View Full Version : Songs/Chants for the Singing Section

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

zenokelly
03/02/2009, 3:21 PM
On the One Road defo for me.

03/02/2009, 3:36 PM
dropkick murphys or on the one road - because both are rocky and u2 are crap.

03/02/2009, 3:53 PM
dropkick murphys or on the one road - because both are rocky and u2 are crap.

This from a man who likes bands like Rainbow.

03/02/2009, 4:26 PM
I like a few rainbow songs, im sure you like one or two of them as well neil. I never said i liked the band.

Check out "since you've been gone", great tune.

03/02/2009, 4:40 PM
Just seen the clip of the derry fans in the league cup final 08, and was well impressed. Thats the type of chant I'd be expecting in the section.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=a9ImCgiTV6I

03/02/2009, 6:20 PM
I like a few rainbow songs, im sure you like one or two of them as well neil. I never said i liked the band.

I know what they sing, and its rubbish **** rock in my view but sure each to their own.

Sligo Hornet
03/02/2009, 6:28 PM

I bet Zippy was your favourite paul!:D

http://i44.tinypic.com/24wztp4.jpg

03/02/2009, 7:39 PM
i used to love zippy and george :D

03/02/2009, 8:33 PM
I am sure you did love george.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Ps0XcxrWc7M

EastTerracer
03/02/2009, 9:54 PM

We could dedicate this tune to our friend from Cobh. ..... Stephen something??

04/02/2009, 11:26 AM
haha ya ET brilliant.

ArdeeBhoy
04/02/2009, 11:29 AM
We could dedicate this tune to our friend from Cobh. ..... Stephen something??

Or that other fella who used to play for the local team, who went missing......

Must be a Cobh thang?

citizenerased
04/02/2009, 11:41 AM
johnnyscababro and davekoolhill were the same person, David O'Grady from DCU. Both accounts and all of their posts have been deleted. Don't come back David, your type isn't welcome on Foot.ie.

adam what a bad bad man,, imagine setting up two usernames on a football forum, i havnt heard of espionage like this since the watergate scandal...shame on you...mention his name without permission is a violation of the data protection act, do you not read your own ts+cs

macdermesser
04/02/2009, 3:27 PM
Just seen the clip of the derry fans in the league cup final 08, and was well impressed. Thats the type of chant I'd be expecting in the section.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=a9ImCgiTV6I

this would be fantastic ....

think there will need to be a few people to lead the whole thing though

Mento
04/02/2009, 7:45 PM
Lads, any non block booker who ordered SS tickets, they are now ready for collection in the LFA offices, Parnell Square

macdermesser
05/02/2009, 7:50 AM
Celtic fans got it from St Pauli. It take a bit of time for Celtic fans to get a tune going but it's becoming big now at away games.

St Pauli:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHLWclMs_Pw#t=45s

Celtic's pathetic version in comparison (needs a drum or 2) :) :
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=04WZHbQm3KU

Kingdom found this version here .. thought I would imbed it in a post.

a9ImCgiTV6I

I think it might sound better if "cos we support the irish, the irish, the irish" was "that's because we're Irish, we're Irish, we're Irish" .... we're irish so we don't have a choice in who we choose to support :-)

We love you, we love you, we love you,
and everywhere we'll follow, we'll follow, we'll follow
that's because we're Irish, we're Irish, we're Irish
and thats the way we like it, we like it, we like it.

I think it stands the 10 beer test ... four lines .. key words ... "love" .. "follow"... "we're irish" .. "we like it" ..

would be great to see the davin rocking to that

We can all post all we want but by the time the game comes around it will be up to the 6 lads with a drum and a bit of balls to get the rest of the herd going.

Great to see though some new material being at least discussed..always find it funny when we score in a big game ... the spontaneous OLE OLE OLE comes to the surface again .. the ultimate beer friendly song .. .can't forget that one word.

I would love to see the horslips "an dearg doom" being played when the teams come onto the pitch ... its more of a battle song .. bit more intimidating ... one road is great for during the match .. and would 10000% agree with jbyrne's plea for no music after a goal.... I'm still getting slagged by ex-colleagues from spain and italy who I brought to richmond park and witnessed the "who let the dogs out" song after a pats goal

y5G8AJf4Xzw

sylvo
05/02/2009, 8:42 AM
i used to love zippy and george :D

Didn't Bungle join spurs this week after a few months at Liverpool, you over next week?

ParkLife
05/02/2009, 2:31 PM
I think it might sound better if "cos we support the irish, the irish, the irish" was "that's because we're Irish, we're Irish, we're Irish" .... we're irish so we don't have a choice in who we choose to support :-)

We love you, we love you, we love you,
and everywhere we'll follow, we'll follow, we'll follow
that's because we're Irish, we're Irish, we're Irish
and thats the way we like it, we like it, we like it.

We have to go with this..it's absolutely brilliant....There seemed to be about 30 Derry supporters there and the noise they were making...Class.
As you said yourself....The guys with the Drums and balls will get everyone going...AND it simple to learn..so EVERYONE can join in....

Murpholini
05/02/2009, 5:50 PM
It has all the elements of a classic terrace chant, might even fit on the back of a t-shirt for those behind to catch on to the lyrics. On another topic Cul and the Gang could be the name for the SS judging we are behind the goal in the canal end.

francesco_1
05/02/2009, 6:30 PM
North,south,east and west
we love ireland d'ar the best

Sligo Hornet
05/02/2009, 7:29 PM
We have to go with this..it's absolutely brilliant....There seemed to be about 30 Derry supporters there and the noise they were making...Class.
As you said yourself....The guys with the Drums and balls will get everyone going...AND it simple to learn..so EVERYONE can join in....

I have to agree........very simple (as are the best terrace songs):D

Casei11
05/02/2009, 7:46 PM
ye that derry chant is brilliant we ll have to do it

irishultra
06/02/2009, 1:38 AM
would anyone support 'hold me now' being sang?

06/02/2009, 7:33 AM

Dunmore's number 1 football fan led the whole away end in Daniel O'Donnell's "I want to dance with you" in Copenhagen at the U21 game in October 92. So if we can sing Daniel songs Johnny Logan is no problem. :D

macdermesser
06/02/2009, 7:55 AM

I'm more worried about "What's another year" ...might reactivate the Joe Kinnear for Ireland lobby again

macdermesser
06/02/2009, 8:29 AM
It has all the elements of a classic terrace chant, might even fit on the back of a t-shirt for those behind to catch on to the lyrics. On another topic Cul and the Gang could be the name for the SS judging we are behind the goal in the canal end.

I would be cul with that ... anything to replace the, as already mentioned, unfortunate "SS". God be with the days when you could call yourselves the Jolly Boys ..

galwayhoop
06/02/2009, 10:12 AM

absolutely. or failing that would like glen mederas -
"nothings gonna change my love for you,
you oughta know by now... how much i love you,
one thing you can be sure of,
i'll never ask for more than your love,
nothings gonna change my love....."
repeated ad nausim

he's not irish and the song has nothing to do with football and is 100% total cheese.... but it would be hilarious if the whole section took it on for five or six minutes constant!!!!

sylvo
06/02/2009, 11:54 AM
Dunmore's number 1 football fan led the whole away end in Daniel O'Donnell's "I want to dance with you" in Copenhagen at the U21 game in October 92. So if we can sing Daniel songs Johnny Logan is no problem. :D

Could be something starting here with this craic, Babysis had her Joe Dolan tape playing on the bus in San Marino and a near riot nearly broke out at the front of the bus, it was nearly like it was the Sex Pistols being boomed out, if that was what the guy could do to a bus full of half steamed fella's, then its no wonder Women used to throw certain items of lets say clothing at him.

Another great Irish classic sung at football, was when Shels played us at Il Stadio Via Stazione the night of the Eurovision song contest, a mass rendition of ''My lovely Horse'' by the Devine Comedy and Father Ted broke out by a group of Shels fans which was joined in by everyone else in a europop love vibe.

I have often thought that maybe we should copy the Rugby team, after the national anthem we should do what they do, and play another tune, one that maybe does not sound too nationalistic and can unite all the people of this island, I think that ''My lovely Horse'' is that tune.

06/02/2009, 12:29 PM
I think stuff like that is great. Total random stuff that everybody knows the words for and totally unite the fans. The Scots sing Do a dear for some reason and sounds great, not saying we should sing that but Bohs singing Hold me now was and is fantastic. Putting my Finatan O Toole hat on there is something very postmodern about it all :)

Sligo Hornet
06/02/2009, 12:33 PM
I think stuff like that is great. Total random stuff that everybody knows the words for and totally unite the fans. The Scots sing Do a dear for some reason and sounds great, not saying we should sing that but Bohs singing Hold me now was and is fantastic. Putting my Finatan O Toole hat on there is something very postmodern about it all :)

Is he John Joe's grandaddy?

Wolfie
06/02/2009, 12:42 PM
It's not well known enough to work - but it would be a cracking chant...

Anyone heard the anthemic finish to Glasgow band "Glasvegas" song "Go Square Go" ?

It basically builds and builds to the refrain - "Here we fu**ckin Go!!!!!!" :)

06/02/2009, 12:57 PM
Is he John Joe's grandaddy?

Nah he is a good friend of the Wolf Tones though.

sylvo
06/02/2009, 12:57 PM
Putting my Finatan O Toole hat on there is something very postmodern about it all :)

Or even as us Style concious casuals would put it ''Retro chic''.
I would love to see all that St Pauli style dancing from side to side from row to row in unison with everybody singing ''my lovely horse'' or even the theme tune to Father Ted, and it will happen next wednesday and thats because dance practise starts around 4.30ish wednesday in Kates cottage pub.

If your knee is still not mended and your not able to take part, then you will have to be the dance commander.

06/02/2009, 12:59 PM
Here are the words to I want to dance with you.

I wanna dance with you
Twirl you all around the floor
That's what they intended dancing for
I just wanna dance with you.

I wanna dance with you
Hold you in my arms once more
That's what they invented dancing for

Totally naff but we were all belting it out after a few minutes.

If we are going to do naff and twee then it has to be Daniel. :D

Dunmore's most famous football fan was also dressed like a badly dressed farmer and dancing with a plant (roots, earth and all presumably borrowed from somewhere close to the game). We lost 3-2 but Mark Kinsella scored a cracker.

06/02/2009, 1:02 PM
No Prob I will be there with my baton.

Wolfie
06/02/2009, 1:20 PM
Here are the words to I want to dance with you.

I wanna dance with you
Twirl you all around the floor
That's what they intended dancing for

I wanna dance with you
Hold you in my arms once more
That's what they invented dancing for

Totally naff but we were all belting it out after a few minutes.

Dunmore's most famous football fan was also dressed like a badly dressed farmer and dancing with a plant (roots, earth and all presumably borrowed from somewhere close to the game). We lost 3-2 but Mark Kinsella scored a cracker.

Reminds me of being at an Ireland match years ago (V Hungary in 89?) when the Chris De Burgh sh*gging the Nanny story broke.

About 200 on the North Terrace delivered a very moving version of "The Lady in Red" :D

Cowboy
06/02/2009, 1:34 PM
No way, he stole that song from John Prine :)

06/02/2009, 5:19 PM
I like this one from the YBIG Fanzine:

"What’s that coming over the hill
Is it a monster? The Honey Monster"

Very short and simple but would be great if he scored so we could belt that out. :)

Mayo_Bhoy
06/02/2009, 5:26 PM
Lads, i wish ye the best of luck with this but dont lose the run of yourselves. The truth is that it's nearly imossible to even get an 'Ireland ireland' chant going at Croker never mind some of the stuff thats being suggested here. keep it simple with songs and chants that everyone else know and there is some hope. Start small and the repertoire can grow for the next game. The songs themselves dont matter for the first game, the importsnt thing is to get the stadium rocking and everyone involved.

06/02/2009, 5:38 PM
I like this one from the YBIG Fanzine:

"What’s that coming over the hill
Is it a monster? The Honey Monster"

Very short and simple but would be great if he scored so we could belt that out. :)

Actually just looking at that....wouldn't it make more sense to do

"Whats that going down to the Hill? " given that we're playing in Croker.?

Moscow Mule
06/02/2009, 7:53 PM
Or even as us Style concious casuals would put it ''Retro chic''.
I would love to see all that St Pauli style dancing from side to side from row to row in unison with everybody singing ''my lovely horse'' or even the theme tune to Father Ted, and it will happen next wednesday and thats because dance practise starts around 4.30ish wednesday in Kates cottage pub.

If your knee is still not mended and your not able to take part, then you will have to be the dance commander.

4.30 it is and I look forward to Neil McD taking to the floor.:)

07/02/2009, 6:49 AM
Another great Irish classic sung at football, was when Shels played us at Il Stadio Via Stazione the night of the Eurovision song contest, a mass rendition of ''My lovely Horse'' by the Devine Comedy and Father Ted broke out by a group of Shels fans which was joined in by everyone else in a europop love vibe.

I have often thought that maybe we should copy the Rugby team, after the national anthem we should do what they do, and play another tune, one that maybe does not sound too nationalistic and can unite all the people of this island, I think that ''My lovely Horse'' is that tune.

you must be joking - the rugby teams effort is a joke - that song they play _"Irelands call" makes me cringe, and isnt the national anthem stirrng enough:rolleyes:

but yeah My Lovely Horse is a good idea - surely most people know the words to this song by now?

sylvo
07/02/2009, 3:52 PM
you must be joking - the rugby teams effort is a joke - that song they play _"Irelands call" makes me cringe, and isnt the national anthem stirrng enough:rolleyes:

but yeah My Lovely Horse is a good idea - surely most people know the words to this song by now?

I have to say that Irelands call craic is not my thing, I was joking, but seriously i'd rather after the national anthem, they sang along and danced to the great Wigfield and her top tune ''Saturday Night'', now that would get me interested in Rugby.

07/02/2009, 6:29 PM
Start small and the repertoire can grow for the next game. The songs themselves dont matter for the first game, the importsnt thing is to get the stadium rocking and everyone involved.

Here here.

Otherwise it will descend into mayhem, with pockets of people signing all different tunes and none of them taking off, with everyone just getting frustrated.

Even committed supporters of club sides have a staple of half a dozen tunes, repeated often.

LaoisLads
08/02/2009, 2:41 PM
anyone know if singing section tickets can still be got for the georgia game. we're looking for 2 or are the 1600 sold out?

macdermesser
09/02/2009, 12:10 PM
Here here.

Otherwise it will descend into mayhem, with pockets of people signing all different tunes and none of them taking off, with everyone just getting frustrated.

Even committed supporters of club sides have a staple of half a dozen tunes, repeated often.

I think the general point is that we need some new material. Boys in Green, ole ole and stand up for the boys in green .. the songs need a bit of a rest. Some great suggestions on this thread and in the YBIG fanzine. It would be an achievement if we get a couple of new songs going for the rest of the campaign.

09/02/2009, 4:07 PM
I have to say that Irelands call craic is not my thing, I was joking, but seriously i'd rather after the national anthem, they sang along and danced to the great Wigfield and her top tune ''Saturday Night'', now that would get me interested in Rugby.

Was at an Ireland rugby game for the first time on sat, interesting comparison. The atmosphere was decent but nothing fantastic and certainly not close to some of the best football nights in LR and this is considering that sats game was deemed by the experts to be one of the best 6 nations games ever.

Irelands call is a little cringe at this stage and takes the good out of ANaF but has to be done i suppose. They really dont have any chants at all, not that we are much better. The one song they did sing near the end was the Fields of Athenry and it did song very good, easy song to sing everyone knows it etc.......no reason why it shouldnt work for football???

Word of advice for wed, jaysus it was freezing in croker and ive been at some really cold days in Dalymount, turners cross, LR, the rds etc but this was up there with the best. Good few people around me had small flasks of whiskey, wouldve been the business!!!

09/02/2009, 5:53 PM
"Put em under Pressure" :)

(what was the original Horslips track that the riff was taken from?)

I've long felt that someone should make a mix extending the intro to Where the Streets Have No Name for the players' walk out theme. I'm not much od a U2 fan but this and Pride are very anthemic tracks that make me want to stand up and pogo like a teenager.

I like Tets' thinking re-Muse. Map of the Problematique is also a real adrenaline raiser.

If Boys in Green is ever dropped as one of our main fans' songs I'll be very disappointed. Ole Ole is naff but at least it's evocative of a bygone feelgood factor.

Nothing would make me happier than the whole ground singing Alive Alive-o as we're 3-0 up in the second half. To paraphrase Bono "this song was stolen by D4 rugger buggers, we're stealing it back"

Mento
09/02/2009, 6:23 PM
Tickets for the Singing Section are stil available from the LFA offices on Parnell Square and ticketmaster
Make sure you specify that you want tickets for the Singing Section

And give it fookin loads on Wednesday

Fr. Joe
09/02/2009, 6:48 PM
Sorry lads if this has been asked already but what are the exact blocks designated as the singing section in the Lower Canal?