View Full Version : Songs/Chants for the Singing Section
Junior
29/01/2009, 1:21 PM
I've no problem with Celtic fans being Irish fans. I know plenty.
You don't have to do any research just google.
My whole point is we do not have this minority. You may not have seen the violence in Blackburn but it was enough for the police to arrest 42 people.
I spoke with a business owner in Blackburn (not a pub) a few years ago before a game and you are certainly not remembered fondly there. Man Utd were however the worst they claimed to have encountered although they would have assumed (wrongly) that I was a Man City fan. We haven't had any attacks or stabbings. We haven't had any planes grounded. We haven't had anyone arrested for thrashing a hotel room that I'm aware of.
We don't sing sectarian songs.
Your ground was closed in 1985 by UEFA over violence at an ECWC tie in 1984
I'm well aware that there were plenty of eejits in Paris. There was a time the night of the game that I thought it was going to kickoff. Thankfully it didn't. There is an element that I've seen in Paris, Stuttgart and Nicosia (not at other venues) that wouldn't be found wanting if anything started. Quite a few of that element were in Celtic gear. Now quite a few of the ordinary decent fans were too. There is also a scumbag element in Dublin that seems to have discovered Celtic in recent years.
Fine, lets put this to bed. Of course you are entitled to your opinion, I strongly disagree with it, but hey ho.
I still fail to see however what relevance it has to this thread? Non that I can see other than there will probably be club sides that sing similar/the same songs as we would like to sing.
PS: In all honestly would you look fondly on anything if you were from Blackburn?
ArdeeBhoy
29/01/2009, 1:26 PM
There's a Massive crossover between Ireland & Celtic, and long may that continue!
'Let The People Sing' is a great democratic song.
IF there are any add-on's in any song people Don't Like, then DON'T Sing that bit!
It's hardly rocket science....
Also everyone's take on Irish nationalism is different!
You can't just wipe away the best part of a Millennium of occupation and expect this to Not be reflected in expressions of Irish nationalism by individuals!
Needless to say, even If you hate them, songs like BOTOB & The Sash are amongst the more stirring ones on the island of Ireland!
galwayhoop
29/01/2009, 3:16 PM
any chance we can get the Fields of Anfield road going and maybe the Artur Boruc song????
29/01/2009, 3:25 PM
Ugh ffs this Celtic and Ireland ****e again.
Mayo_Bhoy
29/01/2009, 4:40 PM
Ugh ffs this Celtic and Ireland ****e again.
Ya well have a go at gspain then. Those of us who are Celtic fans and have experienced Let the people sing being belted out in Celtic Park are just saying that it adds greatly to the atmosphere at a football match and it's an irish song. It's nothing to do with tying Celtic and Ireland together. Most of the Celtic fans repertoire are irish songs for obvious reasons so do we jst ignore all these songs???
On the subject of songs, how about ''there is no one as Irish as Barrack Obama'' by Hardy Drew and the Nancy Boys.
Can we get some little bit of life at Croke Park against Georgia ''yes we can''.
Can Celtic be mentioned on here without people kicking off eerr ''no they can't''.
I'm all for going the european way and having people at the front of the stand with a loud hailer trying to get the crowd going, there won't be suits sitting quite or telling everybody around them too sit down if you had a dozen headers with loud hailers jumping around like their on acid in front of them. There are plenty of people who like hearing the sound of their own voices at Ireland games and trips (that nice Dublin chap, with his name plastered across his Tricolour, and is also Irelands moooooost greatest fan springs to mind), that could do a job.
Anyway, you can't force an atmosphere, its something that pretty much happens, thats why going on about what songs to sing like everyone is planning a number one hit for a boyband isn't going to work, that was tried by Fran Rooney and didn't work.
People have to go to home games with pretty much the same attitude as when their at away games, and that is too forget about being entertained, people don't look at it that way when their at away games, it can be done, the game v Holland in 01was the best games for atmosphere since the bucket seats went in, and there was nobody worried about what songs to sing that day.
29/01/2009, 10:46 PM
Not sure what the story with the playlist?? Does anyone else know. I think that the Irish team should walk out to "You'll Never Beat the Irish", it would be awesome, the chorus would be incredible.
I think we should have 3 songs before the kick off.
On the One Road
Let the people sing
Fields of athenry - Fast version if possible.
It will be great....
From your posts you remind me of the character from the Fast show. Brilliant:)
i would nominate either "where the streets have no name" or "boys are back in town" for when the teams walk out
Ozymandias
30/01/2009, 1:08 PM
ó ró sé do bheatha bhaile ..is infectious and simple....thats the secret of a good chant.....can put it up Phonetically for anyone who wants who does not speak or have a knowledge of Irish ...
looking forward to a bit of singing coming back to the games...georgia is a good starting point..by the time the Italians come round we will be flying
Ari Gold
30/01/2009, 1:57 PM
ó ró sé do bheatha bhaile ..is infectious and simple....thats the secret of a good chant
Nail on the head.
Some people getting way ahead of themselves regards what songs could catch on I reckon. Have to begin with the simple, well known and catchey tunes...
On the One Road
Molly Malone...followed by regular Ireland chant
ó ró sé do bheatha bhaile
CYBG
Stand up/Jump...for the B.I.G.
Stick to something like these for the Georgia game and that'll be a good start.
30/01/2009, 2:06 PM
My suggestions for songs to be played on the PA:
1. On the One Road...
2. Let the People Sing...
3. Fields of Athenry...
4. You'll never beat the Irish...
5. Put em under pressure...
wishful thinking. i think the clown who does the PA has only got "the boys are back in town" and "rocking all over the world" in his LP collection!
Torn-Ado
30/01/2009, 2:34 PM
Rising passionate patriotic songs are the order of the day at international matches. Little football ditties like 'duff will tear you apart' and 'super kevin doyle' etc are good too but it will not get the crowd going and inject life into the atmosphere.
On the one road, Molly Malone, Se do bheath abhaile (sp?), Fields of Athenry is whats needed. Scotland had Hampden park rocking last campaign with a mixture of patriotic Scottish songs and good performances. The atmosphere in Croke park can be brilliant regardless of what people say but its down to the fans and more importantly the team.
30/01/2009, 5:12 PM
Lads who is on for a few harmonies I was thinking I can sing 3rds if we get people to sing 1st and 2nds. I think we should probably leave it at 3 part harmony and maybe for the Bulgarian game do 4 part harmony :)
irishultra
30/01/2009, 6:04 PM
GET SHIPPING OUT TO BOSTON ON THE PA JUST BEFORE THE SONG THAT THE PLAYERS COME OUT TO.
the beat in the song just gets you hyped so easy
31/01/2009, 7:44 AM
There's a Massive crossover between Ireland & Celtic, and long may that continue!
'Let The People Sing' is a great democratic song.
IF there are any add-on's in any song people Don't Like, then DON'T Sing that bit!
It's hardly rocket science....
Also everyone's take on Irish nationalism is different!
You can't just wipe away the best part of a Millennium of occupation and expect this to Not be reflected in expressions of Irish nationalism by individuals!Needless to say, even If you hate them, songs like BOTOB & The Sash are amongst the more stirring ones on the island of Ireland!
I agree with you 100%
some people going on about U2 songs and sill makey up ones when we have a huge archive of good old songs - anyway.................
31/01/2009, 11:44 AM
Well to me U2 represent Ireland far more to me than the Wolfe Tones do.
Newryrep
31/01/2009, 1:11 PM
'where the streets have no name' is a great entrance track
Mayo_Bhoy
31/01/2009, 2:15 PM
Tax dodgers...you make a good point
31/01/2009, 3:59 PM
Tax dodgers...you make a good point
Yeah its terrible that the Wolfe Tones do not pay taxes. :) I guarantee you that U2 have paid more tax to the Irish state than the Wolfe Tones have so not sure what your point is.
31/01/2009, 4:00 PM
'where the streets have no name' is a great entrance track
Yeah but there is nothing in it about killing a few brits so I don't think it will make the cut with the Fraziers brigade.
31/01/2009, 4:15 PM
yeah n you are probably right too;)
then im not from dublin -either - thank the lord
Mayo_Bhoy
31/01/2009, 4:27 PM
Yeah but there is nothing in it about killing a few brits so I don't think it will make the cut with the Fraziers brigade.
Mento
01/02/2009, 12:11 AM
The FAI basicallt told us to get a playlist together so it's up to the fans.
When the anthem is over, they want to play a tune just before kick off
So far On The One Road or a U2 track are the popular choices
01/02/2009, 12:14 AM
Yeah I think on the One Road is a good choice.
irishultra
01/02/2009, 5:11 AM
let the people sing is probably the least suitable song to get a crowd hyped up for a match.
sylvo
01/02/2009, 11:26 AM
GET SHIPPING OUT TO BOSTON ON THE PA JUST BEFORE THE SONG THAT THE PLAYERS COME OUT TO.
the beat in the song just gets you hyped so easy
Was at a Boston Red Sox game, and one of the Red Sox players has that as his walk on music as he makes his way out to bat, everyone in the Stadium went off a bit like a cross between of the final scene from Riverdance and the Caravan step dancing scene with Graham Norton and the St Luke's youth group in Father Ted, and I belive the same thing could well happen at Croke park. I have been saying for ages that The Dropkick Murphys should be played at a massive amount of decibles before games also, also the Auld triangle by them would make sence.
01/02/2009, 3:51 PM
Does anybody know when the final list of songs will be given for the PA to play before the game and at half time. They reckon it will be "On the one road" - Wolfe Tones, when the teams walk out.
I that is a great idea. My other suggestions for before the match would include "You'll Never Beat the Irish"- Wolfe Tones and "Let the People Sing" - The Malleys.
We could also get the "You'll never beat the Irish" chant going throughout the game. It sounds much better than "The Referees a W*/" chant.
Not sure what the story with the playlist?? Does anyone else know. I think that the Irish team should walk out to "You'll Never Beat the Irish", it would be awesome, the chorus would be incredible.
I think we should have 3 songs before the kick off.
On the One Road
Let the people sing
Fields of athenry - Fast version if possible.
It will be great....
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=k09n1uSQfl8&feature=related
Let the People Sing - should defo be played
Well they can see the results after a few days and they will then know roughly what kind of songs people want. Be sure to vote for the song you want to get played.
I would go for "Let the People Sing" also. It would create a great atmosphere if it gets played.
You 2 related? Best mates? You're posting within 5 minutes of each other with the exact same opinions. You both also coincedently like to put a title on your posts along with the http://foot.ie/images/icons/icon14.gif symbol. I think 1 is enough. We get it.
01/02/2009, 3:59 PM
Same person I am guessing and possibly members of the Dessie O Malleys that well known PD tribute act
01/02/2009, 4:52 PM
What about U2- "City of Blinding Lights"?
jLBdMsUjoTA
Might be a bit of a slow intro. Gets going properly after 20 seconds.
01/02/2009, 6:21 PM
johnnyscababro and davekoolhill were the same person, David O'Grady from DCU. Both accounts and all of their posts have been deleted. Don't come back David, your type isn't welcome on Foot.ie.
ArdeeBhoy
01/02/2009, 7:27 PM
Yeah but there is nothing in it about killing a few brits
So No Irish Nationalism should EVER reflect, what would now be deemed by today's international community as an 'Illegal occupation' ?
Or mark those who opposed the deaths of millions of our ancestors, as a result?!
It's unfortunate that anyone had to die but the ratio of foreign invaders who were killed, compared to the native population, even If we factor in the latest 'Troubles', is & always probably will be MINISCULE!
ArdeeBhoy
01/02/2009, 7:34 PM
Returning more to the point of thread, as a 'run-out' PA song, another choice is 'Thousands Are Sailing' by The Pogues?
Maybe we should compile an authorative list of say 20 songs, download them onto CD & fwd.10 copies of same to our old friends at The FAI & GAA?!
01/02/2009, 7:35 PM
Why did you not quote my full sentence. I said there was nothing in it about killing a few brits so therefore it would not be passed by the Fraziers brigade.
Hardcore Republican songs are fine in their context but I do not thing thatIrish football match is the place for them to be honest. I have seen guys who were born in England been abused by fans of this type of music in pubs and I do not thing it is nice. Songs about killing brits seem to attract that sort of fan.
Once we stamp out that horrible mexican wave and "EASY" chant, im happy. That chant does my head in. Plenty of irish songs out there.
ParkLife
02/02/2009, 7:57 AM
Have to agree with Irish ultra...Shipping out to Boston turned up to the max is a brilliant song to walk out to. It would really get the players and fans going. Personally I think alot of the U2 songs are a bit too mellow. You need something that's gonna lift the crowd..get them on there feet from the minute it comes on the PA.
02/02/2009, 10:06 AM
Returning more to the point of thread, as a 'run-out' PA song, another choice is 'Thousands Are Sailing' by The Pogues?
Maybe we should compile an authorative list of say 20 songs, download them onto CD & fwd.10 copies of same to our old friends at The FAI & GAA?!
one of my all time fav songs - really deep - but Ardee wouldnt it makes us all a bit depressed?
what about Sally Macleanne:)
02/02/2009, 12:11 PM
Once we stamp out that horrible mexican wave and "EASY" chant, im happy. That chant does my head in. Plenty of irish songs out there.
and the carsberg band and music after we score
02/02/2009, 7:35 PM
Was at a Boston Red Sox game, and one of the Red Sox players has that as his walk on music as he makes his way out to bat
That's Jonathan Papelbon: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jonathan_Papelbon
02/02/2009, 7:43 PM
How about "The Rising" by the boss?
Raises the hairs on the back of my knees!
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=JOm-uIPzqpI&feature=related
or Muse - Knights of Cydonia - http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=G_sBOsh-vyI&fmt=18
Just the "no one's gonna take me alive" bit
If I was in charge (it might happen!!) it'd be "Killing In The Name Of"
Imaging the opposition collectively sh!tting themselves as 80,000 tell them they won't do what they tell us!
Lads, meeting with the FAI Thursday
They want ideas on a tune to be played after the National Anthem and before kick off
Plenty for the play list but this is the vital one
On The One Road seems a popular choice or a U2 number, or maybe Dropkick Murphys
So can yis post your own choice please
Ari Gold
03/02/2009, 8:30 AM
My vote goes to "On the One Road" for after the Anthem
Junior
03/02/2009, 10:15 AM
maybe we could just go for soemthing like this half an hour before kickoff - certainly get everyone in to the mood and relatively cheap I reckon.............
http://tv3.ie/sport.php?request=&tv3_preview=&video=5147
aidz1
03/02/2009, 10:27 AM
i'd play U2's "where the streets have no name" as the teams walks out...
Cowboy
03/02/2009, 12:06 PM
Yeah we could have a "whip around" to pay for it :)
maybe we could just go for soemthing like this half an hour before kickoff - certainly get everyone in to the mood and relatively cheap I reckon.............
Newryrep
03/02/2009, 12:37 PM
Fcuk that , spend the money on the underage teams, I can see spinning coloured lights and listen to Thin Lizzy jailbreak on full volume every saturday night after I come back from the pub :)
03/02/2009, 12:45 PM
Lads, meeting with the FAI Thursday
They want ideas on a tune to be played after the National Anthem and before kick off
Plenty for the play list but this is the vital one
On The One Road seems a popular choice or a U2 number, or maybe Dropkick Murphys
So can yis post your own choice please
surely it has to be something that the fans might join in with? assuming that my suggestions would be "on the one road" or "put em under pressure" (with the words put up on the big screen)
could you also suggest the following to them?
- no music after a goal as it actually reduces atmosphere
- if they insist on having the carlsberg band can they be restricted to chants, songs etc that the fans know? too often recently they just play some kind of samba beat that no one recognises or joins in with
thanks
surely it has to be something that the fans might join in with? assuming that my suggestions would be "on the one road" or "put em under pressure" (with the words put up on the big screen)
could you also suggest the following to them?
- no music after a goal as it actually reduces atmosphere
- if they insist on having the carlsberg band can they be restricted to chants, songs etc that the fans know? too often recently they just play some kind of samba beat that no one recognises or joins in with
thanks
agree with ya on this jbyrne, except the bold bit...we dont want this turning into karaoke
03/02/2009, 1:26 PM
agree with ya on this jbyrne, except the bold bit...we dont want this turning into karaoke
agree, but probably no choice though. realistically those who go on away trips will know on the one road but i doubt too many others will. would apply to most of the songs not sung regularly at our home matches
A supporter will find the song lyrics for himself. The singing section will be full of supporters.
wexfordned
03/02/2009, 2:58 PM
I would have thought that's exactly what you want, otherwise how would everybody else in the ground know what was going on and/or know the words to the song. To get as many people singing as possible is the point after all.
For what its worth & as much as I hate the song why not go with the fields of Athenry with the team appearing as the chorus starts. Its one song that virtually everybody knows