Page 51 of 52 FirstFirst ... 4149505152 LastLast
Results 1,001 to 1,020 of 1038

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by Ruben Sosa View Post
    How are Douglas hall doing these day's??
    MSL:
    Senior:
    Won Beamish stout Senior Cup
    Runners up in FAI (to rockmount)
    3rd in league
    Junior:
    Won 1st Division
    Won league cup

AUL:
    2nd in AUL Division 1 (no promotion as only league winners go up)
    They looked very strong at the start of the season but faltered in the run in...

All in all I would say a pretty good season for the Douglas Hall club.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

Thumbs up the truth the hole truth an nothin but the truth

The rumor mill seems to be in full wing an preseason is'nt even upon us yet.A few yarns bein spread already............

Ballypheane may or may not be puttin a side in,there manager from last year is gone for sure.

The Kinsale management has jumped ship,pardon the pun an a couple of the crew too,off to Everton Srns I've heard.An truth in this Tizz.

I can confirm the Gratts will have a new manager for the new season.Last years manager Pat Caulfield has to go abroad with work an I would just like to take the oppertuinity to say thanks for everything over the last 3 an a bit seasons.Player wise there wont be many changes.A few out an a good few in as with all of us I'm sure.Pre season for us starts next Tuesday night up in O'Neill Park at 7:30 if anyone is interested ye are more than welcome.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

I heard a rumour that the Ballyphehane manager is making his way up to Grattan. Any truth in it?

Rumour Mill

Barry McGovern is gone to Everton as far as i'm aware. Peter Jones is back in the Kinsale hot seat which everyone is delighted about.

Heard lots of different rumours about players coming and going but until preseason starts i cant confirm anything.

Definately in for an exciting season tho!!

41 Posts

Horses for courses

What I will confirm is that he is at present one of 4 or 5 people that have expressed an interest in doing the job.Its probably one of the plum management jobs out there with regards to football in Cork.T'is just a matter of finding the right man or men for the job.

But I will add in sayin that the rumor mill again is workin overdrive at the minute an it dos'nt help that we share a bar with 4 or 5 teams .According to the stories being banded about at the minute we wont even have enough to field a team with all the lads leavin us to go to who ever.Players are always bein tapped up an will always be.Part an parcel of the game,especially if you have a good group of players.Im very confident in who we will have again with us an we just need to strenghten again in certain areas an we should have that sorted over the pre season.No point in signing every tom,dick an harry just to have numbers.

The manager will sign who he wants just before we have to hand over our registration forms,that way he can choose exactly what he needs for the season.

Pre season is always a funny time,your hopin you main players turn up an you panic when instead of 20 for the first session you only get 10,holidays an other clubs inviting players to train usually makes up the reasons for poor numbers.Tis not till 2 or 3 weeks before the season starts that you start to get any major amount of bodies up an you can have alook at things.As far as I am aware we will only have 1 of last years bunch not rejoining us.His reasons for leaving are his own an its his decision.You would have thought that it we would find it easy to attract new players but if anything its the opposite.I get the feeling fellas would like to try but dont have the confidence to come up in light of some of the players who they would be competing with for places.Cant understand that myself.
    Last edited by littleman; 01/07/2008 at 9:23 PM.

First Post on here. Have been reading with great interest for a while though

Have a strange situation that I can't go into yet but I need to ask a question about. I'm thinking of entering a team in the AUL. Looks like I may be able to get a pitch from the corporation. Anyone have any idea what the costs are to run a team for a season. Both direct costs and indirect costs?? Insurance, public liability etc. Any info would be greatfully appreciated

41 Posts

running costs,you may not like what you read

Insurence is roughly 1200 euro per team.But it will depend on where you may be getting the corporation pitch.ie Norhtvilla Park is corpo ground but the Fai Junior council wount let games be played there unless new goal posts are erected,cost roughly 1200 to 1500 euro a set.Shop around for insurence as there are more than one Fai endorsed insurence company around now an you have to have insurence before the accept you in.

Dont know if you know this or not but the Aul wont take any new teams unless they have dressing rooms organised as well.And you need to have a written undertaking of this as well for them.These can be from 50 euro up per game,if there available.

Refs range from between 37:50 up to 42:50 dependin on who or where your playin.If the ref has to travel from afar it can be higher again.

Training in one of the all weather places is again roughly 50 to 75 euro a night for an hour.They normally want a deposit of 4 weeks money to hold a pitch for you an are nearly always fully booked so ring now if your serious.

A set of nets will cost roughly 200/300 euro an corner flags can cost 100 for a set of 4.

And lastly think wisely an long an hard before you start up a new club,no thanks an a awful lot of hard work is all thats in front of you.Unless you won the lotto an have an bottomless pit of cash it will eat money to kick a ball in Cork.You must be mad,trust me dont bother an join an existin club near ya.Theres nothin worth the grief of trying to run a club.Trust me I know............................
    Last edited by littleman; 02/07/2008 at 4:02 AM.

Can't give much details but it seems the AUL rule won't apply. I have gear etc. I was just wondering about renting a pitch with a dressing room somewhere and insurance. Affiliate fees I know about. I have been involved with an AUL team for a few years but not anymore

Sent you a PM Littleman

41 Posts

wow ther wilbur

You said you had a corpo pitch,thats different to rentin a pitch.Rentin a pitch is harder because the good ones ie,Garryduff an Pfhizrs or Lakewood are about 100+ euros per week at least with showers an for home games you add the refs fee an your lookin at in excess of 160 euros a week minimum.Thats a hell of a lot of money for a junior club to be payin out on a weekly basis.Lesser ones ,ie Hillington Park,Pidgeon Hill ,Killeady or Monard even Killbarry are 75 plus an upwards an the facilitys are basic if at all.Crossbarry would be the bottom of the pile.God only knows what you'd end up sharin with,Cows or even worse the Shippin League.Dont go there.

Villa in the Prem may be lookin to share but thats only a maybe.If your from Norrieland good times because theres lots of corpo pitchs,well a few anywhay,if your not bad times ,because there aint that many on the southside sorry always wanted to do that,

Insurence comes in 2 parts.
    One , Public Indemnity which protects you from any person that dose damage to himself while hes on the pitch or dressing rooms when he shouldnt be.
    Two, any person that dose damage to himself while playin for ye an ye need to get either physio or more serious treatment,it might seem a bit much but its well worth it if a lad gets a bad injury.
    You need both an normally come all rolled into one package from one of the Fai indorsed insurers.O'Driscoll /O'Flynn is the one we use if I'm correct.
    Last edited by littleman; 02/07/2008 at 4:13 AM.

Sent you another PM there littleman

I'd love to give details on here but until i look into it further i can't. It might be a load of crap. Probably won't even try it as I've already given my word to join another club as manager

Re

Did a bit more investigating today. It appears this will not happen and it should never have been suggested to me in the first place

41 Posts

pipe dreams

not surprised,enjoy your new managers job though.

Bit of a weird thing to suggest though. Thats why i had to look into it. !!!

41 Posts

Weird,this is the Aul your dealin with

Nothin would surprise me where the Aul are concerned.The only thing weirder than tryin to understand the Aul is tryin to understan why someone would want to draw all the hassel of startin a new team on himself.Better the devil you know an stick with the crowd you agreed to manage.

Theres a couple of head the balls on this site who only post somtin every once in a while an then dissapear but its nearly all in good spirit otherwise..A little niggly sometimes but its good to keep us on our toes.We have Kinsale,Wilton,Leeside,Innishvilla,Grattan,Springf ield,Doughlas Hall an Pearce to name but a few represented here.Well there the ones who admit to followin a club at least an another dozen who post ther own up takes on the lastest gossip.Still as I've said we treat each others comments for the most part with respect and even appriciate the other side of the story from time to time.

Can add another one to the list

Looks like we can add another club to the list so . I'll tell ye in time though

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Theres a couple of head the balls on this site who only post somtin every once in a while an then dissapear but its nearly all in good spirit otherwise..
    I think that I would qualify as one of the "head the balls" that the wee man is referring to
    Any news on the AUL startup date. I know its the middle of August but what date exactly??? Any updates would be apreciated.

Season starts

Season normally starts on the 3rd weekend in August but normally around the 23rd/24th which happens to be the 4th weekend in August this year

Well Guys,sorry haven't been on in a while.Things been quite hectic at the moment.Anyway just over a month til we are back into the swing of things.Only one main change in the park camp that is losing our first team manager Gerry O Riordan.New manager yet to be appointed.Couple of old faces decided to return but will more than likely start of with the second team.Will keep ye posted

Page 51 of 52 FirstFirst ... 4149505152 LastLast