21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    Who are the top Junior teams in Cork
    Now you've opened a can of worms.
    The top junior sides have traditionally come from the Cork AUL Premier. That would include Grattan Utd (winner 07) Kinsale (winners 03,04,05,06) Ballyphehane Celtic and Leeside.
    Every couple of years the MSL junior Prem teams (MSL senior club's 2nd teams) get a good team together. At the moment I think Douglas Hall and Midleton are the strongest in this division.
    I dont know a lot about the west cork league but Drinagh have dominated for a few years I think.
    But I'm sure that there will be differing views from mine

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    Now you've opened a can of worms.
    The top junior sides have traditionally come from the Cork AUL Premier. That would include Grattan Utd (winner 07) Kinsale (winners 03,04,05,06) Ballyphehane Celtic and Leeside.
    Every couple of years the MSL junior Prem teams (MSL senior club's 2nd teams) get a good team together. At the moment I think Douglas Hall and Midleton are the strongest in this division.
    I dont know a lot about the west cork league but Drinagh have dominated for a few years I think.
    But I'm sure that there will be differing views from mine
    Cheers Shilts. How well do the AUL clubs fair out in the MJC would they be considered one of the Fav. each season. I didnt know that the MSL have their own Junior league. Its a pity that the MSL & AUL were not inter connected but I do understand the politics that might be involved.

Swap out Midelton and put in Rockmount. AUL clubs would never really be considered favourites in the MJC, although people are starting to sit up and take notice of them now. Off topic, Closing_Time were you at the Castlebar Celtic match at the weekend?

41 Posts

gulp

gulp I'l probably get no end of stick from other threads for sayin this but in my own humble opinion I'd say the top Munster junior sides are from Limerick an Tipp/Waterford.Thats being perfectly honest.Theirs half a dozen of them that in a senior league format would wipe the floor with all but the best of the senior league teams from Cork.That bein said I think that this year especialy in the Mjc their is the possibility of havin 7 Cork sides in the last 16 if i'm correct.Thats a testement of how junior football in Cork is comin on leaps and bounds.Their was a time not long ago that if you were drawn out of Cork to one of Munsters finest you would'nt have stood a chance ,now I think Munster's finest are lookin a bit nervous when they hear theirs a Cork side either waitin for them or comin up to play them.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by Billynose View Post
    Swap out Midelton and put in Rockmount. AUL clubs would never really be considered favourites in the MJC, although people are starting to sit up and take notice of them now. Off topic, Closing_Time were you at the Castlebar Celtic match at the weekend?
    BN, Couldnt make the game cooking the dinner, but what I hear we were very poor in the first half and game should have been over at half time. Did play a little better in the 2nd but not to the standard they have come to expect from this young team. What was said is that they battled hard and showed a great desire to win, which I was delighted to hear. Hopefully a better performance next day out or we will be out of both cups.

Hmm, Oranmore definitely had the better of the first half. I think Castlebar started out with three at the back and seemed to struggle because of this. In the second half Oranmore missed an open goal (think Tuncay at the weekend for Middlesborough) and a one on one. After this(~70 minutes gone) Castlebar got on top, surprised to see that they resorted to hoofing it and throwing it up to the centre back(who had moved up front at this point) and hoping for knock downs. Disappointing to concede an equaliser in the 96th minute when there was no where near that amount of injury time. Extra time was pretty non eventful.

If I was to judge on one game I would expect Grattan to beat ye. It's rare that I agree with littleman but his last post is surprisingly unbiased and accurate

41 Posts

Er thanks

Er thanks Billy, I think.............

Quote Originally Posted by Billynose View Post
    Hmm, Oranmore definitely had the better of the first half. I think Castlebar started out with three at the back and seemed to struggle because of this. In the second half Oranmore missed an open goal (think Tuncay at the weekend for Middlesborough) and a one on one. After this(~70 minutes gone) Castlebar got on top, surprised to see that they resorted to hoofing it and throwing it up to the centre back(who had moved up front at this point) and hoping for knock downs. Disappointing to concede an equaliser in the 96th minute when there was no where near that amount of injury time. Extra time was pretty non eventful.

If I was to judge on one game I would expect Grattan to beat ye. It's rare that I agree with littleman but his last post is surprisingly unbiased and accurate
    I would say if we played as I was told New Ross B or Grattan B teams should have no problem advancing to the next Rd. But sure thats the beauty of this wonderful game S***e one day and great the next. The only positive taken from the game was they kept on battling when been dominated. I take it from you mail that Grattan are hot Fav to take NRC.

You're welcome littleman

I've no idea who are favourites between New Ross and Grattan. I do know that Grattan should be capable of beating any junior side on there day.

aoh 4th round

i know this is still off on the horizon but worth a look
    was anyone at the draw for the 4th round of the AOH or is done behind closed doors, always a few funny draws going on, thats me and my x-files theory tho, here' the spookin for this year, there are four 4th round fixtures which are being played next week

Villa United____v____Ballintotis
    Ballincollig A___v____Blarney St. Athletic
    Ballyvolane A__v____Rylane Celtic
    Glenvale______v____Dillon's Cross

teams awaiting a 4th round fixture but are already thru are ___Passage A & Leeside A

these teams are in the 3rd round (but should get thru to the 4th round draw along with Passage & Leeside)

Ballyphehane Celtic
    Park United A
    Grattan United A
    Kinsale
    Kanturk A
    Wilton United A

so out of the 4 games being played next week, they all seemed to avoid the big names left in the cup, i think any one of us would have taken on any of the eight (maybe with the exception of ballincollig) instead of any of the big guns left

has anyone out there got the full draw, billy will prob stick it on at some stage but there's bound to be someone who gets a rotten draw and there's a good chance that any number of big teams will crash out, sets up a potential soft quarter final for anyone who gets thru and gets a good draw,

ye havent played a game in the cup yet thirdeye/lilman and here ye are one step away from a quarter final, soft out !
    besta luck at the w/e, keep the cork flag flying for us, same to ballyphehane

41 Posts

Thumbs up Area 51

With all thats comin up at the minute letizz the Aoh (we have Greenmount up in our place in the 3rd round) would be a welcome distraction.We definately travel to New Ross on Sunday thats sorted now.I'm not sure who we play next week because we are rounds behind in both the Fai an Mjc if Sunday goes well.

The Aoh is just a draw,tis not like their plotin to get ye out of it or Turners Cross is Area 51,and with all due respect to Ballincollig,your confidence must be low if your worried about them.Not like you letizz.

If things aint workin out down the seaside just let me know,their's a few days left for you to transfer.I know a man who can sort ya out.You need to be playin at this stage week in week out and your last few post's seem to be pointin the finger at the so called favourites that aint doin the buisness for ye but are still startin,nothin worse.Lifes to short,well the season is anyway.......ta ta for now an remember you can see the seaside from Knocka as well and their's a fella in Ardmore Ave who has a rubber dingy if it makes you feel at home.

Morning all!! Bright Eyed and bushy tailed this morning!

I think you really offended Le Tizz with the last comment! What water though? Surely you're not counting the resevoir?!!

Was on Billy's site last nite and saw a plea from yourselves littleman for ex players etc to help out with the clubs new initiatives - i'm presuming money wise. Just wondering was there any success?!? We have our own super draw for a car down in Kinsale and get lots of support from people every year. 30 euro a ticket isn't cheap so fair play to them. Would be great if these bodies would come up and see a few more games but one step at a time.

We're off to Limerick tomorrow - Knockainey, know nothing off them. Limerick 3rd tier and middle of the table i think. We'll see, should get a reaction after last weeks poor showing.

Good luck Gratts and Bally.. I will be slightly envious if ye get thru but thats life!! Thou shalt not covet thy neighbours... Straight to hell for me

FAI & Munster Junior

Good results for Bally and Gratts... Kinsale what happened? 3rd tier Limerick side???
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

bitter pill

the long & the short of it was we were appalling !
    pitch was agricultural to say the least, a farmers field would have been in better nick, ref was a pity but at the end of the day, we was beaten 2-1, concede 2 goals to a crowd of part-timers isnt gonna get you anywhere, didnt take chances at the other end, went home sorry boys

we're on a bad run and need to end it soon cause morale is low, we havent been playing well and we all need a good kick in the hole, we prob took them for granted and it cost us in the end, lost a good chance to take revenge in the next round so guilty of not focusing on the game at hand

hillington b in the aoh next week, we're away again, our game load has lessened considerably now that we're out of the big cups so we need to focus on whats ahead, no more excuses- time for fellas to stand up and be counted, might even get to play a 2nd league game sometime soon

thanks for the offer of a vacation in hollyhill littleman but i'm not a qwitter, we'll get the seaside show back on track again dont worry, good result for ye and a home tie in the next round, well done to bally too- tough trip for the next round, keep it going for the cork colours

i'm too sick to say anymore, might just shutup and get on with business now ....

Grattan win

Watched New Ross Celtic V Grattan Utd in the FAI Junior Cup 6th round and what a game,Grattan 2 down at the break and worked their socks off to get back level.Into extra time and it was all Grattan who were now feeling the strain of dragging it back from 2 down.Into penos Grattan 1st Missed New Ross score 0-1,Grattan score New Ross score 1-2 after 2,Grattan missed New Ross Missed 1-2 after 3,Grattan score New Ross score 2-3 after 4,Grattan score New Ross missed 3-3 after 5. Sudden Death Grattan score (squeaky bum time) New Ross missed Grattan win 4-3.Thats how I saw it going so I'm off for heart surgery before the next round ( a home tie v castelbar)

Special thanks to all involved with New Ross Celtic who gave us a cracking game and made us feel very welcome especially after the very difficult week they had.
    Last edited by pass&move; 29/01/2008 at 9:35 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Watched New Ross Celtic V Grattan Utd in the FAI Junior Cup 6th round and what a game,Grattan 2 down at the break and worked their socks off to get back level.Into extra time and it was all Grattan who were now feeling the strain of dragging it back from 2 down.Into penos Grattan 1st Missed New Ross score 0-1,Grattan score New Ross score 1-2 after 2,Grattan missed New Ross Missed 1-2 after 3,Grattan score New Ross score 2-3 after 4,Grattan score New Ross missed 3-3 after 5. Sudden Death Grattan score (squeaky bum time) New Ross missed Grattan win 4-3.Thats how I saw it going so I'm off for heart surgery before the next round ( a home tie v castelbar)

Special thanks to all involved with New Ross Celtic who gave us a cracking game and made us feel very welcome especially after the very difficult week they had.
    Our manager was at the game and was impressed with Grattan. Do you have a website and where is your pitch located and what is it like? Who are you playing this weekend that the game has been moved to Feb 10th

Directions

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    Our manager was at the game and was impressed with Grattan. Do you have a website and where is your pitch located and what is it like? Who are you playing this weekend that the game has been moved to Feb 10th
    Was talking to him at the game top man Gavin I think.As for helping you out we are now rivals until the 11th so head south. Ha Ha.

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Was talking to him at the game top man Gavin I think.As for helping you out we are now rivals until the 11th so head south. Ha Ha.
    I note by your post you must have no school today. Maybe someone can advise on the location of your pitch coming from the west and whats the pitch like, have they a club house with bar faclilites, stand etc. or maybe this is giving to much info. Thanks

41 Posts

New Ross V Grattan

Sorry for the delay lads but I was up the walls keepin ye all in beer.We had to pull this one out of the hat alright.We started at a thundering pace but were dumbfounded to find ourselves 2 down at the break.We had 9 corners in the first half yet 2 breaks from New Ross and they got 2 goals.(the 2nd a peach to be honest)

We have plenty of self belife and we new that if we stuck to our plan we had the beating of them,I just was'nt prepared for how close they took us.Jp pulled on back with 20 or so left and Figo put the equaliser away in the 88th min.Decky Gostel had a open goal to take advantage of to win it in extra time but it was not to be.Penos and we missed our 1st an 3rd to leave us trailing 3/1 with 3 taken.Then Smithy took over an saved their 4than 5th, we scored our 4th an 5th to level proceedings.Sudden death an Decky Gostel cooly put our 6th away and we waited to see if Smithy could do the hat trick to which we celebrated like we hade just won the whole competition.Unbelivable game to pull back from the brink in fairness,but never write the Gratts off was the lesson of the day.

Full credit to New Ross who to a man gave 110% in a week that must have been very hard for them.I thought they were a credit to both their club and their manager .Top people as well who gave us a great spread back at the New Ross Inn.

Next up in the Fai ,Castlebar on the 9th in Cork, but before that we travel to Limerick to play Kilmallock,Saturday.
    Last edited by littleman; 30/01/2008 at 11:42 AM.

Sorry now lads but i'll plead ignorance. Pass and littleman have both said it was a difficult week for New Ross.. why so?

I'm still suffering from depression/shock.

Must bounce back this wknd

Page 31 of 52 FirstFirst ... 21293031323341 ... LastLast