View Full Version : France (Away) Sat 9th Oct 04

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9

OMP Player
23/09/2004, 8:54 AM
I'll be there with my Ireland jersey on but i'll have cans of Bulmers Original :D
Is anybody flying over from Belfast on the Saturday, think it's around 11 o'clock?

ptegan
23/09/2004, 9:03 AM
I'll be there with my Ireland jersey on but i'll have cans of Bulmers Original :D

You'll be taking it with you or be disappointed in Paris :)

Gary Waddock
23/09/2004, 9:13 AM
We're flying in Friday afternoon...staying around Montmartre/Clichy.
Will be hitting Corcorans in Clichy on the Friday night - open till 5 in the morning, can't go wrong!
Anyone else hitting there Friday?

Straight to the Eiffel on Sat afternoon to cure the aul hangover with a few tins..... :D

23/09/2004, 9:29 AM
You'll be taking it with you or be disappointed in Prais :)

You can get Magners over there.
It's Bulmers in disguise ;)

Duffer
23/09/2004, 9:45 AM
2 more for the tower on Saturday afternoon.

Breener
23/09/2004, 9:47 AM
We're flying in Friday afternoon...staying around Montmartre/Clichy.
Will be hitting Corcorans in Clichy on the Friday night - open till 5 in the morning, can't go wrong!
Anyone else hitting there Friday?

Straight to the Eiffel on Sat afternoon to cure the aul hangover with a few tins..... :D

Am arriving pretty late on friday nite so i dont think ill make Corcorans but sat afternnon defo. So whos else is joining the Green & White Army on front of the Eiffel Tower??

ptegan
23/09/2004, 9:48 AM
You can get Magners over there.
It's Bulmers in disguise ;)

Yeah, there's a few pubs selling that now. The ads at half-time during the Hurling were sponserde by "Magners - Noting added but time".

6€ a bottle though. No draught and not available as takeaway.

oconghc2
23/09/2004, 11:06 AM
few of us will prob make the tower too sat afternoon.

what are chances of being ushered away ptegan???

superguard1999
23/09/2004, 12:21 PM
Yeah good few of us heading to Corcorans clichy on friday nite
Mate of mine used to work there
Met a guy on friday nite who was looking after the music there that night.
Gonna try to get a cd together with irish footy songs.....Joxer, Put em under pressure etc
any ideas

23/09/2004, 12:25 PM
Gonna try to get a cd together with irish footy songs.....Joxer, Put em under pressure etc
any ideas

See here. (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=16397)

Brenny
23/09/2004, 1:18 PM
Corcorans in Clichy...Gonna have to write that down,sounds like it`ll be great craic. :D

Gary Waddock
23/09/2004, 2:06 PM
Yeah good few of us heading to Corcorans clichy on friday nite
Mate of mine used to work there
Met a guy on friday nite who was looking after the music there that night.
any ideas

Seeya there mate....Put em Under Pressure is a must...
..and stick in the aul Celtic Symphony for the craic. :cool:

Paulie
23/09/2004, 2:11 PM
I know it's not a football song but Sally MacLennane by The Pogues is a classic and is bound to get the place hoppin'.

oconghc2
23/09/2004, 4:30 PM
we're gonna start a fire ... reckon thats the name

remember that tape that was done with all the songs around wc 94 - animal!

Mighty Quinn??? Its been a while since there was a good one hasn't it!

oconghc2
23/09/2004, 4:35 PM
btw anyone actually get the tkts for irish end yet??? still can't trust them!

kerinbr1
24/09/2004, 12:39 PM
Another option is the Harp Bar in the north of the city easy access to the stadium, open till 8am each night. :) :) :p

HARP BAR, the new home of the PARIS CELTS. For info about how
to get there, go to http://www.geocities.com/celtfrog/harp.html The address
is 118 boulevard de Clichy, métro BLANCHE or PLACE DE CLICHY)

Dan K
24/09/2004, 12:45 PM
Another option is the Harp Bar in the north of the city easy access to the stadium, open till 8am each night. :) :) :p

HARP BAR, the new home of the PARIS CELTS. For info about how
to get there, go to http://www.geocities.com/celtfrog/harp.html The address
is 118 boulevard de Clichy, métro BLANCHE or PLACE DE CLICHY)
How far is that from the Stade de France?

24/09/2004, 1:01 PM
How far is that from the Stade de France?

Have a look at the Paris Metro Map (http://www.paris.org/Metro/gifs/metro01.map.jpg) Place the Clichy is on the No.2 line, central, North of the Seine, Stade the France is on the No.12 Line, Central and further North on the map.

About eight Metro stops with one changeover, I think.

petef
26/09/2004, 7:23 PM
Anyone get their tickets from the FAI in the post yet? Think 25th was the deadline for the acceptance email, so maybe next week I'm thinking.

*Edit* Just spotted on the website :

Tickets will be issued in the week commencing 27th September.

Dotsy
27/09/2004, 11:00 AM
Anyone going to the U21 game in Troyes on the Friday night?. How are you getting there from Paris?

irwinsalegend
27/09/2004, 12:22 PM
dotsy

Have a look about. U21 match has been mentioned in his thread or another somewhere. Train seems to be the best option. 1hr 30 mins.

pesonally i'll be in either The Hideout for a while then Corcorans then god knows where on Friday night. i think it's a cert that Friday is going to be the BIG night given the match is at 9pm on Sat.

OMP Player
27/09/2004, 1:01 PM
Good News Lads,

FAI have debited credit cards this morning for the tickets so hopefully they will be sent out today or tomorrow. Can't wait now! It'll be serious :D

27/09/2004, 4:49 PM
was down in the fai office earlier - they'll be sending them out FROM tomorrow - so i presume that means they wont ALL be sent out tomorrow :mad:

Brenny
28/09/2004, 7:10 AM
Good News Lads,

FAI have debited credit cards this morning for the tickets so hopefully they will be sent out today or tomorrow. Can't wait now! It'll be serious :D

They haven`t taken any money out of my account yet...I`m starting to sh1t meself now! :confused:

Have they debited everyone`s cards yet or are there a few out there in the same boat as myself???

Fr. Murphy
28/09/2004, 10:21 AM
I got my tickets from the FAI this morn. I dont know if it has been said already but on my tickets we're in Block Z.

28/09/2004, 10:29 AM
my tickets we're in Block Z.

That would be right Fr.
The FAI tickets were supposed to be in the South Stand behind the goal.

28/09/2004, 10:35 AM
This is the 400th post on this thread and at the time of posting the thread had been viewed 17,797 times.
Just goes to show the level of interest in this game.
It's phenonmenal!

28/09/2004, 11:11 AM
or i could just be talking through my hole

I suggest you start a new thread and then watch the "Views" counter. It wont change no matter how many times you look at it.

28/09/2004, 12:48 PM
I suggest you start a new thread and then watch the "Views" counter. It wont change no matter how many times you look at it.
It doesn't change straight away but will eventually.

28/09/2004, 1:05 PM
It doesn't change straight away but will eventually.

DUH! When other people look at it! :rolleyes:

Fr. Murphy
28/09/2004, 1:29 PM
Get a room you two

Rover 2 U
28/09/2004, 3:06 PM
I have just lined up about ten more people with bags of cans for the base of the tower on Saturday! Should be some craic!

28/09/2004, 3:57 PM
I have just lined up about ten more people with bags of cans for the base of the tower on Saturday! Should be some craic!

Would they be fellow Hoopers by any chance?! :D

ptegan
28/09/2004, 4:00 PM
Remember that you're only meeting people under one of the legs of the tower as opposed to drinking there. As soon as the cans come out so will the police so you'll have to stay thirsty until everyone turns up :)

IsMiseSean
28/09/2004, 10:16 PM
Anyone staying in
Hotel de L'Ouest
3 rue du rocher

I'm staying there with some friends, anyone know if its good?

Gary Waddock
29/09/2004, 10:19 AM
Remember that you're only meeting people under one of the legs of the tower as opposed to drinking there. As soon as the cans come out so will the police so you'll have to stay thirsty until everyone turns up :)
So ptegan what if we head way down that grassy area in front of the tower & set up base there...any problem with knocking back a few cans there?

ptegan
29/09/2004, 11:08 PM
Yep sounds fine. I'll drop around Sat and take a few snaps to show people where to go :)

yablazer
29/09/2004, 11:58 PM
Anyone flyin out ryanair wednesday night?

