Pages :
[
8]
07/06/2011, 7:41 PM
2-0 55mins gone.
DannyInvincible
07/06/2011, 7:52 PM
I see they missed a penalty on 47 minutes as well, but then scored in the same minute. Guessing it might have been a rebound. They seem to do alright against the Baltic states. They beat Lithuania during World Cup 2010 qualification as well.
07/06/2011, 8:15 PM
I'm watching this while waiting for the TG4 deferred coverage.
I think a few hundred more have drifted into the stadium as word has filtered around the town.
87 mins gone, Faroes still 2 up. 2 pens,
as Danny said, the second was saved and scored on the rebound.
Kerr has them nicely set up, the midfield are not dropping back deep, holding some decent possession and still looking for a third.
I can hear Kerr screaming - CORNER FLAG CORNER FLAG :)
Have to say though, the ref is a homer.
Next stop, Belfast in August.
07/06/2011, 8:22 PM
88 mins - Faroes lost a player to a 2nd yellow card for an xxx tackle in the Estonian box.
Goes slowly off the pitch to a rip roaring raucous ovation.
94 mins - game over - Kerr has some grin on his face
French Toasht
07/06/2011, 9:11 PM
Hi lads can anyone help me out. Was out the evening that the Brian Kerr documentary "Away with the Faroes" was shown on RTE. Automatically assumed it would be shown on RTE player but because they don't own the rights, it never was.
Don't suppose anyone here has a recording of the programme?
EastTerracer
07/06/2011, 11:37 PM
Brian Kerr diary in the IT
Faroes Diary (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/1016/1224281253120.html)
[I] 'In my head I targeted the Northern Ireland and Estonia games at home; I thought we had a chance of taking something in them
Fair play to Brian, it's one thing to target the games but not so easy to get the results. He managed to get both.
07/06/2011, 11:37 PM
Hi lads can anyone help me out. Was out the evening that the Brian Kerr documentary "Away with the Faroes" was shown on RTE. Automatically assumed it would be shown on RTE player but because they don't own the rights, it never was.
Class doc.
DonnyG
08/06/2011, 2:43 AM
I've got a copy - PM me if you still want it
AlaskaFox
08/06/2011, 9:22 AM
Could someone upload it? I haven't seen it either. Thanks!
DonnyG
08/06/2011, 10:42 AM
Could someone upload it? I haven't seen it either. Thanks!
Happy to give you directions via a PM if you want
10/07/2011, 2:02 PM
Kerr's on the radio now and, apparently, the Faroes will be moving up from pot six to pot five for the draw for the World Cup qualifiers.
Well done, Brian.
Crosby87
10/07/2011, 11:54 PM
He's earned his money with them. I'm sure he will eek out a draw with us at some point
In a crucial spot where we needed to get 3 points.
cornflakes
12/07/2011, 12:59 AM
Interesting story (http://www.worldsoccer.com/uncategorized/wales-sink-below-faroes-after-student-spots-fifa-ranking-mistake) about the Faroes jump up the rankings above Wales
Sullivinho
12/07/2011, 1:14 AM
The general Faroese population were subsequently disappointed to learn that it was Wales the country who'd been speared rather than a pod of delicious marine mammals.
Crosby87
12/07/2011, 1:54 AM
Sully did you not see "The Cove?"
I know its not the same but come on.
12/07/2011, 9:16 AM
ya the EU has banned whale hunting, yet indirectly gives money to the faroese
the bear
08/09/2011, 2:46 PM
amid all the drama, completley overlooked till today that faroes only lost 1-0 to italy, by this touch and go offside goal (although i reckon he was just on)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5doLUoPHdlU
you really have to hand it to kerr, he has done a great job making the faroes competitive
08/09/2011, 2:54 PM
Faroes hit the post and crossbar as well.
Straightstory
08/09/2011, 4:28 PM
Fair play to Kerr.
08/09/2011, 4:48 PM
I watched snatches of their game against NI in Belfast, I know they lost but until NI scored the second goal, the Faroes looked the better team, playing the better football and attacking football.
Use to be, gritty defensive work, all hands to the pump, take their only chance and the Faroes might win a point or three.
the bear
08/09/2011, 5:16 PM
to bad kerr couldn't handle the media pressure while managing us, at this rate he might work himself back into contention for when trap calls it a day
French Toasht
08/09/2011, 5:34 PM
to bad kerr couldn't handle the media pressure while managing us, at this rate he might work himself back into contention for when trap calls it a day
Thierry Henry has a better chance of becoming Ireland manager than Brian Kerr. Way too much bad blood between the association and Kerr for that ever to be on the cards. Kerr still takes every opportunity he can get in the media to have a snipe at the FAI. I would say it would bring him more joy to beat Ireland with the Faroes than coming 3rd in the world with the U-18s or winning the U-16 European Championships.
Was hoping he wouldnt be in charge for the next campaign but most likely he will be, he'll love at go at us which is sad really. Its an unnecessarily rivalry we could do without in the group, considering the seeds that they are. Id be confident we'd take them handy enough at home but its away which will be tricky.
In fairness, the Faroes are rarely turned over at their own patch. I remember the last time we drew them in a group, they gave both ourselves, France and Swiss a decent game at their place.
the bear
08/09/2011, 5:45 PM
Thierry Henry has a better chance of becoming Ireland manager than Brian Kerr. Way too much bad blood between the association and Kerr for that ever to be on the cards. Kerr still takes every opportunity he can get in the media to have a snipe at the FAI. I would say it would bring him more joy to beat Ireland with the Faroes than coming 3rd in the world with the U-18s or winning the U-16 European Championships.
i hear you barking
he is obviously very bitter about his dismissal by the fai, i wouldn't write him off ever working for them again, all it takes is a few changes in personnel within the FAI. you still here people touting keane for the ireland job
French Toasht
08/09/2011, 5:50 PM
In fairness if I was a manager of any other country in the world, the one country I would love to beat is Ireland. In the same way as Eddie O'Sullivan will be hoping to beat us in the rugby this week. It doesn't make him any less patriotic or any less a fan of his country, just there is massive professional pride at stake here.
the bear
08/09/2011, 6:40 PM
he just could never strike up a good working relationship with the media
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tuNXEstvhZo
theworm2345
26/10/2011, 9:35 PM
Apparently has left the post
http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/news/newsid=1705974.html?rss=1705974+Kerr+to+leave+Faro e+Islands+post
26/10/2011, 9:39 PM
Norn Iron?
Crosby87
26/10/2011, 11:46 PM
Couldn't come to contract terms? Probably demanded a Dacha in Iceland whenever he or his family wanted access to it and for the Stadium to be renovated by 10,000 seats bringing the total to 11,000.
French Toasht
26/10/2011, 11:58 PM
Definately he has another job lined up without a doubt. Theres no way the Faroes would fail to do everything they could to secure the services of their most successful manager and Brian would have no reason not to continue on the terms he is on, if it were not for other offers on the table.
26/10/2011, 11:58 PM
Big surprise, thought he would be very eager to face us in the next campaign
27/10/2011, 8:25 AM
Personally this couldn't be better for us. They'll be an awkward hurdle in the next campaign, but they'll be a lot more manageable now that he's gone.
SwanVsDalton
27/10/2011, 9:29 AM
He must be a big favourite for the NI post now.
27/10/2011, 10:00 AM
He's been making very cosy feelers towards the IFA, especially since the euro qual campaign began.
He has openly declared he wanted the job recently.
You'd think he was easily the best qualified to be offered the job. But this is the IFA who are deciding.
Tough on the Faroes as they were starting to play good football in this campaign, against NI in Belfast and against Estonia at home.
Maybe they'll find another decent manager, Iceland got the experienced Swede, Lagerback.
Gather round
27/10/2011, 11:15 AM
He must be a big favourite for the NI post now
Not with Sean Graham. Magilton and Dowie are still ahead of him.
Interestingly they have cyclist Mark Cavendish as favorite (11/8) for Brit sports personality of the year, ahead of Clarke and McIlroy.
You'd think he was easily the best qualified to be offered the job
Depends on the main criterion. If international experience, yes of those quoted as favorites; if whether he's worked in to the top two divisions in England, obviously no.
Irish FA pres Jim Shaw has supposedly said he wants a local man (no printed source for this so it may not be kosher). That would rule out BK too.
The main criterion should be having managed a successful qualification (anywhere in Europe, or at a pinch Africa or Latin America if the guy has fluent English). There's also the faint hope that a Scando or ex-Yugoslav wouldn't feel the need to talk nonsense about eligibility and the GFA.
French Toasht
27/10/2011, 11:20 AM
Not with Sean Graham. Magilton and Dowie are still ahead of him.
Looks like another campaign of below par mediocrity for NI. Two very uninspiring candidates.
27/10/2011, 11:28 AM
There's also the faint hope that a Scando or ex-Yugoslav wouldn't feel the need to talk nonsense about eligibility and the GFA.
I'm sure whoever gets the job will be treated to a crash course in Irish constitutional history from a qualified Elite Player Mentor (EPN).
Gather round
27/10/2011, 11:29 AM
Looks like another campaign of below par mediocrity for NI. Two very uninspiring candidates.
They're the two best qualified local guys likely to apply. But as I said above it's not clear that the field will be that restricted. Sean Graham also quoted odds for Jean Tigana (16/1).
A better guide to our likely performance might be in the players available. We used 27 in the current campaign, only four of whom are playing regularly in a top league and available for our next game in the new year.
I'm sure whoever gets the job will be treated to a crash course in Irish constitutional history from a qualified Elite Player Mentor (EPN)
He's likely to have already read it in Dublin's biggest-selling daily newspaper (IND).
French Toasht
27/10/2011, 11:32 AM
Maybe they'll find another decent manager, Iceland got the experienced Swede, Lagerback.
Iceland have done really well there with Lagerbäck. Before Trap came on the scene as a possible manager of Ireland, I was a strong advocate of Lagerbäck for the Irish job. He's done an unbelievably impressive job with a Sweden team that was pretty much on a par talent-wise with us, consistently qualifying them for virtually every tournament. Things kind of fell apart in the WC 2010 campaign but that was more down to an ageing squad and various problems that dogged that campaign such as Henke Larsson's brother dying immediately before a massive 6 pointer against Denmark and Zlatan, well just generally being a dick. Theres an argument that he shouldn't be in the squad at all, evidenced by Sweden's 3-2 win over Holland without him.
Predator
27/10/2011, 11:54 AM
Irish FA pres Jim Shaw has supposedly said he wants a local man (no printed source for this so it may not be kosher). That would rule out BK too.How so? He's from Ireland and is said to have family from the north. That's more local than say, the likes of Dowie.
Gather round
27/10/2011, 12:19 PM
How so? He's from Ireland and is said to have family from the north. That's more local than say, the likes of Dowie
A fair point. Being from the South doesn't in itself make him local; having a NI (grand)parent might if he showed a local interest (like any dual-qualified player does when choosing us over England, say). Such a relative makes him equally qualified to Dowie.
Or, more simply: you're local if you grew up or later lived locally, or if not if you played international football for the local team.
27/10/2011, 12:26 PM
]Iceland have done really well there with Lagerbäck. Before Trap came on the scene as a possible manager of Ireland, I was a strong advocate of Lagerbäck for the Irish job.[/B]
Another dead duck of international management, jeez how boring have Sweden played in the last few tournaments:rolleyes:
27/10/2011, 12:32 PM
Another dead duck of international management, jeez how boring have Sweden played in the last few tournaments:rolleyes:Think you're missing the point - they have played in the last fwe tournaments
27/10/2011, 12:33 PM
A fair point. Being from the South doesn't in itself make him local; having a NI (grand)parent might if he showed a local interest (like any dual-qualified player does when choosing us over England, say). Such a relative makes him equally qualified to Dowie.
Or, more simply: you're local if you grew up or later lived locally, or if not if you played international football for the local team.
Can't want til we have "Eligibility for the manager of NI" thread...
French Toasht
27/10/2011, 12:48 PM
Another dead duck of international management, jeez how boring have Sweden played in the last few tournaments:rolleyes:
Lagerbäck's Sweden Career:
Euro 2000 group stages
WC 2002: Second Round (Won group containing England and Argentina)
Euro 2004: Quarter Final defeat to Holland
WC 2006: Second Round defeat to Germany
Euro 2008: Group stages
WC 2010: Failed to qualify behind Denmark and Portugal
All this achieved with only 2 star players in that era, Henke Larsson and Zlatan Ibrahimovic.
In the same period as Sweden qualified for 5 tournaments, we qualified for one with a similar standard of players.
27/10/2011, 12:49 PM
The odds have been slashed today on Sham's MON to get the NI job.
Kerr for Tallaght?
Sullivinho
27/10/2011, 12:51 PM
Is there time? We're voting on this today I'm sure..
Norris for NI.
Gather round
27/10/2011, 12:55 PM
We're having it. Ideal candidate has to be
a) more successful than Kerr (ie having managed a team to qualification)
b) more experienced than Magilton, Dowie and Michael O'Neill
c) fluent in English.
Norris for NI
I imagine there'll be a similar field of dwarves.
http://i827.photobucket.com/albums/zz196/BillMcComish/seven-dwarves.jpg
The odds have been slashed today on Sham's MON to get the NI job
Sounds like an unusually fast move by the IFA?
Predator
27/10/2011, 12:58 PM
With the "beggars" taking NI's players, they may as well be taking their jobs as well.
27/10/2011, 1:05 PM
Think you're missing the point - they have played in the last fwe tournaments
Would you not take the day off from being deadly on your birthday? No doubt there's a twitter feed that needs following or something :-)