Pages :
[
5]
pauldoc
06/09/2004, 1:02 PM
supa sparx.....who you flying with?
wallis
06/09/2004, 2:05 PM
booked mine last night. Flying out thursday night (taking the girlfriend for a 'romantic weekend !' ) ,back on Sunday £55 with British Midland Heathrow to Paris.
Get them quickly !! The offer runs out tonight at midnight. the flights are £8 one way and the other £39 is tax
http://www.flybmi.com/bmi/en-gb/index.aspx
Decent flight deal (as of last night, may have gone up a few quid by today)
Booked Easyjet London Luton to Paris CDG for around £98stg return (Friday to Monday). Connecting to Luton from Belfast for £50 return.
Whole lot for about €215 return.
Off to book a hostel and the HArps on Tour are sorted.
TG
Looks like a decent hostel. E22 a head for a 4 bed ensuite. Granted thats bunks id say... however the intention will be not to be spending too long there!
http://www.hostelworld.com/hosteldetails.php/HostelNumber.7276
ptegan
07/09/2004, 10:19 AM
Not a bad place Boots, about 15 minute walk from my place :)
Lots of late bars by the canal and on a direct metro line from the centre of town (Chatelet) and the 'Temple Bar" area of Bastille.
supasparx
07/09/2004, 3:18 PM
supa sparx.....who you flying with?
Flying with British Midland.
Fergie's Son
07/09/2004, 4:46 PM
Any thoughts on this area:
2 Rue Scribe
Paris, 75009 France
In District 9.
ptegan
08/09/2004, 5:35 PM
Fergie's Son...you're pretty much in the center of town. Take a look at this (http://www.funkymaps.com/pub/right.jpg) map and look for OPERA. This is where you are. The map shows some of the mahor bars in town but not all (not the ones that don't pay to be listed for example).
Nice area, within walking distance of cool Opera district and on some of the major train lines. Also if you're flying with Ryanair a taxi from the COncode hotel (bus drop-off point) will set you back about 8 euro.
ptegan
08/09/2004, 5:40 PM
Vieira picked up 2 yellow cards in the match against the Faroe Islands and will miss the Irish game, Oct 9th
iceman
08/09/2004, 10:16 PM
Just booked with EasyJet fron Belfast...out Sat. am - back Tues am .........143 Sterling
Mbabazi28
09/09/2004, 2:29 PM
Group of lads decided last night that we are going over if we can keep the cost down and have given me the lovely task of finding out how and where to get cheap tickets and how to get there and back, with some possibility of accommodation. So i've one or two questions (you're all very nice so far to everyone else, keep it coming please!)
1. I've contacts in the FAI ticketing Dept, but it's probably not worth my while contacting them, is it? Surely registration closed in July or so?
2. If the FAI isn't an option, where's the best place for tickets at the moment, considering my French doesn't extend beyond someone Delboyese? I've tried ticketnet but it doesn't seem to be working.
3. Are there any cheap flights still available? If not, what's the story with boats?
4. Any recommendations for cheap accommodation?
You all seem to know your stuff, and you'll be filled with drink once we get to the game in Paris. Cheers!
ptegan
09/09/2004, 2:40 PM
Ticknet seems to be working fine from here. There's FNAC.FR also but you can switch the ticketnet site to English and it's easy from there.
Hardly any cheap flights if you're not flexible with your dates. Fly over on the Wednesday for 5euro or the Friday for 160euro.
Accommodation is just too hugh a subject. There are many English sites listing hostels but a good hotel shouldn't cost anymore than 60euro a night for 2/3 people.
09/09/2004, 3:23 PM
Group of lads decided last night that we are going over if we can keep the cost down and have given me the lovely task of finding out how and where to get cheap tickets and how to get there and back, with some possibility of accommodation.
Just had a peep at that very topic, you can fly into Brussels on the Sat afternoon 2.30pm and out on the sunday night with Aer Lingus for €200, hire a car down for €60 plus petrol and tolls (three hours drive to the stadium from the airport) between however many and can get hotel accomodation (as was said) for €50/60 for two.
Before match ticket, food and drink it should still cost well less than €300.
supasparx
09/09/2004, 7:15 PM
[QUOTE=Mbabazi28]Group of lads decided last night that we are going over if we can keep the cost down and have given me the lovely task of finding out how and where to get cheap tickets and how to get there and back, with some possibility of accommodation.
If you can sort out getting to London, you can travel by Eurostar to Paris from Lon. Waterloo for 99 pounds sterling return.
We booked a hostel for 19 euro a night, checkwww.paris-hostels.com (www.paris-hostel.com) .
As for match tickets, I imagine come 14th of Sept. tickets will start to become available from people who have bought French and also received FAI tickets.
09/09/2004, 7:45 PM
Here lads
Anyone booking Eurostar
Choose to pay in Dollars- save 20-30%
Not a bad place Boots, about 15 minute walk from my place :)
Lots of late bars by the canal and on a direct metro line from the centre of town (Chatelet) and the 'Temple Bar" area of Bastille.
Thats the kind of information i like to hear :)
Littlest Hobo
10/09/2004, 9:23 AM
good deals popping up all over the place.
Found a peach from British Midlands :)
Dublin to London return 75euros and London to Paris return 82 euros.
Friday evening through till Monday morning.
157 euros each :D
inexile
10/09/2004, 10:06 AM
got a good one myself lads taking the girlfriend for a romantic weekend flying shannon to charleroi for 101.88 in total the only thing im stuck for is trying to find out train times from Charleroi to Paris can anyone help? also im pretty certain that its only an hour and a half from Charleroi to Paris can anyone confrim that?
Closed Account 2
10/09/2004, 11:02 AM
http://reiseauskunft.bahn.de/bin/query.exe/en
that site says 2 to 2 and a half.
10/09/2004, 11:11 AM
the only thing im stuck for is trying to find out train times from Charleroi to Paris can anyone help? also im pretty certain that its only an hour and a half from Charleroi to Paris can anyone confrim that?
You will need to take the Thalys (http://www.thalys.com/be/en) to get there in about 1h 25m.
It will cost you about €140 return as far as I know.
You'll need to check that for yourself.
If it was working out at €280 for yourself and herself on the train then you'd be advised to hire a car for around €90 for the weekend.
pauldoc
10/09/2004, 11:29 AM
Anyone order from Mosaicworld?
They have taken the money from my card but haven't arrived yet.
Just says "booked" whenever I log into their site.
Might drop them a mail in the afternoon but was just wonderng if anyonelse has hear anything.
Heard that people booking through ticketnet have got their tickets...is that right?
inexile
10/09/2004, 11:38 AM
jaysus i didnt think it would be that expensive.. cant really rent a car i only have a provisional licence id hardly be able to rent a car would i?
10/09/2004, 11:45 AM
jaysus i didnt think it would be that expensive..
A return ticket from Reading to Nottingham cost me over €130 and that's travelling within a single country. You're going from one to another and back.
cant really rent a car i only have a provisional licence id hardly be able to rent a car would i?
No and you have to be over 23 or something, even with a full license.
irwinsalegend
10/09/2004, 12:21 PM
Mr_T
Apprentice Join Date: Sep 2002
Decent flight deal (as of last night, may have gone up a few quid by today)
Booked Easyjet London Luton to Paris CDG for around £98stg return (Friday to Monday). Connecting to Luton from Belfast for £50 return.
Whole lot for about €215 return.
Off to book a hostel and the HArps on Tour are sorted.
TG
MrT , what flights are you on.
14 of us flying from Belfast - Luton at 10.05 am on Friday morning , connecting flight Luton - CDG at 3pm. back Monday also.
got it for 150 euro a long time back now, bring it on
10/09/2004, 12:27 PM
got a good one myself lads taking the girlfriend for a romantic weekend flying shannon to charleroi for 101.88 in total the only thing im stuck for is trying to find out train times from Charleroi to Paris can anyone help? also im pretty certain that its only an hour and a half from Charleroi to Paris can anyone confrim that?
you can occasionally get cheap non-refundable tickets on SNCF-French Rail (http://www.sncf.com/indexe.htm) , had a look earlier and Charleroi to Paris return was just less than €100
Closed Account 2
10/09/2004, 12:41 PM
you can occasionally get cheap non-refundable tickets on SNCF-French Rail (http://www.sncf.com/indexe.htm) , had a look earlier and Charleroi to Paris return was just less than €100
Or get a local bus the 10 miles from Charleroi to Mons and then the Coach Mons - Paris, 2 and half hrs, 34,00 Euros (http://www.eurolines.fr/index.html)
jaykay
10/09/2004, 12:42 PM
Anyone order from Mosaicworld?
They have taken the money from my card but haven't arrived yet.
Just says "booked" whenever I log into their site.
Might drop them a mail in the afternoon but was just wonderng if anyonelse has hear anything.
Heard that people booking through ticketnet have got their tickets...is that right?
Yeah I booked with Mosiaco and they have charged my card but no tickets yet. I do remember hearing something about Mosiaco and Sept 15th on other threads. Let us know how you get on with them today.
inexile
10/09/2004, 1:34 PM
fair play to ye lads ye are playing a blinder i must say im a bit of a virgin at this caper im usually the package holiday kind of a guy
10/09/2004, 1:52 PM
fair play to ye lads ye are playing a blinder i must say im a bit of a virgin at this caper im usually the package holiday kind of a guy
eircom League fans don't normally have the Package "Holiday" option for football trips so we're experts when it comes to boxing off stuff like this.
Have to say though, Paris is only second to London for accessability from Ireland. This trip is childsplay!
Hope that's reason enough for everyone to go and get there safely and on time.
4tothefloor
11/09/2004, 12:03 AM
Yeah I booked with Mosiaco and they have charged my card but no tickets yet. I do remember hearing something about Mosiaco and Sept 15th on other threads. Let us know how you get on with them today.
Mosaic said that they are getting their tickets directly from the French FA, and this is why we have to wait till 15th Sept. Not too long away now lads!
MrT , what flights are you on.
14 of us flying from Belfast - Luton at 10.05 am on Friday morning , connecting flight Luton - CDG at 3pm. back Monday also.
got it for 150 euro a long time back now, bring it on
Exact same flights going out. See you for a few beers in the Luton stop over no doubt. What club do you follow? :D
ronanb
13/09/2004, 10:22 AM
i'm getting tickets for the france, Ireland match off the web. does anyone know what stand the away fans are seated in ?
cheers,
Ronan
irwinsalegend
13/09/2004, 12:41 PM
Exact same flights going out. See you for a few beers in the Luton stop over no doubt. What club do you follow?
we're all Donegal men bar 1 so a few Harps supporters amongst the motley crew, I’m living in Dublin for the past 6 years so don't get to many games anymore unless they're playing down here. Looking good to finally get back up this year.
13/09/2004, 2:26 PM
I'm on BA 1802 from Birmingham at 8:40AM, Saturday. Arriving in France at 11:05AM
Anyone else on this flight?
dublinbhoy
13/09/2004, 5:48 PM
hello all,
i got my tickets in the post this morning through ticketnet, there in the noth end. what section are the main irish fans gonna be & are the anyone else in this section, i don't wanna be sitting with tons of froggies!!
roboyle
13/09/2004, 9:19 PM
Got a mail from the FAI this evening:
'Thank you for your application for tickets for the above fixture.
Due to the exceptionally high demand and the number of tickets made available
by the French FF, we were not in a position to meet all requests for tickets.
In light of the above, we have allocated tickets on a draw basis whereby
applicants chosen on a random electronic basis each receive a maximum of two tickets.
We are pleased to inform you that you have been successful in this draw and
have been allocated 2 tickets for the above fixture.
To confirm acceptance of this allocation please indicate by return email
placing order number and 'yes' or 'no' only, in the subject title by close of
business on Wednesday 25th September. Please note individual correspondence will not
be entered into on this email address.
Credit cards will be debited following confirmation of acceptance.
Tickets will be posted during the week commencing 27th September 2004.
Thanking you for your continued support.
TICKET OFFICE'
I guess I'm sorted then - twice over (ticketnet as well)!!!
roboyle
13/09/2004, 9:24 PM
hello all,
i got my tickets in the post this morning through ticketnet, there in the noth end. what section are the main irish fans gonna be & are the anyone else in this section, i don't wanna be sitting with tons of froggies!!
Think it's fair to say that barring the tickets that maybe were sold to the French 'Ultras' (don't know if there's such a thing in France), there'll be Irish fans in almost every section of th stadium so you'll never be far from a friendly voice!! :-)
dublinbhoy
13/09/2004, 9:34 PM
yeah i hope so, we were in holland for the amsterdam friendly ( U won't believe this but were got our tickets from brian kerr & chris houghton at the hilton hotel & we ended sitting in the v.i.p section with westlife.) best weekend of my life ( except from when i was at slane when we beat the dutch! ****e we should play them more often!!! :)
dublinbhoy
13/09/2004, 9:38 PM
is there anybody flying out on flybmi on the saturday morning?
IsMiseSean
13/09/2004, 9:39 PM
roboyle
I got the same email, see you in the Irish end.
IsMiseSean
13/09/2004, 10:29 PM
Anyone got names of hotels I can stay in?
I dont what to be to far from the action
ptegan
14/09/2004, 7:03 AM
Anyone know if the French FA sells tickets to the general public for competitive games?
The French FA sells it's tickets via the Ticketnet.fr site.
ptegan
14/09/2004, 7:06 AM
Anyone got names of hotels I can stay in?
I dont what to be to far from the action
There's a high speed metro (RER) that goes from the centre of town to the stadium which takes about 7 minutes so it's difficult to really be anymore than 30 minutes from the place no matter where you are in Paris. the metro ticket costs 1euro one-way.
Don't get a hotel near the staduim as it's not the most tourist-friendly area.
macdermesser
14/09/2004, 7:21 AM
Got a mail from the FAI this evening:
'Thank you for your application for tickets for the above fixture.
Due to the exceptionally high demand and the number of tickets made available
by the French FF, we were not in a position to meet all requests for tickets.
In light of the above, we have allocated tickets on a draw basis whereby
applicants chosen on a random electronic basis each receive a maximum of two tickets.
We are pleased to inform you that you have been successful in this draw and
have been allocated 2 tickets for the above fixture.
To confirm acceptance of this allocation please indicate by return email
placing order number and 'yes' or 'no' only, in the subject title by close of
business on Wednesday 25th September. Please note individual correspondence will not
be entered into on this email address.
Credit cards will be debited following confirmation of acceptance.
Tickets will be posted during the week commencing 27th September 2004.
Thanking you for your continued support.
TICKET OFFICE'
I guess I'm sorted then - twice over (ticketnet as well)!!!
I got this mail this morning too :-)
I'm really surprised .. because I am not a block booker.
roboyle
14/09/2004, 8:23 AM
There's a high speed metro (RER) that goes from the centre of town to the stadium which takes about 7 minutes so it's difficult to really be anymore than 30 minutes from the place no matter where you are in Paris. the metro ticket costs 1euro one-way.
Don't get a hotel near the staduim as it's not the most tourist-friendly area.
Seems to be alot of hostels/hotels in the Republique area/square, pretty reasonable too - I booked a twin ensuite room there for E29 p.p.p.n. - also near the Rex Club for a bit'o'late night boogieing!!! :D
Do d duffer
14/09/2004, 8:27 AM
Does anyone have any idea where in the stadium the Irish are going to be seated? I received that e-mail from the FAI too and I applied for 8 and got 2 but i got tickets through ticketnet too which arrived this morning and I was just wondering if the tickets where goin to be near each other in the ground. the tickets i got from ticketnet are for the north stand.
Any info guys?????? :D
telemecus
14/09/2004, 9:01 AM
For those (like myself) who have tickets for the french sections - are you planning to wear your jersey & colours etc..? Or is there a risk that the officials at the stade de france would try & stop Irish fans sitting in those sections citing safety reasons..?
Altho - from the sounds of it - if they implemented a policy like the above, they'd be trying to stop several thousand Irish fans! ;)
Just wondering if people are planning to go to the match 'inconspicuously'..
For those (like myself) who have tickets for the french sections - are you planning to wear your jersey & colours etc..? Or is there a risk that the officials at the stade de france would try & stop Irish fans sitting in those sections citing safety reasons..?
Altho - from the sounds of it - if they implemented a policy like the above, they'd be trying to stop several thousand Irish fans! ;)
Just wondering if people are planning to go to the match 'inconspicuously'..Always a difficult one. On the one hand, football is still tarnished by this reputation of not allowing fans to mix - certainly at club level. On the other, major international tournaments have been mixed for some time - certainly since the 1994 World Cup - and has inside the stadiums been without trouble. Also rugby fans from both countries are mixed at the Stade. The Swiss didn't seem to have a problem with Irish fans in the home section. I can't see why France is different, although I'll take a light coat just in case.
14/09/2004, 9:19 AM
although I'll take a light coat just in case.
Softie!
Get your mammy to tie your mittens together with string and run it up the sleeves of your "light coat." :D
My mate over there said it's not a problem because our countries are such good friends. Their support has dropped and as you saw in Basel, we were allowed to mix in the bars, trams and stadium without issue.
Anyone notice the police outside Paddy Reilly's?
You'll be forgiven for not doing so.
They were there but kept their presence low key by standing a good bit away.
Softie!
Get your mammy to tie your mittens together with string and run it up the sleeves of your "light coat." :DAny chance of holding my hand, Peadar? Mammy can't make it to Paris! :D