View Full Version : Bohs accounts

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

Hairy Bowsie
05/04/2009, 8:56 AM
Is there a possiblilty that the stupid posts in this thread that consist of Bohs and Rovers fans slagging each other can be removed? I last saw this thread when it was on it's 4th page since then there only been about 3 pages worth of decent, relevent posts but yet i had to trawl through 7 pages.

RoversHead
05/04/2009, 5:59 PM
is there a possiblilty that the stupid posts in this thread that consist of bohs and rovers fans slagging each other can be removed? I last saw this thread when it was on it's 4th page since then there only been about 3 pages worth of decent, relevent posts but yet i had to trawl through 7 pages.
here we go again another high brow muppet with special needs

shantykelly
05/04/2009, 6:15 PM
grow up.

Hairy Bowsie
05/04/2009, 7:03 PM
here we go again another high brow muppet with special needs

Exactly how old are you? And what kind of person are you to be so derogatory towards people with special needs?

Jersey Cow
06/04/2009, 9:04 AM
In fairness Shanty/Marino/HairyBowsie.....the only WOW!! that can be used wisely around Dalymount is...."WOW!!....How can they afford those wages???" or more interestingly "WOW!! How can the FAI let them away with it!!" :mad:

marinobohs
06/04/2009, 11:58 AM
In fairness Shanty/Marino/HairyBowsie.....the only WOW!! that can be used wisely around Dalymount is...."WOW!!....How can they afford those wages???" or more interestingly "WOW!! How can the FAI let them away with it!!" :mad:

Following on from an article in the mail (or some similar rag) the FAI have confirmed that Bohs are WITHIN the 65% limit. End off unless jersey Cow knows more than the FAI and St Pats, Derry etc who did not see fit to object.
I find it amusing that LOI fans that would object to barstoolers slagging off clubs fel its OK to do so themselves. Dodge must be pleased that he provided some lazy journo with a handy knock-the-League story (I guess that 19 points still hurts).

06/04/2009, 12:05 PM
Dodge must be pleased that he provided some lazy journo with a handy knock-the-League story (I guess that 19 points still hurts).

You're dead right, its all my fault (and if you read my posts carefully you might even see where I explain why Bohs are under the 65% thing)

Once again a bohs fan seems angrier at how the info got out, rather than the info itself

06/04/2009, 12:17 PM
It's like watching Shels, but seeing the figures.

marinobohs
06/04/2009, 1:27 PM
You're dead right, its all my fault (and if you read my posts carefully you might even see where I explain why Bohs are under the 65% thing)

Once again a bohs fan seems angrier at how the info got out, rather than the info itself

Not angry and had seen the figures before so knew how bad they were but I am asking how posters here can criticise others for slagging off the league and yet rush to print bad news stories knowing it provides cheap stories for lazy journos ?

06/04/2009, 1:31 PM
Not angry and had seen the figures before so knew how bad they were but I am asking how posters here can criticise others for slagging off the league and yet rush to print bad news stories knowing it provides cheap stories for lazy journos ?

Again, if you read my previous posts, I don't think news like this actually effects the league at all. At least it has no major bearing on the opinion of the majority of people

And nobody rushed to "print this news" as some of us had seen the figures weeks ago.

marinobohs
06/04/2009, 1:39 PM
Again, if you read my previous posts, I don't think news like this actually effects the league at all. At least it has no major bearing on the opinion of the majority of people

And nobody rushed to "print this news" as some of us had seen the figures weeks ago.

again the question remains how does this help the image of the league ? I can see how it helped the Mail to write yet another anti league article, was this the intention? wait until TV 3 log on....

06/04/2009, 1:45 PM
again the question remains how does this help the image of the league ? I can see how it helped the Mail to write yet another anti league article, was this the intention? wait until TV 3 log on....

It didn't help the image of the league. But if you were that bothered by how it was portayed, surely you should've done something before they came to light?

I've no bother with people legitimately criticising the league, as there are lots of problems within it. Sure we all hate lies being printed about the league, but I don't think anyone can have a problem with people printing facts, however upsetting they may be

marinobohs
06/04/2009, 2:42 PM
It didn't help the image of the league. But if you were that bothered by how it was portayed, surely you should've done something before they came to light?

I've no bother with people legitimately criticising the league, as there are lots of problems within it. Sure we all hate lies being printed about the league, but I don't think anyone can have a problem with people printing facts, however upsetting they may be

not sure what I could have done before they came to light bothered or not ????? Hopefully the entire membership, and a new board, will agree a stragegy tonight (check AlwaysUltra board tomorrow for details).

I do think that clubs/supporters in the League should try to avoid giving ammo to the anti League brigade and for that reason feel it wrong to print the accounts as you did, fully accept your view on the matter differs.

couldnt see myself posting the Pats accounts.:)

06/04/2009, 2:50 PM
The fault is with Bohs for making a balls of themselves, not with those who point it out.

In fact it's better that it's out, since hopefully that will ensure positive change.

sonofstan
06/04/2009, 2:56 PM
The fault is with Bohs for making a balls of themselves, not with those who point it out.

