View Full Version : Dundalk fans

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

18/03/2009, 10:35 AM
I don't see why there wouldn't be arrests even at this stage. There must be plenty of people on the bus those guys were on who know who caused the hassle, if the will was there to investigate from the Garda side and rid their club of scum from the point of view of those on the bus then it shouldn't be too difficult.

eelmonster
18/03/2009, 11:02 AM
I'd agree with earlier suggestion to just ban Dundalk supporters from Terryland

That's the most ridiculous thing I've read here yet. You'll be asking us to get approval notes from our mammies next. :rolleyes:

18/03/2009, 11:03 AM
Being 'brought away' from somewhere is a hell of a lot different to actually being arrested. It's a pity there were no arrests, and at this stage there probably won't be. To ensure it doesn't happen again in July, I'd agree with earlier suggestion to just ban Dundalk supporters from Terryland

You cant just ban all Dundalk Fans what is that going to solve.Both clubs and the FAI are working on this and im sure the Gardai are involved.

jinxy lilywhite
18/03/2009, 11:15 AM
I have to say when I heard the news on Saturday I was quite ashamed that some of our thugs made their way over to Galway to cause trouble and I feel for the guys who got a doing. I wanted to go to fridays game because Galway is a great away day and their supporters are decent blokes to say the least but i wasn't able to make it due to other commitments.

Dundalk fans: Lads we can't hide behind the "oh they are not real dundalk fans" excuse. You see half the clowns that head into the ground whose intentions is to look for trouble. Some of those guys are pure scum and all they ever do is ruin the image of the club. There is more decent dundalk fc supporters than them but they are ones who make the most noise and let the good name of our club be tarnished. We need to stand up to these *******s and make sure our reputation isn't further tarnished. I mean the supporters, the club and the stewards.

once again apologies to Galway supporters

Louth4sam
18/03/2009, 12:18 PM
Hold on a minute here, I was one of the three assaulted and no way did I or my mates go outside the ground looking for trouble or did anyone have a bottle of bud or block a bus. I will admit that one of my friends was drunk but I was not drunk or my other mate. Two Dundalk followed us down the Dyke Road, originally I thought they were Galway fans as they had no colours on and were walking towards the City Centre. They began provoking us and then spilled a drink or something over my friends head. They shoved my friend up against a wall and punched and kicked him and at that point me and my mate went to help. More Dundalk fans arrived on the scene and and next thing I knew all three of us were on the ground getting kicked and punched. The Dundalk bus was the other end of the ground so they had no reason to be there other than to cause trouble.

My apologies I was just quoting a post that was on orielweb. The two lads that posted wouldn't normally post lies so i can only imagine that they must have mistaken your group for another.
It was a cowardly attack no matter what and hopefully those involved will be punished. Is there cctv in or around the ground? Have you looked at bebo yet to see if you can find any of the scumbags that attacked you? There are a few schooligan bebo pages that i'm sure some of them must be members of.

Lastly while not trying to distance Dundalk FC from the actions of a few scumbags. What exactly would people like the club to do? A few posters were suggesting that Galway couldn't be expected to police Dundalk fans outside the ground but how can Dundalk FC stop a group of people booking a bus and going to an away game? The trouble happened outside the ground so even if we did bring stewards they would have done little good.
I don't argue that we seem to have a scummy element that has attached itself to the club (which seems to have grown in recent seasons) but how
can the club be held responsible for something that is outside a LOI ground and beyond their control?

GuisaSaigon
18/03/2009, 12:50 PM
Dundalk should ban these Scumbags from Oriel, They should provide other clubs with info on all the banned thugs. Dundalk fans should let these *****s know that their behaviour is not acceptable. If they are stopped from getting into grounds they might eventually give up.
There was not a lot anyone could have done to prevent last Friday's attack but if theses thugs are prevented from entering grounds it might save others from a similar fate.
It seems since that Green St movie came out more and more of these little ****s are turning up at LOI games. They need to be told that this is not England, we do things differently here. If they want to run around like British hooligans **** off over to Britain.

18/03/2009, 12:57 PM
A lot of clubs including Bohs,Rovers,Cork and ourselves send members of our event teams to away games and liase with the other clubs event teams before we go so that the chances of troublemakers travelling is lessened.

All clubs bar Dundalk pre sell tickets on ticketmaster which gives less control to the clubs in stopping troublemakers buying tickets but we actually find its easier to control away fans inside the ground rather than letting them loose to do damage outside the ground or in town if we stop them.

In the end its down to the other Dundalk supporters to stand up to theses lads give their names to the club and the gardai and you will see once the ringleaders are dealt with the cowards tha hang out of them will dissappear.

Thanks to yourself and the other Dundalk Fans on here who have shown your disgust and not tried to defend the undefendable.

Terry-Lander
18/03/2009, 1:08 PM
Every club has the potential to attract trouble makers and scum bags. We all like to go on about OUR club but when the proverbial hits the fan it becomes someone elses fault / problem. There is no point in blaming the clubs, the stewards, the guards etc.

Every supporter has a responsibility to help weed out the scum. If you are aware of any such trouble makers at an away fixture there is imo an obligation on you to inform the local stewards / gardai.

To the Dundalk supporters apologising, please don't, unless you were directly involved (which I doubt). If you want to show your regret try and identify those responsible and pass on their details to the club / guards.

Last week it was a few scumbags from Dundalk, the next time it could be any one of our clubs :(

WoodquayBoy
18/03/2009, 2:13 PM
You cant just ban all Dundalk Fans what is that going to solve..
It ewould solve the problem of United fans being attacked by them at the game in July. Why can't you ban them? Or at least ban them until Dundalk FC confirms to United that it has identified the people involved, and banned them from Oriel Park, from travelling on official supporters buses, and provides United with photos fo them. Until then, why can't you ban them??

18/03/2009, 2:17 PM
It ewould solve the problem of United fans being attacked by them at the game in July. Why can't you ban them? Or at least ban them until Dundalk FC confirms to United that it has identified the people involved, and banned them from Oriel Park, from travelling on official supporters buses, and provides United with photos fo them. Until then, why can't you ban them??

Dundalk like ourselves dont have official buses. Nothing to stop any bunch of fans hiring a bus in any law I know of.

Terry-Lander
18/03/2009, 2:23 PM
Dundalk like ourselves dont have official buses. Nothing to stop any bunch of fans hiring a bus in any law I know of.

Which is why every supporter has a responsibility to identify the scum that attaches itself to their club and inform the relevant personnell at both home and away games.

18/03/2009, 2:43 PM
Exactly supporters are condoning the actions of hooligans by their silence.Its what is totally wrong with this country and its the Bullies and their cowardly followers who end up ruining it for the genuine fans.

passerrby
18/03/2009, 3:02 PM

you cant ban a club from attending your home games and your club would be told that if you are not capable of dealing with your security requirements inside the ground then you will not get a licence.

18/03/2009, 3:37 PM
If these people hadn't tickets, I doubt they would have travelled from coast to coast.

What measures do Galway Utd take to make sure that the people they sell tickets to are not liable to cause trouble.

This was a sporting event organised by Galway Utd. The revenue and profits arising from the sale of tickets go to Galway Utd.

It is their responsibility.

However, if these were tickets supplied by Galway Utd to Dundalk FC for dispersal among their fans, then the responsibility resides solely with Dundalk FC.

Now it'd be fairly well established that I'm no big fan of Galway United but this must be one of the most baseless, ludicrous comments I've ever read. Even ignoring the obvious fact that GUFC can not in any way be held responsible for what happens away from Terryland Park if those who caused trouble are from Dundalk and at the game to support Dundalk then Dundalk have a responsibility to sort out the problem.

There's almost definitely people posting here who could name and shame those involved if they wanted to (not here online I stress but to their club and/or the cops) but people just don't want to get involved.

Dundalk fans are certainly not alone in putting their heads in the sand at times like this but blaming the victimised supporters club is a new slant to take for sure. :rolleyes:

WoodquayBoy
18/03/2009, 10:17 PM
you cant ban a club from attending your home games and your club would be told that if you are not capable of dealing with your security requirements inside the ground then you will not get a licence.
Excuse me but surely every club has the right to refuse admission to anyone, no? Galway United has a duty to its own fans first and foremost, and if that means banning Dundalk fans in order to execute that duty of care, then so be it

passerrby
18/03/2009, 10:58 PM
Excuse me but surely every club has the right to refuse admission to anyone, no? Galway United has a duty to its own fans first and foremost, and if that means banning Dundalk fans in order to execute that duty of care, then so be it

yes to any indivual or group but not to an entire club.in order to get your premiership licence you have to prove you can deal with, segregate and steward visiting fans ,good and bad. thats part of been a league of ireland club and if you cannot provide a safe enviroment for players spectators and staff then they will/should revoke your licence.
I think longford made this case a couple of seasons ago about the rovers.

18/03/2009, 11:37 PM
Im sorry for those who were kicked about the place but for the love of god get over it... I can think of worse things off hand in eyre square over the years.

political_rebel
19/03/2009, 12:38 AM
Violence at LOI games, or should I say outside LOI staidums on match night will always be a problem...

Last season I emailed every club in the Premier Division asking them what they are doing to weed out the 'schooligan' element at their club...I emailed the vast majority of official and unofficial supporters clubs asking them would they be interested in putting out a joint statement condemnin the actions of a minority at legaue games and stressing that these people do not represent LOI fans in general...

Bray were the only club to respond and Derry supporters club were the only supporters group to respond positively...

Galway supporters refused to support any joint statement statin that as they had no trouble at games it was not their concern...kinda ironic...

I even met with the FAI chief of security about what the FAI were doin to help eradicate this growin problem...

As for CCFC supporters who behave badly...simple, they get banned from home games and will be pointed out to away stewards if they travel...CCFC does not and will not tolerate people givin our club a bad name...

Already this season CCFC have issued 4 verbal warnings to people about their future behaviour at home and away games and if they step out of line once more then they are banned...no apologies either...

19/03/2009, 1:35 AM
Lock this already ffs!

Mr Maroon
19/03/2009, 12:54 PM
Dundalk Democrat
Dundalk FC could be reprimanded for action of "fans"

Published Date: 18 March 2009
By Gary McLaughlin
Only two games back into the Eircom League of Ireland Premier Division and Dundalk FC could be reprimanded for the actions of their 'supporters.'
Galway United CEO Nick Leeson is adamant that the Connacht club will make an official complaint to the League of Ireland after three of their supporters were beaten to a bloody pulp by a gang of 15 Dundalk supporters.

Following the incident, Dundalk CEO Mr Gerry Matthews admitted he was extremely "disappointed" in the actions of the fans whilst Galway United CEO Nick Leeson said: "It should not have happened."

Mr. Leeson added: "We, the club will be making a complaint to the league and we are hoping that Dundalk FC will take appropriate action towards these individuals, as they should

Full story in this week's Dundalk Democrat including full length match report of Galway United v Dundalk FC from Terryland Park

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalknews/...nded.5085159.jp (http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalknews/Dundalk-FC-could-be-reprimanded.5085159.jp)

19/03/2009, 3:14 PM
Lock this already ffs!

Genuinely wondering why?

WoodquayBoy
19/03/2009, 4:18 PM
Is it not obvious??

19/03/2009, 4:51 PM
Because there'll probably be a new thread tomorrow night anyway.....

SMorgan
19/03/2009, 5:32 PM
Dundalk Democrat
Dundalk FC could be reprimanded for action of "fans"

Published Date: 18 March 2009
By Gary McLaughlin
Only two games back into the Eircom League of Ireland Premier Division and Dundalk FC could be reprimanded for the actions of their 'supporters.'
Galway United CEO Nick Leeson is adamant that the Connacht club will make an official complaint to the League of Ireland after three of their supporters were beaten to a bloody pulp by a gang of 15 Dundalk supporters.

Following the incident, Dundalk CEO Mr Gerry Matthews admitted he was extremely "disappointed" in the actions of the fans whilst Galway United CEO Nick Leeson said: "It should not have happened."

