Pages :
[
5]
Junior
19/10/2009, 9:11 AM
who did they beat and draw with?
macdermesser
20/10/2009, 2:27 PM
Brian Kerr for Sweden - Sven has ruled himself out of the running and Hodgson is hardly going to leave Fulham.
Probably a bit too soon for Brian .. but if he can manage to get the Faroes to second last seeds, that might attract the attention of a few football associations
20/10/2009, 2:35 PM
who did they beat and draw with?Beat Lithuania, drew with Austria I think.
SuperDave
20/10/2009, 2:48 PM
Brian Kerr for Sweden - Sven has ruled himself out of the running and Hodgson is hardly going to leave Fulham.
Probably a bit too soon for Brian .. but if he can manage to get the Faroes to second last seeds, that might attract the attention of a few football associations
Has he been linked or are you just speculating?
Torn-Ado
20/10/2009, 3:20 PM
Has he been linked or are you just speculating?
No word about him going to Sweden anyways. They seem to be looking at Hamren, the Rosenborg coach and Jönsson the Stabaeck coach. From what I'm reading anyways.
backstothewall
20/10/2009, 6:03 PM
I hear the north might be looking for a manager ;)
20/10/2009, 10:17 PM
thiland need one aswell!
Emmet7
21/10/2009, 11:43 AM
To be fair Kerr has done an excellent management job everywhere he has been and I think would continue to do so no matter where he went. He has only really failed to achieve in the Irish senior manager's job although it was always going to be a big ask for him.
He always got his teams to over-achieve except for Ireland. If he can get another national or professional club team to achieve, any country would be lucky to get him.
I never really understood what went wrong with the Irish national team and why he didn't do better. He had the players and he had the time, two campaigns to stamp his mark.
21/10/2009, 12:12 PM
Kerr's Irish teams were much better when Keane played than when he was absent.
Regardless of gripes about games previous, we got into a position of a home win to gain a play off place.
Sometimes it all boils down to how we do in such a game. A play off place would have been enough imo to give an overall c/c+ grade to Kerr.
Some painful tactical, big game naivety came out in that game, none more so than messing about with CM, dropping Kav and putting in O'Shea in a new CM partnership.
carloz
21/10/2009, 3:44 PM
thiland need one aswell!
They got a manager, the great Brian Robson
I saw on the paper last week that Kerr was having a go at Trap saying he wasn't adventourous enough. Pot, Kettle Brian
21/10/2009, 8:07 PM
I saw on the paper last week that Kerr was having a go at Trap saying he wasn't adventourous enough. Pot, Kettle Brian
good man i forgot he took the job a month or two bACK! a+ for you!:D
17/11/2009, 8:28 PM
RTE 2 in 10 minutes
Away with the Faroes
Documentary following former Republic of Ireland manager Brian Kerr as he prepares the part-time Faroe Islands squad for a match against former world champions France
In my opinion Brian Kerrs Ireland were every bit as good as Tappatonis, if not better. (And before anyone says it I know Trappatoni reached a play off, but the record was close to identical, and Kerrs team were in a stronger goup in my view.) And speaking of pots and kettles, I remember Liam Brady having a go at Kerr when he was manager for being negative - how would you describe the team you're currently assistant manager of Liam ?
RTE 2 in 10 minutes
Away with the Faroes
Documentary following former Republic of Ireland manager Brian Kerr as he prepares the part-time Faroe Islands squad for a match against former world champions France
Very late in the day, but is there anyone who could record this and make it available ?
stiffler
17/11/2009, 9:47 PM
Is this show repeated?
Yard of Pace
17/11/2009, 10:51 PM
Good docu, though a shame in my view that they spent so long on his Ireland days as it's all been covered to death and a shame that they weren't there for the Lithuania match. I had goosepumps though hearing him talk before they showed that win (their first in 8 years!). He's a good man, is Brian.
Also, gas to hear "arra will yis go on outta that" in such a far flung location as he berated the ref and 4th official with various curses relating to an opponent use of an elbow. :)
Looks a beautiful place, it's not a bad job he has at all.
17/11/2009, 10:59 PM
Good docu, though a shame in my view that they spent so long on his Ireland days as it's all been covered to death and a shame that they weren't there for the Lithuania match. I had goosepumps though hearing him talk before they showed that win (their first in 8 years!). He's a good man, is Brian.
Also, gas to hear "arra will yis go on outta that" in such a far flung location as he berated the ref and 4th official with various curses relating to an opponent use of an elbow. :)
i caught the ending credits and taught it was father ted! looks like craggey island :D
LFCSixty/Eighty
17/11/2009, 11:15 PM
I remember Liam Brady having a go at Kerr when he was manager for being negative - how would you describe the team you're currently assistant manager of Liam ?
I was thinking that when I heard it.
The fact is Trappatonis philosophy on football makes Brian kerr's teams look like the Harlem Globetrotters (also if trappatoni thought that he has limited resources he should have a look at what Brian kerr has to contend with!!)
Thought there was some great insights into the way Brian Kerr is embracing the Faroe Islands job by spending a majority of his time on the Islands and going to several games a week (Trappatoni should take note)
He's a proud Irishman that was treated very badly by Delaney and co. after he had given years of service to his nation. The least of which he deserved was another term in charge.
Brian Kerr seems like a man that could see the bigger picture (bringing Roy Keane back into the fold) unlike Trappatoni who seems to let his stubborness cloud his judgement on serveral calls he is making.
irishfan86
17/11/2009, 11:22 PM
Brian Kerr seems like a man that could see the bigger picture (bringing Roy Keane back into the fold) unlike Trappatoni who seems to let his stubborness cloud his judgement on serveral calls he is making.
The only questionable exclusion is Andy Reid. If by several you're implying that Kerr would bring back Stephen Ireland, then let's not forget those two fell out as well.
DonnyG
18/11/2009, 2:46 AM
Great place unless you happen to be a dolphin - I wonder does Brian immerse himself in that part of the culture.
http://bluepanjeet.net/2008/11/22/1594/the-horrible-whale-and-dolphin-massacre-tradition-of-faroe-islands-in-denmark/
Still think Brian should have been given another tournament to turn it around and glad he's doing well now.
18/11/2009, 8:05 AM
Really enjoyed the programme. It was a great insight into the man. I thought he was treated very badly by Delaney, and for a while Brian was fairly bitter about it. It certainly didn't suit him but in the programme he seemed to be a bit more relaxed about what happened. He has some very admirable qualities, one of which is he is a very good football coach. He deserves more respect in this country. I think what would be ideal for us would be to get him as our U21 coach, and make him the head of coaching in Ireland. However he probably deserves better.
On another note, why was this screened at the same time as a fairly important piece on Irish football. Hats off for making the Kerr programme but lads get your scheduling better, it would have increased viewing figures by 50% if they were shown at different times.
Duggie
18/11/2009, 8:26 AM
ya i enjoyed it aswell. hes one of us and im glad to see hes not bitter about his time in the ireland job. treated poorly but hes moved on and fair play to him. a great result v lithuania for them, great to see how happy he was. hopefully this will lead to a bigger job but if not then hes had some great achievements in his career and we should be proud of what hes done.
Mayo Red
18/11/2009, 8:34 AM
Ya, interesting documentary, Kerr came across very well but he always was a gentleman and as has been said was treated very poorly by Delaney. Nice to see the true Dub come out in him too during the match snippets!!:D
18/11/2009, 8:59 AM
Great doc. For once - well done RTE. Kerr is a great guy and has a wicked sense of humour.
Was surprised they never mentioned the Israel game.
People going on about the Ireland job - but he did have two bites of the cherry.
But looking at the Faroe Isl players - maybe the Irish dressing room with the likes of Robbie and co never gave him a chance cause he was a LOI man. The faroes seemed like very mature and respectable people, willing to listen.
Good that Kerr is back in the game, and I think he has already done enough for another step up the ladder
Great doc. For once - well done RTE. Kerr is a great guy and has a wicked sense of humour.
Was surprised they never mentioned the Israel game.
People going on about the Ireland job - but he did have two bites of the cherry.
But looking at the Faroe Isl players - maybe the Irish dressing room with the likes of Robbie and co never gave him a chance cause he was a LOI man. The faroes seemed like very mature and respectable people, willing to listen.
Good that Kerr is back in the game, and I think he has already done enough for another step up the ladder
Very good program on the Faeroes. You can’t help but like the guy, great dedication and a wry sense of humour. I do think we did him a dis-service and looking back at the way Dunphy spoke of him, it was atrocious.
He should get an award for his lifetime service to the game.
By the WAY, you are WAY OFF re. Robbie Keane, they have a great mutual respect.
18/11/2009, 10:16 AM
On another note, why was this screened at the same time as a fairly important piece on Irish football.
The Documentary would have been scheduled months ago, Primetime is not. It was an unfortunate clash though.
18/11/2009, 11:48 AM
He should get an award for his lifetime service to the game.
By the WAY, you are WAY OFF re. Robbie Keane, they have a great mutual respect.
Yeah when you think that Don Givens is making such a mess of the under 21's and will never get the boot
About Robbie et al, ok maybe but I was thinking more along the lines of maturity and clear thinking.
dr_peepee
18/11/2009, 12:02 PM
i caught the ending credits and taught it was father ted! looks like craggey island :D
They probbly need plenty of Double Glazing too!!!
Had I have known then that Stan was gonna be appointed, then yeah it was definately a mistake not to give him another tournament, but I remember thinking at the time that I couldn't see things improving under him at all.
Didn't see the doc. Gonna try catch it online..
18/11/2009, 12:07 PM
I dont see it on the rte player.
18/11/2009, 12:53 PM
Regarding his relationship with players, I think the likes of Keane, Duff and other players who had coached as youths got on very well with Kerr. His problems was probably with the likes of Carr and a few other older guys who didn't like his intense attention to detail.
It sickens me when I reflect back on the things that a toss-pot like Dunphy said about Kerr. Kerr put so much into youth football in this country.
Re-affirmed my belief that he was treated very poorly by not only the FAI but also the media.
Dunphy was on a crusade to get him out and even on Saturday's coverage of the French game he had said something dismissive when kerr tried to give his tuppence worth of how we should beat France.
The irony of Brady saying "He's too negative Bill", was not lost on me either.
its great to hear him mention how proud he felt when he got the job, that he felt it was a great boost to grassroot coaches that they could work their way up the ladder to the best job in the land.
Im glad he didnt come across as bitter(as some of his newspaper articles did when he was first ousted) and seems happy again in life.
Cracking place by the looks of it, although that was in August and i dread to think of how cold it would be in the Winter!!
Also great clip of the Pats League Championship up in the Dundalk in 96, i'll never forget running on to the pitch when Soupy Cambell curled it into the top corner, magic!!
Just dissapointed that they didnt show the Greener's little jig at the end on the sideline....
Re-affirmed my belief that he was treated very poorly by not only the FAI but also the media.
Dunphy was on a crusade to get him out and even on Saturday's coverage of the French game he had said something dismissive when kerr tried to give his tuppence worth of how we should beat France.
The irony of Brady saying "He's too negative Bill", was not lost on me either.
its great to hear him mention how proud he felt when he got the job, that he felt it was a great boost to grassroot coaches that they could work their way up the ladder to the best job in the land.
Im glad he didnt come across as bitter(as some of his newspaper articles did when he was first ousted) and seems happy again in life.
Cracking place by the looks of it, although that was in August and i dread to think of how cold it would be in the Winter!!
Also great clip of the Pats League Championship up in the Dundalk in 96, i'll never forget running on to the pitch when Soupy Cambell curled it into the top corner, magic!!
Just dissapointed that they didnt show the Greener's little jig at the end on the sideline....
Yes, it was quite comical to look back and hear Brady say how defensive minded Kerr was, knowing what we know now!
And, unlike Brady, I don’t think Kerr would leave Andy Reid out of the squad to teach him to be respectful to him!
18/11/2009, 3:32 PM
See the Faroes Under 21 team won away to Latvia - doesn't Kerr have some involvement with them too?
More that our bloody under21s could do!!!:mad:
Colbert Report
16/12/2009, 11:20 PM
Faroe Islands were the biggest movers though, rising 67 places to 117th after a 2-1 over Lithuania in September. It was the country's first victory in World Cup qualifying for eight years.
Deckydee
18/12/2009, 8:33 AM
Regarding his relationship with players, I think the likes of Keane, Duff and other players who had coached as youths got on very well with Kerr. His problems was probably with the likes of Carr and a few other older guys who didn't like his intense attention to detail.
It sickens me when I reflect back on the things that a toss-pot like Dunphy said about Kerr. Kerr put so much into youth football in this country.
Drummerboy, what did Dunphy say about Kerr? I forget
18/12/2009, 9:34 AM
Presumably the same thing there or therabouts concerning every Irish manager from Eoin Hand onwards. That's what he makes his living at. Attacking every Irish manager.