In fact it's better that it's out, since hopefully that will ensure positive change.

Nail -> Head

06/04/2009, 2:57 PM

Agreed. there is no problem that the information is out there. In fact it may embarrass the current encumbents into stepping down or motivate the older members into accepting that change is needed.

However, dont expect meaningful debate on this from any Bohs fan if your collective approach (there are notable exceptions of course) is to "point and laugh" as opposed to actually discuss the issues on their merits. There are about 4-5 active bohs supporting contributors to this forum so i would also advise against using any comments, whether they be from me or MB or anyone, as indication as to how the members of our club are thinking. This forum is not the be all and end all and i hope most contributors and readers have the wherewithal to realise this.

Either way, the next 24-48 hours will tell us all we need to know about what our future will be like. Im sure a lot of you are on tenterhooks and just cannot wait for an opportunity to twist the knife in that little bit more. Fair play.

06/04/2009, 3:09 PM
I'd like to think I've been far from the "point and laugh" brigade.

However you must understand the schadenfreude of some posters at the current situation, given the manner Bohs fans have lorded it over others in recent years. As pineapple Stu, it is like watching Shels circa 05/06.

The more reasonable Bohs fans have been saying for at least a year(and some much longer) that it was unsustainable, it was madness etc etc. However plenty of others have been quick to use the "we are invincible" approach whilst ignoring the blindingly obvious.

I wish Bohs well, and lets hope for serious "regime change" over the coming days. You may have won a double, but was it worth the cost?

06/04/2009, 3:24 PM
I'd like to think I've been far from the "point and laugh" brigade.

However you must understand the schadenfreude of some posters at the current situation, given the manner Bohs fans have lorded it over others in recent years. As pineapple Stu, it is like watching Shels circa 05/06.

The more reasonable Bohs fans have been saying for at least a year(and some much longer) that it was unsustainable, it was madness etc etc. However plenty of others have been quick to use the "we are invincible" approach whilst ignoring the blindingly obvious.

I wish Bohs well, and lets hope for serious "regime change" over the coming days. You may have won a double, but was it worth the cost?

I havent time to read over the thread but yourself and Dodge (and a couple of others) have attempted to discuss the accounts on their merits and endeavoured to understand what certain figures were for and why others were so high.

I dont understand the schadenfreude to be perfectly honest. We took a certain degree of enjoyment from the demise of two of our biggest rivals over the last few years - Shels and Rovers. In my eyes it was a follow on from the massive rivalries created between the two teams and, as i stated earlier in the thread, i dont and wont deny them their moment now. However, we never took great pleasure from the problems encountered by Sligo, Drogs, Cork, Derry and Pats over the years either. At least thats my recollection.

As I said, there are very few regular Bohs posters on this site. 4-5 who post regularly and a few more who post occasionally. I would hope that the comments of one or two of those posters wouldnt be the justification that "it is like watching Shels circa 05/06". The vast vast majority of Bohs fans who are online acknowledge the problems and have campaigned for change and have offered to front up the change themselves. These are the things you dont see or hear about on this site.

The "We Are Invincible" thing and "The Big Club" thing are just tongue in cheek boasts. But like any barbs, the more you know it annoys someone, the more you wil use it!! Used mainly to annoy Rovers and others and those infrequent WUMs and trolls to our own messageboard. Anyone getting wound up by that to any great degree or using it as justification to hate Bohs needs medical help.

Thanks for the well wishes Maribor. As i said, we should know more soon.

Yes We Can!! (soon to replace We Are Invincible)

marinobohs
06/04/2009, 4:11 PM
I havent time to read over the thread but yourself and Dodge (and a couple of others) have attempted to discuss the accounts on their merits and endeavoured to understand what certain figures were for and why others were so high.

I dont understand the schadenfreude to be perfectly honest. We took a certain degree of enjoyment from the demise of two of our biggest rivals over the last few years - Shels and Rovers. In my eyes it was a follow on from the massive rivalries created between the two teams and, as i stated earlier in the thread, i dont and wont deny them their moment now. However, we never took great pleasure from the problems encountered by Sligo, Drogs, Cork, Derry and Pats over the years either. At least thats my recollection.

As I said, there are very few regular Bohs posters on this site. 4-5 who post regularly and a few more who post occasionally. I would hope that the comments of one or two of those posters wouldnt be the justification that "it is like watching Shels circa 05/06". The vast vast majority of Bohs fans who are online acknowledge the problems and have campaigned for change and have offered to front up the change themselves. These are the things you dont see or hear about on this site.

The "We Are Invincible" thing and "The Big Club" thing are just tongue in cheek boasts. But like any barbs, the more you know it annoys someone, the more you wil use it!! Used mainly to annoy Rovers and others and those infrequent WUMs and trolls to our own messageboard. Anyone getting wound up by that to any great degree or using it as justification to hate Bohs needs medical help.

Thanks for the well wishes Maribor. As i said, we should know more soon.

