View Full Version : Derry Tuesday Night 0-4

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

rovers100%
09/08/2009, 12:02 PM
so lads after last nights up and down what do we expect tue nite. last nite turned into a shambles but surely there were some positives to take. going forward we looked a real threat (albeit no good if concede 4) and blinkhorn looks a find. it was prob rafs best game in a while too he looks up for it again. cook needs to show us he can change things around and solve our goal leakage problems. some say its defence some say midfield the beauty of this site is its a forum we all get our own say. so what do ye think is is sink or swim for the rovers.............

09/08/2009, 5:51 PM
Where is this match on? With Derry having the weekend off they may have a small fitness/freshness advantage over sligo. Whatever the result a good performance defensively is much needed for the players confidence.

09/08/2009, 5:53 PM
Where is this match on?

Showgrounds,

Cant see us getting anything, going to be a tough one. Never know though.

clubman
09/08/2009, 6:07 PM
Let's take the positives for Tuesday's game.
We'll have Danny and Martin back for this one. I was very impressed with Martin in Dalymount. It's a long long time since I've had this opinion of a new recruit. The fact that he's an organiser speaks volumes for the guy.
With these two back will mean we'll have better shape to our midfield and certainly defence. There's no doubt Derry are good but only good on their day, as has already been quoted here on another thread, they can blow hot and cold. It will all depend on how Cookie and Gerry prepares for this one. This is a huge game for us, I'd certainly be happy with a share of the spoils at this stage but we are quite capable of taking all three points. It's simply down to attitude and how we apply ourselves. It's also down to how the game is dictated from the bench. Stephen Kenny is a shrewd hoor and reads the game very well. Cookie at this stage knows this so he too has to be totally focused. Games like these make or break managers, like all our games from here on in so basically at the end of this season Cookie and Co will have demostrated whither their futures lay in or out of football management. Let's hope for all of our sakes it's the latter.

Inside Man
09/08/2009, 6:44 PM
so what do ye think is is sink or swim for the rovers.............
Sink. Brace yourselves for a hammering.

dong
09/08/2009, 6:58 PM
We beat them at the Brandywell, so that would suggest we can do it now. The team is incapable at this stage to hold onto a lead so a draw is the best I can see happening.

09/08/2009, 7:27 PM
what odds are sligo for the win?

09/08/2009, 7:36 PM
what odds are sligo for the win?

www.paddypower.com

rovers100%
09/08/2009, 8:29 PM
stephen kenny was at the game sat nite and i tell ya one thing that man knows his tactics and the dundalk game will have shown him pure gold cos he will know what we all know now. no point us going over our downfalls again cos we all know where we going wrong but surely s kenny will set his team up to beat us and will know exactly how after sat nite. the only way we gonna get outta trouble is get peers back on the grass and camano beside him or else we fooked. its so maddening as we are way better than this but a lot of relegated supporters said the same !!!!!!:mad:

MMVIII
09/08/2009, 9:02 PM
Were not going to be hammered. :rolleyes:

rovers100%
09/08/2009, 9:05 PM
we only need to be beat 1-0 every game to be relegated, hammering is neither here nor there when you are in our position in the table

09/08/2009, 11:09 PM
Sink. Brace yourselves for a hammering.

Dear Inside Man,

Shut up.
Signed,
Everyone.

CF1989
10/08/2009, 12:48 AM
no reason why we cant win. we still have quality players. morrison creates alot of goals for us, like him or not, great cross for blinks first goal last night, many more assists this season too. id like to see boco move into the right side of midfield, but that'd mean maybe dropping morrison or doyle, neither of which id like to see happen. he's class going forward and never loses the ball, his first touch is brilliant. maybe gets caught out defensively a little. ideally keane right back and rommy ahead of him, but id still like to see morrison and boco linking up, they've caused problems for teams when they've played on the right together.

blinkhorn and raff up front again id say, hopefully between them they'll get the goals to bring us to safety.
derry arnt great themselves this season, anyone can beat anyone on any given day, we definatly wont be hammered.

10/08/2009, 7:33 AM
If there's a time to beat us, it's now. We've taken 1 point from 15 since the break. We just can't seem to score for love nor money.
No doubt we'll dominate this match, create all the chances. Ye's will have one attack, score from it, and we'll lose. It's been happening all season.
I'd take a draw if ye offered it today.

Guts&Glory
10/08/2009, 12:43 PM
Dear Inside Man,

Shut up.
Signed,
Everyone.

Finally dawning on me what the Inside Man nick means............obviously he is inside a mental institution!! :D

Shiba
10/08/2009, 1:00 PM
Dear Inside Man,

Shut up.
Signed,
Everyone.

Well said!

I was gutted after Saturdays result but we have to move on.I think we can get a result but we need to keep working for 98mins.

Shiba
10/08/2009, 1:00 PM
If there's a time to beat us, it's now. We've taken 1 point from 15 since the break. We just can't seem to score for love nor money.
No doubt we'll dominate this match, create all the chances. Ye's will have one attack, score from it, and we'll lose. It's been happening all season.
I'd take a draw if ye offered it today.

Sound Familiar

Da Real Rover
10/08/2009, 4:08 PM
Sound Familiar
Apart from the bit where they dominate a game and create loads of chances.

rovers100%
10/08/2009, 5:57 PM
in all honesty if we can keep last sat nites performance up for 90 odd minutes instead of 65 i truly believe hand on my heart at home we can beat derry tue and at the weekend. we hammered dundalk of the pitch for 65 but then bad tactics and a confidence implosion along with tiredness gave us one of the worst results this year. just think about the first 65 minutes and ya gotta have faith. we should have scored 8 by then. the crowd is usually up for it against derry so if we can be the twelveth man for them we can do it !!!;)

Redkenrover
10/08/2009, 8:47 PM
no reason why we cant win. we still have quality players. morrison creates alot of goals for us, like him or not, great cross for blinks first goal last night, many more assists this season too. id like to see boco move into the right side of midfield, but that'd mean maybe dropping morrison or doyle, neither of which id like to see happen. he's class going forward and never loses the ball, his first touch is brilliant. maybe gets caught out defensively a little. ideally keane right back and rommy ahead of him, but id still like to see morrison and boco linking up, they've caused problems for teams when they've played on the right together.

blinkhorn and raff up front again id say, hopefully between them they'll get the goals to bring us to safety.
derry arnt great themselves this season, anyone can beat anyone on any given day, we definatly wont be hammered.

I'll give ya two, worst defensive record in the league and we have kept one clean sheet since Dundalk away, in early May.
I hope to god we get something out of tomorrow nights game after what I witnessed last Saturday.
If someone told me we would score 3 against Dundalk, I would have bitten their hand off, but the cold hard facts are that unless we stop conseeding goals we we dont give ourselves a chance to win matches.

10/08/2009, 8:53 PM
in all honesty if we can keep last sat nites performance up for 90 odd minutes instead of 65 i truly believe hand on my heart at home we can beat derry tue and at the weekend. we hammered dundalk of the pitch for 65 but then bad tactics and a confidence implosion along with tiredness gave us one of the worst results this year. just think about the first 65 minutes and ya gotta have faith. we should have scored 8 by then. the crowd is usually up for it against derry so if we can be the twelveth man for them we can do it !!!;)

Glad to see you have your hand on your heart - you obviously had it over your eyes on Saturday night.

rovers100%
10/08/2009, 9:01 PM
for the last 25 mins i should have but if turner was not playing that day we would have won 3-1 possibly more and we all be raving that there was a new horizon comin. the last 25 mins i still believe were down to a nieve cook who thought they would keep scoring and when went to 3-3 couldnt go defensive and ulitmatially cost us the game. hopefully cook will have learned a valuable lesson

dong
10/08/2009, 9:12 PM
for the last 25 mins i should have but if turner was not playing that day we would have.....................

If's and but's. If we had Peers, if they didn't have Turner. Oh, but they did......
Desperate times indeed.

rovers100%
10/08/2009, 9:28 PM
so what will we do all resign ourselves to playing longford etc next year:rolleyes:. sure if we all took that attitude whats point in even going to the games

10/08/2009, 9:35 PM
resign ourselves to playing longford

There's always a positive side!

akearins
11/08/2009, 9:12 AM
Lads chalk the dundalk game up and move on. Seany said Not many teams come to Sligo and score 4 goals.A peno and a blatant handball for last from Mansaram.When your at the top your blessed (Shams getting out of jail when Drogheda hitt the woodwork in injury time saturday,Bohs getting late winner against Drogheda, Us conceding a late winner when a ball is passed by Mansarans left hand) and when your at the bottom your cursed.
But we live with it and move on.

My team for tonight
Brush
Keane - Martin - Ventre - Kendricks
Morrison - Doyle - Boco- McGrath
Blinkhorn - Raf

Bench:Conor,Ryan,Turner, Kizzy,Marshall,Cash, Kelly

Boco will give us that bit of pace and energy to chase the game and always a problem for defences when running at them.

Morriosn maybe contentious but in the last 2 home games he has improved and watch when he gets the ball agaisnt Derry, last time 2-3 players were on him and this leaves gaps so lets hope Cookie spots this.

Is it me or has nayone else noticed Brushy is a bit susceptiple from distance, I mean as reaction saves go there none better but from distance sems to be abut weaker (Dundalk, Vlazznia twice)

dong
11/08/2009, 10:29 AM
Lads chalk the dundalk game up and move on. Seany said Not many teams come to Sligo and score 4 goals.A peno and a blatant handball for last from Mansaram.When your at the top your blessed (Shams getting out of jail when Drogheda hitt the woodwork in injury time saturday,Bohs getting late winner against Drogheda, Us conceding a late winner when a ball is passed by Mansarans left hand) and when your at the bottom your cursed.
But we live with it and move on.

