What did O'Brien cough up?

Quote Originally Posted by beautifulrock View Post
    Denis O Brien is the man who coughed up, fair play to him
    yes fair play to tax exile denis o' brien. 1 million is 0.04 percent of his personal wealth btw (pocket money to him)

Quote Originally Posted by eekers View Post
    yes fair play to tax exile denis o' brien. 1 million is 0.04 percent of his personal wealth btw (pocket money to him)
    stupid comment, has anyone else done it typical Irish begrudier

Media seem to be concentrating on O'Brien's contribution rather than Trap himself.

Jeus the journalist are ****s, they only concentrate on the O Brien issue. I know we dont want cheerleaders with laptops but this is unreal.
    In Trap we trust

Fair FOOCks to denis obrien...irishman investing in irish football!
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

52 Posts
    Givens at one point seemed exasperated when the journos kept going on about O'Brien.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars View Post
    Givens at one point seemed exasperated when the journos kept going on about O'Brien.
    So was I.

No doubt the O'Brien angle looks like it will be all over the papers tomorrow.

Givens is exasperated because Trap's appointment probably means he'll be shown the door. Which is long overdue in my mind

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ireland4ever View Post
    Fair FOOCks to denis obrien...irishman investing in irish football!
    It's not really an investment on his part, unless he has some sort of agreement with the FAI about renumeration which we don't know about. Looks like he's just giving the cash away, would that be correct?

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Jeus the journalist are ****s, they only concentrate on the O Brien issue. I know we dont want cheerleaders with laptops but this is unreal.
    Quote Originally Posted by Maroon 7 View Post
    Media seem to be concentrating on O'Brien's contribution rather than Trap himself.
    This just goes to show the depths that the Irish sports media have stooped to. Tomorrow's stories will be more about Denis O'Brien than the new manager.

On a side issue, Don Givens, who takes a lot of flak, particularly on this site, deserves credit for the job he had done and how he went about it.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

52 Posts
    No doubt the journos will keep harping on about this as it give them more stories to talk about. And perhaps TO'D should do a bit of research, Abramovich is known to have made a similar deal or Hiddink and last time I checked, Russia is in Europe.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Denis O'Brien

All this talk of DOB giving a donation to help fund the appointment of is making me sick. What clubs has this guy helped out financially? Where was Mr.O'Brien when Kilkenny City had to close up shop? How is money going to help league of Ireland clubs finance their day to day activities as they try to keep their heads above water.

Quote Originally Posted by rodrigo cardoso View Post
    All this talk of DOB giving a donation to help fund the appointment of is making me sick. What clubs has this guy helped out financially? Where was Mr.O'Brien when Kilkenny City had to close up shop? How is money going to help league of Ireland clubs finance their day to day activities as they try to keep their heads above water.
    I wanted to write a reasoned argument but cant be bothered. Can we find a room for the begrudgers pls

38 Posts
    Can't believe what I'm reading here, I guess that's the modern Irish fair-play-to-the-cute-hoor, money-cures-all ethos. For a start, this money isn't going into Irish football, it's going on a speculative appointment to the management staff of a Britsh-based team for short-term gain (which in itself is unlikely to accrue.) I can think of a million and one better uses for this money within domestic football. Secondly, unless you're hopelessly naive or your moral compass is wildly askew you couldn't say with hand on heart that Denis O'Brien or his money are entirely lillywhite.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Fair play Denis O'Brien. He didn't have to do this but obviously wants to see the national team do well.

Could be worse, he could have invested in a british club like sunderland or celtic a la Drumaville or Dermot Desmond. Even John Delaney had a dig at this practise on the 6 one. Fair play to all involved.

What are you on about? He doesnt have to give any money to anyone yet he did. Its his money. No-one said he helped out any clubs, and he doesnt have to, obviously he doesnt give a hoot about kilkenny, and why should he? He has no obligation to any LOI teams. Again its his money and he can do with it what he wants!
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

I hope people let this go and focus on the main matter today, the fact we have one of the most gifted managers in the world taking over little old us

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Can't believe what I'm reading here, I guess that's the modern Irish fair-play-to-the-cute-hoor, money-cures-all ethos. For a start, this money isn't going into Irish football, it's going on a speculative appointment to the management staff of a Britsh-based team for short-term gain (which in itself is unlikely to accrue.) I can think of a million and one better uses for this money within domestic football. Secondly, unless you're hopelessly naive or your moral compass is wildly askew you couldn't say with hand on heart that Denis O'Brien or his money are entirely lillywhite.
    Firstly it is going into grassroots football. This will increase the FAI's income to spend on other things. Secondly everyone else in the world understands that international success leads to domestic popularity.Thirdly, British based...you just cant resist can you.

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast