Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Team named

Exactly. If we play like that every game, there's hope for the future. Toshack needs to get these performances out of our players every game, not just 1 game in every 3.
    "Life is like a hair on a toilet seat. Sooner or later you are bound to get pi$$ed off."

"In this league, a draw is sometimes as good as a win" - Steve Morison

Didnt expect anything much from this game but for what it was it was relatively entertaining.Fair play to young Welsh lads fought hard and deserved a draw.McGeady was our bright spark but its obvious new manager has a big job on his hands.I reckon that was Carsleys last game for us and I have a feeling Finnan will retire.Ho-hum what was a disasterous caimpaign.

Story of the campaign really. Can't hold onto a lead. Wasn't a penalty but McShane should know better. Was holding onto him for dear life yards outside the box. He actually let go of him as they entered the box but he invited the ref to make some sort of decision which he duly did.

We beat wales under Stan the man. He never should of been sacked.
    MD

42 Posts
    Why were Ireland wearing those horrible jerseys instead of our traditional green? Wales were red so there was no colour clash?
    Not a bad game,poor defending by McShane at the end but it was a soft penalty looking at the replay.Draw probably a fair result.

Anyone hear what the attendance was?

Good atmosphere at the game with constant singing from both sets of fans, but looking at it on TV I'd have said no more than about 35,000.
    "Life is like a hair on a toilet seat. Sooner or later you are bound to get pi$$ed off."

Within 5 mins of winning £50 then that spastic f*cks it up..

The defence were sh1t apart from Finnan, everyone else played well apart from
    Miller who did nothing right...

Don't know why Stephen Hunt didn't start. I hope our new manager realises how good he is. Makes something out of nothing and is a great asset to us. Finnan was at fault for the first goal, seemed a bit slow today for some reason, not fully focussed and McShane was an idiot with the 2nd goal, showed a bit of inexperience dragging him down but he's still a good player. Miller had a poor game and as I said, don't know why Hunt didn't start ahead of him. The whole defence was shaky overall, apart from Given who was great, as usual. Good enough performance from the front two too, although don't think Keane deserved MOTM. Still, get a good man in charge and theirs no reason why the future can't be good.

503 Posts
    I'm not sure what more Jim Beglin would have liked Hunt to have done to be given the motm award. He single handedly reminded me of how good it can be to be an irish fan after he came on. even if it was a draw, in the last half hour being an Ireland fan was fun again.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cymro View Post
    Anyone hear what the attendance was?

Good atmosphere at the game with constant singing from both sets of fans, but looking at it on TV I'd have said no more than about 35,000.
    Read somewhere yesterday 25,000 tickets had been sold, with 4,000 of them going to ireland fans

114 Posts
    What was the sense in putting Potter on, a guy who can't get into the Wolves 1st team!

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Read somewhere yesterday 25,000 tickets had been sold, with 4,000 of them going to ireland fans
    Yeah, 24,619 according to the BBC. Very disappointing.

Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    tempting fate i know but would this be our best competitive away win for 20 years?????
    You tempted fate and look what happened? How could you?

Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    What was the sense in putting Potter on, a guy who can't get into the Wolves 1st team!
    TO get him into the Wolves 1st team perhaps?

By starting Liam Miller and giving him a chance to prove what he can do, Givens gave the naysayers no reason to criticize him. I believe Miller is the most over rated player ever to don an Irish shirt. Stephen Hunt is one of those rare players that mentally tunes into a game inside a split second hence his ability to change a game almost with his first touch and his prowess as an IMPACT SUBSTITUTE.

71 Posts
    Hunt must never start, he will not carry that sort of effectiveness for 90mins. He seemed to burn himself out after 15 mins. Some players are perfectly suited the role of impact sub and I hope he'll continue to be used off the bench.

214 Posts
    He seems to have an impact from the start at Reading and has continued his good form from last season.
    Last edited by shakermaker1982; 18/11/2007 at 10:14 AM.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Ireland's away form in a nutshell. Just incapable of winning against any side in the Top 50+

Sure Given was great but his penalty going the wrong way nearly everytime really disappoints me ever since I stood in Seoul and watched the same for all the Spanish penos. Surely you have a 33% chance of going the right way (right, left, middle). Why does he go the wrong way nearly everytime. I know this is churlish considering the saves he made but it is weird considering what a great keeper he is.

Delighted to see Robbie score. Won't be enough to get the Robbie haters off his back.

I see Holland just beat Luxembourg 1-0.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

2,796 Posts
    Agree again re-Given and penalties. He was down and out of the way before the ball even got to the line. Great keeper but not convincing on penalties.

I hate late substitutions. The eleven on the opitch were good enough to be ahead so why take any gambles? We'll never learn. In fact, for the stattos here, how many of our lost leads or late goals conceded were shortly after "tactical" substitutions?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Hunt must never start, he will not carry that sort of effectiveness for 90mins. He seemed to burn himself out after 15 mins. Some players are perfectly suited the role of impact sub and I hope he'll continue to be used off the bench.
    He always seems able to sustain his energy for full games with Reading though. I would tend to agree though that given the impetus the whole team gains when he comes on after an hour it's probably not worth starting him. And at any rate we have McGeady and hopefully Duff to start in his position.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast