of the highest degree and completely indefensible. While it was commendable for him to stand by his master when the ship was sinking, it was bad timing to the extreme.

Regardless of what you think of Hunt, his hair, his diction, his style of play he is full entitled to voice his opinion and its a pity theres not more of it from him and more besides. It might end a lot of worthless column inches in the papers of speculation and might seperate us once again from British tabloid style journalism thats plagued us since 2002.

Duggie
14/10/2009, 8:29 AM
I love Robbie, and yes 40 goals is an amazing achievment, however I don't think it's a stupid statement to say at times he could be trying a bit harder. I have seen him in games where things arent going great and he will become moany and start blaming others, on those occassions I think he could get the head up a bit more, stop the moaning and get on with it. Again just my opinion.

ah this stuff about robbie moaning is exagerrated bigtime. i never see that much of it. anyone that questions robbie is crazy if u ask me. hes a total irish legend IMO.

Polster
14/10/2009, 8:33 AM
ah this stuff about robbie moaning is exagerrated bigtime. i never see that much of it. anyone that questions robbie is crazy if u ask me. hes a total irish legend IMO.

I agree, he is a legend

irishfan86
14/10/2009, 8:34 AM
Keane is definitely a bit of a whiner, but this has nothing to do with his work-rate, which is fantastic.

As a forward, you also have to take into consideration efficiency. If you run around all game like a nutcase, you may "work harder," but you may not play better.

Doyle works harder than Keane, but he hasn't been putting the ball in the net too often for us during this campaign...at the end of the day it's important that players do their best, but that doesn't always mean you waste energy doing stupid sh*t (not to say that Doyle does this).

I remember 2 or 3 instances when Keane made very long runs back into midfield to make tackles against Italy. While these were important plays that broke up Italian attacks, if a forward did this all game, he'd have no energy to do anything when the ball finally came his way.

blobbyblob
14/10/2009, 8:47 AM
To seperate this out - the point thats being made is that you are more concerned about who is talking rather than whats being said -

1) Robbie Keane a hero and therefore everything that comes out of his mouth is golden - FALSE. Robbie Keane is a hero but standing up for Stan was a bad move. It doesnt diminish the man or what he does on the pitch though.
2) Hunt is a clown so everything that comes out of his mouth is a pile of rubbish - FALSE. While he might not be Maradonna, if you seperate the person from the words, his opinion is justified on occasions and this was one of those occasions.
3) Eamon Dunphy is a pundit that makes good television - TRUE - He comes out with some s**t 90% of the time but hes a bit like foot.ie - worth watching for the craic, but dont take it too seriously boys.

In Traps words "Who is this Dunphy. I dont know him. If he knows about football, I would like to meet him" - only to be met with the journalists laughter. I think that says it all.

Duggie
14/10/2009, 9:02 AM
In Traps words "Who is this Dunphy. I dont know him. If he knows about football, I would like to meet him" - only to be met with the journalists laughter. I think that says it all.

haha is that what he said, trap really is a legend. DUNPHY V TRAP..hmmmm i wonder who's opinion counts on football.

and as for robbie defending stan. i dont see anything wrong with it in principal. yes he was a crap manager but he was only standing up for the man. nothing wrong with a player standing up for the manager.

irishfan86
14/10/2009, 9:04 AM
Yeah Trap really said that...how can you not love the guy? Best possible response IMO:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1220170/I-dont-know-Ireland-boss-Trapattoni-brushes-outspoken-critic-Dunphy.html

Duggie
14/10/2009, 9:08 AM
Yeah Trap really said that...how can you not love the guy? Best possible response IMO:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1220170/I-dont-know-Ireland-boss-Trapattoni-brushes-outspoken-critic-Dunphy.html

ha good one. interesting to see what bill and the boys say about all this tonight. surely they will have to bring it up.

Hibs4Ever
14/10/2009, 9:13 AM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1014/dunphy_interview.html

Duggie
14/10/2009, 9:18 AM

hmmmm same lines all the time. wonder if andy reid came back what would his next whinge be about. sick of him now.

blobbyblob
14/10/2009, 9:20 AM
Dunphy on Hunt - "Hes not Mr Universe himself"

Fair comment

blobbyblob
14/10/2009, 9:24 AM
http://www.80snostalgia.com/classictv/rolandrat/RolandRat.jpgDunphy
http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/04_01/DunphyDM_468x420.jpgRoland Rat

DeLorean
14/10/2009, 9:25 AM

"Stephen Hunt's not exactly Mr Universe himself":D

Fair point I suppose, like somebody was saying further up, they kind of look a bit alike!!

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_MAmm8NGwRAY/R0wgiLmoJDI/AAAAAAAAAic/UNq1dd1YnKQ/s320/hunt_stephen_rea_profile_2007%5B1%5D.jpghttp://www.learningwaves.ie/images/news/Eamonn.jpg

14/10/2009, 9:26 AM
Robbie Keane is a hero but standing up for Stan was a bad move. It doesnt diminish the man or what he does on the pitch though.
A captain standing up for the manager is commendable. I would not expect less. Even when our performances were very poor under Eoin Hand WCQ'86 the player's blamed themselves when Hand was getting hammered in the press for ineptness.

3) Eamon Dunphy is a pundit that makes good television - TRUE - He comes out with some s**t 90% of the time but hes a bit like foot.ie - worth watching for the craic, but dont take it too seriously boys.
Apres Match is entertainment
I don't find Dunphy's antics entertaining or good television but I don't find Jerry Springer to be good television. After watching an Ireland performance on Saturday and this idiot comes on, my reaction is walk away or else the remote is in serious danger.

irishfan86
14/10/2009, 9:27 AM
Total B.S.

Anybody watching that post-game analysis knows that he used shameful to describe the performance, and not Andy Reid's omission.

DeLorean
14/10/2009, 9:30 AM
Total B.S.

Anybody watching that post-game analysis knows that he used shameful to describe the performance, and not Andy Reid's omission.

Definitely, he said it even before he started going on about Andy Reid. Surprised he's back tracking a bit though, must be going a bit soft.

blobbyblob
14/10/2009, 9:32 AM
A captain standing up for the manager is commendable. I would not expect less. Even when our performances were very poor under Eoin Hand WCQ'86 the player's blamed themselves when Hand was getting hammered in the press for ineptness..

Agreed - As I said further up.

Steve Stauntons reign was more complicated than that and a completely different timing and setting.

Apres Match is entertainment
I don't find Dunphy's antics entertaining or good television but I don't find Jerry Springer to be good television. After watching an Ireland performance on Saturday and this idiot comes on, my reaction is walk away or else the remote is in serious danger..

One mans pleasure is another mans pain (or something like that)

Polster
14/10/2009, 9:35 AM
"Stephen Hunt's not exactly Mr Universe himself":D

Fair point I suppose, like somebody was saying further up, they kind of look a bit alike!!

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_MAmm8NGwRAY/R0wgiLmoJDI/AAAAAAAAAic/UNq1dd1YnKQ/s320/hunt_stephen_rea_profile_2007%5B1%5D.jpghttp://www.learningwaves.ie/images/news/Eamonn.jpg

Hunty - "Eamo, your a skinny little rat"
Eamo - "No Stephen, I am your father....."

irishfan86
14/10/2009, 9:37 AM
Definitely, he said it even before he started going on about Andy Reid. Surprised he's back tracking a bit though, must be going a bit soft.

He's probably been on a couple of forums like this one, and read a couple of articles that have been highly critical of his remarks.

While there's "no such thing as bad press," when the press is almost universally negative, it's time to do some backtracking and PR work if you want to maintain your audience.

I think the thing that saddens me the most is that I genuinely feel that Dunphy will be happier if we fail in the playoffs than if we succeed. I don't want that kind of person being paid the sort of money he's on to wish failure upon the Irish team and say "I told you so" on air.

There's enough begrudgers as it is without them being on the public payroll.

Duggie
14/10/2009, 9:42 AM
Hunty - "Eamo, your a skinny little rat"
Eamo - "No Stephen, I am your father....."

haha :D

14/10/2009, 9:45 AM
Lads, can ye not see whta the skinny rat is doing. I read in reverse order, i saw dunphys "interview" on rte.ie and thought i would never see him admit to being wrong, and thought fair play.

The only reason he did it is obviouslly in response to what Trap said. Trap has made him look a fool and he knows it, thats the only reason he has come out with that tripe. Don't be so easily fooled.

Polster
14/10/2009, 9:47 AM
Is it not great that the Emao, Bill and Giles show gives us so much to discuss and in my case, laugh about. You really shouldn't take them seriously, its been going on since the 80's. Its like tuning into a cabaret act at this stage. Personally I find it very funny, and would much prefer it to falling alseep through Frank Stapletons exciting analysis, or those muppets that fill up the uk studios.

irishfan86
14/10/2009, 9:49 AM
Lads, can ye not see whta the skinny rat is doing. I read in reverse order, i saw dunphys "interview" on rte.ie and thought i would never see him admit to being wrong, and thought fair play.

The only reason he did it is obviouslly in response to what Trap said. Trap has made him look a fool and he knows it, thats the only reason he has come out with that tripe. Don't be so easily fooled.

Dunphy didn't admit to being wrong though...he's actually claimed that he was misinterpreted, which is complete B.S.:

'One word was taken out of a 20-minute conversation - the word 'shameful'. It's not an appropriate word to use for the performance (against Italy); what I was referring to was Andy Reid's omission from the squad,' said Dunphy.

It's clear to anybody with any sort of basic comprehension skills that Dunphy was referring to our performance when he used the word shameful. So no, it's not "fair play to him," because he's not apologizing, he's actually lying and twisting to get himself out of a jam.

Polster
14/10/2009, 9:50 AM

Ah, thats why he did it, thanks for clearing it up Paul :)

I think I'll go with my own happy theory that the bully backed down after he was stood up to by one of the smaller guys, thats Hunty I mean by the way.

14/10/2009, 9:50 AM
Soft as in spineless? he has always been like that.
Backtracking, twisting words, grovelling, is his stock in trade.

It's called entertainment.

Emmet7
14/10/2009, 9:52 AM
Dunphy apologised, I think that sould be the end of the matter.

There is no reason to personalise anything in football really, that includes criticising Dunphy, Trap, Hunt, etc.

It's only a game after all.

irishfan86
14/10/2009, 9:55 AM

There is no reason to personalise anything football really, that includes criticising Dunphy, Trap, Hunt, etc.

When you call a creditable performance against the world champions shameful, and then go on to try and twist your way out of it by saying you were misunderstood, then I'd say it's personal, at least for the members of the squad (as evidenced by Hunt's reaction, and even Given's reaction talking about how you can never please some people).

14/10/2009, 10:08 AM

There is no reason to personalise anything in football really, that includes criticising Dunphy, Trap, Hunt, etc.

Where did he apologise?
he slithered/backtracked and tried to twist what he said into another context.

'One word was taken out of a 20-minute conversation - the word 'shameful'. It's not an appropriate word to use for the performance (against Italy); what I was referring to was Andy Reid's omission from the squad,' said Dunphy.

14/10/2009, 10:22 AM
Ah, thats why he did it, thanks for clearing it up Paul :)

I think I'll go with my own happy theory that the bully backed down after he was stood up to by one of the smaller guys, thats Hunty I mean by the way.

He never gets into spats with individual players though, its the manager he goes for.

IF86, i should have used a different word perhaps(im sounding like dunphy), but its as close as he is capable of apologising and admitting wrong. He is squirming his way out as he knows Trap and to a lesser extent hunty have made a fool of him, Trap has done it the smart way, hunty has done it a little less tactfully but the 2 combined will have all on side and dunphy knows this and that they have made him look like an eejit. He is trying to save face here before he loses that small little bit of respect he still has that keeps him on tele.

It will be very interesting to see him tonight, i for one am pretty sure he will be no longer a rat but a skinny little weasel, both vermon at the end of the day ;)

14/10/2009, 10:23 AM
'I would say the word 'shameful' in the context I used on Saturday was wrong. I've no problem admitting that.'
He is not apologising, but at least admitting he was wrong.

I don't see what all the fuss is though. Dunphy has always made outrageous statements just to be controversial. I don't see why people so outraged by more of the same stuff.