[
7]
DonegalDub
16/09/2004, 10:18 AM
What....no confessionals available!?!
16/09/2004, 10:20 AM
What....no confessionals available!?!
Hopefully The 12th Man will be there to give a general absolution to all travelling fans. :D
DonegalDub
16/09/2004, 10:29 AM
accessed that map now, Peadar, thanks. Am I right in thinking South Stand was FAI allocation? By sounds of things, irish will be spread everywhere anyhow! :D
16/09/2004, 10:31 AM
accessed that map now, Peadar, thanks.
This (http://www.westminsterevents.com/seating_plans/3217.gif) is a better map, DD. You can see section numbers.
OMP Player
16/09/2004, 2:31 PM
Comfort Hotel Restaurant Primevère - Paris Saint Ouen
54 quai de Seine, Saint-Ouen, Paris, 93400
Does anybody know of this Hotel? It's not too far from the stadium and is only €46 Euro a night.
irwinsalegend
16/09/2004, 4:22 PM
Does anybody know of this Hotel? It's not too far from the stadium and is only €46 Euro a night
OMP - I'm sure ptegan will know the area so he will be able to advise but i know he's mentioned before and from beign there before myself that the area immediately aroud the ground is not really somewhere you want to be staying. i certainly wasn't tempted to walk too far from the stadium when i was waiting around for our tour to start the last time.
conmccormack
16/09/2004, 4:34 PM
Thought that might get your attention...sorry.
Irish couple need couch / room for 9-10 oct.
Anything will do. will pay, no worries!!
OMP Player
16/09/2004, 4:38 PM
Thanks Irwinsalegend, Do you know a nice area to stay then?
I'm thinking of timewise because I only fly into CDG at 2.45pm. Don't want to be travelling all around the city and me just dying for a pint
ptegan
16/09/2004, 9:42 PM
Comfort Hotel Restaurant Primevère - Paris Saint Ouen
54 quai de Seine, Saint-Ouen, Paris, 93400
Does anybody know of this Hotel? It's not too far from the stadium and is only €46 Euro a night.
Cheers rwinsalegend :)
Well, I suppose you could stay by the stadium. It really depends on your weekend plans.
If you were flying in the Sat afternoon and just wanted to drop off at hotel, have a few pints, head to the game, go back to the hotel after our 2-0 win and fly off the Sunday afternoon.....then a hotel by the stadium is just perfect.
If though you entended going out before and/or after the game in the city itself then it's probably best to stick to within the city walls (i.e. any hotel with a postcode that starts with 75 (e;g. 75001, 75002,...))
Compared to Dublin the stadium is in Tallaght. Outside of the city and probably not the area you want to be going out in at night to have fun esp. if you know that all the other Irish fans are in town :)
Catch my post tomorrow night on hotels if you're stuck...
OMP Player
17/09/2004, 11:09 AM
Thanks for that ptegan, more than helpful! I'll buy you a pint if we meet over there! :D
blobbyblob
17/09/2004, 12:42 PM
Thanks for that ptegan, more than helpful! I'll buy you a pint if we meet over there! :D
PT should have free beer for the weekend for all his assitance.
PT for President
17/09/2004, 12:47 PM
PT should have free beer for the weekend for all his assitance.
When you see the price of sauce in Paris you may not be so quick to offer it around.
One Brian Kerr
17/09/2004, 3:17 PM
Can someone please confirm K.O. time for the game as i noticed
FIFA World Cup European Qualifying
Group Four
Cyprus v Faroe Islands 15.00
France v Rep of Ireland 15.00
Israel v Switzerland 15.00
from http://www.sportinglife.com/football/fixtures/fixtures200410.html
......... was sure that it was 9 pm (french time) :eek:
Bluetonic
17/09/2004, 3:42 PM
Kick off is 20:45 French time.
One Brian Kerr
17/09/2004, 3:49 PM
Cheers i **** myself for a second as i'm not arriving in Paris until saturday afternoon. :)
Paulie
17/09/2004, 4:43 PM
Can someone please confirm K.O. time for the game as i noticed
FIFA World Cup European Qualifying
Group Four
Cyprus v Faroe Islands 15.00
France v Rep of Ireland 15.00
Israel v Switzerland 15.00
from http://www.sportinglife.com/football/fixtures/fixtures200410.html
......... was sure that it was 9 pm (french time) :eek:
If the time of the Israel V France game is correct maybe we will get to see it on French telly.
Paulie
17/09/2004, 4:45 PM
If the time of the Israel V France game is correct maybe we will get to see it on French telly.
That should of course have read Israel V Switzerland.
KDonkeyKilbane
18/09/2004, 9:41 AM
Kick off is at 21:00 French Time
ptegan
18/09/2004, 10:27 AM
When you see the price of sauce in Paris you may not be so quick to offer it around.
Just a small one for me then :)
Irish bars don't normally do Happy Hours on weekends (Sat / Sun) so expect to pay about 6€ a pint before the game. If the weather is fine than a take-out and a nice spot by the river waving at the tourists on their boat trips is usually the way Parisians would spend the day.
Either way, if you're gonna spend €€€ on transport, hotels and tickets, an extra few quid in the pub shouldn't kill ya.
Now you could stay away from the Irish places, go to a Franch place, and pay 3e for a pint instead :)
OMP Player
20/09/2004, 9:27 AM
I know this isn't the right forum but does anyone have face value tickets for the home game on the 13th October?
oconghc2
20/09/2004, 9:49 AM
im definately up for the cheap options
craic might be good dow by the river - eiffel tower could always be an option - nice park!!
20/09/2004, 12:05 PM
craic might be good dow by the river - eiffel tower could always be an option - nice park!!
Hopefully it will not be pi**ing down with rain! :)
lopez
20/09/2004, 12:46 PM
That's the most sensible post on the whole thread,though the cynical part of me says that the 'local' bars will have increased their prices when they see a large thirsty Green army approaching :rolleyes: ...........luckily the supermarche chains won't be able to.....I totally agree with you Little Buddha. I hate Irish bars. They are up there with drug dealers as far as I'm concerned. They are only of use when all other options are closed. Otherwise I steer clear of them.
Shouldn't think Chez Michel's will hike up the prices. I hear Paris has cleaned up its act since I was last there in the late eighties, and it's more 'tourist-friendly'. That means no hiking. Anyway I'm up for a few Kronenbergs avec le Champagne Top by the Seine or the ET. I'll be bringing along my Ice bucket (aka the Sam Maguire) to keep the bubbly cool. ;)
20/09/2004, 12:56 PM
I'll be bringing along my Ice bucket (aka the Sam Maguire) to keep the bubbly cool. ;)
How weird is that!
I was in the Warrington in Maida Vale yesterday and the ice bucket on the counter reminded me of auld sam.
Even pointed it out to my mate. Are they common in London or something?
How weird is that!
I was in the Warrington in Maida Vale yesterday and the ice bucket on the counter reminded me of auld sam.
Even pointed it out to my mate. Are they common in London or something?The one I have I 'picked up' :cool: in a bar in Basel two weeks ago. I thought it came with my £10 single cognac, because I didn't see any pole-dancers trying to engage in deep conversation with me, which is what I normally expect to come with a £10 brandy. Solid silver with Moet et Chandon on the front. I gave it to Conchita to use with her Cava telling her: 'Presents like that you just can't buy in the shops.' :D
20/09/2004, 2:19 PM
I gave it to Conchita to use with her Cava
A true Cork woman. None of that French stuff for us.
Never forgave them for Kinsale.
Cava goes down a treat at 1/4 the price.
21/09/2004, 12:36 PM
Got an e-mail from my mate in Paris.
I'm afraid about Ireland, France is not good and
Vieira will not play...
They're rattled lads, I'm telling ya! :D
dublinred
21/09/2004, 12:57 PM
Whats the story with the Moulin Rouge , is it still on the go are they all redheads?
21/09/2004, 1:51 PM
If anybody needs a spin down from Charleroi on Saturday 9th about 2.00pm or back up on Sunday 10th morning for the 10.20am home, pm me or post up here. (we're doing the flying visit version obviously ;) )
There's a gang of us with a people carrier hired and we have a spare seat, it'll save you forking out for a car yourself or on train fare.
ptegan
21/09/2004, 3:16 PM
Whats the story with the Moulin Rouge , is it still on the go are they all redheads?
Are who all redheads?
dublinred
21/09/2004, 3:31 PM
Are who all redheads?
The dancers , if its still on the go reckon there will be big queues of paddies.
superguard1999
21/09/2004, 4:30 PM
Moulin Rouge is still going. A mate of mine is working in a bar in paris and is trying to score me some tickets. Think they're about €100 or something so only going if i get them free!!! Corcorans in Clichy is a good pub nearby ( even if it is an Oirish pub)!!
stickyjoe
22/09/2004, 7:41 AM
has anybody heard how many irish fans the FAI or french FA think are going to be at the match. everybody that you talk to seems to be heading over
ptegan
22/09/2004, 7:55 AM
Pretty sure that they're not all red heads. I never knew that they were.
Moulin Rouge is the French for "Red Windmill" :)
22/09/2004, 10:02 AM
We got the application form about 6+ weeks ago, sent back with our Block Booking reference plus cheque for total cost. Got full allocation confirmed in post on Monday, tickets to be posted out towards end of this month. Call the FAI as you should get confirmation this week.
Still on the Block Booking Scheme so no mention of one of those 10 year rip-off-Ireland tickets.
www.worldeasy.com/hotels
www.worldeasy.com/flights
www.irishgunners.com
Irish gunners my arse. Support an Irish club.
Anyway check out www.multimap.com for anyone who doesnt know exactly where their accommodation is.
Also there's still room at www.timhotel.com
Breener
22/09/2004, 12:26 PM
so are we all meetin at the Eiffel Tower on the Saturday afternoon for a few pre match beers??
22/09/2004, 12:39 PM
so are we all meetin at the Eiffel Tower on the Saturday afternoon for a few pre match beers??
Wouldn't there be some craic if we all met somewhere near Saint Denis and marched* to the stadium together in a huge Green & White Army!?
*Cue Frog March jokes :D
Gary Waddock
22/09/2004, 2:32 PM
:D :D :D
Sounds like a plan Breener........I'll be there with my carry out anyway...
That green area in front of the tower could take a few thousand Irish...
Imagine a big sing song there before the match...the tourists won't know what's goin on!
Breener
22/09/2004, 3:22 PM
:D :D :D
Sounds like a plan Breener........I'll be there with my carry out anyway...
That green area in front of the tower could take a few thousand Irish...
Imagine a big sing song there before the match...the tourists won't know what's goin on!
The feckin locals wont know what hit them!!!!! So Who else will be partying with me & Gary Waddock on green area in front of the tower ?????
Do d duffer
22/09/2004, 3:43 PM
The feckin locals wont know what hit them!!!!! So Who else will be partying with me & Gary Waddock on green area in front of the tower ?????
Lads you can count me and my 11 mates in!! An early start is a must! :D
22/09/2004, 3:45 PM
We won't be down until lateish, but if you're still there at five, you can count another seven in :D
This is going to be my first international game cant wait couldnt have picked a better one!! anyone getting the ferry on the 8th of oct in rosslare? also anyone know any cheap acccomadtion in the city
Beavis
22/09/2004, 4:07 PM
4 more here!Keep the ball rolling....
One Brian Kerr
22/09/2004, 4:11 PM
6 More for Saturday afternoon
KCFC 2IC
22/09/2004, 4:13 PM
Moulin Rouge is still going. A mate of mine is working in a bar in paris and is trying to score me some tickets. Think they're about €100 or something so only going if i get them free!!! Corcorans in Clichy is a good pub nearby ( even if it is an Oirish pub)!!
There's a lot of local pubs in around Clichy - Edward & Sons, Le Progres and Rendez Vous Des Artists. I'll be keeping an eye out for any EL shirts in the Pigalle/Clichy area, should be a good few lads out that way.
OMP Player
22/09/2004, 4:22 PM
Count me +1 in for the session a la Eiffel Tower but like Tiktoc I won't be down till about 4ish
jaykay
22/09/2004, 4:48 PM
Count another 4 of us in for the tower
Brenny
22/09/2004, 5:01 PM
Another 2 for the tower pish up...See yiz there lads!
ptegan
23/09/2004, 6:00 AM
So...how exactly are we to find each other? It won't be under the Eiffel tower (no grass/tourists) but on the grass part in front of it where there's enough room for several thousand people :)
Maybe we need nametags or something !
Brenny
23/09/2004, 7:15 AM
Just look for the one`s wearing Ireland jerseys and knocking back the flaggens! ;)