View Full Version : Europa Cup Draw - Rovers will play Vllaznia(Albania) winners play Rapid Vienna
The Midget Gem
22/06/2009, 12:10 PM
I was in Montenegro last year - Ireland game and all that. ;)
What was the damage if you don't mind me asking?:o
I've got 300 ish to dubrovnick.
Boo_Boy
I hate buses. :(
22/06/2009, 12:11 PM
I don't actually remember. E470 sounds steep though, but I had a quick look on the Austrian Airlines site and it was giving E400 from Vienna to Podgorica return, so maybe it's right.
sligo23
22/06/2009, 12:15 PM
everyone to dubrovnick and bus it down???
Boo_Boy
22/06/2009, 12:16 PM
God damn buses, FML.
http://www.vllaznia.eu/images/stories/loro_borici_stadium.jpg
Think Jako are their kit sponsor too
http://forumi.kuqeblu.com/
thats their forum
It's a long drive by the way. Mostly windy hilly roads; no motorways. work out how long it should take, and then double it.
22/06/2009, 12:17 PM
Cost me 390 return to Podgorica with Malev (via Budapest). I booked that 6 months before the Ireland game though so you'll be lucky to get a price like that.
22/06/2009, 12:20 PM
2nd round draw on now
Boo_Boy
22/06/2009, 12:21 PM
Rapid Wein in the 2nd if we win!
Rovers fan
Rapid wien
Rapid Vienna if we win
Rapid Wein if we get through
red bellied
22/06/2009, 12:22 PM
Rapid Viennia in the next round.
22/06/2009, 12:22 PM
http://www.vllaznia.eu/images/stories/loro_borici_stadium.jpg
Think Jako are their kit sponsor too
http://forumi.kuqeblu.com/
thats their forum
Vienna in round 2.
22/06/2009, 12:24 PM
Rapid Vienna away on the 16th...
Boo_Boy
22/06/2009, 12:26 PM
Rapid Vienna away on the 16th...
Jaysus i didn't realise the rounds were that close together.
MMVIII
22/06/2009, 12:26 PM
Rang the club, vincent nally answered said the first leg is defo at home. Said they don't know if theyre chartering a flight or not yet. Will find out in the afternoon so don't go booking anyone yet.
The Midget Gem
22/06/2009, 12:27 PM
Lads how come all the seeded teams get a home tie first round? Are ye sure its done like that? I don't think it is!
MMVIII
22/06/2009, 12:30 PM
Its not done like that. Its a draw, either unseeded or seeded can get the home leg first.
redobit
22/06/2009, 12:41 PM
Anybody speak Albanian (http://www.fkvllaznia.net/main/)
The Midget Gem
22/06/2009, 12:43 PM
Im not going to Albania. To costly, and oxygen is on them:p. Will travel to Vienna though if we get through.:cool: God i really hope we get through:D Up the Rowvers!
22/06/2009, 12:44 PM
Ryanair fly direct from Knock to Shkoder.
well, actually it's to Rome and you take a bus.......only four days.
Boo_Boy
22/06/2009, 12:48 PM
Google does. (http://translate.google.com/translate?prev=hp&hl=en&js=n&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fkvllaznia.net%2Fmain%2F&sl=sq&tl=en&history_state0=)
MMVIII
Im not going to Albania. To costly, and oxygen is on them:p.
Oxeygen over a Rovers european game? :rolleyes:
Darco Ooragnak
Vllaznia will learn today starting from 13:30 pm to her opponent Europe League, UEFA, as we shed the lottery tureve first kompeticioni this. Pėrfaqėsues tė klubit do tė nisen sot nė Nion tė Zvicrės, ku do te zhvillohet ceremonia Representatives of the club will leave today Nion in Switzerland, where the ceremony will be held
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=sq&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fkvllaznia.net%2Fmain%2F
redobit
Im not going to Albania. To costly, and oxygen is on them:p. Will travel to Vienna though if we get through.:cool: God i really hope we get through:D Up the Rowvers!
In years to come it wont be the extra couple of hundred euros extra you spent on the trip that you will remember.
The middle of last season we would have jumped at this chance lads.
MMVIII
22/06/2009, 12:49 PM
Out of interest, many on here planning to go?
22/06/2009, 12:50 PM
Chatting to the brother, he spent a while over there last year, pints are priced under a euro. Going booking soon.
Boo_Boy
22/06/2009, 12:52 PM
Out of interest, many on here planning to go?
I'm waiting to see what a friend decides, i hate buses so much.
Don't fancy flying to Montenegro and getting my crotch felt up by a dude on the border checking from guns ;).
Rovers fan
22/06/2009, 12:57 PM
Newest member on foot.ie: Vlazznia:)
22/06/2009, 12:58 PM
I'm waiting to see what a friend decides, i hate buses so much.
Don't fancy flying to Montenegro and getting my crotch felt up by a dude on the border checking from guns ;).
I'd say you've just filled the bus !!!!!!!!!!
22/06/2009, 1:00 PM
Sligo Rovers was established in year 1928, which does not leave much trace in the Irish championship, or even in European events
The cheek!
Boo_Boy
22/06/2009, 1:08 PM
Newest member on foot.ie: Vlazznia:)
Mirė se vini nė vendin tonė :).
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2006/09/Borat280906_228x419.jpg
Rovers Maniac
22/06/2009, 1:10 PM
Whats the chances of a the club chartering a plane? I am thinking of going.
MMVIII
22/06/2009, 1:14 PM
Rang the club earlier. Said they might from Knock. No defo yet though. told me to ring back later
Inside Man
22/06/2009, 1:20 PM
Dissapointed with this draw. Was hoping for a cheaper trip as things are tight atm. As said earlier the trip to Vienna would be cheaper and more glamorous. Could make a small holiday out of it with the missus.
Just been looking at their ground and the area on Google earth. Nice enough looking place. Beside a big lake with the coast close by. Bit like Sligo really.
MMVIII
22/06/2009, 1:37 PM
Few cans and a swim in the lake after the match anyone? :)
Boo_Boy
22/06/2009, 1:37 PM
Just been looking at their ground and the area on Google earth. Nice enough looking place. Beside a big lake with the coast close by. Bit like Sligo really.
Yea you can see Vllaznia on the seats in the stadium from google earth, modern technology is terrific.
MMVIII
22/06/2009, 1:38 PM
In years to come it wont be the extra couple of hundred euros extra you spent on the trip that you will remember.
Here here.
Jeebus
22/06/2009, 1:39 PM
Dissapointed with this draw. Was hoping for a cheaper trip as things are tight atm. As said earlier the trip to Vienna would be cheaper and more glamorous. Could make a small holiday out of it with the missus.
Flights to Vienna are quite expensive. Aer Lingus fly direct from Dublin. Looking at paying approx €350 return p.p.
MMVIII
22/06/2009, 1:45 PM
Flights to Vienna are quite expensive. Aer Lingus fly direct from Dublin. Looking at paying approx 350 return p.p.
I'm sure you'd get cheaper than that. Just wouldn't go direct.
LondonRover
22/06/2009, 1:55 PM
Rapid Vienna'd be a good trip alright if we get through (better than the trip to Israel that I was told was on the UEFA site earlier!).
Can't get to either leg of the 1Q round so really really hoping that the Rovers get through.
Anyone know if these Albanians are any good?
22/06/2009, 2:04 PM
I couldn't afford to go to our game in Bulgaria in 2000. As such, the above is absolutely 100% true.
The Midget Gem
22/06/2009, 3:06 PM
1. They finished second in the Albanian Premier league, behind the champions by 4pts and securing their Europa league spot by a massive 20pts.
2. 2 years ago they beat Zagreb in the Intertoto Cup.
3. Last year they got to the second round of Uefa Cup by beating a Slovenian side in first round.
4. In their last 6 attempts in European football(this decade) they have only failed to reach the second round on 1 occasion, losing to Dundee United.
5. They have the highest attendances in the Albanian league. Average attendances of 4,255. Highest attendances of 10,000 last year. Supposedly they pulled 20,000 for a match in their 01/02 season.
6. Their staduim has a capacity of 20,300.
7. Vioresin Sinani is their dangerman. Plays for the Albanian national team, has played in Turkish Super Lig and also Croation Premier league. Notched up 14 goals last season.
8. Their season finished officially at the end of may with the their play-offs. Vlliaznia have not played a competitive match since mid may.
Just said I'd post it for anyone interested:o.
red_away
22/06/2009, 3:37 PM
We should forget about vienna as there albans will be no mugs!!
Rovers Maniac
22/06/2009, 3:59 PM
1. They finished second in the Albanian Premier league, behind the champions by 4pts and securing their Europa league spot by a massive 20pts.
2. 2 years ago they beat Zagreb in the Intertoto Cup.
3. Last year they got to the second round of Uefa Cup by beating a Slovenian side in first round.
4. In their last 6 attempts in European football(this decade) they have only failed to reach the second round on 1 occasion, losing to Dundee United.
5. They have the highest attendances in the Albanian league. Average attendances of 4,255. Highest attendances of 10,000 last year. Supposedly they pulled 20,000 for a match in their 01/02 season.
6. Their staduim has a capacity of 20,300.
7. Vioresin Sinani is their dangerman. Plays for the Albanian national team, has played in Turkish Super Lig and also Croation Premier league. Notched up 14 goals last season.
8. Their season finished officially at the end of may with the their play-offs. Vlliaznia have not played a competitive match since mid may.
Just said I'd post it for anyone interested:o.
They lost 6-0 to Dundee, then they lost 8-0 to Napoli, the crowd they beat last year from Slovenia finished i think 10th in their league are rank useless and were out of season and have been hammered the season before that by a Bosnian team and the season before that to a Bulgarian team 6-3 and 6-0.
The Intertoto form is something i would pay little notice to as so many clubs don't think it seriously but anyway that was NK Zagreb and not Dinamo Zagreb and there is a major difference. ;) It will be a very difficult match and we will need Peers, Parkhouse and Holmes back to have a chance but i believe meeting a team out of season gives us a real chance of turning them over. They done well in their own league last season but i think they may have lost one or two of their players from last years team.
They won their league a few seasons ago and just sneaked through against a crowd from Iceland an away goals, they are probably a decent side but no need to make them out to be world beaters either. Look put it this way Bohs or Derry would take them and i would fancy us with a full side to take an out of season Bohs if we were in season. There is a fair bit for us to be positive about the draw but we need to have our injured players back and the fact the our lads will be in season for this and fully fit is a major plus imo. I am sure they won't be delighted with drawing a team have way through their season. C'mon the Rovers
Got the Albanian side. At least we got the home leg first, they mighnt bother turning up.
They'll turn up all right. Getting them to go back home might be the problem!:D