View Full Version : France (Away) Sat 9th Oct 04

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9

14/09/2004, 9:47 AM
Any chance of holding my hand, Peadar? Mammy can't make it to Paris! :D

I think you're misinterpreting the term ''Gay Paree." :D
Get your mammy to write your name and address on the tag of your light coat and you'll be grand.

macdermesser
14/09/2004, 10:34 AM
Just heard from a pal who knows someone who works in the FAI .. so second hand info .. that Ireland have been allocated 25,000 tickets for the game in Paris. Anyone else hear this .. or could it be a tale of chinese whispers. To me it sounds plausible ... there were 27,000 applications, and the French don't seem interested .. and obviously the law of economics means that French FA want to fill seats with paying customers.

25,000 Irish fans .. that would be some party ....

14/09/2004, 10:57 AM
Ireland have been allocated 25,000 tickets for the game in Paris...

If that is the case then there will be a lot of spare tickets floating around as there were in Basel. People couldn't give tickets away over there.
That said, this should be our biggest away crowd since the playoff v Holland in Anfield.

ptegan
14/09/2004, 11:07 AM
25,000 tickets does seem 'normal' for the reasons you gave. It's really difficult to find much interest over here in the match. I guess after having won the WC and Euro2000 it's difficult for the French supporters to almost start over again with a new team?

AFAIK the owners of the stadium also have a big say in where the tickets go. If the FFF wanted Ireland to just get 8,000 seats yet there was no huge demand from the French supporters for tickets, the owners have the power to offer more seats to Ireland.

I saw England play rugby there and there was the minimum number of forigen fans there, about 8,000. but when I saw Wales there was much less demand for tickets and almost 15,000 Welsh supporters.

Either way I think that Ireland is going to take over Paris that weekend :)

Do d duffer
14/09/2004, 12:48 PM
Ive heard that the FAI got 17,000 tickets. And for anyone who is interested, the irish allocation is for the south section of the ground, just received confirmation from the FAI by e-mail there.

To be honest Id say wherever u r in the ground ull find a friendly face in a green jersey!!!!!!!!!

fbtn
14/09/2004, 1:40 PM
Anyone getting the Eurostar?

I'm staying with a mate in Luton on the Thur night, having night in London then getting Eurostar on Friday. Getting it back on Sunday...another night in London then back into Belfast on Monday.

Staying in Nord du Gard, got CAT 4 tickets for French end off their website.

Was bringing them Missus but just heard due to work commitments she may not be able to make it.............which means I'll be going on the beer hammer and tongs!! Will know this evening.

Was thinking the eurostar could be good craic yet.

14/09/2004, 1:44 PM
Was thinking the eurostar could be good craic yet.

Even if you filled the eurostar with comedians it wouldn't be good craic.
You're getting it on Friday which is one of the worse times.
Don't forget to bring a packed lunch.
The food is toxic!

fbtn
14/09/2004, 1:48 PM
Even if you filled the eurostar with comedians it wouldn't be good craic.
You're getting it on Friday which is one of the worse times.
Don't forget to bring a packed lunch.
The food is toxic!

That bad Peadar??

If the better half can't make it now then I'm free to make my own way there from London. Have cheapo tickets from Easy Jet - Belfast to Luton for about sixty quid return for two, hotel booked, tickets got but haven't sorted out London to Paris yet.

If Eurostar is that much of a pain in the arse then I'll give it a miss and get another cheapo flight. Hundred quid sterling return for the Eurostar, isn't bad and wasn't planning on doing much eating :D

blobbyblob
14/09/2004, 1:51 PM
If Eurostar is that much of a pain in the arse then I'll give it a miss and get another cheapo flight. Hundred quid sterling return for the Eurostar, isn't bad and wasn't planning on doing much eating :D

Commmmme! commmmme! Join us, on the looooooooooooooooove train

7.09 friday morning

fbtn
14/09/2004, 1:56 PM
After a night on the tiles in London I was thinking more like the lunch-time one :D

Many of yis getting that one and did you need to book it in advance mate?

14/09/2004, 1:59 PM
That bad Peadar??

I can't sit still for 5 minutes so I struggle in situations like that anyway.
You get a load of English suits and French suits trying to out do each other for ignorance. If you're in good company the trip may not be so bad but the last time I got it my carriage was full of French school kids who majored in annoyance!

7.09 friday morning

That means being in Waterloo for 06:00
No thanks!

blobbyblob
14/09/2004, 2:02 PM
After a night on the tiles in London I was thinking more like the lunch-time one :D

Many of yis getting that one and did you need to book it in advance mate?

Theres 12 of us on that one. 11 of the boys have booked in advance. Got it for 60 british queens. I checked it yesterday and the cheapest standard seats are 89 sterlingos.

My choices at the moments are a 72 pound flight out of HR to CDG (friday-sunday) or join the boys. The clock is ticking and Eurostar are pumping up their prices.

fbtn
14/09/2004, 2:32 PM
I can't sit still for 5 minutes so I struggle in situations like that anyway.

Can ye not get up and walk about? Thought there was a bar :(

Could be a quick change of plan if there is no bar!

fbtn
14/09/2004, 2:33 PM
Theres 12 of us on that one. 11 of the boys have booked in advance. Got it for 60 british queens. I checked it yesterday and the cheapest standard seats are 89 sterlingos.

My choices at the moments are a 72 pound flight out of HR to CDG (friday-sunday) or join the boys. The clock is ticking and Eurostar are pumping up their prices.

Was looking at that flight too but leaves really early in the morning.

Hmmmmm??

blobbyblob
14/09/2004, 2:50 PM
Was looking at that flight too but leaves really early in the morning.

Hmmmmm??

Thursday and Saturday are looking like all nighters

Closed Account 2
14/09/2004, 3:17 PM
C'est cette dernière que les Tricolores rencontreront à Saint-Denis le samedi 9 octobre prochain (21h00)

So kick off is at 9pm local (Paris time). Is this likely to change at all (I remember the Dutch match being brought forward 30 mins or so) ?

The train is looking like £100, thinking of getting the coach from London now.

14/09/2004, 3:24 PM
Can ye not get up and walk about? Thought there was a bar :(

Could be a quick change of plan if there is no bar!

Yes you can walk around but it's a train like.
Where can you walk to?
There's a bar but it's the cafe yoke which sells the toxic food and the queues are mental because everyone wants coffee which seems to take forever to fill so bring your own beer.

carricksmasher
14/09/2004, 3:26 PM
Made the trip on the yoyo star once before and the bar was open for full trip over. Costly enough for a bottle of belgian plonk though so a trip to your friendly off licence on the way to waterloo might be a good plan.

Fr. Murphy
14/09/2004, 3:51 PM
There's in or around 10 of us travelling on the yoyostar on the friday lunchtime. we booked ours ages ago and got them for about €40 or €50 a head. if my memory serves me correctly. i've been warned also to stock up on the brewski's before jumping onboard.

OMP Player
14/09/2004, 4:25 PM
Does anybody know where they are going before and after the game in Paris?

14/09/2004, 4:34 PM
Does anybody know where they are going before and after the game in Paris?

Pigalle Place :D
If we've any energy left, that is :D

Mr_T
14/09/2004, 4:38 PM
Yes you can walk around but it's a train like.
Where can you walk to?
There's a bar but it's the cafe yoke which sells the toxic food and the queues are mental because everyone wants coffee which seems to take forever to fill so bring your own beer.

FBTN?? Bringing a carry out???? Whatever next?!?!?! :D

You sure you'll be able to manage that Rod, what if they have John Patton searching the bags at Victoria Station!!

TG

15/09/2004, 8:19 AM
The F.A.I. got 19,000-22,000 tickets depending on who you believe.

It will be like a home game as thousands more tickets ahve gone to Irish fans.

Duffer
15/09/2004, 8:40 AM
I'm still waiting on FAI to let me know if I've got mine.
Do you reckon I'm wasting my time waiting, are the FAI ticks gone??
might just go get them on the French sites before their all gone.

15/09/2004, 9:29 AM
The FAI have now allocated their 8,000 tickets

That makes sense alright. Normally you get 10% of the ground capacity.
Where the local association fail to sell their own tickets they offer them to the visiting fans as was the case in Amsterdam 2000.
FAIreland should have asked for more tickets though considering they had such high demand.

harps1954
15/09/2004, 9:35 AM
The FAI did ask for more tickets, and received an extra 9,000 bringing their allocation to 17,000. The stand behind one of the goals - the south stand I think, is now completely allocated to Ireland fans.

15/09/2004, 9:35 AM
some of the letters that the FAI sent out ask for you to respond and tell them if you want the tickets they allocated you or not whereas block bookers seem to have received letters that dont require a response.

does anyone know if you have to confirm with the FAI that you want your tickets or not no matter what the letter says?? :confused:

Duffer
15/09/2004, 9:39 AM
what area is everyone staying ??
I've seen the latin quarter mentioned a few times just wondering whereabouts to book accomadation.

Do d duffer
15/09/2004, 10:07 AM
There are 10 of us staying in the Royal Bergere Hotel with an address at 8 Rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris. Does anyone know where the location of this hotel is and if we're far from the action????????????? :confused:

15/09/2004, 10:27 AM
what area is everyone staying ??

A group of us are staying in the
Ibis Paris République
9, rue Leon Jouhaux
75010 PARIS

€69 per room per night.

Duffer
15/09/2004, 11:15 AM
A group of us are staying in the
Ibis Paris République
9, rue Leon Jouhaux
75010 PARIS

€69 per room per night.

Cheers Peadar looks fine and dandy to me
Just get the ticks now and it's all systems go

ptegan
15/09/2004, 11:35 AM
There are 10 of us staying in the Royal Bergere Hotel with an address at 8 Rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris. Does anyone know where the location of this hotel is and if we're far from the action????????????? :confused:

No matter where your hotel is you'll be far from the action, by foot, but probably never any more than 30 minutes MAX on metro. You can't get to the stadium on foot unless your hotel is in the area and if it is then you're not actually in Paris anymore !

The address of the Royal Bergere looks fine and O' Sullivans bar (big, though a little expensive) is about 5 minutes walk away and it's 25 minutes from hotel door to the stadium.

Do d duffer
15/09/2004, 12:02 PM
Ptegan

Many thanks for that info! Yeah I heard that the stadium was a bit outside of Paris. Would our address be in d centre of things socialising wise?????

Tks a million for your help, cant wait to get there now!!

green army
15/09/2004, 12:11 PM

i am staying there too. there are 4 of us. how u getting there. we are flyin out from dblin on friday and comin back on monday. it should b good.

15/09/2004, 12:15 PM
Lads, still looking for accomodation (and still recovering from basle!!).

any websites to go to for cheap accomodation?? (think i saw a couple on here a while ago but cant seem to find it now!!!)

Any cheap hotels that come recommended???

irwinsalegend
15/09/2004, 12:26 PM
Any cheap hotels that come recommended???

http://www.excelsior-paris-hotel.com/index.htm

Can't say it comes recommended but it's cheap and there are 14 of us booked in at 82euro each for 3 nights. you could try it but i know a few other groups have booked also so it may be full. it's in latin quarter which is fairly central and as Ptegan says nowhere is far on the metro, it's a lot more reliable than dublin bus that's for sure

Do d duffer
15/09/2004, 12:46 PM
i am staying there too. there are 4 of us. how u getting there. we are flyin out from dblin on friday and comin back on monday. it should b good.

Good stuff, shud be a good laugh so! We're flyin thru brussels on thurs goin back sun, stayin in brussels thurs nite and train up to paris on d friday afternoon!! The hotel looks basic enuff but its somewhere to put d head for d nite!!!!!!!

C ya over there!

DonegalDub
15/09/2004, 3:54 PM
Anyone flying Ryanair from Prestwick on 15.35 Friday?

supasparx
15/09/2004, 5:23 PM
[QUOTE=Daviddrog]Lads, still looking for accomodation (and still recovering from basle!!).

any websites to go to for cheap accomodation?? (think i saw a couple on here a while ago but cant seem to find it now!!!)

Any cheap hotels that come recommended???[/QUOTE ]

I'm stayin in a triple room ensuite for 19 euros a night, it's a hostel but looks ok and has a bar! :)

Get details at www.paris-hostel.com

yablazer
15/09/2004, 6:38 PM
Anyone know any decent irish bars in paris? got 3 tix confirmed in d irish end yesterday. Flyin in direct on ryanair wed night, stayin in hotel liberty by place de la repulique. any1 else stayin there or know it? seems basic enough but 4 20 euro a night inc bfast im not complainin. Cant wait to get out there now, bring on d frogs! :cool:

ptegan
15/09/2004, 6:46 PM
http://www.funkymaps.com/

This site probably has the most up-to-date info for bars in Paris.

The site is nice as it shows maps of the major areas to go out in but it only includes those that pay for the service. So it has all the large Irish bars (mostly good for tourists :) ) and only a few of the smaller ones.

It's good though to let you know where the happy hours are happening though. I'll see if I can get a page or something together this weekend with a list of the major bars, prices and opening hours.

roboyle
15/09/2004, 11:12 PM
Anyone know any decent irish bars in paris? got 3 tix confirmed in d irish end yesterday. Flyin in direct on ryanair wed night, stayin in hotel liberty by place de la repulique. any1 else stayin there or know it? seems basic enough but 4 20 euro a night inc bfast im not complainin. Cant wait to get out there now, bring on d frogs! :cool:

I'm staying there too... not due in til Friday evening though - thon Republique square seems to have a load of budget hotels/hostels there so will be a few boys in green about then!

Mbabazi28
15/09/2004, 11:36 PM
Is anyone else taking up the Stena Line offer of €115 p/p for ferries from Ireland to Britain and Britain to France (return) and two nights accommodation?

A gang of us are heading over on the 8.15 boat from Rosslare to Fishguard on the Friday morning, driving in two cars from Fishguard to Dover (about 7 hours), boating from Dover to Calais, driving from Calais to Paris, all to arrive in the hotel by a reasonable hour on Friday. Returning via the same route on Sunday morning. A helluva road trip, we reckon it's over 1000 miles, so we'll have to sing the Proclaimers in Paris.....

"We would drive 500 miles, and we would drive 500 more, just to see the Boys in Green and Duff and Keane are gonna score.......Cmon ireland/Cmon ireland/Cmon ireland/Cmon ireland lalalalalalalalalalala..........."

Was two of us this morning, now they're eight! If anyone has tickets to spare, face value, drop us a PM.

manwithaplan
16/09/2004, 2:45 AM
Couple of us heading over for the match. Staying in the Tulip Inn, Celte Lafayette , 25, rue Buffault ,75009 Paris. (Metro Cadet). Look pretty nice, close by the Gare De Nord ( for those arriving by Eurostar ) and cheap enough at E78.

DonegalDub
16/09/2004, 7:46 AM
Don't think there will be a problem with tickets or am I wrong? It'll be like Basel, with loads of lads with spare tickets. In saying that, I'm still waiting on word through a third party for Irish end (South Stand?) for me and my 12 year old son. We're going Fri., staying in Montmatre area so if anyone has two to spare.......?

16/09/2004, 8:50 AM
so if anyone has two to spare.......?

I know of tickets but their for the French end.
If you want I can put you in touch with my mate in Dublin?

stayin in hotel liberty by place de la repulique. any1 else stayin there or know it?

We're staying around the corner in the Ibis on rue Leon Jouhaux.

DonegalDub
16/09/2004, 8:54 AM
I know of tickets but their for the French end.
If you want I can put you in touch with my mate in Dublin?

Thanks, Peadar, I'd prefer Irish end, so's the wee lad can soak up the atmosphere, so I'll hang on and see how things pan out...got a few looking for me. I'll get back to you if no joy.

PS Love your Basel photos, Thank God you didn't get any of me! Blackmail stuff!

16/09/2004, 8:55 AM
PS Love your Basel photos, Thank God you didn't get any of me! Blackmail stuff!

No worries. What happens on tour stays on tour as they say ;)

16/09/2004, 10:00 AM
I was just reading here (http://www.stadefrance.fr/events/event.php?id=cce23aa1f8538df165d6e5a99097f3d6)

FRANCE vs REPUBLIC OF IRELAND
October 9, 2004
Come and encourage your favorite team...
...Unforgivable time expected !

What's that all about like!?
Do they think we're going to destroy them :confused: :D

stickyjoe
16/09/2004, 10:12 AM
thats probably meant for the irish fans
as it seems to be only us that are buying the tickets ;)