View Full Version : Songs/Chants for the Singing Section

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

Junior
24/01/2009, 9:01 PM
Shoe's off for the boys in green..:D

Could imagne 1500+ waving there shoes in Croke Park..:D

Dundee Utd fans used to sing "weve only got one shoe" whilst waving one shoe in the air. Quite funny but never really understood (nor could be bothered looking it up) why they did it? Arabs...Sand..sand in shoe?....fcuk knows....

Newryrep
25/01/2009, 10:40 AM
Dundee Utd fans used to sing "weve only got one shoe" whilst waving one shoe in the air. Quite funny but never really understood (nor could be bothered looking it up) why they did it? Arabs...Sand..sand in shoe?....fcuk knows....

Might have something to do with an arab way of insulting somebody ??? eg George W Bush and shoe incident at a press conference

Saint Tom
25/01/2009, 1:27 PM
agreed on Molly - a song synonomous with Ireland and the chorus has to be kept in. Would be absolutely rousing.

Colie
25/01/2009, 6:21 PM

Could imagne 1500+ waving there shoes in Croke Park..:DThis is the best thing I've heard of in years. We could make this synonymous with our matches if it took off. It's hilarious & would look great if there were 1500 of us doing this. Deffo gonna try get this started. Good one Damo.

Greenforever
25/01/2009, 7:42 PM
This is the best thing I've heard of in years. We could make this synonymous with our matches if it took off. It's hilarious & would look great if there were 1500 of us doing this. Deffo gonna try get this started. Good one Damo.

Probably be some pong as well :eek:

Sligo Hornet
26/01/2009, 6:40 AM

Could imagne 1500+ waving there shoes in Croke Park..:D

Would I be allowed in wearing "Trainers"?

Newryrep
26/01/2009, 11:54 AM
Dont agree. Leave that one to the scots...we have enough irish songs to works with...
If we are to take other songs in, then get good ones like this
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=a9ImCgiTV6I

Thats a cracking tune - never heard it before - who would we be stealing it from ?

26/01/2009, 12:02 PM
whose ever playing the drum is class.

26/01/2009, 12:30 PM
Shoes off for the boys in green..:D

Could imagne 1500+ waving their shoes in Croke Park..:D
Just want to be careful if we're playing Iraq.

26/01/2009, 1:12 PM
or any muslim state for that matter as its highly offensive.

26/01/2009, 1:12 PM
the thing is i cAN SEE loads of shoes going missing :D

26/01/2009, 1:29 PM
I find it highly offensive if hot girls do not get off with me. Will somebody respect my culture please.

26/01/2009, 1:36 PM
I find it highly offensive if hot girls do not get off with me. Will somebody respect my culture please.

you'll have to stop turning them down and pay for the rock.

Sligo Hornet
26/01/2009, 1:53 PM

More likely just a "small piece of grit" in Neil's case!:D

26/01/2009, 8:24 PM
She can have my cruciate ligament if she likes. Its going spare.

26/01/2009, 9:06 PM
Thats a cracking tune - never heard it before - who would we be stealing it from ?
Celtic fans got it from St Pauli. It take a bit of time for Celtic fans to get a tune going but it's becoming big now at away games.

St Pauli:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHLWclMs_Pw#t=45s

Celtic's pathetic version in comparison (needs a drum or 2) :) :
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=04WZHbQm3KU

ArdeeBhoy
27/01/2009, 12:11 AM
What about (& only If we win), something in 'solidarity', with our visitors?
eg. Georgia, 'Going home Russian soldiers, going home!'

it might be a tad 'political' for some, but seriously there should be some account taken of either acknowledging (or winding-up) the opposition in each game, and I'm not talking 'a Rainy night in Georgia'!

27/01/2009, 12:41 PM
We sang that in Mainz and it was topical now its not really topical.

damoGUFC
27/01/2009, 2:39 PM
Celtic fans got it from St Pauli. It take a bit of time for Celtic fans to get a tune going but it's becoming big now at away games.

St Pauli:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHLWclMs_Pw#t=45s

Celtic's pathetic version in comparison (needs a drum or 2) :) :
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=04WZHbQm3KU

how about this version:

We love you, we love you, we love you,
and everywhere we'll follow, we'll follow, we'll follow
cos we support the irish, the irish, the irish
and thats the way we like it, we like it, we like it.

but the main one's mentioned on here should do to get us started.:) along wit the shoe's off chant! :p

Mayo_Bhoy
27/01/2009, 4:23 PM
"Let the people sing". This being sung in a packed Celtic Park makes the hair stand up on the back of your neck. It's easy to learn and it's an IRISH song with no political underones for the west brit brigade.;) Only slagging but seriously this would be brilliant for the intro and would get the crowd up straight away.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=YfbYe3yAhRY&feature=related

27/01/2009, 9:08 PM

well said ! :D

Razors left peg
27/01/2009, 11:16 PM
"Let the people sing". This being sung in a packed Celtic Park makes the hair stand up on the back of your neck. It's easy to learn and it's an IRISH song with no political underones for the west brit brigade.;) Only slagging but seriously this would be brilliant for the intro and would get the crowd up straight away.

The players will aprove anyway....
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=UzahFCzqiiw

macdermesser
28/01/2009, 7:22 AM
This was suggested a while back .. and blobby bob came up with some lyrics

Aill-il-lu puill-il-iu - Aill-il-lu ta an Trap ar buile

28/01/2009, 9:19 AM

Would the west brit brigade be the folks who support Cork City or Bohs instead of Celtic? :confused:

ParkLife
28/01/2009, 12:14 PM
Can I make a suggestion..as it's getting close to the day of the match..Can we draw up the DEFINITIVE song selection and just stick to it.There's been so many songs mentioned that it could end up being a disaster. If someone (Mento, maybe) did up a list of the 4/5 songs that are gonna be sung. Instead of someone starting the St. Pauli ultra song that only one half know, and someone else starting "Let the people sing" that the other half know. For the first effort I think everyone singing some of the old reliables would get the rest of the stadium going, instead of it sounding like an exclusive club where no one else can join in cos they don't know the words. And one other point... Everyone jumping up and down at the same time is class..even if it's only 1000 people.

28/01/2009, 12:18 PM
Can we draw up the DEFINITIVE song selection and just stick to it.
You can't turn the section into a concert though.

Best thing is for songs to get sung and either learnt or discarded. If they're keepers, more join in next time. You know, like the olden days. This thread's just a headstart on that.

Wolfie
28/01/2009, 12:20 PM
Can I make a suggestion..as it's getting close to the day of the match..Can we draw up the DEFINITIVE song selection and just stick to it.There's been so many songs mentioned that it could end up being a disaster. If someone (Mento, maybe) did up a list of the 4/5 songs that are gonna be sung. Instead of someone starting the St. Pauli ultra song that only one half know, and someone else starting "Let the people sing" that the other half know. For the first effort I think everyone singing some of the old reliables would get the rest of the stadium going, instead of it sounding like an exclusive club where no one else can join in cos they don't know the words. And one other point... Everyone jumping up and down at the same time is class..even if it's only 1000 people.

I think some level of concensus may be required alright.

Could I suggest "Sing your hearts out for the lads" be included on the list as a statement of intent considering its the first shot for the singing section.

Its simple and 10 pints friendly. :)

ParkLife
28/01/2009, 1:17 PM
I'm sorry but I think it's much too long..for now anyway....It would take weeks to learn it off. Plus when the music is played at half time it's usually crap and no one's listening to it anyway. I'm not trying to knock your ideas, but I really want to this to work, we NEED it to work and I think sticking to a few that everyone knows and that will ignite the passion in the stadium is the way to go...for now. Something that can get louder and louder,and get people on their feet, if a song is very long only a few will sing the verses and everyone will join in in the chorus..but the song could be dead by the time it gets to the chorus.

Razors left peg
28/01/2009, 1:50 PM
Theres only one John O Shea
Only one John O Shea
He used to be sh!te
but now hes alright
Walkin in an Ireland wonderland

(copied from the Aston Villa fans singing about Heskey:D)

28/01/2009, 2:20 PM
I understand exactly what you mean, but I still think it should be played as it has a very catchy chorus and it would catch on straight away.

Also I would say that a large percentage of the ground would be Celtic fans and would know it from it being played at Celtic park.(the rest would probably know it from being an old irish song)

I think that if it was played and the singing section were singing it(even just the chorus), it would then soon catch onto the rest of the ground. A good time to play it would be just before kick off...Go on give it a shot :)

Other songs that I would recommend for the PA to play:

You'll never beat the Irish - Wolfe Tones
On the One road - Wolfe Tones

I like the Idea of the song "I love you...when you call, I'll follow..." - That would be one to sing during the match...

I never heard of the above song until this thread. Frankly we should be distancing ourselves from the songs sung by Celtic fans for fear of being tarred with the sectarian muck that they sing.

Much better Irish suggestions on here already such as

and

Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile! Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile!

Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile........! Anois ar theacht Trappattoni.

magnumpi
28/01/2009, 2:25 PM

that's the best suggestion for a song at an ireland game i've heard for a long time.

need to get singing it non-stop outside the ground so people cotton on way before the game starts so it actually gets going during the match.

a few points - should stick to "when johnny goes marching down the wing, o'shea, o'shea," even tho he won't, but changing up a song like that seems pointless.

"all you need is duff" - that's crap, "duff, duff will tear you apart again" is much better even tho again its from united.

also, has anyone come up with a song about getting to south africa, or dare we not tempt fate??

i remember hearing one guy sing, "tell me ma, me ma, to put the tea on slow, we're going to Tokyo, Tokyo." back in 2000. now, that's terrible, but we got there....................

28/01/2009, 2:26 PM
what about the Boys of the Old Brigade -------ha ha ha ha ha:)

Junior
28/01/2009, 2:31 PM
I never heard of the above song until this thread. Frankly we should be distancing ourselves from the songs sung by Celtic fans for fear of being tarred with the sectarian muck that they sing.

and

Gspain - you seem to gain great respect on this site from your fellow supporters through your undoubted knowledge and experience in following Ireland over many many years. However, you never fail to hide your utter contempt for Celtic and its fans - Completely unecessary. Let the People Sing, is a fabulous Irish song without an ounce of political incorrectness.

Fair play to Celtic fans for singing it at the games and generating atmosphere from it (afterall thats what the thread is about isnt it?), its played over the tannoy at Celtic Park. Do you have an issue with The Fields being sung? or is this another ditty you would prefer to distance ourselves from?

I think your bitterness is getting the better of you..........

Mayo_Bhoy
28/01/2009, 3:05 PM
Would the west brit brigade be the folks who support Cork City or Bohs instead of Celtic? :confused:

Of course not. You know what i mean, it was tongue in cheek.

Mayo_Bhoy
28/01/2009, 3:08 PM

and

FFS this is a thread aboiut a singing section at Croker, yet once again you bring your hatred of Celtic into it. Get a life!!:mad:

galwayhoop
28/01/2009, 3:12 PM
Gspain - you seem to gain great respect on this site from your fellow supporters through your undoubted knowledge and experience in following Ireland over many many years. However, you never fail to hide your utter contempt for Celtic and its fans - Completely unecessary. Let the People Sing, is a fabulous Irish song without an ounce of political incorrectness.

Fair play to Celtic fans for singing it at the games and generating atmosphere from it (afterall thats what the thread is about isnt it?), its played over the tannoy at Celtic Park. Do you have an issue with The Fields being sung? or is this another ditty you would prefer to distance ourselves from?

seconded.

for what it's worth the "fields", "one road" and "let the people sing" are quality songs, not in one bit offensive and would be an addition to the atmosphere if sung at games. but just because celtic fans sing some of them them there is an element on here who think we should turn away from them. :rolleyes:

galwayhoop
28/01/2009, 3:26 PM
I'm sorry but I think it's much too long..for now anyway....It would take weeks to learn it off.

possibly, but in fairness the only songs being sung at the moment are stand up & come on you boys in green. i think most people would have a vague idea of the words of both 'one road' and 'let the people sing'. perhaps it may be a tad too extreme a step from a one liner to a whole song but it would be smashing to get going.

there is something special about a crowd singing a whole song and not just a one line ditty or chorus. the likes of the derry fans singing teenage kicks or hell even those pesky brits singing their anthem and that god awful rule britannia song.

hopefully over time the singing section will grow and with it the amount of songs however for a start can we try and agree on 4 songs:

i'd go with:
1. molly malone (first verse and whole chorus)
2. one road (entire!!!)
3. the fields (first verse & chorus...repeated) &
4 Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile (the Trap remix!!!)