OMP Player
30/09/2004, 4:36 PM
Anybody flying out of Belfast at 1300H on the Saturday?

DonegalDub
01/10/2004, 10:43 AM
Is anyone flying Ryanair from Glasgow Prestwick on Friday 15.00ish flight? Sounds like people coming from all directions. Myself flying Carrickfin (Donegal) via Glasgow to Paris Beavais. Any other mad journeys out there?

Babysis
01/10/2004, 12:30 PM
Anyone trying to get over on a budget could check Eurolines coaches. The over night coach on Friday night gets in to Paris on Sat Morning,leaving on Sunday, about £50 return. Its a tough journey but its cheap.
http://www.nationalexpress.com/eurolines_microsite/index.cfm

It might be worth checking Venere for Hotels. We have booked with them.
http://www.venere.com/en/reservation/france/ile-de-france/paris/hotels/5285/?ref=22718&skip=0&rate=2&view=map

We are going on Eurostar. Cheapest journey is to go on Sat morning and leaving on the 20.43 on sun evening = £104 return.http://www.eurostar.com/dynamic/_SvBoEsPlusTravelCriteriaTerm?_TMS=1096633762077&_DLG=SvBoEsPlusTravelCriteriaTerm&_LANG=UK&_AGENCY=ESTAR

Breener
01/10/2004, 2:09 PM
anyone flyin on friday on the ryanair 19.25 flight????

Do d duffer
01/10/2004, 4:05 PM
Is anyone flying Ryanair from Glasgow Prestwick on Friday 15.00ish flight? Sounds like people coming from all directions. Myself flying Carrickfin (Donegal) via Glasgow to Paris Beavais. Any other mad journeys out there?

There is 10 of us heading out thurs afternoon thru brussels. stayin d night in brussels thurs then on the train up fri afternoon to paris!! Should be some craic cant wait! Finally got my tickets from the FAI this morning too so all the panic is over!! Just have to dig out all my Ireland and Celtic jerseys for 4 days of madness!!!!!!!!!!!

:D :D :D

Brenny
01/10/2004, 7:31 PM
Meself and the missus flying in with Ryanair from Sweden....don`t think she`s too chuffed about me bringing her to the game. :D
She thought I booked us a romantic weekend!

DTS
04/10/2004, 7:57 AM
Has anyone else been double charged for the tickets on their visa ?
Has happened to myself and my sister-in-law so i suggest ye check your bank details !!
FAI look to be really turning the corner as regards a professional approach, NOT ! rang them up and didn't even get an apology, just a case of "Oh yeah we had problems there the other day !!".

Anyone know if the polo shirts with new logo are out anywhere in the country ?
I thought they might bring these out the same time as the jerseys ??
As for the online shop becoming available........thats another days work !

fbtn
04/10/2004, 11:39 AM
Count three more for the 'Tear in the Tower'!

Two of us flying Belfast to Luton on Thursday, picking up another lad in London and getting train/ferry on Friday morning £64 return London-Paris. Back to London on Sunday and flying back into Belfast on Monday evening.

Anyone else getting ferry from Dover??

I'll be on the lookout for eLeague jersey's - think quite a few Harps fans are up for the tower pish-up.

See yis there :)

DonegalDub
04/10/2004, 1:15 PM
[QUOTE=fbtn]

" I'll be on the lookout for eLeague jersey's - think quite a few Harps fans are up for the tower pish-up."

Heard "the Auld Alliance" bar is the place to be for Harps fans?

macdermesser
04/10/2004, 2:16 PM
Metro Map of Paris (http://www.citefutee.com/orienter/cv/carteparis.php)

munsterskip
04/10/2004, 11:00 PM
:D :D :D

Sounds like a plan Breener........I'll be there with my carry out anyway...
That green area in front of the tower could take a few thousand Irish...
Imagine a big sing song there before the match...the tourists won't know what's goin on!

Do we have a time for kick off at the tower so? As we will all have cans, we should all buy 1 can of Guinness. Anytime someone stops to take a photo, remove preferred drink from hand, replace with said can of Guinness for photo. Would make some savage photos, couple of thousand Irish panned in front of tower, kitted with cans of porter.

sikes
05/10/2004, 1:27 AM
how strict are they about names on train tickets from london - paris

regards