My team for tonight
Brush
Keane - Martin - Ventre - Kendricks
Morrison - Doyle - Boco- McGrath
Blinkhorn - Raf

Is it me or has nayone else noticed Brushy is a bit susceptiple from distance, I mean as reaction saves go there none better but from distance sems to be abut weaker (Dundalk, Vlazznia twice)

I'd put Doyle on the wing, although you probably meant that Alan! I'd then have the following:

Brush
Boco-Camano-Keane-Kendrick
Morrison-Ventre-McGrath-Doyle
Blinks-Cretaro

Maybe O'Grady does need a rest but McGrath must prove his worth now because he let us down the last day in my eyes. Even more so than Conor.
As for Brush, I can see your point but I'd say we allow teams to get shots in from distance more than any team in the league so it follows that he might let in a few more. We have to close down much earlier.
I'd hate to be critical of Brushy as he saves us so often. The game in the league v Bohs in Dalymount we could have been trounced by six or seven were it not for him.

Dixie Dean
11/08/2009, 11:16 AM
Boco is on international duty and O'Grady is injured according to the star.

Only1Rovers
11/08/2009, 11:17 AM
I see on the club website, Peers is fighting to be fit for this evening's game....

11/08/2009, 11:25 AM
Boco is on international duty and O'Grady is injured according to the star.Benin are playing a friendly against Gabon today alright...I assumed we wouldn't have released him for a meaningless friendly when we're in the middle of crucial games though. Disappointing if true.

Derry
11/08/2009, 11:40 AM
MNS says ko 8.00pm, Aertel sats 7.45pm, so which is it?

CF1989
11/08/2009, 12:00 PM
7.45pm kick off

big loss with boco out, defence probably keane, ventre, camano, kendrick now.

think the criticism of ogrady is harsh, imo turner done nothing all game until he scored his 2nd. conor nicked the ball off him loads of times and kept him quiet for most of the game.

hopefully the two boys up top can continue scoring

srfc1928
11/08/2009, 12:30 PM
Missing Boco is a huge loss.
But we could sneak this 2-1.

I still think we have enough quality to get out of the trouble we are in,
infact i think we are only short 1 or 2 players in crucial areas to be a top side
Im sure everyone in the squad will have learned from the mistakes made over the last while and move on up the table
We need a little bit of luck to go our way and the lads to believe in themselves and stay focused for 90 minutes.

Keep the faith

The Midget Gem
11/08/2009, 12:40 PM
Not hopeful for this one. Few tough games coming up, we need to start grinding out results.

11/08/2009, 1:01 PM
7.45pm kick off

8pm would suit me better. Can you please change it.

11/08/2009, 1:02 PM
8pm would suit me better. Can you please change it.8pm kick off tonight.

Now there ya are!;)

11/08/2009, 1:03 PM
8pm would suit me better. Can you please change it.

Contact Rovers Fan...he's good at that kind of thing ;)

roversforever
11/08/2009, 1:45 PM
Have a sneaky feeling we're going to win tonight.....

Rovers fan
11/08/2009, 2:13 PM
Contact Rovers Fan...he's good at that kind of thing ;)

I knew someone would say that:D:D

Tonight's game is a hard one to call. There's no doubt we are improved by the signings we have made, but as we are so desperate for a win, it's often hard to finish the job often. Derry are no great shakes themselves. Farren is playing awful this season and sammy morrow is injured, so we won't be conceding 4 goals that's for sure. Tbh I will be disappointed with anything less than a win, as we are at home to a side with only one point form their last 5 games, but for some reason I can see it ending in a draw.

CF1989
11/08/2009, 3:15 PM
getting closer to kick off, cant wait now, nothing like a midweek game to try and evenge for saturday night. im sure the players are better off playing games to try and sort it out than training.

we'll win tonight

red_away
11/08/2009, 4:08 PM
Lets make some noyz for da boyz - all the encouragement they can get is needed!!!

red arrow
11/08/2009, 4:40 PM
ya heard that boco is on international duty well

sligofan4ever
11/08/2009, 4:57 PM
Pity we're missing Boco, played out of his skin against Dundalk and hes the type of player we need against Derry. Blinkhorn and Cretaro were at their best (or near their best) against Dundalk and it looks like a great partnership so long as we're not conceding at the other end of the pitch. What people seem to have forgotten about against Dundalk was we were missing 4 players who played centre back this season, 2 of them are back and if hes as good as people on here have said, i'm looking forward to seeing Camano. Going to say 2-1 to Rovers. Would I be right saying Gareth McGlynn is missing this one after getting s/o in Derry's European game ?

MMVIII
11/08/2009, 5:12 PM
Lads, i know its a bit late. But, numbers have been down lately, so any new faces are always welcome in the Jinks.

Once again heart says 2-1 Rovers.
Head says 1-1

Redkenrover
11/08/2009, 8:07 PM
Derry one up, Scullion 54min:(

Redkenrover
11/08/2009, 8:09 PM
Two up now, with Drogs 2-0 ahead against galway, things are looking bleak tonight:(

lowroadrover
11/08/2009, 8:23 PM
derry 3 up now

lowroadrover
11/08/2009, 8:27 PM
4 -0 still goin

11/08/2009, 8:38 PM
Inside Man 1-0 Everyone

roversforever
11/08/2009, 8:48 PM
Inside Man 1-0 Everyone

Im sure he'd have posted that in his own time if you had given him a chance!;)