Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Derry Tuesday Night 0-4

Derry Tuesday Night 0-4

so lads after last nights up and down what do we expect tue nite. last nite turned into a shambles but surely there were some positives to take. going forward we looked a real threat (albeit no good if concede 4) and blinkhorn looks a find. it was prob rafs best game in a while too he looks up for it again. cook needs to show us he can change things around and solve our goal leakage problems. some say its defence some say midfield the beauty of this site is its a forum we all get our own say. so what do ye think is is sink or swim for the rovers.............

Where is this match on? With Derry having the weekend off they may have a small fitness/freshness advantage over sligo. Whatever the result a good performance defensively is much needed for the players confidence.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Where is this match on?
    Showgrounds,

Cant see us getting anything, going to be a tough one. Never know though.

Let's take the positives for Tuesday's game.
    We'll have Danny and Martin back for this one. I was very impressed with Martin in Dalymount. It's a long long time since I've had this opinion of a new recruit. The fact that he's an organiser speaks volumes for the guy.
    With these two back will mean we'll have better shape to our midfield and certainly defence. There's no doubt Derry are good but only good on their day, as has already been quoted here on another thread, they can blow hot and cold. It will all depend on how Cookie and Gerry prepares for this one. This is a huge game for us, I'd certainly be happy with a share of the spoils at this stage but we are quite capable of taking all three points. It's simply down to attitude and how we apply ourselves. It's also down to how the game is dictated from the bench. Stephen Kenny is a shrewd hoor and reads the game very well. Cookie at this stage knows this so he too has to be totally focused. Games like these make or break managers, like all our games from here on in so basically at the end of this season Cookie and Co will have demostrated whither their futures lay in or out of football management. Let's hope for all of our sakes it's the latter.

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    so what do ye think is is sink or swim for the rovers.............
    Sink. Brace yourselves for a hammering.

We beat them at the Brandywell, so that would suggest we can do it now. The team is incapable at this stage to hold onto a lead so a draw is the best I can see happening.

what odds are sligo for the win?

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    what odds are sligo for the win?
    www.paddypower.com

stephen kenny was at the game sat nite and i tell ya one thing that man knows his tactics and the dundalk game will have shown him pure gold cos he will know what we all know now. no point us going over our downfalls again cos we all know where we going wrong but surely s kenny will set his team up to beat us and will know exactly how after sat nite. the only way we gonna get outta trouble is get peers back on the grass and camano beside him or else we fooked. its so maddening as we are way better than this but a lot of relegated supporters said the same !!!!!!

Were not going to be hammered.

we only need to be beat 1-0 every game to be relegated, hammering is neither here nor there when you are in our position in the table

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    Sink. Brace yourselves for a hammering.
    Dear Inside Man,

Shut up.
    Signed,
    Everyone.

no reason why we cant win. we still have quality players. morrison creates alot of goals for us, like him or not, great cross for blinks first goal last night, many more assists this season too. id like to see boco move into the right side of midfield, but that'd mean maybe dropping morrison or doyle, neither of which id like to see happen. he's class going forward and never loses the ball, his first touch is brilliant. maybe gets caught out defensively a little. ideally keane right back and rommy ahead of him, but id still like to see morrison and boco linking up, they've caused problems for teams when they've played on the right together.

blinkhorn and raff up front again id say, hopefully between them they'll get the goals to bring us to safety.
    derry arnt great themselves this season, anyone can beat anyone on any given day, we definatly wont be hammered.

246 Posts
    If there's a time to beat us, it's now. We've taken 1 point from 15 since the break. We just can't seem to score for love nor money.
    No doubt we'll dominate this match, create all the chances. Ye's will have one attack, score from it, and we'll lose. It's been happening all season.
    I'd take a draw if ye offered it today.

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    Dear Inside Man,

Shut up.
    Signed,
    Everyone.
    Finally dawning on me what the Inside Man nick means............obviously he is inside a mental institution!!

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    Dear Inside Man,

Shut up.
    Signed,
    Everyone.
    Well said!

I was gutted after Saturdays result but we have to move on.I think we can get a result but we need to keep working for 98mins.
    Till d End!

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    If there's a time to beat us, it's now. We've taken 1 point from 15 since the break. We just can't seem to score for love nor money.
    No doubt we'll dominate this match, create all the chances. Ye's will have one attack, score from it, and we'll lose. It's been happening all season.
    I'd take a draw if ye offered it today.
    Sound Familiar
    Till d End!

Quote Originally Posted by Shiba View Post
    Sound Familiar
    Apart from the bit where they dominate a game and create loads of chances.

in all honesty if we can keep last sat nites performance up for 90 odd minutes instead of 65 i truly believe hand on my heart at home we can beat derry tue and at the weekend. we hammered dundalk of the pitch for 65 but then bad tactics and a confidence implosion along with tiredness gave us one of the worst results this year. just think about the first 65 minutes and ya gotta have faith. we should have scored 8 by then. the crowd is usually up for it against derry so if we can be the twelveth man for them we can do it !!!

In the heights of elation since 7.18pm 14/11/10
    Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    no reason why we cant win. we still have quality players. morrison creates alot of goals for us, like him or not, great cross for blinks first goal last night, many more assists this season too. id like to see boco move into the right side of midfield, but that'd mean maybe dropping morrison or doyle, neither of which id like to see happen. he's class going forward and never loses the ball, his first touch is brilliant. maybe gets caught out defensively a little. ideally keane right back and rommy ahead of him, but id still like to see morrison and boco linking up, they've caused problems for teams when they've played on the right together.

blinkhorn and raff up front again id say, hopefully between them they'll get the goals to bring us to safety.
    derry arnt great themselves this season, anyone can beat anyone on any given day, we definatly wont be hammered.
    I'll give ya two, worst defensive record in the league and we have kept one clean sheet since Dundalk away, in early May.
    I hope to god we get something out of tomorrow nights game after what I witnessed last Saturday.
    If someone told me we would score 3 against Dundalk, I would have bitten their hand off, but the cold hard facts are that unless we stop conseeding goals we we dont give ourselves a chance to win matches.

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast