blue til i die
01/08/2009, 7:57 PM
FT 2-0 to the blues
christo
01/08/2009, 8:26 PM
FT 3-0 to UCD
CharlesThompson
01/08/2009, 8:48 PM
Drogheda have got a couple of late goals against us as well (but the ref conspiracy theory is more fun - dont forget all the pens we get :))
And all the players that get sent off against us!
Seriously though, I wouldn't have argued last night had we lost the match. We were pure muck last night. Conversely, I thought that Drogheda were worth the three points. Fair play to Matthews, he really got that team playing as if their lives depended on it. Chambers goal was well deserved and a great finish to boot.
I can totally understand that Drog supporters feel hard done by.
That said, the goal was scored (by my watch) about three and a half minutes into injury time and most of the first minute was taken up by your goalkeeper looking for excuses not to place and kick a ball out for a kick out. It's possible the referee had taken this into account when adding on the additional time.
Still a horrible way to lose a match.
Great way to escape though!! And a great finish by Fenn.
02/08/2009, 12:38 AM
Mervue just hit the woodwork!
UCD 3 up Rocko Reilly with his second
Straight from the rebound off our post practically.
02/08/2009, 12:44 AM
Straight from the rebound off our post practically.
Must have been some ricochet to go all the way from Galway to Longford!
02/08/2009, 2:29 AM
Must have been some ricochet to go all the way from Galway to Longford!
Oops. :o
I should read this more closely if I'm going reply to posts.
02/08/2009, 8:03 AM
Yeah yer 3rd goal was a breakaway from us hitting the post, which really was a killer kick in the nuts.
02/08/2009, 9:14 AM
I'm bringing a Welsh Man U fan to see Rovers - Derry tonight- it'll be his first LOI match. I'm quite anxious he has a good time but hopefully he will enjot the experience, it's quite sunny here, we'll go for a pre-match pint in Maldron, it's the newest stadium in Ireland and I can tell him that every club has a club shop like Rovers do obviously! Plus, should be a good game between two sides who try to play football for the most part.
On the game itself, I really can't see us getting a result. Our players must be wrecked after Thursday, and Rovers will be more rested and have more momentum behind them. Can see us losing 2-0 and would be hapy to take a draw now.
Hairy Bowsie
02/08/2009, 10:15 AM
Why lie to him? If he likes it he'll be back and realise you were lying. Just lay the cards out as they play, he's either going to love it and want more or he's going to enjoy himself but will still prefer football on TV, but don't dress it up. Let him make a proper call.
02/08/2009, 10:23 AM
Why lie to him? If he likes it he'll be back and realise you were lying. Just lay the cards out as they play, he's either going to love it and want more or he's going to enjoy himself but will still prefer football on TV, but don't dress it up. Let him make a proper call.
True, (although the part about the club shop was partly tongue-in-cheek). You're right though, but I care so much about Derry City and the LOI that when I take 'outsiders' to games I end up worrying about whether they're enjoying the match when I don't really need to. Anyone I've brought who has come back has come back because they enjoyed the fans- the singing, the craic, the passion and the thrill of live football, regardless of how much time the ball was in the air or how spectacular the goals were.
I suppose it's the same when you recommend anything that you really enjoy and want someone else to enjoy, whether it's a book, a band, or a film etc, you're slightly excited about them feeling similarly.
Hairy Bowsie
02/08/2009, 10:54 AM
True, (although the part about the club shop was partly tongue-in-cheek). You're right though, but I care so much about Derry City and the LOI that when I take 'outsiders' to games I end up worrying about whether they're enjoying the match when I don't really need to. Anyone I've brought who has come back has come back because they enjoyed the fans- the singing, the craic, the passion and the thrill of live football, regardless of how much time the ball was in the air or how spectacular the goals were.
I suppose it's the same when you recommend anything that you really enjoy and want someone else to enjoy, whether it's a book, a band, or a film etc, you're slightly excited about them feeling similarly.
You're spot on and particularly the part i've bolded, i used to do it a lot myself. For as many people as i've brought to LoI games, never once has one of them not liked it. Some came back a few times and still go on and off and some still go regular. I used try dress it up too but i found that it was the ordinariness of it, that was most appealling to them.
02/08/2009, 11:17 AM
Y For as many people as i've brought to LoI games, never once has one of them not liked it.
I have had the same experience.
Although, when I took non-fans, I always saw the game from a different point of view - rather than just wanting a result, I noticed the crapness of the facilities, the crapness of the football, and the pitiful number of fans at the game. I suppose I thought that was what they would notice, but actually they enjoyed it and were keen to come back.
brianw82
02/08/2009, 11:23 AM
Careful thischarmingman, I think I notice a hair out of place towards the back. You might want to gel it down again. :P
brianw82
02/08/2009, 2:09 PM
Shamrock Rovers v Derry City is to be streamed online on IraqGoals, for those interested.
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=44509∂=sports (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=44509&part=sports)
02/08/2009, 2:18 PM
Just what I needed for my bet. Graham Cummins, I could..........shake your hand! :)
+1 on that. :) Graham Cummins, I owe you one!
Shamrock Rovers v Derry City is to be streamed online on IraqGoals, for those interested.
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=44509∂=sports
Cheers for this Brian
SMorgan
02/08/2009, 6:01 PM
St. Pats v Dundalk now live on
www.dundalkfm.com
brianw82
02/08/2009, 6:08 PM
Sean O'Connor, you beauty!!!! :)
longfordjames
02/08/2009, 6:08 PM
Rovers 1 up
02/08/2009, 6:09 PM
super strike, Sean O Connor
blue til i die
02/08/2009, 6:09 PM
Smashing finish!!
Gareth
02/08/2009, 6:10 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/liveupdate/ - Our new updates system. Bare with it, it's very new.
02/08/2009, 6:10 PM
Derry all over the place at the moment
brianw82
02/08/2009, 6:12 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/liveupdate/ - Our new updates system. Bare with it, it's very new.
That looks very tidy, Gareth. Fair play to ya!
dfclilywhite
02/08/2009, 6:15 PM
Dundalk: Cherrie, McGowan, Heary, Burns, Simon Kelly, McKinlay, Turner, Collins, Mulvenna, Rowe, Williams.
02/08/2009, 6:16 PM
Brilliant, great stuff.
Does it auto refresh? It would be mint if you could do that. :)
Gareth
02/08/2009, 6:18 PM
Brilliant, great stuff.
Does it auto refresh? It would be mint if you could do that. :)
Auto refresh by Friday next.
Boo_Boy
02/08/2009, 6:19 PM
Extra Time live updates revamp looks brilliant, well done Gareth and anyone else involved.
02/08/2009, 6:20 PM
Probably quicker just to press F5 ;)
Just o the Dundalk Line-up, our keeper is Peter Cherrie, ye have him down as Paul Cherrie.:)
New layout is class, well done.
longfordjames
02/08/2009, 6:27 PM
Rovers 2-0 Purcell
OneForTheFuture
Looks great Gareth:)
Another good goal from rovers
Boo_Boy
02/08/2009, 6:28 PM
Lovely header.
02/08/2009, 6:32 PM
Looks very nice. Good work.
Derry get 1 back. Tam McManus I think.
02/08/2009, 7:05 PM
Hang in there Rovers.:)
02/08/2009, 7:10 PM
All three goals (so far) have been top drawer.
christo
02/08/2009, 7:11 PM
Any word on the result of the Athlone v Sunderland friendly
Linesman get's a wack up the hole, haha.:D
brianw82
02/08/2009, 7:29 PM
This is some match!
GuisaSaigon
02/08/2009, 7:32 PM
Pats 1 up
atfconline
02/08/2009, 7:33 PM