Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Denis O'Briens donation

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    I agree totally. He is happy to be the big man and line some knob's pockets but he won't hand it out (and most other on our richest list) to help Irish clubs make the breakthrough in European competition which is much more important to Irish soccer.
    I agree with you in some respect although as was mentioned this will hopefully prevent money being taken out of the LOI funds.

Delaney also talked of more investments coming in the next few months so hopefully LOI will benefit. On top of that if Denis O'Brien didn't invest in the national team he would probably invest abroad so what do you expect the FAI to do?

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Who is getting carried away on here. All I see is people who are being optimisitic. If you cant be optimistic when you have just appointed one of the best managers in the world you may as well shoot yourself.
    If he is one of the best managers in the world why the hell is he managing an Austrian side? Surely he would be still managing Italy or one of the top Italian teams if he was that good. Im shocked to hear you say that. I thought he was the best of a bad bunch but very expensive.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

Quote Originally Posted by bohsRap View Post
    I agree with you in some respect although as was mentioned this will hopefully prevent money being taken out of the LOI funds.

Delaney also talked of more investments coming in the next few months so hopefully LOI will benefit. On top of that if Denis O'Brien didn't invest in the national team he would probably invest abroad so what do you expect the FAI to do?
    Yes, its good. The FAI don't have to pay the money and we get the best manager on our short list plus he may have success, perhaps for the Euros in 3 years after his current contract.

The FAI have done everything right here but its the money that clinched the deal for them. Its a waiting game now.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

Because I believe that most Football clubs are ageist and most would feel that his age is too old for club football. However I think at international level age and experience are vital and are actually a good thing. He had his time with Italy.

Anyway we could argue that no matter who we got was any good because if they were good they would not be our manager. That is the typical Irish logic that ****s many people up and drives them into a bitter early grave.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Because I believe that most Football clubs are ageist and most would feel that his age is too old for club football. However I think at international level age and experience are vital and are actually a good thing. He had his time with Italy.

Anyway we could argue that no matter who we got was any good because if they were good they would not be our manager. That is the typical Irish logic that ****s many people up and drives them into a bitter early grave.
    Indeed

But Im just not wearing blinkers. I can't say if hes good or not, only time will tell. He has a tough job and lets hope he has great success.

60 Posts
    Whats all the fuss about O'Brien giving money. I didn't hear any complaints when MacManus was ploughing money into the Limerick GAA. Fair play to O'Brien, at least he is putting back some of the easy money he got when he was awarded the mobile phone licence.
    Always look on the bright side of life

i think the obrien thing was on purpose because the FAI didnt have anything to "break" at 5 if they didnt mention this and probably wanted them to focus on this issue.....

fair play to obrien, I liked the way delaney got one over on mulryan and those others investing in english football. for once i think he has said something impressive. great dig.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    i think the obrien thing was on purpose because the FAI didnt have anything to "break" at 5 if they didnt mention this and probably wanted them to focus on this issue.....

fair play to obrien, I liked the way delaney got one over on mulryan and those others investing in english football. for once i think he has said something impressive. great dig.

Yes great dig, disgusted though to hear that lying money laundering hyprocite in Leinster House (occasionally) say how great Trappatoni is for Irish Football whilst raving on about Man U when intervewed showing absolutely no tact.

Great Day

Lads we've had years and years of gloom and disappointment.
    All thoughts aside about O'Brien, money etc, who cares?

Giovanni Trappatoni is coming to run our national team, and that is absolutely savage!!!

For anyone not watching O'Brien was on the phone to Vincent Brown's show and said he's been involved since before Stan got the sack. A big deal being made out of it.

Looks like the big story has quickly moved from Trap to Denis O'Brien's involvement. A bit sad really.

Tony o'Donoghue sounded like someone with a massive chip on his shoulder on the Six one news. Saying the O'Brien's contribution cast a shadow over the appointment or words to that effect. Is he for real? I think Delaney must have forgotten Tony when buying a round on an away trip or something.

Imagine if the FAI had refused his offer, the media would have a field day. As someone else pointed out Abramovich is funding Hiddink in Russia and everyone says what a great man McManus us for supporting Limerick GAA from his home in Switzerland.

Yes it would be great if O'Brien funded Bray to Champions League glory but he hasn't so I'll thank him for this contribution. At least it's better than Quinn & Co. funding the nightclub trade in the Nort East of England.
    It's like giving out cos Beamish sponsor Cork City by saying they should be supporting the Knocknaheeny Celtic Under 12's who "really" need it.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

60 Posts

O'Brien Revelation

Denis O'Brien just said on the Vincent Brown show on TV3 that he was in touch with Delaney BEFORE Stan was sacked as Ireland manager. Quite unusual. The hacks will go to town on this. Brown has that washpish old fart Bernard O'Byrne on trying to pick holes in the appointment.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Papers next few days will be all about O'Brien now and not Trap.

Vincent Brown even asked him could he have not spent his money on some other organisation in Ireland that needed it more.

That "interview" had to be the biggest farce ever. On the day of the biggest appointment in Irish football history, they could do nothing but pick holes in it. They were a disgrace in the way they went about that. Everyone knows Stan was useless at his job....who gives a toss if O Brien was involved before he left. The right man is in the job now so lets everyone get behind him and less of the negativity.

Bring on the World Cup

Quote Originally Posted by nui-harp View Post
    That "interview" had to be the biggest farce ever. On the day of the biggest appointment in Irish football history, they could do nothing but pick holes in it. They were a disgrace in the way they went about that. Everyone knows Stan was useless at his job....who gives a toss if O Brien was involved before he left. The right man is in the job now so lets everyone get behind him and less of the negativity.

Bring on the World Cup
    O'Brien got Staunton sacked I bet he wishes he didn't come on now.

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    Denis O'Brien just said on the Vincent Brown show on TV3 that he was in touch with Delaney BEFORE Stan was sacked as Ireland manager. Quite unusual. The hacks will go to town on this. Brown has that washpish old fart Bernard O'Byrne on trying to pick holes in the appointment.
    yes, you could smell the jealousy there. Thank god hes at Pats now, hes hard to stand.

55 Posts

Thumbs up eircom gone?

****ed off with messr o brien getting midnight phone calls in the carribean from king john d (keepin him in the loop like) john forgot eircom the main sponsor competes with dennis in telecoms in different parts of the world. It also makes you wonder about the buffoons in the board of management do they like just make tea eat biscuits and claim expenses while dennis, eddie jordan and john d are the real board..... still they dont half make a great appointment mind you the football will be ****e

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    yes, you could smell the jealousy there. Thank god hes at Pats now, hes hard to stand.
    Bernard O'Byrne does come across as an particularly odious individual.

55 Posts

yea agree

obyrne or kerr did seem a bit keen to raise the eyebrows. Oh i love football the fun is only starting

What is it with irish people a shower of begrudgers. your dammed if you do and dammed if you dont. No one complains about irish business people putting money into the english league.

I Was in Tehran at the world cup play off game a few years ago and obrien was stood on the terrace with the rest of us with eddie jordan. He said he tries to get to as many away games as possible. Seemed a decent charactor.

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast