Results 981 to 1,000 of 1038

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Howr things

Well lads, I havent been on here in a fair while. A lot has indeed happened since!

My congratulations to both Grattan and Kinsale respectively. You both deserved silverware for your efforts this season. In fairness there has been a right spread of trophies this season amongst the top teams:

Grattan - League champs
    Kinsale - AOH
    B'hane - Mossie
    Leeside - MJC
    & Park can be proud of their efforts in being runners up in both the league and AOH.

As for our own final in the MJC, I dont think there has been any post from a leeside player so here my tuppence worth. Great win on the day - I thought some of our players were outstanding - Joe Lyons, Alec Nodwell, Ricky Getts and Derek Dulea. I expected more from Ballynanty but its all on the day that counts. There were some celebrations afterwards I must say,went on for a number of days!! On a personal note, I was due to start up front but pulled my hamstring in training during the week. A setback, but sure what can you do, I was just delighted for Barr and the lads. If we can strengthen the depth of our squad during the summer, I'd love to see us now go for a tilt at the title. We're losing Joe Lyons to travel though and he will be a loss

A great season all round anyway and congrats again to all involved.

Rebel

Cool Grattan are champions

First I'd like to congratulate Kinsale on winning the AOH cup, to say ye needed to win was the under statement of the season, well done to all at the seaside.

Onto Grattan & the gamble paid off on sat,playing 2 games in 2 days was a chance we took but we knew we had to go for it against Kanturk. Goals in the 5th,6th & 8th mins got us off to the best possible start ( we also missed 2 in that time) a 4th in the 77th min started the party.The football we played for the 90 mins was a pleasure to watch , even the locals were surprised to see how well we play.Fair play also to Kankurk they never gave up & always played ball, its just that we were the better team.

Sunday we were in party mode for the clash with Ballyphehane Celtic but still the lads wanted to win & that they did with an emphatic 3 - 1 win to end a long hard season. Cans lifted the cup & the celebrations started. Well done to Pat & all the players.

Still a bit hungover at the min so I'll take my leave now to meet up with some of the lads in the Anglers
    Last edited by pass&move; 26/05/2008 at 12:20 PM.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    If Kinsale's stars, Derek McCarthy and Derek Varian, shine then I reckon that Kinsale can't be stopped at this level.
    Congratulations to all involved with Kinsale. Great win especially for some of the old dogs who mightn't get too many more chances to win it. Still, after the celebrations calm down, Kinsale will have to review their season and ask why they underperformed so badly (except in the AOH Cup, obviously). A cup win is great, but their league points total was their worst in years and their tame exits from the MJC and the FAI jun will hurt on reflection. Are Kinsale on the way back up or down???

Congratulations to Grattan for retaining the Prem title. The league table doesn't lie at the end of the season and the best team is always on top. Other teams will have to look at themselves and ask what do they have to do to get to 44pts next season.

Park are improving year by year and silverware isn't far away if they add a few players to the team.

Ballyphehane, after a great start fell away, but they are young enough to come back strongly next season. They probably need to improve their squad considerably if they want to challange for the league.

Leeside's MJC win was a great boost for Cork soccer and themselves in this difficult time for them, but they shouldn't be relying on cup runs to save their season every year. They need to improve the squad if they are ever going to challange for the league seriously.

Good to see that the trophies were shared out though, and that no team has dominated the silverware. But Grattan are the best in the AUL at the moment and its up to everyone else to try to knock them off their perch

41 Posts

t'was worth the wait

Hi lads you will excuse me for not gloatin in our victory but I'm just delighted its all over,been a long hard couple of seasons an its catchin up on me.We took the gamble in playin Kanturk Saturday then Sun against Bally but it was worth it.We won both games well an even encreased our points tally from last season which was a surprise considering the teams that were in with a shout this season an our goals for 55 in 18 games is astounding.My only regret is that we didnt add a cup this year but I'm confident even at this stage that that will change next season.Some surprised me this year an some didnt,some fought above there weight an some struggled but everyone had a bite at one of the cups that was on offer so all in all it was dished out fair an square.Congrats to one an all an well done to all the league an cup winners an for those less fortunate theres always next season.cheerioooooooooooooo
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Well what can i say.So near but yet so far.
    Bit disappointed over Friday night.We made a great start and to be fair it was a very even affair.But two moments of class finishing turned the game.The lads gave their all.Bone in goal was outstanding as were the back four.Our centre half Eamon was by far the best player on the pitch.Our midfielders played well also but we really lacked firepower up front.Still a great achievment and this team is really growing so lets hope we go one better next year.
    Bally couldnt fill a team last night so just Leeside and the 'seasiders' to go.
    Park A : League runners up
    Aoh Cup Finalists
    Park B : 5th in League
    County Cup Semi-Finalists

Roll on next season.
    On a final note well done to Grattan,Leeside and Kinsale on their recent success.