ParkLife
28/01/2009, 3:49 PM
FFS this is a thread aboiut a singing section at Croker, yet once again you bring your hatred of Celtic into it. Get a life!!

Ha..Ha...I can see by the time we get to the match we'll all be fighting and sitting in the Davin in silence.."'I'm not singin his song"..etc.etc..

Noelys Guitar
28/01/2009, 3:54 PM
Da, da, da, da-da, da.
Start spreading the news,
he's playing today.
He's going to score a goal for us, Keano, Keano.
If he can, *clap*clap*, score from there, he'll score from, *clap*clap*, Anywhere.
It's up to you Keano, Keanoooo.
Da, da, da, da-da, da
Da, da, da, da-da, da..."

Good one.

28/01/2009, 4:13 PM

I never heard of the song until this thread. It doesn't appear to be politically incorrect. It's not a well known song to me and I don't see why we should adopt it just because Celtic do.

I've no problem with TFOA at Irish football or Munster/Ireland rugby matches where it is always sung without the sectarian addons which are not part of the song. That is a well known Irish song. I think there are a hell of a lot better songs sung at both.

I don't have a problem with Celtic or the vast majority of their fans who are decent fans. Celtic have an issue with a minority of their fans that still sing sectarian songs (mainly away now) and they still have a hooligan problem (Barcelona, Vigo, Blackburn Seville etc). Now there are far worse than Celtic including Man Utd, Liverpool, Chelsea, Leeds etc etc. However Irish fans don't have a hooligan problem. We don't sing sectarian songs. We got a bad name for a while when Rangers players were booed by Celtic fans when they played against Ireland.

One Scottish journalist (Spiers) recently tried to pass off some zealous Celtic fans as Irish fans.

I have my own small experience of the hooligan minority. 20-30 Celtic hooligans did appear at the Niall Quinn testimonial and tried to goad the Sunderland fans into attacking them and presumably us but thankfully all they got in return was "Niall Quinn's Disco pants" sung back at them and they left early in the 2nd half.

I don't think we should be associated with Celtic fans. I think Celtic, Man Utd or Liverpool fans etc are all part of our support but club allegiances particularly foreign ones should be left behind.

28/01/2009, 4:47 PM
Ha..Ha...I can see by the time we get to the match we'll all be fighting and sitting in the Davin in silence.."'I'm not singin his song"..etc.etc..

LOL :D

Class.

Can you imagine if that were the case?!

zenokelly
28/01/2009, 5:46 PM
I think we should be realistic and sing the songs that take off at away matches, i.e.:

1. Stand up for/Come on you Boys in green
2. Fields
3. Trapattoni Ole Ole Ole
4. On the One Road
5. Trapattoni's Green & White Army
(Maybe) 6. Give It a Lash Trap
7. Molly Malone.

If they got going the whole way through the match it would be a success, and they also have the possibility of being sung all around the stadium.

28/01/2009, 7:01 PM
I think Celtic, Man Utd or Liverpool fans etc are all part of our support but club allegiances particularly foreign ones should be left behind.Well said.

Junior
28/01/2009, 9:18 PM
I never heard of the song until this thread. It doesn't appear to be politically incorrect. It's not a well known song to me and I don't see why we should adopt it just because Celtic do.

Ok so you dont know of every Irish song, thats not a crime:D But its an irish song thats been around for years, I remember hearing the Wolfetones singing it prob over 20 years ago. I dont think Ireland fans would be adopting it just because Celtic fans have, its because its a great song, that is Irish - you appear to have tunnel vision when the word celtic is used. Celtic have merely shown that it can be sung with great effect at a football match.

Are we only singing stand up for the boys in green because.......errr.....every bloody team in Britain sing a version of it?

I don't have a problem with Celtic or the vast majority of their fans who are decent fans. Celtic have an issue with a minority of their fans that still sing sectarian songs (mainly away now) and they still have a hooligan problem (Barcelona, Vigo, Blackburn Seville etc). Utter Utter nonsense. Ive been following Celtic for best part of 20 years and never actually seen a punch thrown let alone hooliganism. Celtic fans were welcomed back to Barcelona by the mayor and local police because of their impecable behaviour on the 3 visits in recent years. A Celtic Supporters club was established in Villareal after the game 4-5 years ago when fans mixed and fanfest events went brilliantly. Celtic fans received FIFA and UEFA Fair Play awards after Seville (where there was not one arrest with 80k+ visitng fans) - what on earth are you on about?

Blackburn was an issue with forged tickets. Not a good situation and obviously could cause severe problems but not quite on the scale of hooliganism

Celtic will of course have a minority of idiots who want to have a ruck but show me a club team that doesnt (more evident with certain eircom league clubs these days I believe, tho Im no expert on the EL).

One Scottish journalist (Spiers) recently tried to pass off some zealous Celtic fans as Irish fans.

Nope he said that some of the crowd were wearing Irish Football Jerseys. Unless you can prove otherwise, Id say he was probably right as you do see Irish Jerseys at Celtic Park and I doubt he has any reason to make it up. We've already done this one to death and Im not looking to give you further airtime for your Celtic prejudice.

club allegiances..........should be left behind.

Im comfortable with that, we're there to support Ireland afterall.

Back on Topic.

For me top 4 would be

Molly Malone
Let the People Sing
TFOA
Come on You Boys in Green

29/01/2009, 8:40 AM
that to me does not look like stephen carr, nor does it really look like the duffer.

29/01/2009, 9:21 AM
Utter Utter nonsense. Ive been following Celtic for best part of 20 years and never actually seen a punch thrown let alone hooliganism. Celtic fans were welcomed back to Barcelona by the mayor and local police because of their impecable behaviour on the 3 visits in recent years. A Celtic Supporters club was established in Villareal after the game 4-5 years ago when fans mixed and fanfest events went brilliantly. Celtic fans received FIFA and UEFA Fair Play awards after Seville (where there was not one arrest with 80k+ visitng fans) - what on earth are you on about?

Blackburn was an issue with forged tickets. Not a good situation and obviously could cause severe problems but not quite on the scale of hooliganism

Celtic will of course have a minority of idiots who want to have a ruck but show me a club team that doesnt (more evident with certain eircom league clubs these days I believe, tho Im no expert on the EL).

Nope he said that some of the crowd were wearing Irish Football Jerseys. Unless you can prove otherwise, Id say he was probably right as you do see Irish Jerseys at Celtic Park and I doubt he has any reason to make it up. We've already done this one to death and Im not looking to give you further airtime for your Celtic prejudice.

Im comfortable with that, we're there to support Ireland afterall.

Back on Topic.

For me top 4 would be

Molly Malone
Let the People Sing
TFOA
Come on You Boys in Green

It is not utter nonsense there have been arrests banning orders etc. Blackburn appears to have been bad, there was a 38 yearold Celtic fan arrested for stabbing a guy in Seville and another 41 yearold arrested for thrashing a hotel room. One guy got 4 years in jail in Barcelona. There have been pitch invasions, your ground has been closed by UEFA. A flight had to be grounded coming back from Vigo. Now plenty of clubs are worse. It is a small minority however you do have a problem which we don't. I'm not aware of any arrests for Irish fans abroad. The only hint of trouble we had with UEFA was when we complained over some Celtic fans booing Rangers players.

Now I appreciate the vast majority of Celtic fans are well behaved. They are probably nosier, more passionate and more colourful then we are - certainly at home anyway.

You see far far more Celtic tops on Irish trips than you would Irish tops at Celtic games. Now personally I'd prefer if fans wore Irish tops or Irish club tops. Now people can wear what they like once they are well behaved but I get concerned when I hear fans wanting us to be more and more like Celtic - they have this great new song.....