Mr. Leeson added: "We, the club will be making a complaint to the league and we are hoping that Dundalk FC will take appropriate action towards these individuals, as they should

Full story in this week's Dundalk Democrat including full length match report of Galway United v Dundalk FC from Terryland Park

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalknews/...nded.5085159.jp

Just shows how low the thugs are when Leeson is looking down at them.

19/03/2009, 5:34 PM
Didn't this happen outside the ground? If so, there's feck all Leeson can do as it's nothing to do with the league. It's a gardai matter.

Mr Maroon
19/03/2009, 5:43 PM
Didn't this happen outside the ground? If so, there's feck all Leeson can do as it's nothing to do with the league. It's a gardai matter.

Yes, it happened outside the ground.

Neish
19/03/2009, 5:46 PM
Violence at LOI games, or should I say outside LOI staidums on match night will always be a problem...

Last season I emailed every club in the Premier Division asking them what they are doing to weed out the 'schooligan' element at their club...I emailed the vast majority of official and unofficial supporters clubs asking them would they be interested in putting out a joint statement condemnin the actions of a minority at legaue games and stressing that these people do not represent LOI fans in general...

Bray were the only club to respond and Derry supporters club were the only supporters group to respond positively...

Galway supporters refused to support any joint statement statin that as they had no trouble at games it was not their concern...kinda ironic...

I even met with the FAI chief of security about what the FAI were doin to help eradicate this growin problem...

As for CCFC supporters who behave badly...simple, they get banned from home games and will be pointed out to away stewards if they travel...CCFC does not and will not tolerate people givin our club a bad name...

Already this season CCFC have issued 4 verbal warnings to people about their future behaviour at home and away games and if they step out of line once more then they are banned...no apologies either...

That probably due to the fact most clubs have decent fans

19/03/2009, 6:19 PM
Genuinely wondering why?

Ok..All that needs to be said has been said, now people are just repeating past comments. It has even come to a point where someone tried to blame GUFC, Leeson is taking his action to the FAI. That's that, no point for this sh!te anymore.

19/03/2009, 10:16 PM
Ok..All that needs to be said has been said, now people are just repeating past comments. It has even come to a point where someone tried to blame GUFC, Leeson is taking his action to the FAI. That's that, no point for this sh!te anymore.

That's fair enough to be honest. This is a discussion forum though you know, as long as people aren't getting abusive with each other, let the thread die in it's own time.

19/03/2009, 10:21 PM
Just shows how low the thugs are when Leeson is looking down at them.Derivatives trader gets carried away, bets the house and loses.

Group of knuckledraggers go looking for some easy prey to beat up.

Comparable how?

brianw82
19/03/2009, 10:34 PM
Is this thread still going?

Rovers Maniac
19/03/2009, 10:40 PM
Is this thread still going?

No ;)

19/03/2009, 11:52 PM
That's fair enough to be honest. This is a discussion forum though you know, as long as people aren't getting abusive with each other, let the thread die in it's own time.

Yes I agree, but atleast lock it until the results of the FAI investigation. If there is one that is.
Also everything that needs to be discussed has been discussed, there is no need for it anymore.

SMorgan
20/03/2009, 5:29 AM
Derivatives trader gets carried away, bets the house and loses.

Comparable how?

What a romantic view.

If they were the only loser that's fine. But they also lose jobs, life savings and pensions and don't for one second underestimate the crime. I'd imagine that there are people still living with the consequences of Leeson's actions.

However, I fully agree that what he did was non-violent and my message clearly makes the thugs out to be worse. I didn't intend to or seek to equate the two.

20/03/2009, 11:13 PM
So Dundalk fans, what did ye do tonight?

joke;)

20/03/2009, 11:14 PM
So Dundalk fans, what did ye do tonight?

joke;)

Absolutley nothing. Few Drogs fans ejected during the game but that's about it.

20/03/2009, 11:17 PM
i heard on my scanner that you released doves into the air as a sign of peace and reconciliation with mankind...

20/03/2009, 11:18 PM
i heard on my scanner that you released doves into the air as a sign of peace and reconciliation with mankind...

:rolleyes: Let it go already...

20/03/2009, 11:22 PM
:rolleyes: Let it go already...

thats what i heard on my scanner. Fair play, like.

20/03/2009, 11:23 PM
thats what i heard on my scanner. Fair play, like.

