longfordjames
02/08/2009, 7:54 PM
Result from Tallaght 2-1

hollocaine
02/08/2009, 8:15 PM
FT: Longford Town 0-2 Atletico Madrid XI

sonofstan
02/08/2009, 8:19 PM
Really good game in Tallaght - Derry deserved the draw, though (and not just because that would have been the best result for us....)

Who was the co- commentator with Will 'stato' Dowling? whoever it was, he said it was 'end to end stuff from both teams' :)

Flexy
02/08/2009, 8:36 PM
Really good game in Tallaght - Derry deserved the draw, though (and not just because that would have been the best result for us....)

Who was the co- commentator with Will 'stato' Dowling? whoever it was, he said it was 'end to end stuff from both teams' :)
Thought it was a brilliant game end to end stuff thought we deserved a draw but thats football, players must me knackered for us though after sofia on thurs and then tonite. Must battle on without the help of the idiots at the FAI. Co commentator was ex dundalk keeper Alan O'neill

02/08/2009, 8:38 PM

Town played very well tonight, very unlucky not to score on a number of occasions. Atletico had a few very nice footballers, hardly surprising they were all very technically gifted. Not a bad evenings entertainment I must say.

gufc2000
02/08/2009, 8:49 PM
Town played very well tonight, very unlucky not to score on a number of occasions. Atletico had a few very nice footballers, hardly surprising they were all very technically gifted. Not a bad evenings entertainment I must say.
Fair play, did ye get much of a crowd?

02/08/2009, 8:54 PM
About 600 maybe, hard to tell. Not fantastic but it was arranged on short notice so there wasn't an awful lot of publicity about it. Still made a few quid out of it though i reckon so it was worth having and it was an entertaining game.

02/08/2009, 9:03 PM
Wish had known about the Athletico game and would have taken the kids over instead of having one of the most boring days of my life!

atfconline
02/08/2009, 9:44 PM
Who scored?

Dowson I think it was.

The Lilywhites
03/08/2009, 12:54 AM
Wish had known about the Athletico game and would have taken the kids over instead of having one of the most boring days of my life!

Bring them to Dundalk tomorrow ;)

03/08/2009, 12:21 PM
Tee hee. We're better than Atletico Madrid. :cool:

03/08/2009, 5:11 PM
It's been said before by myself and others, but the setup at Tallagh is top notch. There's a real buzz about the place and it's great to see so many families making it an evening out. (Special mention to the barbeque's- the smell of cooked food had many of us over there well before half time). I went with a friend (as mentioned earlier in the thread) who was making his LOI debut and so I saw a lot of it through his eyes (he really enjoyed it).

It was a proper event, but it was an event that felt unique which is what I think is really remarkable- a League of Ireland football match, with it's own distinct atmosphere as an event in it's own right, different to Premier League football, or Scottish League football for instance created in things like the lack of segregation, the banter between ourselves at the Rovers fans sitting yards away, the smell of barbequed food, the guy in the tuxedo doing karaoke at half time, and the kids playing on the pitch at half time. I know individually, none of these events is unique, but it's the overall atmosphere there and the effort made that I think deserves special mention (I hope I've explained what I mean properly). Basically, it all combined to create the image of a vibrant, inclusive, professional league.

On the game itself, watching it with a friend I was proud of the fact both teams produced such an excellent spectacle, but putting my Derry hat on again, I thought we were tremendously unlucky to come away with nothing- we would have deserved all 3 points. I thought the way we passed and moved was better than we've done in ages and the fact that we didn't panic and start lumping the ball forward until the very, very, latter stages of the game. We stayed calm and attacked confidently and impressively but just couldn't produce the killer cross, or finish when we needed them most. I should be even more disappointed but to be honest after the last 4 league games the fact we played well was a bonus given I expected nothing from the game.

03/08/2009, 6:00 PM
I had the girlfriends brother at his first match there last night along with his 10 year old and five year old and they all went away very impressed, and he's a hardcore barstool United fan. I wasn't sure for a lot of the game if the young lads were really enjoying it, neither of them is really into football as a rule, but afterwards they were raving about it, the little fella got the Rovers colours painted on his face before he game, I bought them a scarf each, then there was the regular supply of goodies from the (overpriced) vendors inside, the ice creams at half time and just the general buzz around the place. TCM definitely has it right there's a really unique event atmosphere about the games in Tallaght at the moment and it's infectious, the amount of children there and the merchandise flying out of the shop is testament to that.

03/08/2009, 7:28 PM
Sligo 1 up against Bohs in tonights league cup semi - Blinkhorn

sligofan4ever
03/08/2009, 7:28 PM
1-0 to Rovers in league Cup. Blinkhorn scores :)

Boo_Boy
03/08/2009, 7:29 PM
Horny Horny Horny

03/08/2009, 7:34 PM
Oh dear. That's not going to do much for the Bohs coffers if Sligo hold on.

03/08/2009, 8:04 PM
Bohs 1-1 Sligo

Sligo's Camano sent off on '49, Bohs equalise on '58, Fenn with his second in two games.

http://www.futbol24.com/f24_livenow/LiveNow.html?__igp=1&l8=15914&submit.x=127&submit.y=7

sligofan4ever
03/08/2009, 8:05 PM
Neale Fenn scored.

03/08/2009, 8:06 PM
Sligo 2-1 up!

Boo_Boy
03/08/2009, 8:08 PM
Keano
Keano
Keano

03/08/2009, 8:13 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/liveupdate/

Extratime covering the match

03/08/2009, 8:36 PM
2-2 in injury time

Blue-Army
03/08/2009, 8:48 PM
2-2 in injury time
Noooooo

Come on Rovers!

We want 'em in the final! :)

sligofan4ever
03/08/2009, 8:54 PM
3-2 Bohs :(

03/08/2009, 8:54 PM

4-2 Bohs

Gareth
03/08/2009, 9:09 PM
Sligo lost it in the 92nd minute, So close, but soooo far away.

Flexy
03/08/2009, 9:22 PM
jammy swines again how many late goals can they fluke and another game they end up playing against 10 minute just a wonder they never got a pen, bet it woz a ref from dublin AGAIN

Black and White
03/08/2009, 9:56 PM
Athletico Madrid beat us 2-1 tonight, Chris Turner with a cheeky Pen for us, a few trialists and squad players on show tonight!

03/08/2009, 10:09 PM
bet it woz a ref from dublin AGAIN

Yeah, because we all know how everyone in Dublin supports Bohs.

blue til i die
03/08/2009, 10:19 PM
Yeah, because we all know how everyone in Dublin supports Bohs.

But surely a cup semi final of any kind should have a ref not from where either team is from??

In saying that, I still expect a dublin ref for tommorrow's game!

03/08/2009, 10:33 PM
jammy swines again how many late goals can they fluke and another game they end up playing against 10 minute just a wonder they never got a pen, bet it woz a ref from dublin AGAIN
I love this rant because it's entirely based on speculation and conjecture. Two thumbs up!

marinobohs
03/08/2009, 11:48 PM
[QUOTE=Flexy;1205110]jammy swines again how many late goals can they fluke and another game they end up playing against 10 minute just a wonder they never got a pen, bet it woz a ref from dublin AGAIN[/QUOT

Of course late goals have nothing to do with full time football or opposition down to ten men (idiot) ! fair play to Sligo great support and unlucky to concede in 92 nd min.
Great result for Bohs and our treble is still on (going out with a bang).

topia
04/08/2009, 12:27 AM

number one thats a stupid statement because if a ref from dublin grew up supporting rovers for example would he be more likely to favour bohs?

secondly i thought the ref was shockingly poor tonight and if anything more of his bad decisions went against bohs

The Lep
04/08/2009, 12:48 AM
Athletico Madrid beat us 2-1 tonight, Chris Turner with a cheeky Pen for us, a few trialists and squad players on show tonight!

Atletico Madrid B you mean, who play in the spanish 3rd tier with the likes of Lanzarote?
Or where there some first team players there to justify the ads for the match which said you were playing Athletico Madrid X1?

The ad in the Mirror was misleading at its best , couldnt expect anything else from Dundalk :D

04/08/2009, 9:37 AM
I'm glad Bohs won. Hopefully any prize money they get from the league cup will help them survive. I'm totally ignorant of Bohs plight and don't know how much they need but would like to see them survive.

Prize money from LC will be nowhere near enough. I don't know what it is this year, but in 2006 it was E15, 000 (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2346). I can't imagine it's much more than that now.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/win-or-bust-for-bohs-1815617.html

According to the club's finance committee, the prize money earned from a second successive League of Ireland title and progression in the Champions League, along with the extra finances that would bring, is the only way in which they can avoid relegation.
And even that might not be enough as they would still be spending 67pc of their income on players' salaries and in need of an estimated €140,000 to edge below the 65pc mark, it was stated.

04/08/2009, 10:09 AM
I thought Bohs fans didn't care aut the League Cup......? :)

04/08/2009, 11:34 AM
Heard the best fundraiser ever last night. Pay €50 to have yer name put on a seat in Dalymount. This fundraiser was announced as a way to help the club to come 'under the 65% wage cap by the end of the season'.

So basically, we're cheats so give us money so we can get away with it.

04/08/2009, 11:35 AM
Heard the best fundraiser ever last night. Pay €50 to have yer name put on a seat in Dalymount. This fundraiser was announced as a way to help the club to come 'under the 65% wage cap by the end of the season'.

Ah, but if they give them the money they won't be cheats.....

I'd imagine fundraising is part of every clubs projected income for the year, if they get the money then fair enough.

04/08/2009, 11:40 AM
Spot on micls.

Even if they're doing it in a panic, seems like a normal emough fundraiser. Plenty of teams in UK have done it. Similar to the "buy a brick" campaign that others have done.

€50 is steep though. Reckon they'd earn more going with a tenner...

The Betting Man
04/08/2009, 12:09 PM

Good man Flexy let it all out,if you were there then you woud of seen that it should have been all over before extra time,the amount of easy chances we missed in the 2nd half was unreal.The sending off was a right decison he was the last man and clearly stopped a goal scoring chance so correct decision by the ref Mr Winters,in the 1st half I would admit that Cronin was lucky to stay on the pitch with his "tackle" on Raf.I thought we deserved to win on our 2nd half performance but 1st half was all Sligo and I was very impressed with the 2 new forwards they have Blinkhorn and Hunter(think thats him name).There was plenty of the Bit o Red that travelled up and it was great to see,they like many others thought they had won the game,they have celebrated a bit to early but after Friday's game Sligo fans should of realised its not over till its over or in your case Flexy its not over to Bohs score.Once it went into extra time there was always only going to be one winner and that was Bohs,it could of been 6 or 7 by the end of extra time but that would of been harsh on a Sligo team that gave everything last night.

The treble is still on

Black and White
04/08/2009, 12:38 PM
Atletico Madrid B you mean, who play in the spanish 3rd tier with the likes of Lanzarote?
Or where there some first team players there to justify the ads for the match which said you were playing Athletico Madrid X1?

The ad in the Mirror was misleading at its best , couldnt expect anything else from Dundalk :D

Nobody here said it was madrid's full team so i duno where you're getting that from. There where two lads that tasted first team action for their full team last season thats it but there will be quite a few who will make it in Spain! We didnt exactly have a full team out either!

marinobohs
04/08/2009, 1:45 PM

This idea is nothing new and as Dodge mentioned has happened in England and indeed all over the world ( I recently visited CITIFIELD a new baseball stadium in New York and they have a sponsored brick scheme).

I know it was a bad result for Sligo at Dalyer but having a stupid go at Bohs in the wrong just makes YOU look an idiot, If the sponsorship (and other) things get us under the 65% rule how will we be cheating ? Can only presume that the long journey home is to blame or have you forgotten Sligo fund raising in the past :)

marinobohs
04/08/2009, 1:49 PM
I thought Bohs fans didn't care aut the League Cup......? :)

Certainly seems Derry fans do, even after their team are long gone out of it:D

04/08/2009, 1:59 PM
Can only presume that the long journey home is to blame

It usually would be but after being disappionted like that, but we make our own fun;)

marinobohs
04/08/2009, 2:24 PM
It usually would be but after being disappionted like that, but we make our own fun;)

As I posted elsewhere good crowd from Sligo and it must have been a sickner (technical term) to concede so late. Strikers looked useful for you and the team always play decent football. I think the 10 men (seding off) may have been a factor as Dalymount is a big pitch and hard enough to defend with 11

04/08/2009, 2:27 PM

Actual footage of the Sligo supporters bus on the way home:

3JM-FzoFq7I