Page 8 of 19 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

Thread: The Sam Maguire

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    6 months. You ****ing beauty. It's about time they made an example of him - I remember him clouting an Armagh lad a few years back off the ball at the Q Finals stage.
    Would that have been John Toal? The same John Toal who was suspended for the game so they made him "Maor Uisce" for the day? The same John Toal that stamped on Gal on the ground just before Gal slapped him one.

I'm not defending what he did, it was reckless, referees have to a personal area where they are safe, and Paul violated that.
    There are worse around than him.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EAFC_rdfl View Post
    think i'll have to tune in to the beeb so to watch fermanagh derry, could go either way & will be the most even match of the weekend I'd say, Derry though should be too strong
    Yep, this will be the match of the weekend. I was very impressed with how intelligently Fermanagh used the ball against the Monaghan. Its another step up though. Any of the 4 teams left in Ulster could win it this year.

Can't see past Mayo in the Connacht game, while the Laois Wexford game is fairly tight to call too. Wexford at a push.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Would that have been John Toal? The same John Toal who was suspended for the game so they made him "Maor Uisce" for the day? The same John Toal that stamped on Gal on the ground just before Gal slapped him one.

I'm not defending what he did, it was reckless, referees have to a personal area where they are safe, and Paul violated that.
    There are worse around than him.
    would agree with that kingdom, i was in that day for our game v cork and Toal was far from inocent, to think he was only a maor uisce and to be carrying on like that. that said i wouldnt be a galvin fan at all, but thats one incident he shouldn't be blamed for. on a side note it was some game, a great come back from you lot!

Yep, this will be the match of the weekend. I was very impressed with how intelligently Fermanagh used the ball against the Monaghan. Its another step up though. Any of the 4 teams left in Ulster could win it this year.

Can't see past Mayo in the Connacht game, while the Laois Wexford game is fairly tight to call too. Wexford at a push.
    just noticed a wee while ago, that games on this evening at 6 on bbc2
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EAFC_rdfl View Post
    would agree with that kingdom, i was in that day for our game v cork and Toal was far from inocent, to think he was only a maor uisce and to be carrying on like that. that said i wouldnt be a galvin fan at all, but thats one incident he shouldn't be blamed for. on a side note it was some game, a great come back from you lot!

just noticed a wee while ago, that games on this evening at 6 on bbc2
    That Armagh game meant a lot to so many people. Armagh have never given us a beating, I still contend that they're single win in 02 was down to Kerry's poor shooting in the second half, Brosnan must have shot wide 5 times in the second half.

Looking forward to the Fermanagh game, love their jersey, if they can get a grip of Bradley (easier said than done) they'll do well.

75 Posts
    they will hopefully learn from our mistake and double up on him, the form hes in its the only way to play him. or at the very least try a few different men on him, donegal bench didn't even seem to realise the need to try some one different on him when Neil McGee was getting roasted.
    Reading Jack O'Connors book that point about the Armagh game and its importance is very obvious (the main reason I enjoyed the comeback was for a few older kerry fans sitting in front of me who had taken dog abuse from the mouthy armagh fans for most of the game). Oh and also cause Armagh had been hammering us everytime we played over the few years before that
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

1,928 Posts
    It looks to be just as hard a scrap to win the Anglo Celt than Sam.
    A good win for Fermanagh, just spoiled a bit by the awfulness of Derry.
    Can't remember Derry winning one midfield ball. Without Fergal Doherty, Derry are rudderless.
    An exciting enough game, it was like chalk and cheese, one team with a plan that worked and the other with no direction.
    Fermanagh took an age to claw back the Derry lead.
    Even with their poor play, Derry had plenty of possession in the last 10 or 15 minutes to create chances to level the score, considering the ability in their team it was brainless play.
    Overall I was just shocked by Derry's performance against a lively but limited Fermanagh

So far in Ulster it's Down have brought something refreshing with superb fielding, they are still the outsiders but showed a lot of balls to win the replay against Tyrone.

Fermanagh did make two excellent stops in their box in the last few minutes. The keeper clawed the ball back from a certain goal then one of the Fermanagh lads threw himself in front of a shot.

Derry could easily have won that game. The amount of times they got the ball in the Fermanagh in the last few minutes was unreal. But, they had noone to knock them over. I was a bit disappointed in Derry. I got the impression they'd be a lot better.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portăo de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

214 Posts
    At least we're off to a winning start this year. The big test will be Galway in 3 weeks........I'll be going over for that one.

Surprised at how bad Derry were yesterday - Muldoon was non existent. Fair play to Fermanagh though - a big scalp and you cannot write them off in the final IMO.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    I love the way this Wexford team keeps getting underestimated. They won a trot today even with Matty Forde having a fairly wretched day. They must be one of the fittest teams in the country too, they were still running as hard in the last minute as the first, Red Barry hardly looked like he broke a sweat. Bring on the Leinster final...the football not the hurling, that could be rather embarrassing
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Sligo-Mayo was a terrible game.After ten minutes i knew we were gonna be annihilated.We had no penetration,no direction.It was a disgrace.Mayo weren't great tbh,I think galway will easily beat them in the connacht final.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Sligo-Mayo was a terrible game.After ten minutes i knew we were gonna be annihilated.We had no penetration,no direction.It was a disgrace.Mayo weren't great tbh,I think galway will easily beat them in the connacht final.
    Galway didn't look too good against Leitrim, I'm not sure why you'd be so confident they'll easily deal with Mayo.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    I love the way this Wexford team keeps getting underestimated. They won a trot today even with Matty Forde having a fairly wretched day. They must be one of the fittest teams in the country too, they were still running as hard in the last minute as the first, Red Barry hardly looked like he broke a sweat.
    I was delighted they got through and in a canter.
    Maybe a wretched day by Matty Forde's standards, he scored 7 points and had about the same nr. of misses. Most of his misses were difficult long range or long angled shots and most of them were not far off.
    He is about the only player i'd go out of my way to have a look at.

634 Posts
    Congrats to Fermanagh and Wexford, two fine wins. For various reasons I didn't get to see any of the live games but I saw the highlights of both and the lowlights of the connacht game. Ulster final will be interesting, and while Fermanagh have nothing to fear of either team, I'm sure they would prefer Down to Armagh.
    Great stuff by Wexford and when you consider the wides Forde had it really shows the scoreline didn't flatter them.

Does anyone feel like the championship hasn't started yet?

1,928 Posts
    Matty Forde doesn't hit wides, he nearly scores them.
    It would have been an outrageously brilliant performance if he had popped over 4 of them.
    Like a good class perfectionist player he isn't in the least affected by his near misses or by pressure, he just keeps practicing until his accuracy is fine tuned.

Congrats to Fermanagh and Wexford, two fine wins. For various reasons I didn't get to see any of the live games but I saw the highlights of both and the lowlights of the connacht game. Ulster final will be interesting, and while Fermanagh have nothing to fear of either team, I'm sure they would prefer Down to Armagh.
    Great stuff by Wexford and when you consider the wides Forde had it really shows the scoreline didn't flatter them.

Does anyone feel like the championship hasn't started yet?
    The real business starts with round 1 of the qualifiers.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    The real business starts with round 1 of the qualifiers.
    Yeah I'd go along with that. I feel there's been a real anti-climax so far. Might be to do with Euro 08. I mean Down have knocked Tyrone in the Ulster Cship. Thats a big deal but it hasn't really felt that way.

As for the qualifiers, there are going to be some good games this year. Derry, Tyrone, Donegal, Monaghan, Meath, Louth, Longford, Offaly if drawn at home would be tricky too.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Wexford for Leinster?
    man im so stupid that i didnt put any dosh on them, at least each way
    does anyone know what price they would have been at the start......7/1?

1,928 Posts
    Wexford would have been 6th in line for the Leinster title in May, around 14/1 methinks.

2 games on Sunday, the undercard - Leinster semi final at 2pm, relegated to TV3 coverage
    The big game - the Ulster semi final at 4pm. (RTE and BBC)

Should be a fascinating game at Clones with widely contrasting teams. Down were my first love in Gaelic football.
    What they will bring, along with one of the classic midfielders of this generation in Dan Gordon, is an all out attacking game. Armagh, their brilliant midfielder McGrane joints creaking a bit along with Francie Bellew, will have their fort knox defense set up and hitting the high balls into their excellent full forward line.

Armagh have won 6 of the last 9 Ulsters
    It was no big shock for Ulster folk to see Tyrone get beat but they still gave Down a thorough work out
    over 2 games whereas Armagh had a stroll against an inept naive Cavan. It should be a crowd of 30k+.

Should Down win then they will have beaten Tyrone and Armagh and not yet at a provincial final.
    Last edited by geysir; 23/06/2008 at 7:06 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Galway didn't look too good against Leitrim, I'm not sure why you'd be so confident they'll easily deal with Mayo.
    It would be hard to motivate yourself when your playing in front of 7,000 fans with the majority been from Leitrim.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

I'd fancy Down this weekend. Cavan had no midfield and Seanie Johnston was well held and Armagh still only won by 4 points.

Page 8 of 19 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast