Page 29 of 52 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

41 Posts

utter ****e

Utter ****e,thats all that last statement is.Would expext that kind of statement from other threads.Even more surprised it comes from a Leeside poster.

Figo,Brian an Cans went Sunday with the Aul team.John Paul an Pa were left out because they heve only played 90 an 45 mins a peice since the Mayfield game in the 2nd round of the Fai and have only last week returned from injury.That was nearly 9 weeks ago.Dave O'Sullivan was'nt selected.

Grattan players were only delighted to represent their league.Futher more when we were made aware of the situation that the management were put in the day before the game due to withdrawls we offered more than one replacement but the management felt it would not be fair to call on those players.Remember we had 6 players on the original squad(more than anyone),they all turned up for training/games when fit, and the managment were offered more of our players if they were needed, thats how much support our club gave to Minty and the Aul.Yes we were not happy at the timing of the Oscar game but thems the joys .

We still have been let down badly by some.
    Last edited by littleman; 09/01/2008 at 5:31 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Utter ****e,thats all that last statement is.Would expext that kind of statement from other threads.Even more surprised it comes from a Leeside poster.

Figo,Brian an Cans went Sunday with the Aul team.John Paul an Pa were left out because they heve only played 90 an 45 mins a peice since the Mayfield game in the 2nd round of the Fai and have only last week returned from injury.That was nearly 9 weeks ago.Dave O'Sullivan was'nt selected.

Grattan players were only delighted to represent their league.Futher more when we were made aware of the situation that the management were put in the day before the game due to withdrawls we offered more than one replacement but the management felt it would not be fair to call on those players.Remember we had 6 players on the original squad(more than anyone),they all turned up for training/games when fit, and the managment were offered more of our players if they were needed, thats how much support our club gave to Minty and the Aul.Yes we were not happy at the timing of the Oscar game but thems the joys .

We still have been let down badly by some.
    Thanks For clearing that up littleman, It was asked of you cos I only heard a rumor, I was surprised when I heard that. I think there alot of withdrawls alright tho.
    The main point of my thread was how badly the AUL squad was run and not a dig at you or gratts
    Best of luck at wknd against Clonmel, and to all the cork teams (providing weather doesn't spoil things)

41 Posts

Fixture change

Grattan Utd V Clonmel Celtic
    Fai 5th round
    Saturday 12th
    Kick off 3pm
    Blarney Fifa All weather pitch

I fear we may be on the end of a heavy result now that the game has been changed to an astro. our only hope of getting a result was on a poor pitch where we could get in around grattan now however that the pitch is on a perfect surface we could be passed off the park.

I believe the Ballypheane V Ballymun United game is also switched to Blarneys pitch. 7 pm Kick off..

Is it a good quality pitch by astro standards?

no more plastic pitches

its not astro lads but real grass turf enhanced by a sand base which gives it the superhuman drainage, its dry today and the bit of sunshine should help, forecast is ok for the next couple a days so pitch should hold up, still though, i'd rather have 1st go off it and not wait till 7pm and the 2nd match, any spectators should make an effort to support the local lads

besta luck to gratts & bally (sorry bishbash) should be 2 decent games

good luck to richmond & douglas hall too, hall are the only cork team away from home this w/e (galway) and by the way west are shaping up the hall will prob need all the luck they get

hopefully we get a result home against st michaels and we're all snug in the draw for the next round
    corcaigh abu

Um, it's "fake grass" the same stuff that they have out in leisureworld in cork with all the black rubbery stuff that gets everywhere

there is a rumour the michaels kinsale is on there to any truth in that?

41 Posts

Saturdays fixtures in Blarney(O'Shea Park)

Grattan Utd V Clonmel Celtic ko's @ 3pm

Ballypheane Celtic V Ballymun Utd ko's @ 7pm

Their the only 2 confirmed on Billy Lyons website to be played Saturday.

plastic's back in fashion

Quote Originally Posted by Billynose View Post
    Um, it's "fake grass" the same stuff that they have out in leisureworld in cork with all the black rubbery stuff that gets everywhere
    my mistake billy, plastic grass and rubber granules,
    "snus should be banned from the pitch" so better give all the players instructions on sat (and "spitting is a nuisance and players should refrain") ...... this is advice from the guys who construct the pitch http://gb.pst-sport.no/index.php/ser...baner/generelt
    not sure if theres a whole lot of snus in blarney so should be ok with that
    has anyone played out there yet ? any feedback .....

kinsale v michaels game still fixed for a watery rubber clad kinsale on saturday
    we didnt have the good sense to move it to a rubber pitch but we're not really into rubber as much as other people
    dry y/day and dry today so if we get a breeze blowing then the pitch at charles fort should be sound for the game, has anyone ever know there not to be a breeze up there ??

we'll be grand but thanks for the concern

41 Posts

SOS for letizz

Tizz their is a 2 hour gap between us an Bally playin Saturday.Why dont ye try for that,an have ye tryed Mayfield.All the Msl an schoolboys matchs are off this weekend.

41 Posts

SOS for letizz

Tizz their is a 2 hour gap between us an Bally playin Saturday.Why dont ye try for that,an have ye tryed Mayfield.All the Msl an schoolboys matchs are off this weekend.I hope im not rubbin ye up the wrong way with this info

Le Tizz, heavy wind and rain predicted for kinsale sat morning and sat afternoon, has there any alternative arrangements do you know..?? few rumours up herein TS& DL that game might be moved because of predicted weather?

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    my mistake billy, plastic grass and rubber granules,
    "snus should be banned from the pitch" so better give all the players instructions on sat (and "spitting is a nuisance and players should refrain") ...... this is advice from the guys who construct the pitch http://gb.pst-sport.no/index.php/ser...baner/generelt
    not sure if theres a whole lot of snus in blarney so should be ok with that
    has anyone played out there yet ? any feedback .....

kinsale v michaels game still fixed for a watery rubber clad kinsale on saturday
    we didnt have the good sense to move it to a rubber pitch but we're not really into rubber as much as other people
    dry y/day and dry today so if we get a breeze blowing then the pitch at charles fort should be sound for the game, has anyone ever know there not to be a breeze up there ??

we'll be grand but thanks for the concern
    check out http://www.weather-forecast.com/loca...recasts/latest

The pitch is very fast as you'd expect. It's a quality surface and it lends itself to ball playing sides. There is a big bounce out of the pitch as well, you're supposedly not allowed wear metal studs or blades but that's not enforced in my experience.

Word of warning, there is a concrete path surrounding the pitch. It's quite close to the touchline and it can lead to some painful incidents.

Wink maybe rubber aint so bad after all ....

are ye def going to blarney then or is it just backup littleman ??
    there'll be a pitch inspection at the seaside tonight but not sure if the powers that be have looked into booking an alternative, i know we've contacted mayfield but they are using theirs so thats out,
    not sure if blarney is available for that 2 hour spell but prob worth a call, they prob left that window in case there's extra time and penos in yer game which would screw us if we were waiting!
    are you gonna go out to see the bally game ? will try to get out for a bit of it anyway and support the cork boys on sat evening
    besta luck gainst the tipp men, be good for us both to knock two tipp teams out between us

see ye in the draw for the next round !
    a bit of rubbin never hurt anyone .........will resume the banter next week

sunshine on a rainy day

Quote Originally Posted by Tipp Man 2 View Post
    Le Tizz, heavy wind and rain predicted for kinsale sat morning and sat afternoon, has there any alternative arrangements do you know..?? few rumours up herein TS& DL that game might be moved because of predicted weather?
    that forecast looks accurate so far tipp. we got blue skies down here and a nice breeze blowing so pitch will be grand for 2pm kick off
    we are looking into a back up pitch but not sure if its gonna be needed, its always sunny at the seaside dont ya know
    i'd say we'll get away with the forecast http://www.windguru.cz/int/index.php?sc=64358
    its gonna be dry with a nice wind overnight which will dry out the pitch (its already pretty good) and whatever rain is forecast aint blowing in till after 3pm
    i reckon you wont even need your umbrella

is zizu coming with ye for the spin, reckon he'd be great craic to have on the journey,
    is it your fond memories of kinsale that are bringing you to tears zizu or the fact that michaels knocked ye out of the cup already ??

41 Posts

The ever dependable Irish weather

If ever their were words to regret it has to be ''and whatever rain is forecast aint blowing in till after 3pm
    i reckon you wont even need your umbrella''.

Bring the feckin UMBRELLA,actually bring a second one for when the first one gets soaked right through an for the hell of it,a life jacket,a flare an a rubber ducky just to be safe.When the weather is nice its a good place to play fair dues,but.....................when it aint like every where else in Cork your on the side of a hill in the wind an rain.

When all is said an done lads let this be a good weekend for us all at home an away.

Littleman over an out.
    Last edited by littleman; 11/01/2008 at 1:48 PM.

Well done cork teams - absolutely terrific! Good cork showing in the last 32. There may be a winner from the rebel county yet!! Unfortunately our game was called off - the monsoon yesterday morning killed us. The pitch was grand up to 12 oclock but it was rightly called before the game.

Unfortunately we didnt have the forseight to book the Blarney pitch which i heard was good.. could you chaps give us any details on the games??

Its gonna be a tough ask to beat michaels up in their back yard and as you all now home advantage is massive. The conditions yesterday would of been perfect for a big scalp. To do any good in this comp tho you've got to beat the best and what better way to get people noticed than beating Michaels at home??

You heard it here first... Kinsale to reach the last 16!!

Well done to Grattan, Ballypheane and Douglas Hall. All games at this stage are tough so credit to all three for progressing... Littleman any report? Anyone at the Ballypheane game, did they concede after 4 minutes? How about a few douglas hall travellers, I know this is an AUL forum but I think we're all interested in how cork teams do in FAI and Munster Junior cups...
    Le Tizz et al, do you know when the kinsale v St.M game is re-fixed for?
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Page 29 of 52 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast