Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Calling All Irish Fans

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    that's why it's so good
    its good when singing it with 10 pints inside you in the main square in stuttgart. is complete tack if sung at a match

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    its good when singing it with 10 pints inside you in the main square in stuttgart. is complete tack if sung at a match
    Are you ' a come on u boys in green' fan? Please offer an alternative - if it is good enough to be sung in the main square in stuttgart then it is good enough to be sung during a game.

Quote Originally Posted by BigmanCas View Post
    Rubbish. It is a great motivational song and one everyone can sing. It is a ballad associated with the Irish throughout the world - it is that inspirational the Kop have adjusted it and adopted it as one of their own. Lets waken up and sing songs that get behind the team. I have a feeling that the Dubs are not happy singing such culchie songs and that is a major reason why we are continuously reduced to stupid chants of 'come on you boys in green' between mexican waves. We need an 12th man now more than ever to get us to South Africa.

I couldn't agree more and likewise "you'll never walk alone" is another motivational one if only we could create our own version,

walk on with Trap on our team
    you'll never walk alone,
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    I couldn't agree more and likewise "you'll never walk alone" is another motivational one if only we could create our own version,

walk on with Trap on our team
    you'll never walk alone,
    Whilst I agree that it is a great football anthem and would certainly help create a great atmosphere at games, that song is clearly someone elses trademark song. I don't see a harm in ripping off other team's songs, but just not one with so much history as that. Surely we have the ability to come up our own songs at games?
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

282 Posts
    Come on now, the Mexican wave is still great in a boring 0 - 0 friendly.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

more mexican waves
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    more mexican waves
    ban the mexican wave. i say ban it!

544 Posts
    Are you ' a come on u boys in green' fan? Please offer an alternative - if it is good enough to be sung in the main square in stuttgart then it is good enough to be sung during a game.
    what relevance has it got to todays team? it is cringeing

and actually yes i am a come on you boys in green fan. one of my best ever following Ireland memories is the 10 mins before the teams came out in anfield 95 when it was belted out and just got louder and louder every time. that was real support in those days

What about "Stand Up and Fight" - very appropriate with an Italian manager who likes opera - Toreador's (sp?) Song!

Its also the official song of the Munster Rugby team, played at the start of matches, but its usually the chorus that is just sung by the crowd which is:

Stand up and fight until you hear the bell,
    Stand toe to toe, trade blow for blow,
    Keep punching 'till you make your punches tell,
    Show that crowd what you know!
    Until you hear that bell, that final bell,
    Stand up and fight like hell!"

Here it is recently sung pre-match at game in Thomond Park.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=27hhHKg8vvs

and actually yes i am a come on you boys in green fan. one of my best ever following Ireland memories is the 10 mins before the teams came out in anfield 95 when it was belted out and just got louder and louder every time. that was real support in those days
    is it cringeing, what is? the fields of athenry? rubbish? if sang in unison - is without peer. come on you boys is not even a song!!! yeah great result in Anfield - 95! well done. so you think that it's fine to sing mainly one song for 90 mins while supporting ireland? I would rather the likes of yourself stayed at home. Well done, you travelled to Liverpool - you are a true supporter. waken up and get a life.

544 Posts
    is it cringeing, what is? the fields of athenry? rubbish? if sang in unison - is without peer. come on you boys is not even a song!!! yeah great result in Anfield - 95! well done. so you think that it's fine to sing mainly one song for 90 mins while supporting ireland? I would rather the likes of yourself stayed at home. Well done, you travelled to Liverpool - you are a true supporter. waken up and get a life.
    the assumptions you make are hilarious. not looking for a pat on the back for following my country anywhere, especially from you. your lack of experience following our team shines through on your posts here

1,025 Posts
    so you think that it's fine to sing mainly one song for 90 mins while supporting ireland? I would rather the likes of yourself stayed at home. Well done, you travelled to Liverpool - you are a true supporter. waken up and get a life.
    Bigmancas, do you not realise how stupid that looks? You're telling somebody to stay at home, telling them to get a life....on the basis on a couple of posts you disagree with.

Bearing in mind this post of yours from another thread -
    I am an open and frank person who has no problem listening to and accepting other peoples opinion.

dahamasta should starting chargin for using the forums that BMC posts in, great value for money altogether....

That stand up and hell song is terrible, it sounds like someone is taking the ****......dont let that anywhere near landsdowne. I still dont understand why munster fans sing a connaught song either....

Finally, this site is begining to worry me, I am either getting a link to a gay dating site and now its turned into asian brides though there is one that says is 47 and she looks about 20.....

These words are taken out of context. Any suggestions should be welcomed as we attempt to change the way we vocally support our team. jbyrne does not agree that this needs to happen IMO and therefore is an implicit impediment to any passible change (if on the terraces). He might be better off watching it on tv or offering an alternative. I will listen to anyperson - but naysayers? jbyrne is one of those dubs who would be content if we sang nothing or come on you boys in green for 90 mins. - that annoys me. sorry.
    Last edited by BigmanCas; 10/03/2008 at 2:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    You're going to football matches not sinn fein funerals, though as a celtic "fan" i'd imagine the distinction is lost on yourself.
    For a start im not a Sinn Fein supporter and neither are most Celtic fans that i konw. If you dont wan to hear ballads sung about our histor, fair enough but why bring Celtic into it? Im an irish fan first and foremost but i can tell you the atmosphere around a Celtic match (esp away) is miles ahead of the 'jolly chaps, look at us irish, arent we gas altogether' ****e that you see at Ieland matches.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

Great atmoephere that night and the rendition of YNWA at the end of that match would send shivers up your spine.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Absolutely. I'm also with Gavzacs sentiments. If Mayo-Bhoy want's to sing Republican "Party" songs then I'd suggest to him there are far more appropriate places to do so than an Irish football game. I don't know or give a flying fcuk where those places are just so long as they're far, far away.
    I think an Ireland match is the perfect place to sing songs celebrating our history and culture, whether they be republican songs or otherwise. As i said earlier the only fans i regularly see singing usually include these ballads while you have a bunch of bloody johnny come lately's belting out ole ole ole and gary breen etc.

1,025 Posts
    jbyrne is one of those dubs who would be content if we sang nothing or come on you boys in green for 90 mins. - that annoys me. sorry.
    Can you please point out a post of his where he says that?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Can you please point out a post of his where he says that?
    1 + 1 = 3

Quote Originally Posted by Mayo_Bhoy View Post
    I think an Ireland match is the perfect place to sing songs celebrating our history and culture, whether they be republican songs or otherwise. As i said earlier the only fans i regularly see singing usually include these ballads while you have a bunch of bloody johnny come lately's belting out ole ole ole and gary breen etc.
    Its a football match. Sing football songs. How in the blue hell does Sean South celebrate our culture? What has some moron getting himself killed bombing a barracks got to do with supporting your football team?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast