View Full Version : Squad for Australia match?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

youngirish
30/07/2009, 11:49 AM
Brian Murphy despite being outstanding for Bohs this season again including both champions league games has been left out again. It's clear now he will have to wait until he moves to England, plays half a dozen or so games & suddenly becomes good enough

Personally I'm more upset that McCarthy, McCann or Fahey have not been included at the expense of Miller and Keogh (who is not a midfielder) than to be particularly worried about who is occupying our third choice keeper position and never realistically going to get on the pitch anyway.

30/07/2009, 12:13 PM
Any player who is "unattached" shouldn't be in the squad.

MeathDrog
30/07/2009, 12:15 PM
Fahey should be in ahead of Miller, or anyone at this rate. He's cack.

30/07/2009, 12:19 PM
I honselty cant see where Miller fits into the squad, He is not going to start any qualifiers and frankly the way Trap sets up his team doesnt allow for a player like Miller i.e. a flair player who has no flair and no club. I can understand Finnan not being included but would asume that there was communication and that if fit he will be in the squad for the qualifiers.

endabob1
30/07/2009, 12:22 PM
Any player who is "unattached" shouldn't be in the squad.

The last time we were at a world cup one of our first choice centre backs & goalscorer extrordanaire Garry Breen was unattached

30/07/2009, 12:23 PM
Personally I'm more upset that McCarthy, McCann or Fahey have not been included at the expense of Miller and Keogh (who is not a midfielder) than to be particularly worried about who is occupying our third choice keeper position and never realistically going to get on the pitch anyway.

Again its a missed opportunity to doff the cap at the league, if Murphy is included then people who wouldnt normally take a blind bit of notice about the league may take a second look. In the same way tha Rovers v Madrid was a postive force for the league. I doubt anyone thinks that Murphy is good enough to start for Ireland but is Westwood that good that an opportunity like this should be missed, not that Trap will lose any sleep, I doubt he knows where Dalymount is.

Thommo
30/07/2009, 12:31 PM
Wasn't McAteer as well(unattached) when he scored that cracker against Holland in the '02 WC campaign.
Didn't it lead to Mick McCarthy's great quote post match "If he's not at a club by Monday I'll stick my bottom in Burton's front window".
Still I think a player(McCarthy) specifically who plays in a midfield role where we are weak who has just signed for a premier club deserves a crack isn't that what friendlies are all about, experimenting!

Hibernian
30/07/2009, 12:36 PM
Liam Miller? :rolleyes:
Why would you not include James McCarthy in a friendly squad like this, let him come along and get some experience in it, hang with the guys.....

agree totally..

why the hell is Liam miller on this squad sweet jesus christ the man will be in the squad when he 50 years old at this rate..

he is useless (could use million times worse then that) simple as that

lionelhutz
30/07/2009, 12:36 PM
I'm a bit surprised Stephen Reid isn't included. Even if he's not quite fit enough to play yet, just to have him training with the squad and part of the set up again would be a major plus to both the player and squad before the Cyprus game.

30/07/2009, 12:39 PM
I'm a bit surprised Stephen Reid isn't included. Even if he's not quite fit enough to play yet, just to have him training with the squad and part of the set up again would be a major plus to both the player and squad before the Cyprus game.

"Trapattoni also announced that three players have been placed on stand-by for the visit of Australia: Alex Bruce, Damien Delaney and Steven Reid."

I know Stevie Reid is back training but Im not sure if he has actually played in any pre season friendlies yet. So rather than pi**ing B'burn off by calling him up when he is still on the road to recovery, I think it might have been decided that it would be best to give the lad more time with his club.

30/07/2009, 12:40 PM

he is probably best served by staying with his club to get a full pre-season in, hes a definite starter if fit.

kingdomkerry
30/07/2009, 12:40 PM
So team should be. Please god dont start kilbane, he has already cost us 4 points against bulgaria

.............Given
Foley Dunne St Ledger O'Shea
.......Andrews Whelan
McGeady/Hunt..............Duff
..............Keane
..............Doyle

30/07/2009, 12:49 PM
Why the feck was he called up?
probably because of his performance against Nigeria, thought that was his best game for Ireland in an age. I said at the time that it wouldn't get him into the first choice starting XI, but it would keep his place in the squad. For now.

Wasn't McAteer as well(unattached) when he scored that cracker against Holland in the '02 WC campaign.
Didn't it lead to Mick McCarthy's great quote post match "If he's not at a club by Monday I'll stick my bottom in Burton's front window".
Still I think a player(McCarthy) specifically who plays in a midfield role where we are weak who has just signed for a premier club deserves a crack isn't that what friendlies are all about, experimenting!
He wasn't unattached, but he couldn't get near the Blackburn first team. I think a week after that he was on the bench for a League Cup game. Not long after that he moved to Sunderland

So team should be. Please god dont start kilbane, he has already cost us 4 points against bulgaria

.............Given
.......Andrews Whelan
..............Keane
..............Doyle
Yeah, I'd agree with that. Maybe give Nolan another chance at left full.

30/07/2009, 12:51 PM
Update re Stevie Reid, he hasnt featured in any of B'burn's pre season games to date, so its only right that he isnt in this squad.

irishultra
30/07/2009, 12:54 PM
Liam Miller? Dear oh dear. Chris McCann, Keith Fahey, James McCarthy and he calls up Liam Miller.

30/07/2009, 1:01 PM

.............Given
.......Andrews Whelan
..............Keane
..............Doyle

You can't drop Kilbane he's like a little puppy!

We don't have to play Bulgaria again anyway.

Claret Murph
30/07/2009, 1:32 PM
Liam Miller? Dear oh dear. Chris McCann, Keith Fahey, James McCarthy and he calls up Liam Miller.

You are so right ....................................

Duggie
30/07/2009, 1:39 PM
glad to see steven reid is back in our thought regarding selection but prob best not to rush him back for this friendly. would have like to maybe see him include james mccarthy, looking forward to seeing how he gets on this season. havent seen much of this chris mccann but have been hearing loads about him but hes not picked either.

i feel so much for Andy Reid though. The guy has been so dignified with this situation and all he wants to do is play in the green jersey. hasnt mouthed of atal only to say he wants to play for Ireland. Pity his talent is been wasted.

30/07/2009, 1:41 PM
Paul McShane:(:(:(, not even on standby

Supreme feet
30/07/2009, 1:47 PM
Paul McShane:(:(:(, not even on standby

Injured for next 3 months.

joema
30/07/2009, 1:52 PM
Very conservative squad. Hardly surprising though.

It seems Trap had a few players in mind but didn't have the bottle to include them.

Miller's inclusion is ridiculous, tbh.

30/07/2009, 2:03 PM
beaten to it

no great shocks, apart from Miller's inclusion despite being "unattached"
Has he been training with anybody?

Brian Murphy despite being outstanding for Bohs this season again including both champions league games has been left out again. It's clear now he will have to wait until he moves to England, plays half a dozen or so games & suddenly becomes good enough
Maybe if he didn't make basics errors for both of Salzburg's when under the spotlight he would have been given a chance to show what he can do.

I still would have given him a chance in this friendly though, even just name him in the squad so the management can get a closer look at him, but it's perfectly sensible that Given, Westwood, J Murphy and Henderson (Kiely too) are ahead of him in the pecking order.

I honselty cant see where Miller fits into the squad, He is not going to start any qualifiers
Why not just name 11 players in the squad then?

and frankly the way Trap sets up his team doesnt allow for a player like Miller i.e. a flair player who has no flair and no club.

Miller's inclusion is ridiculous, tbh.
Must have imagined him playing in the last game then...

Miller is named in the squad again because he played well the last time we played. Simple as that but as usual people on here fail to grasp that a player's performances can actually improve, eg the length of time it took for O'Shea to get praise for his consistent solid displays.

Again its a missed opportunity to doff the cap at the league, if Murphy is included then people who wouldnt normally take a blind bit of notice about the league may take a second look. In the same way tha Rovers v Madrid was a postive force for the league. I doubt anyone thinks that Murphy is good enough to start for Ireland but is Westwood that good that an opportunity like this should be missed, not that Trap will lose any sleep, I doubt he knows where Dalymount is.
Westwood is miles better than Murphy. It's not even debatable.

30/07/2009, 2:13 PM

silly comment

the length of time it took for O'Shea to get praise for his consistent solid displays.

O Shea was playing consistently wel for Utd for a long time, his form for Ireland improved when he switched to CH besdie Dunne. You cant compare this to Miller.

That wasnt the point I was making.

Diarmo
30/07/2009, 2:46 PM
Miller is named in the squad again because he played well the last time we played. Simple as that but as usual people on here fail to grasp that a player's performances can actually improve, eg the length of time it took for O'Shea to get praise for his consistent solid displays.

John O'Shea's last competitive club match was the Champions League Final. Miller can't find a club at Championship level, and QPR fans thought he was useless. I find his inclusion ridiculous.

kev mcq
30/07/2009, 2:47 PM
Keith Fahey will be included it seems!

Heard from a reliable source.

Or not....

Razors left peg
30/07/2009, 2:52 PM
Martinez said in the paper today that James McCarthy hasnt done enough aerobic work yet and needs to build up his fitness before he will involve him in any games, so no surprise that he hasnt been called up. He hasnt done enough to warrant a call up just yet anyway really.Lets see how he gets on in Premiership first

dr_peepee
30/07/2009, 2:59 PM
beaten to it

no great shocks, apart from Miller's inclusion despite being "unattached"

Must be his turn in the Barrel...

the doc
30/07/2009, 3:10 PM
I wonder if St Ledger and Nolan, will be allowed to play by PNE?

St Ledger has been carrying a thigh strain in pre season and has missed all but one game.

Club v Country?
http://www.pnefc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10362~1738055,00.html

30/07/2009, 3:11 PM
silly comment
That was the point.;) Wasn't anywhere near as silly as yours. He's very much in Trap's plans, he's certainly not in the squad just to fill the numbers. But my point still stands, if you are only going to pick players in the squad that are possibly going to start then you will have a very small squad.

O Shea was playing consistently wel for Utd for a long time, his form for Ireland improved when he switched to CH besdie Dunne. You cant compare this to Miller.
That wasn't the point I was making. Even when O'Shea played well for Ireland he was still criticised by many, same with Miller here after performing well in his last game.

That wasnt the point I was making.
Apologies, I misread it.

Westwood is not keeping Brian Murphy out of the squad so I don't think he comes into it. Henderson and Joe Murphy are the two keepers ahead of him (and rightly so). I'm slightly surprised that he didn't get named as third choice here purely because it's a friendly but Trap has four keepers to work with so he must be happy with that.

John O'Shea's last competitive club match was the Champions League Final. Miller can't find a club at Championship level, and QPR fans thought he was useless. I find his inclusion ridiculous.
See my point above.

Regarding the last competitive match Miller played: has it been any longer than anybody elses? I presume he has been training to keep up his fitness. If not it's a strange inclusion.

30/07/2009, 3:14 PM
Tets is spot on about Miller. His performance against Nigeria is what has kept him in the squad. I don't like Miller but I don't care about the marginal / fringe cases in this instance.

Do people not get that the imperative is to get 3 pioints in Cyprus in September? Stick with the players we know for now. We can all take a look at McCarthy, McCann and Fahey in their debut Premiership games and see how they fare.

I'm usually all on for looking at the potential newcomers but once fit Steven Reid will walk all over those 3 when the Cyprus squad is announced. If fit we'll have Whelan, Andrews, S. Reid and Gibson to choose from in CM and none of the above is going to change that unless they do something pretty impressive at club level.

It's not as if Trap has said he'll never pick them - he just hasn't picked them for the dress rehearsal for Cyprus. Fair enough by me.

30/07/2009, 3:17 PM
Has the Australian squad been decided? Can't find anything.

30/07/2009, 3:18 PM
Has the Australian squad been decided? Can't find anything.
Yes, see top of page 3.

30/07/2009, 3:46 PM
Yes, see top of page 3.'Australian squad', as in, the other team's squad;).

30/07/2009, 3:57 PM
can anyone ban doc?

SunderlandBohs
30/07/2009, 4:19 PM
Has he been training with anybody?

Maybe if he didn't make basics errors for both of Salzburg's when under the spotlight he would have been given a chance to show what he can do.

I still would have given him a chance in this friendly though, even just name him in the squad so the management can get a closer look at him, but it's perfectly sensible that Given, Westwood, J Murphy and Henderson (Kiely too) are ahead of him in the pecking order.

Did you see the games against Salzburg? No because you could be ar$ed to get off your barstool man! He was excellent in those two games! So if the great and mighty Westwood (who I doubt anyone has seen him play more than 5 games for Coventry last season) made a mistake who you want him dropped? No of course not. Brian Murphy is a lot better than Joe Murphy a League 1 keeper. Liam Miller is finished. Has been for 2years. Keith Fahey is 10times the play Miller ever was. What about Chris McCann, Stephen Quinn or John Joe O'Toole? Christ even Gary Deegan would be better than that has-been! Whats the point of friendlies if your not going to give new players a chance ffs! And don't give me this fittness sh!te.

seanfhear
30/07/2009, 4:25 PM
Maybe Millers inclusion is to give him a helping hand it getting a club.

I don't think the lad is much use but it is not any harm to give him a boost.

Its more of a mystery why he has been in some of the previous squads to be honest.

the doc
30/07/2009, 4:28 PM
can anyone ban doc?

Why?

For giving insightful posts?

Being able to recognised players with talent?

For not being taken in by the "McShane and Bruce are good enough" rubbish?

This is a football forum, I thought it was all about opinions!

30/07/2009, 4:35 PM
Why?

For giving insightful posts?

Being able to recognised players with talent?

For not being taken in by the "McShane and Bruce are good enough" rubbish?

This is a football forum, I thought it was all about opinions!

The fact that your ability to "recognised players with talent" only stretches to the club you support is whats grating , I suggest if St Ledger didn't play for Preston you wouldn't be singing his praises so highly and you certainly wouldn't be disparaging young players unfortunate enough to play in the same position as him

30/07/2009, 4:47 PM
Did you see the games against Salzburg? No because you could be ar$ed to get off your barstool man! He was excellent in those two games! So if the great and mighty Westwood (who I doubt anyone has seen him play more than 5 games for Coventry last season) made a mistake who you want him dropped? No of course not.
Barstool? You obviously have no idea but that's irrelevant to the discussion so I don't need to "prove" myself to you.

I saw the games. Overall he was good but made two basic errors for both goals which can not be overlooked. The reason why they could have been costly is because he was been looked at in those games to possibly name him in the squad. It's important to perform your best when in the spotlight.

I've seen Westwood play far more than five time this season. He's definitely going to be our future number one when Given has to retire. He also was named the best keeper in the Championship last season so I don't see how he hasn't proved himself as undoubtedly our number two keeper at the moment. Obviously people still can't make a balanced judgement of him due to his comments over a year ago.

Brian Murphy is a lot better than Joe Murphy a League 1 keeper.
And Brian Murphy is a League of Ireland keeper, what's your point? If you are going to judge how good players are based on what league they play in you are automatically ruling out Brian Murphy.

Joe Murphy was named League One keeper of the season so, like Westwood, he has merited his inclusion. He continued his great form when under spotlight in the playoffs and is in the squad because he is a better goalkeeper than Brian Murphy.

Liam Miller is finished. Has been for 2years.
Was the Nigeria game more than 2 years ago?

Keith Fahey is 10times the play Miller ever was. What about Chris McCann, Stephen Quinn or John Joe O'Toole? Christ even Gary Deegan would be better than that has-been! Whats the point of friendlies if your not going to give new players a chance ffs! And don't give me this fittness sh!te.
I don't think new players should be given a chance in friendlies at this stage of the qualifying campaign. Time is limited in international football as it is and the more time the core group of the squad has together the better. Most of the players you mentioned will get a chance to show what they can do in the Premiership soon enough, as has been mentioned previously, so it's not imperative that they be seen up close as may have been the case if they were still playing in the Championship.

the doc
30/07/2009, 5:03 PM
The fact that your ability to "recognised players with talent" only stretches to the club you support is whats grating , I suggest if St Ledger didn't play for Preston you wouldn't be singing his praises so highly and you certainly wouldn't be disparaging young players unfortunate enough to play in the same position as him

Steady!

Nearly everyone on this board were saying that McShane and Bruce should be ahead of St Ledger, I stood my ground and said otherwise.

I'll also have you know that I go to all the Ireland games home and away too!

30/07/2009, 5:03 PM

yes thats the main reason, but all along he was st ledger must play etc etc, now that he is playing he puts up a club v country thing as though he agrees and that was just the final straw for me.

the doc
30/07/2009, 5:33 PM
yes thats the main reason, but all along he was st ledger must play etc etc, now that he is playing he puts up a club v country thing as though he agrees and that was just the final straw for me.

Get a life O'Sulk!

The National team must always come first!

joema
30/07/2009, 5:36 PM

Yes, Miler played well in the last (training) match (against a weakened Nigeria), but this is international football ffs - its not like a club side where one good game can get you included for the next. Miller has to show some sort of consistency, and he still hasn't done that in an Ireland jersey. (I doubt he ever will)

Fahey is a better player - a blind man can see that.

Westwood is English, thats not even debatable. Besides, Murphy is better than Joe Murphy.

Razors left peg
30/07/2009, 5:42 PM
Yes, Miler played well in the last (training) match (against a weakened Nigeria), but this is international football ffs - its not like a club side where one good game can get you included for the next. Miller has to show some sort of consistency, and he still hasn't done that in an Ireland jersey. (I doubt he ever will)

Fahey is a better player - a blind man can see that.

Westwood is English, thats not even debatable. Besides, Murphy is better than Joe Murphy.

So was Townsend,Morrison, McCarthy, Lawrenson,Kilbane.... and so on

30/07/2009, 5:48 PM
Nearly everyone on this board were saying that McShane and Bruce should be ahead of St Ledger, I stood my ground and said otherwise.!
You're way off there. Way off. I don't know many people on here that wanted McShane or Bruce in ahead of St Ledger. I'm probably on my own with McShane tbh.

joema
30/07/2009, 5:55 PM
So was Townsend,Morrison, McCarthy, Lawrenson,Kilbane.... and so on

Completely incorrect.

Kilbane, McCarthy and Lawrenson are English-born Irishmen. Big difference.

To put Kilbane in that category is way off the mark. Kilbane could have represented England at underage level on a number of occasions but turned them down.

Back on topic - I wish Trap could be a bit more adventurous with friendly squads.

Razors left peg
30/07/2009, 5:59 PM
Completely incorrect.

Kilbane, McCarthy and Lawrenson are English-born Irishmen. Big difference.

To put Kilbane in that category is way off the mark. Kilbane could have represented England at underage level on a number of occasions but turned them down.

Back on topic - I wish Trap could be a bit more adventurous with friendly squads.

Ah you get my over all point though. There have been plenty of English lads in the Green Shirt over the years.Too many people still think of Westwoods comment about being a good catholic boy when the lad cleared that up ages ago and said it was a joke taken completely outta context.

30/07/2009, 6:13 PM
Yes, Miler played well in the last (training) match (against a weakened Nigeria), but this is international football ffs
Because this friendly is going to be so much more competitive?

- its not like a club side where one good game can get you included for the next.
Well he was in the squads before this one so it is obvious that he has not been selected based on one performance.

Westwood is English, thats not even debatable.
Even if that was the case how does that make him any less of a player?

Besides, Murphy is better than Joe Murphy.
OK, whatever you say. You've sure proved me wrong.

joema
30/07/2009, 8:02 PM
Ah you get my over all point though. There have been plenty of English lads in the Green Shirt over the years.Too many people still think of Westwoods comment about being a good catholic boy when the lad cleared that up ages ago and said it was a joke taken completely outta context.

By no means does a lad have to be born In Ireland to play for us. I am more than happy to have English born lads in the squad, if they want to play for Irish and feel Irish. That is a different issue and has been done to death on this forum anyway!

But anyone who says they "are not Irish as such" doesn't deserve to ear the green, IMO.

joema
30/07/2009, 8:07 PM
Because this friendly is going to be so much more competitive?

Well he was in the squads before this one so it is obvious that he has not been selected based on one performance.

Even if that was the case how does that make him any less of a player?

OK, whatever you say. You've sure proved me wrong.

Exactly. This friendly will not be any more competitive, therefore we won't learn any more about Miller, no matter how well he plays. So it is a perfect opportunity to see what Fahey can do!

And I'm not debating how good a player Westwood is - I'm just saying that he shouldn't be considered for selection for Ireland.

Wasn't trying to change your mind about which Murphy is better. So your sarcastic reply really wan't warranted.