Have a good summer

Our game with Park has been called off as Park have already secured second place.

Cheers for all the fun throughout the year lads. Enjoy the summer sun(hopefully) and we'll be back in a few weeks time!!

41 Posts

nearly 4got.

Team of the year,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Leeside hands down for winning the Mjc.

Manager of the year,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,My head says Pat Caulfield from Grattan for taking Grattan from the position they were in "3 points from there first 3 games" to taking the next 40 from a possible 45points(the final 15 games reads W 13/D 1/ L 1),in itself I think thats an encredible achivement Add to it the last 16 of the Fai,quaters of the Mjc an semis of the Aoh a half dozen Oscar players an another Irish Junior call up for Pa Connors.By anyones standards that would take some beating .,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,The Dillons Cross management also could stake a claim,as I think this is there 3rd promotion on the trot,Aoh quater finalists an semis of the Michaels an one other cup I think,,,,,,,,,,,,Kinsale for winning there first ever Aoh,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Blackstone if they do the double,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but my heart tells me it will go to the Leeside management.
    Last edited by littleman; 30/05/2008 at 3:39 AM.

41 Posts

New rules for next season

Players can only transfer in either November or Jan,thats it.
    Maximum of only 20 players allowed on each team.
    A walk over will cost ya 150 euro an the second one will see ya gone.

There could be some sence in the old Aul dog yet,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post

These sensible rules are a long time coming. Players will have to be very careful who they sign for in August. Is this rule just for the AUL or is it nationwide? How does this affect players transfering between different leagues ie MSL/AUL?

20 players per team could cause all sorts of problems with a few injuries and a few outward transfers during the windows. Some of the big clubs - Grattan, Kinsale and Leeside have used more than 20 players in recent seasons and still had problems at the end of the season. I hope that this is a national rule as teams from other counties with big squads will have an unfair advantage in the FAI and MJ Cups.
    But it's easy to be critical. At least there is something being done to address problems. Lets give it a go and if its not working then try something else.

Do these new rules affect all divisions?? Premier to 3rd division..also will club secretary be informed so he can inform manager and so on..?
    Football is more than just a game,it's life..!!

41 Posts

All changes are across the board

Your club secretary should already be aware of these changes.Premier to division 3 it dosent matter.20 signed players per squad.I am presuming that if a player jacks a team in of his own accord then the club would have to cancel his registration before they are allowed sign another player.Your club secretary will or should ask all these questions next Tue night at the Aul AGM.

21 Posts
    Your club secretary should already be aware of these changes.Premier to division 3 it dosent matter.20 signed players per squad.I am presuming that if a player jacks a team in of his own accord then the club would have to cancel his registration before they are allowed sign another player.Your club secretary will or should ask all these questions next Tue night at the Aul AGM.
    This '20 man per squad' rule would seriously hurt the clubs who in the past have relied on GAA players (No harm there!). Clubs will have to pick their squad very carefully - maybe sacrificing ability for an average player who is always available. Interesting times ahead.
    But does this rule apply to other leagues?? Tipp, Limerick, MSL?
    And does the 'transfer window' rule apply to other leagues also??

41 Posts

The ins an outs

Until we hear what the grand council have to say on the subject I would'nt go that far into it.

Arite chaps. Let us know how the AUL AGM goes on tonight!

Thanks

41 Posts

Overall marks on the Aul Agm

I arrived to hear disco music from the upstairs venue the Agm is ususlly held in an thought to meself they jumped into bed
    with the Msl an are havin a party..Mores the pity but up stairs was booked for a party an the rest of us special people were crammed into what looked like the parlor in O'Connors downstairs.

When we were all squased in the fun started.The commitee itself looks alot like DADS ARMY if anyone can remember the programe.The chairman especially akin to Capt Mannering trying to control his crew .they gave a few things a go ie, mainly listening to clubs but never really looked comfortable when asked to explain what was bein discussed.All farts an aches an pains from the top table.Laugh of the night came when Capt Mannering asked for the mobiles to be turned off in the middle of a particularlly impotant question.It rang an rang again ,he got very miffed until on of his fellow platoon realised it was his phone.Cue uncontroled laughter.

For proposed changes , youth players have to be registered with the Aul if they are to be used at junior level an are only allowed 5 games with the Aor B side,6th game with who ever makes them an A or B player if you follow my drift.Apparently clubs were usin there youth players when ever they wanted too an it was totally illegal because the Aul an Youths league are not connected.There were a few very red faces amoungst the floor when that was said I can tell ya when they realised they could have been thrown out of whatever competition they were in league or cup.Passed on the night..

Only 2 windows for transfers.November an January.Passed on the night as well.

A player can only register for 2 junior clubs in any one season. Not passed.Sorry lads but even though the majority of clubs in the Aul might not agree with it an wouldnt pass the rule the Fai will be bringin this one on board before Christmas so its comin whether it was passed or not.For the record I agree with it.Secondly as there are only 2 chances to transfer each season an considering how long it takes to transfer it amounts to the same thing anyway.

Big fines for walkovers,possible expulsion.Passed on the night.No more caves or driveways to tog off in,,,,pardon me if I giggle but cant see much of a change to this one.

Balls again were on the agenda with heated debate on why Umbro were trying to get us to handle there expensive balls,hehehe.When they had perfectly good cheap ones available in your local Statoil with every 5 euro of petrol.No but honestly they are pawning off balls on us for between 40 an 50 euro an they also have a ball for 25 but they neglected to tell the Aul that before the Aul purchesed 150 of the expensive ones.Umbro an quality,sorry but it dosent work for me..

The debeate which got everyone hotunder the colar was the venue.The biggest turnout in years an we were in a front room,no jokin 60 people in a room 30 by 30.I played against some of the lads that were there on the night in my younger years an I didnt get this near to them on the pitch when they were markin me.

All jokes aside it was good to see the Aul are tryin to improve,all be it slowly but its still a step forward.So of the proposals were just a bit beyond the ability of our league to impose.Good ideas just a bit to much to move forward so quickly but again it was impressive to see that they are actually tryin.I just hope the clubs react in the right manner an become more of a help than a hindrence.Some of the questions an answers that came from the floor just went to show all that was backward about the teams in the Aul rather than the league itself.You hear clubs complaing about fixture pile ups because they have good runs in the cups an are forced to play lots of games late on.My advice,go out in the first round of all the cups an be finished your season in January.Mayfield an Blarney all weathers are there to be used now.We for one will no longer be callin any games whatso ever off if the weather is bad.League or cup.We played every weekend of the season an we still finished up basically one of the last to finish.Teams call off games because there short a few of there regulars or the lads are away ect ect,only foolin your self lads an then ye whinge about a backlog of fixtures.

Only 2 sour notes , that Richie Browne is steping down as Fixture Secretary.I thought Richie was bang on in fairness to deal with an a nicer gent you will never meet.For those of ye who complain prepare for things to get a lot worse because of whats on the commitee now I cant see anyone doin as good a job.

Jp got a mention for winning his Junior caps in last seasons AGM minutes ,but him an Pa Connors also played out in the Cross with the Amatures against the USA close season an Pa was also selected for the Trianglular Competition in the Isle of Man this season,yet nothin said.When was the last time the Aul had 2 players capped at Junior level,let alone Amature level.
    Last edited by littleman; 11/06/2008 at 5:29 AM.

21 Posts
    Thanks for the update littleman. Any talk on how the '20 player squad' rule will work? ie. with injuries, defections and transfers!

41 Posts

Little mercys

No the 20 man proposal was not passed .Clubs have no limit on squad numbers.

Cheers for the update littleman

41 Posts

early rumor's

I heard over the weekend that Ballypheane have folded,any truth to that,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

41 Posts

No smoke without fire

Heard Ballypheane would'nt be able to field half of what they had last season becuase of lads havin to head to Oz an Blighty to find work.As well as that there are a few headed up to Norrieland if I'm to belive my sources correctly.Danny Longs name was mentioned an another midfielder who was on the Oscar Traynor squad with some of our lads.Would be an excellent addition to the Gratts,but I'll wait an see what happens.

Page 50 of 52 FirstFirst ... 404849505152 LastLast