Yes We Can!! (soon to replace We Are Invincible)

for the benifit of opposition fans that find the "we are invincible" or "the big Club" chants so offensive, bohs also sang/sing "we only lose in the High Court" and, pointing at shopping centre end "that bit over there we sold it two times (we will sell it again)". :)

Anyway, since when were football chants taken seriously ?

06/04/2009, 4:18 PM
I would hope that the comments of one or two of those posters wouldnt be the justification that "it is like watching Shels circa 05/06".
Having made that comment, I think it's only fair to note that the comments of other posters had nothing to do with it. It's the almost identical route to destruction which prompted it. (Although I must admit that I have spotted a similarity between your note that the few Bohs fans on here are by no means representative of the fan base as a whole, and Shels fans' claims three years ago; while your logic may be sound in the direction you express it, it's no proof that Bohs fans on here aren't representative of the fans as a whole).

06/04/2009, 4:26 PM
Anyway, since when were football chants taken seriously ?

To be honest, I was talking about the mindset rather than the chant........

06/04/2009, 4:29 PM
Having made that comment, I think it's only fair to note that the comments of other posters had nothing to do with it. It's the almost identical route to destruction which prompted it. (Although I must admit that I have spotted a similarity between your note that the few Bohs fans on here are by no means representative of the fan base as a whole, and Shels fans' claims three years ago; while your logic may be sound in the direction you express it, it's no proof that Bohs fans on here aren't representative of the fans as a whole).

Stu, if thats the way you want to see it then fair enough. I dont agree regarding the last sentence at all.

I think that there are important differences between the way things have panned out for Bohs and the way things capitulated for Shels. I am not trying to brush that comment off but i dont really have any desire to get into it here and now. The end result may very well be the same though i remain hopeful that it wont and i do believe that we are in a better situation to resolve it than Shelbourne were. It remains to be seen if we can resolve it though.

pól-dcfc
06/04/2009, 11:04 PM
Quote from Gem on thebohs forum:

Most disappointed at the moment when there was a general acceptance from all present that we had worked the accounts to appear favourable to us rather than to completely accurately portray our financial situation.

It was put to the AGM, by a member from the floor that we could

A) Reject the accounts. Go back, redo them properly. But this would cause use to breach wage protocol. This would mean forefitting the title and incur a possible fine and points deduction.
We would have an accurate set of accounts but would have to be held accountable for our dealings up to that point as a result

or we could

B) Pass the accounts. Keep the trophies and dolly accounts up to look favourable to us even when, in reality, they are not. But sure every other team in the league does it so we might as well do it to.

Option B was the clear winner. Sad day for me seeing the Bohs membership vote heavily in favour or not running our club on the straight and narrow.

We had the chance to hold the people who formulated the the plans for spending etc.. that led to these losses and less than spectacular set of accounts but we turned down the opportunity all for two pieces of silver

RoversHead
07/04/2009, 5:17 AM
And yis really expect me to stop taking the **** out of these people when their club and membership continue to make a mockery of the league....ah sure we will leave them alone and let them use their league prize money that they conned to dolly up another set of accounts for this season ....tell all the bohs you know that youll never buy four in a row.:)

07/04/2009, 6:47 AM
If that was a true reflection of what was said (I'm dubious anyone on the Committee would admit the accounts are a work of fiction), the auditor who signed the accounts off should have his practicing certificate taken away.

sonofstan
07/04/2009, 7:45 AM
If that was a true reflection of what was said (I'm dubious anyone on the Committee would admit the accounts are a work of fiction), the auditor who signed the accounts off should have his practicing certificate taken away.

The auditor was there and signed off on the accounts with an 'unqualified' opinion that the accounts were an accurate picture of the state of affairs last November, and that we could continue to trade. We've had worse opinions from auditors in the past. And no professional is going to put his career on the line in front of 300 people with a makey-up judgment.

Nor did anyone on the board say they were a work of fiction. (if you look at Gem's post quoted by pól- DCFC above you'll see he doesn't either).

07/04/2009, 8:43 AM
So has anything changed as a result of this AGM in terms of strategy then?. Are ye just continuing on and hoping for the best?. Not trying to have a go, just curious.

sonofstan
07/04/2009, 9:15 AM
So has anything changed as a result of this AGM in terms of strategy then?. Are ye just continuing on and hoping for the best?. Not trying to have a go, just curious.

A largely new board, with one significant survivor from the old regime. Without going into any more detail than I need to, I reckon the days of 'hoping for the best' are over.

07/04/2009, 9:18 AM
Fair enough. Hopefully the new board will learn from the mistakes of the old one.

Jersey Cow
07/04/2009, 11:23 AM
Thats laughable if that was even alluded to re the accounts!...."sure hey lads it doesn't matter if they are accurate accounts, everyone else does it...sure we would have to hand back the trophies and prizwmoney otherwise!!"....frightening! :eek:

placid casual
07/04/2009, 11:40 AM
1 Gerry Conway, there's only 1 Gerry Conway !! :):p:D