Junior
29/01/2009, 10:48 AM
It is not utter nonsense there have been arrests banning orders etc. Blackburn appears to have been bad, there was a 38 yearold Celtic fan arrested for stabbing a guy in Seville and another 41 yearold arrested for thrashing a hotel room. One guy got 4 years in jail in Barcelona. There have been pitch invasions, your ground has been closed by UEFA. A flight had to be grounded coming back from Vigo. Now plenty of clubs are worse. It is a small minority however you do have a problem which we don't. I'm not aware of any arrests for Irish fans abroad. The only hint of trouble we had with UEFA was when we complained over some Celtic fans booing Rangers players.

Now I appreciate the vast majority of Celtic fans are well behaved. They are probably nosier, more passionate and more colourful then we are - certainly at home anyway.

You see far far more Celtic tops on Irish trips than you would Irish tops at Celtic games. Now personally I'd prefer if fans wore Irish tops or Irish club tops. Now people can wear what they like once they are well behaved but I get concerned when I hear fans wanting us to be more and more like Celtic - they have this great new song.....

There were 80k+ fans in Seville!!!!! You 'say' you appreciate that the majority are well behaved but yet you want to continually quote the isolated incidents. If you dont think there is a chance that an Irish fan trashed a hotel room or other public property in Paris then you are deluded - some of the eejits we had there was obscene. The fact that they might not have got arrested for it is irrelevant.

I was at Blackburn - there was an issue with forged tickets - crowd congestion and all the mess that can bring. I didnt see any violence.

When was our ground closed by UEFA - early 80's!!!!!

You've obviously done more research on this than myself or indeed UEFA and FIFA. Fair play - you obviously have your reasons to keep banging the drum.

No one has said we need to be more like Celtic. Celtic sing an Irish song at their matches, its a good song, perhaps we could sing it too? No more no less.

Whether you like it or not Some Celtic fans are Ireland fans too - Im one of them and it pi$$es me off no end that you never fail to attempt to have a dig when its completely uneccesary and off topic.

Wolfie
29/01/2009, 12:21 PM
I think this thread proves that you can't force these things too much or over prepare them.

Having a vague idea of what could work is definitely not a bad idea, though.

It could be like the "X Factor" on the Davin Stand with all of these songs due a try out.

29/01/2009, 12:29 PM
Lads can ye bring this outside so to speak

29/01/2009, 1:13 PM
There were 80k+ fans in Seville!!!!! You 'say' you appreciate that the majority are well behaved but yet you want to continually quote the isolated incidents. If you dont think there is a chance that an Irish fan trashed a hotel room or other public property in Paris then you are deluded - some of the eejits we had there was obscene. The fact that they might not have got arrested for it is irrelevant.

I was at Blackburn - there was an issue with forged tickets - crowd congestion and all the mess that can bring. I didnt see any violence.

When was our ground closed by UEFA - early 80's!!!!!

You've obviously done more research on this than myself or indeed UEFA and FIFA. Fair play - you obviously have your reasons to keep banging the drum.

No one has said we need to be more like Celtic. Celtic sing an Irish song at their matches, its a good song, perhaps we could sing it too? No more no less.

Whether you like it or not Some Celtic fans are Ireland fans too - Im one of them and it pi$$es me off no end that you never fail to attempt to have a dig when its completely uneccesary and off topic.

I've no problem with Celtic fans being Irish fans. I know plenty.

You don't have to do any research just google.

My whole point is we do not have this minority. You may not have seen the violence in Blackburn but it was enough for the police to arrest 42 people.
I spoke with a business owner in Blackburn (not a pub) a few years ago before a game and you are certainly not remembered fondly there. Man Utd were however the worst they claimed to have encountered although they would have assumed (wrongly) that I was a Man City fan. We haven't had any attacks or stabbings. We haven't had any planes grounded. We haven't had anyone arrested for thrashing a hotel room that I'm aware of.

We don't sing sectarian songs.

Your ground was closed in 1985 by UEFA over violence at an ECWC tie in 1984.

I'm well aware that there were plenty of eejits in Paris. There was a time the night of the game that I thought it was going to kickoff. Thankfully it didn't. There is an element that I've seen in Paris, Stuttgart and Nicosia (not at other venues) that wouldn't be found wanting if anything started. Quite a few of that element were in Celtic gear. Now quite a few of the ordinary decent fans were too. There is also a scumbag element in Dublin that seems to have discovered Celtic in recent years.