18/12/2009, 3:12 PM
i remember after Kerrs first match (scot 0-2) dunphy was saying that you could see kerrs influence already and we were much better organised during that game than we were under mick. think it was more a way of getting another dig in at mick rather than genuine praise of kerr
[QUOTE=Deckydee;1294937]
i remember after Kerrs first match (scot 0-2) dunphy was saying that you could see kerrs influence already and we were much better organised during that game than we were under mick. think it was more a way of getting another dig in at mick rather than genuine praise of kerr
He said pretty much the same thing about Trap after our first few games, a great man to change his mind!
22/12/2009, 9:39 AM
he always does it. jumps on as htough he recommended them personally and then goes against them when its time to boost the ratings again.
magnumpi
22/12/2009, 12:45 PM
[QUOTE=jbyrne;1295089]
a great man to change his mind!
i remember reading an article in the Indo not long after Trap's appointment. it might have been Dion Fanning, but not sure.
it was quoting Dunphy and all the lavish praise that he had heaped on Trappatoni, and made the point that any self respecting journalist would have to stick by Trappatoni no matter what after what Dunphy had come out with.
But he concluded by saying, if history had proven anything, it's that Dunphy will be more than willing to turn face completely if it suits him, and would be the first one calling for Trap's head at the first sign of trouble....
whoever wrote the article, a big "I ****ing told you so" shout out sir, good call.
Estonia 0-1 Faroes into the last few minutes of the euro qualifier. Great result if they can see it out
Kerr is haunted by late goals again. 1-1 in stoppage time.
Sickener 2-1 to Estonia a result. Two goals in stoppage time. Hard to see them getting too many points in this campaign.
12/10/2010, 11:23 AM
The Faroes are in action against NI this afternoon. The game has been shifted to fortress Toftir, away from the capital.
From a recent interview. (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/faroe-islands-v-northern-ireland-brian-kerrrsquos-parttime-love-14973820.html)
“When I picked the squad for the Estonia game in August we had three players withdraw for different reasons,” says the wily Kerr.
“One is a very experienced player, who was studying in Denmark and he said he needed to concentrate on his studies.
“We have a truck driver who was scared of losing a contract, so I had to give up on him. And another who gets paid a lot more for being in work than playing for the national team, but that’s the way it is.”
“In the squad we have carpenters, teachers, an accountant, we have a lad who works in the bank and we have some who work in school with children.
“You need a fairly understanding boss to let you away for 10 days at a time in the current economic climate. So I have to compromise on our preparation, but the players are easy to work with.”
“The people here are also really into their football. They attend in extraordinary numbers given that the population is just over 47,000, scattered amongst 18 islands. I would have a fairly educated guess that, there is between 10,000 and 12,000 going to see the league games at weekends.
AlaskaFox
12/10/2010, 11:40 AM
47,000? Imagine the sort of squad you could have picked from the fans at the Ireland-Russia game on Friday (with the exception of Barry Maguire and a few professionals there). Ridiculous when you think about their small population.
12/10/2010, 11:54 AM
Population does matter of course, but more important is the approach the federation takes to supervising the development of the game.
Iceland with a population of >300k has infinitely better facilities (coaching and infrastructure) for developing the game with kids from 8 years -18years, than Ireland or even more so called developed countries.
12/10/2010, 11:54 AM
I think the more amazing stat is that they get 10,000 to 12,000 going to league games at weekends. That's almost as many as here.
12/10/2010, 12:22 PM
'Kerr spoke of a light-hearted moment during the defeat by Serbia.' “Our captain was quite put out when things started getting a bit hot and (Dejan) Stankovic turned to him and said: ‘You’re only a so-and-so fisherman.’ “He felt very insulted and said: ‘I’m not a fisherman, I’m a carpenter!’
12/10/2010, 1:00 PM
I think the more amazing stat is that they get 10,000 to 12,000 going to league games at weekends. That's almost as many as here.
It is an amazing figure, considering their population, but is football competing for fans with any other sports in the Faroes? People here have a choice of football, gaa and rugby. Very few will attend more than one game in any given weekend.
AlaskaFox
12/10/2010, 1:02 PM
It is an amazing figure, considering their population, but is football competing for fans with any other sports in the Faroes? People here have a choice of football, gaa and rugby. Very few will attend more than one game in any given weekend.
Yes, but overall one in four Irish people doesn't go to a sporting event (regardless of code) every weekend. There isn't a million people going to a GAA, rugby, or soccer game each weekend. Which makes their stat even more impressive.