View Full Version : Dundalk fans

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

14/03/2009, 8:43 AM
:D l..o...l What about your scum element? Did ye sort that out yet?....NO...Cop on to yourself.

Dunny, as i have mentioned before this justification of fans actions by claiming the old 'our scum are less worse than yours' is total bull****!! What is somewhat refreshing is that Dundalk fans across a few fora are taking total ownership of this problem and are genuinely disgusted and embarrassed by what has happened! Which is a nice change from the usual justification that goes on from many clubs and supporters when crowd trouble/scum element is mentioned.

I wouldnt underestimate the resolve that Dundalk FC has in dealing with such issues - given time these scummers will be weeded out. I wish that an apology,as a Dundalk fan, carried any weight but all i can really say is that i assure you if i see any Dundalk fan acting up i will speak up and point the finger unashamedly and will persist in making sure the club are aware of any scum behaviour witnessed.

Old ****e but i detest seeing that nuisance Maxi in Oriel (its a farce) but he did the time and served his sentence at least-should still have a lifetime ban though:mad:

GuisaSaigon
14/03/2009, 8:51 AM
Two weeks, two incidents. Our bus was absolutely hammered with rocks outside richmond last week and now our fans are being attacked outside our own ground. Real fans of the clubs with that have these scumbags associated with them need to do more to get rid of the morons. If that means giving information to the club or the police then do it. Lets get rid of these knackers now.

geezer
14/03/2009, 9:58 AM
good enough, It makes me laugh when clubs say they dont know who was involved. Its the LOI ffs not fifty thousand seater arenas. Sean Connors behaviour on telly too was out of order with hand signals to bohemian supporters. God knows he was probably getting stick but Managers should show a bit more leadership. Dundalk is a brilliant club but need to weed this out everytime.

Tribesman
14/03/2009, 10:29 AM
There was trouble outside the ground when United fans were attacked about ten minutes after the game outside the Old Terryland Waterworks. Two lads were punched, kicked and beaten while lying on the ground by a mob of young thugs that headed back to the ground after they dished out their assult, presumably to get their bus.This attack was in front of a line of traffic leaving the ground. There were no Gardai around so I guess they got away with it. The two United fans had a lot a blood on their faces but they seemed to be ok.

For any children in cars this would have been a frightening experience to witness, as this was a very ugly incident and something I have never witnessed at a football game in Ireland.

Definitely outside of the ground should be policed, as this is where trouble is most likely to occur with away fans, especially as this was a classified as a category A game with the Gardai.

madblaa
14/03/2009, 10:37 AM
I'm supporting LOI a good few years now and I have to say that I hate when Dundalk come down here, the bad element within their supporters is far worse than any Dublin team, and that is saying a lot!

corkboy360
14/03/2009, 10:46 AM
Bohs have just as bad, if not worse, and they're probably not the only one. Never had any problems with Dundalk fans in any of our games against them but I'm not for a minute doubting theres a big scum element.
From what I recall when Shels were in premier they were far from the best behaved and I am yet to see Bohs fans cause trouble in the Cross.

I was one of the fans attacked tonight by a few Dundalk fans. It really makes you consider supporting LOI soccer, It was no doubt a great night for United tonight as we topped the league but here I am with a fat lip and my mates, one of who was attending his first LOI game. Absolutely disgusted.
You should consider taking legal action to make sure these scumbags get banned.

GuisaSaigon
14/03/2009, 10:50 AM
There was trouble outside the ground when United fans were attacked about ten minutes after the game outside the Old Terryland Waterworks. Two lads were punched, kicked and beaten while lying on the ground by a mob of young thugs that headed back to the ground after they dished out their assult, presumably to get their bus.

It's obvious to anyone that knows the area that these *****s went out of their way to ambush United fans. They should be locked up. Scumbags.

irishultra
14/03/2009, 10:57 AM
vile and disgusting. maby we do actually have a problem? maby that tv3 show no matter how exaggerated was needed for families with little kids thinking of going to loi to think twice, if they are in anyway likely to witness or be the victim of such violence.

Neish
14/03/2009, 10:58 AM
This is one of the reason I don't like travelling to Oriel only been there 3 times(and havn't been in 3 or 4 years) cause was last time I was here 3 wee guys who couldn't of been more the 15 tried to start me when I was returning form the toilet on my own I jsut ignored them, 1st time I was there I was just missed by a coin on my way out after the game

However all 3 times any of the fans I met in the bar before the game were fine and any Dundalk fans I've met travelling to Finn Park are top blokes and we had a great day with them at the end of the 2007 season. So I know the small group of thugs that are causing trouble are nothing not Dundalf FC fans

The vast majority of Dundalk supporters are decent people. Dundalk FC are a great club with a proud history, they shouldn't let scum like this ruin their reputation.

Dundalk fans have always had a reputation for scumbaggery (feel free o use that word)

I've rarely been at a game in oriel without incident. Not doubting there are some fine people involved with the club but for those of us who've had bottles at **** thrown at them, their reputation is dirt

corkboy360
vile and disgusting. maby we do actually have a problem? maby that tv3 show no matter how exaggerated was needed for families with little kids thinking of going to loi to think twice, if they are in anyway likely to witness or be the victim of such violence.
There is a problem but tv3 did not show that problem they showed the bebo warriors!

Dundalkjames
14/03/2009, 11:02 AM
on behalf of me and alot of other dundalk fans i'm very sorry about what happend last night but every club with a decent fan base in the LOI has a scumbag element. The people involved last night should be dealt with but there is no smoke without fire.
I hope last nights incident does not put off any LOI fans travelling to oriel pk as we have some very genuine and decent fans but sadly we are let down by these little scumbags

madblaa
14/03/2009, 11:03 AM
Blues don't have an element like that!

dannydundalk
14/03/2009, 11:05 AM
i have to admit the 3 worst clubs for the scum element involved are rovers bohs and us(dundalk)

i am ashamed to be involved with these but i have to say they are supporters full stop.
they go out get stone and drink puts them mad

it's a disgrace

i apologise to galway fans over this on behalf of the club

GuisaSaigon
14/03/2009, 11:07 AM
We dont have an element like this either. Dundalk and a few other clubs need to sort out their own mess instead of making comments like "every club has element"

irishultra
14/03/2009, 11:15 AM
is drinking before a game in every european soccer league culture?

eamo1
14/03/2009, 11:16 AM
It was announced near the end of the game last night that Dundalk fans would be kept back for 5 mins.In England its 20 mins after a game.I know they deal with far bigger crowds there(england) but maybe keeping away fans in awhile longer might be one solution.Most if not all home fans etc will be gone from the ground by 10/15 mins after a game and then let them out then.
A point was made here that i was thinking about last night when missle's(coins i think) were coming down on me and another guy leaving the ground last night.Its that these scumbags WERE fans,you dont take a 7/8 hour round trip bus journey just to cause trouble.If trouble is all they wanted they could have stayed in Dundalk and did it there.They were fans,had Dundalk scarves,hats etc.

14/03/2009, 11:19 AM
In the 23 years I have been going to terryland this is the first time I have seen/heard of an incident like this. No surprise really, considering I have been to oriel only 3 times and all 3 times there was trouble, very poor standards from the club when trying (if at all) to eleminate this obvious problem.

passerrby
14/03/2009, 11:36 AM
What a load of bullsh!t!! These fellas only attach themselves to the club to cause trouble. They are NOT Dundalk fans.

so what exactly is a fan by your logic anybody who causes trouble is not a fan therefore clears the club of any obligations or responsibility.

14/03/2009, 11:52 AM
I was one of the fans attacked tonight by a few Dundalk fans. It really makes you consider supporting LOI soccer, It was no doubt a great night for United tonight as we topped the league but here I am with a fat lip and my mates, one of who was attending his first LOI game. Absolutely disgusted.

MU, i know where you're coming from man, but i wouldn't decide straight away whether you are going to continue to support United. Ye have a decent club who are getting things right off the pitch after some hicups and things on the pitch are obviously going well now too.

I wouldn't be letting some scumbags make up your mind for you. Remember, they are the filth that no one wants in the game. Genuine fans are always wanted.

irishultra
14/03/2009, 11:54 AM
but if these subhuman are making fairly commited fans to think twice about going to games, what impact is it going to have on people going to matches for the first time. it doesn't leave a good impression at all.

have to say in my time following LOI ive never seen really that much going on thats bad, but like really fans should think about having a bit more friendly banter and wind up jokes rather than taking it way too seriously.

at fc koln vs hertha berlin game, and on the u-bahn the two sets of fans were having a go at each other but it was all in good fun.

14/03/2009, 12:10 PM
There seem to have been a lot of incidents over the first two weeks of the season. I hope this doesn't continue, apart from people getting hurt, it'll just be another issue to distract coverage from the football.

What is the telephone number of the Garda Station where they are being held? Maybe a few phonecalls for LOI fans encouraging them to get a hefty penalty would do the trick. I certainly hope not. I'd rather not live in a country that dispenses justice by opinion poll.

is drinking before a game in every european soccer league culture?Lots of people manage to drink before a game without starting fights and throwing things at opposition fans. This isn't about drunkeness, it's about scumbags looking for trouble

14/03/2009, 12:18 PM
one of the buses arrived 5 mins before half time & the blue minibus that the scumbags were on hadnt one sober person on it.I assume you didn't allow them entry into the ground then?

14/03/2009, 12:55 PM
Dundalk fans have always had a reputation for scumbaggery (feel free o use that word)

Unfortunately i have to agree! Dundalk supporters often hold breath after a high profile match in fear of being disgraced. Many a discussion has been held on Orielweb about security at Oriel. The club has moved forward significantly in this regard(albeit a recent improvement) hence the Bohs match went off without incident. Inside Oriel is as safe as anywhere, outside can be different story, while not an excuse, in the past many of the troublemakers were not at the game and just hang about waiting(holding the home support back is the way to go). I dont know what can be done about these except hope that the Gardaí do their job!
As for travelling support? Well maybe it is time for for Dundalk to pre-sell tickets to travelling support and tickets may only be purchased through some membership scheme or something. If supporters misbehave well then it is much easier to find the culprits. If found and charged then heavy sanctions should be imposed by the legislate. I hope the group responsible are identified!

Oh and for many of these traveling scumbags it is a **** up with the match as a side show! Most of them couldnt spell Dundalk

14/03/2009, 1:12 PM
There seem to have been a lot of incidents over the first two weeks of the season. Really? Are you going by reports on here or personal experience?

This won't be solved without club administrators and Gardai co-operating. And given, generally, neither are particularly capable at their jobs, I wouldn't hold my breath.

ndrog
14/03/2009, 1:55 PM
Theres gonna be bedlam when we go up on fri .Lots of people are not gonna go after the trouble against dundalk in drogheda a couple weeks ago and this is just gonna put people off even more .Its a real shame as this game has the potential to be a massive derby :(

green army
14/03/2009, 2:01 PM
cork "fans" threw stones at the pats fans bus as we were leaving turners cross last night.

Tir Oilean
14/03/2009, 2:08 PM
The club should contact the Garda station where they are being held. (Wont happen though..:rolleyes:)

Let it go Dunny there were Dundalk "fans" end of. You say in earlier posts they are not Dundalk fans what are you trying to do ignore the fact ye have a scum element? Nip it in the bud and get rid of them

I have never been to Oriel and was planning to go this season. Not now. I reckon the place is a ****hole anyway and I aint going on an 8 hour trip to get assaulted by knackers

14/03/2009, 2:17 PM
Really? Are you going by reports on here or personal experience?

Fair enough, it's just on here, no problems that I'm aware of at either of our games. Maybe a lot of it is bull**** but there seems to have been more talk of it over a short period of time than usual.

celticV3
14/03/2009, 2:43 PM
Oh winge winge winge. Two people were shot across from the tallaght stadium during the game, that's real gansta mo fo's!!!!!!

Mr Maroon
14/03/2009, 2:54 PM
Oh winge winge winge. Two people were shot across from the tallaght stadium during the game, that's real gansta mo fo's!!!!!!

14/03/2009, 3:24 PM
cork "fans" threw stones at the pats fans bus as we were leaving turners cross last night.

Spotted that. While were mentioning everything, Gary rogers was hit with a bottle thrown from cork fans too

Red Star
14/03/2009, 3:26 PM
We are... EVIL

dannydundalk
14/03/2009, 4:15 PM
We dont have an element like this either. Dundalk and a few other clubs need to sort out their own mess instead of making comments like "every club has element"

so you don't have a scum element? when a number a small number of your fans were near our segregated section shouting come on hands in the air as if impling a fight
i was crying at this i was scared stiff :mad:
:(

ndrog
14/03/2009, 5:14 PM
Spotted that. While were mentioning everything, Gary rogers was hit with a bottle thrown from cork fans too

yeah there good at that in cork .The hit dan connor with a bottle a few years ago also :rolleyes:

14/03/2009, 5:17 PM
so you don't have a scum element? when a number a small number of your fans were near our segregated section shouting come on hands in the air as if impling a fight
i was crying at this i was scared stiff :mad:
:(

They were about 10 rows of seats away from you if not more because no galway fans would sit anywhere near the 50 or so hooligans up the back in block f. These were not schooligans as over half of them were well over 18.

Everything was under control inside the ground it was 15 minutes after game when the 15 or so Thugs attacked three lads without any provocation about 800 yards away from Terryland.GUFC have been in contact with the FAI & Dundalk and strangely the FAI had 3 people at the game last night one of their security officers was in the Dundalk Section spotting for more than half the game.

The 3 lads brought away by the Gardai during the match were not involved with the incident at the end. Ive been invoved stewarding at Terryland for over 20 years and over a quarter of the Dundalk support last night were up for trouble last night hardly a minority.Easily the worst set of Fans we have had in Terryland in years.

14/03/2009, 5:23 PM
yeah there good at that in cork .The hit dan connor with a bottle a few years ago also :rolleyes:

Wondered how long that would take.

14/03/2009, 5:26 PM
I assume you didn't allow them entry into the ground then?That's a no then?
Ive been invoved stewarding at Terryland for over 20 years and over a quarter of the Dundalk support last night were up for trouble last night hardly a minority.Easily the worst set of Fans we have had in Terryland in years.How many of them did you throw out or refuse entry to?

ndrog
14/03/2009, 5:28 PM
Wondered how long that would take.

you didnt have to wonder for very long so :D

Louth4sam
14/03/2009, 6:21 PM
when the 15 or so Thugs attacked three lads without any provocation about 800 yards away from Terryland..

From a post on oriel web
"The three fella's left the ground and where singing in me and a friend's face's about being top of the league at they walked past the club house,(or staggered i must say as one had a bud bottle in his had). Of course we payed not attention and let them enjoy their victory, fair play and all that.

As we waited by the clubhouse they 3 men where then taking back in With blood rushing from there head, A steward said " It was crazy out there, the road was blocked by them in the middle of it singing TOP OF THE LEAGUE in front of a Blue minibus"

Hardly without provocation was it?? I'm not defending what the Dundalk fans did i hope they are arrested, charged and banned from every LOI ground but jesus the three lads that were assaulted must have been very naive to act like this and not expect to get some sort of reaction. If you go looking for trouble with fans with a dodgy element it's not too hard to find it.

Guitd
14/03/2009, 6:37 PM
From a post on oriel web
"The three fella's left the ground and where singing in me and a friend's face's about being top of the league at they walked past the club house,(or staggered i must say as one had a bud bottle in his had). Of course we payed not attention and let them enjoy their victory, fair play and all that.

As we waited by the clubhouse they 3 men where then taking back in With blood rushing from there head, A steward said " It was crazy out there, the road was blocked by them in the middle of it singing TOP OF THE LEAGUE in front of a Blue minibus"

Hardly without provocation was it?? I'm not defending what the Dundalk fans did i hope they are arrested, charged and banned from every LOI ground but jesus the three lads that were assaulted must have been very naive to act like this and not expect to get some sort of reaction. If you go looking for trouble with fans with a dodgy element it's not too hard to find it.

this could not be true as the incident happened 150y past the terryland enterance and no buses can go in that direction caus of a low 7ft bridge

14/03/2009, 6:55 PM
you didnt have to wonder for very long so :DIn fairness, I'm sure there's a sub-clause in the FAI rulebook that gives everyone a free shot at Dan Connor :)

14/03/2009, 7:03 PM
In fairness, I'm sure there's a sub-clause in the FAI rulebook that gives everyone a free shot at Dan Connor :)

Always found him game for a laught in fairness. He had a bit of banter with the Pats fans last night, laughing at the line "even your own fans hate you..."

Paddyfield
14/03/2009, 7:12 PM
There are many CCTV cameras inside Terryland Park plus cameras outside the stadium located at the main entrance for visiting fans and at the cash box office. The incidents occured outside the scope of these cameras.

I also noticed that there were more Garda at the game than normal. Usually there are about 4 or 5 but last night there were about 12.

I saw two lads wearing Dundalk jersies (NOTE: I didn't call them Dundalk fans) who were smashing bottles on the road, a few hundrd metres from Terryland. This happened just shortly before 10pm (I remember beacuse I was waiting for the sports news on the radio) which was almost half an hour after the game finished. I figured that they weren't travelling on any of the buses that travelled to the game...unless of course they were kicked off?

Rovers Maniac
14/03/2009, 7:22 PM
Last week during the Bohs game when Connor got sent off he walked past maxi who was in the tunnel area shouting abuse at the ref. I thought to myself not much of a role model to the younger Dundalk fans. Whats his position at the club? And why was he standing in such close proximity to the pitch?

14/03/2009, 7:29 PM
In fairness to Dunny. I know a guy who's in that infamous youtube video. He goes to all the Bohs games. He could hardly name their first 11.

A football fan has to feel emotionally attached to the club. They should feel good after a win and hurt inside after a defeat. There's many eejits that go to games that couldn't care less about the football. These are not fans.

dannydundalk
14/03/2009, 7:32 PM
I saw two lads wearing Dundalk jersies (NOTE: I didn't call them Dundalk fans) who were smashing bottles on the road, a few hundrd metres from Terryland. This happened just shortly before 10pm (I remember beacuse I was waiting for the sports news on the radio) which was almost half an hour after the game finished. I figured that they weren't travelling on any of the buses that travelled to the game...unless of course they were kicked off?

any descriptions of these two lads pal ?age for example?

and to the sligo fan maxi is a dedicated fan and he was stading beside the tunnell

14/03/2009, 7:35 PM
maxi is a dedicated fan

He showed that with a can of petrol and a lighter alright!!:rolleyes:

14/03/2009, 7:38 PM
Always found him game for a laught in fairness. He had a bit of banter with the Pats fans last night, laughing at the line "even your own fans hate you..."

Dan Connor is sound as a pound, helped our supporters fundraisers during examiership knwing that he wouldnt be with us this season!

Genuinely hates cork people though!

Will get a great reception when he returns to drogheda!!

dannydundalk
14/03/2009, 7:50 PM
They were about 10 rows of seats away from you if not more because no galway fans would sit anywhere near the 50 or so hooligans up the back in block f. These were not schooligans as over half of them were well over 18.

Everything was under control inside the ground it was 15 minutes after game when the 15 or so Thugs attacked three lads without any provocation about 800 yards away from Terryland.GUFC have been in contact with the FAI & Dundalk and strangely the FAI had 3 people at the game last night one of their security officers was in the Dundalk Section spotting for more than half the game.

The 3 lads brought away by the Gardai during the match were not involved with the incident at the end. Ive been invoved stewarding at Terryland for over 20 years and over a quarter of the Dundalk support last night were up for trouble last night hardly a minority.Easily the worst set of Fans we have had in Terryland in years.

you havent a clue i was there and we were there to create an atmosphere for our team it was a minority fact
you's had the same amount probably more (of lads up for something)

your making up have the stuff you are saying