Ok...

20/03/2009, 11:27 PM
*beep* over and out *beep*

20/03/2009, 11:29 PM
*beep* over and out *beep*

LOL, it beeps? You know more about them than I do.

Smurf1
21/03/2009, 12:11 AM
They were knocking lumps out of each other before the match and one loon ran across the pitch to shout at the drogs fans. Apart from that not a lot. The security at oriel, apart from that one lapse is top class. They have their system down perfectly. Top marks for that.

Black and White
21/03/2009, 9:43 AM
Security was excellent tonight, that idiot is/should be banned for a long time as our CEO did say this week that any incidnets great or small is going to result in bans! As for the Drogs, they are not as innocent as everyone makes out, they where looking for trouble last night, and a few idiots threw bottles and other items onto the pitch, one hit O'Callaghn on the back and 2 where ejected from what i saw!

Splurge
21/03/2009, 10:14 AM
are the worst in the league.3 arrested during tonights game .they also attacked galway fans away from the ground 3 fans had to receive medical treatment.

We had problems with them at both home games last season. Absolutley no need for it and a lot of us were happy to see them promoted to we wouldnt have to put up with them this yr. Their fans should be blanket banned from all away games for a full season. If they want a row they should arrange a friendly with Millwall, Leeds or someone.

Black and White
21/03/2009, 10:20 AM
We had problems with them at both home games last season. Absolutley no need for it and a lot of us were happy to see them promoted to we wouldnt have to put up with them this yr. Their fans should be blanket banned from all away games for a full season. If they want a row they should arrange a friendly with Millwall, Leeds or someone.

Ah thats very bloody rich coming form you, i was helping 3 yound chaps about 8 or 9 year olds get their 2 flags down and one idiot of a wexford fan, who was an official 2 cause he was wearing ayellow stewards jacket came over and called the kids scum of the earth and other obscene things, i had a strong war of words with this idiot, to this day I still havnt come across him on this despite my mentioning this several times.

Splurge
21/03/2009, 10:25 AM
Ah thats very bloody rich coming form you, i was helping 3 yound chaps about 8 or 9 year olds get their 2 flags down and one idiot of a wexford fan, who was an official 2 cause he was wearing ayellow stewards jacket came over and called the kids scum of the earth and other obscene things, i had a strong war of words with this idiot, to this day I still havnt come across him on this despite my mentioning this several times.

Your not making a lot of sense there tbh. I dont mean it to be a personal attack as im sure 90% of the Dundalk fans are fine but until they root out that 10% i'd be all for a blanket fan on all Dundalk fans, wouldnt be that hard to enforce on a crowd of 600-900 really. There's no need for it, if they're coming to Wexford Youths looking for a brawl they'll not get one. I'd have an ounce of respect for them if they were to take on Millwall or someone.

Smurf1
21/03/2009, 3:23 PM
Security was excellent tonight, that idiot is/should be banned for a long time as our CEO did say this week that any incidnets great or small is going to result in bans! As for the Drogs, they are not as innocent as everyone makes out, they where looking for trouble last night, and a few idiots threw bottles and other items onto the pitch, one hit O'Callaghn on the back and 2 where ejected from what i saw!

Who was looking for trouble? Straight off the bus and straight on, it ran like clockwork. Unsurprisingly, the scum that appeared at the malone cup haven't shown up since. The 2 lads were taken around the corner, told to calm down and to go back and enjoy the game. 3 bottles were thrown at georgie alright. Stupidity! He incited the crowd and some people reacted, probably at the expense of a fine. Not what we need. And those "other items", were betting slips for our good friend.;)

Mr Maroon
21/03/2009, 3:35 PM
Yes I agree, but atleast lock it until the results of the FAI investigation. If there is one that is.
Also everything that needs to be discussed has been discussed, there is no need for it anymore.

Why? Others threads don't get locked like that, only when it starts getting abusive or something.

21/03/2009, 4:14 PM
Why? Others threads don't get locked like that, only when it starts getting abusive or something.

Why should it come to that though? Lock it up before it does start. Thread seems to be quiet at the minute so hopefully it won't come to that and disappear in it's own time.