Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: 4 Bohs fans jailed in Derry

43 Posts
    With decent legal representation they will be out tomorrow/Monday on bail pending an appeal.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Good to hear more or less everyone welcoming the sentences. I don't think Bohs can be blamed too much as any club could have scum like this attached to them.

Great to hear they refused representation & then pleaded guilty. I bet they got the fright of their little lives when heard they seeing jail time. They probably only seen English hooligans on TV & expected to be deported like them

Even if they only serve a few weeks in prison it will be surely be a shock to the system & can't any scum trying to cause trouble in Derry again. The actions of the PSNI should be a lesson to the authorities down here about what can be achieved. Even putting a hooligan in jail for a weekend would make him seriously think twicer about again.

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    With decent legal representation they will be out tomorrow/Monday on bail pending an appeal.
    Have they got representation now ?

Are moves afoot on this ?

They live in a different jurisdiction, so could very easily jump bail. Therefore - any bail request should either be refused, or set quite high.

Maybe they should get yer man Desmond Doherty who represented Saddam Hussein and the Bloody Sunday relatives to fish them out...... LMAO
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 11/10/2007 at 1:45 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    I dont think they were intimating that it was the fault of society but rather it was a reflection of society at large and not a specific football issue which I think that anyone who goes out on a Saturday night in Dublin could agree with.
    I go out every other Saturday night in town and it's rare that I see rows anymore. In my book they only occur where the clowns go looking for it, much like those mugs up in Derry. Delighted that they got what was coming to them.
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

I dont think they were intimating that it was the fault of society but rather it was a reflection of society at large and not a specific football issue which I think that anyone who goes out on a Saturday night in Dublin could agree with.
    I disagree with it. Strongly. I'm out quite a bit, and sometimes in large very drunk groups. I've yet to be involved with anything remotely resembling this, and I've never, ever seen a Dublin bar smashed up.

Nothing wrong with society, except for some of the rejects in it...

30 Posts
    Lofty - how dare you suggest such a thing.......

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    I don't care if he lives on the set for 'The Bill' - how the hell will they be "out by the weekend".......? Is he expecting Bertie to personally intervene at a high level on a mission of mercy...?

They've been sent down for 3 months. Therefore - they'll be in Maghaberry this weekend. End of story.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Good to hear more or less everyone welcoming the sentences. I don't think Bohs can be blamed too much as any club could have scum like this attached to them.

Great to hear they refused representation & then pleaded guilty. I bet they got the fright of their little lives when heard they seeing jail time. They probably only seen English hooligans on TV & expected to be deported like them

Even if they only serve a few weeks in prison it will be surely be a shock to the system & can't any scum trying to cause trouble in Derry again. The actions of the PSNI should be a lesson to the authorities down here about what can be achieved. Even putting a hooligan in jail for a weekend would make him seriously think twicer about again.

I've never had the pleasure, but apparently even just a single night in the cells is a sobering experience.

Being in your early twenties, and having the prospect of another 90 or so days there hanging over you, I would hope and expect that that is the last time those involved chance their arm with the law.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfc_1928 View Post
    Lofty - how dare you suggest such a thing.......

Now now DCFC - the rule of foot.ie is to source any such claims you make.

Still no source for the assertion that they'll be out by the weekend -which is why I've asked him are they pursuing an appeal with legal representation.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I disagree with it. Strongly. I'm out quite a bit, and sometimes in large very drunk groups. I've yet to be involved with anything remotely resembling this, and I've never, ever seen a Dublin bar smashed up.

I agree with the broad sentiment with what Bohs Board man was saying - that some individual's in society have problems/issues that they then carry over into football.

However - the scale is different. Smashing-up a pub is extremely unusual to say the least.

Interesting though that it's always the same clubs that have a smell of trouble about them. Would suggest that, society or not, there is a fundamental problem with those clubs as well that can't just be dismissed.

It's very difficult for clubs to shake off troublemakers and/or a reputation once they've setteld in. Cardiff and Millwall are prime examples of this. No matter what they do, their fans will always have a rep. This is where Bohemians FC will find they've created a proverbial rod for themselves by tolerating the BSC nonesense up to now. They're not liking sleeping in the bed that they played a part in creating for themselves.... (proverb overdose time....)

Why does everyone have to be so pedantic.I'm not specifcally saying that every Saturday dozens of pubs in Dublin are being smashed up or you would be involved in such activities but ask any Garda in Dublin how many people are arrested every Saturday night on public order offences and you will see quite a considerable figure.It does happen that a group of 7 or so lads could be arrested outside any nightclub for fighting etc.Need I mention Annabels, Dublins recent riots etc.

Drugs are rampant in the city also and from what I believe there was an element who carried out these actions in a drug fuelled state.Again no excuse for their behaviour but a further indictment of the Ireland we live in today!

Hence my conclusion that this is an element in Irish society as a whole and not just Bohemian FC.
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

82 Posts
    I agree with the broad sentiment with what Bohs Board man was saying - that some individual's in society have problems/issues that they then carry over into football.

However - the scale is different. Smashing-up a pub is extremely unusual to say the least.

Interesting though that it's always the same clubs that have a smell of trouble about them. Would suggest that, society or not, there is a fundamental problem with those clubs as well that can't just be dismissed.

It's very difficult for clubs to shake off troublemakers and/or a reputation once they've setteld in. Cardiff and Millwall are prime examples of this. No matter what they do, their fans will always have a rep. This is where Bohemians FC will find they've created a proverbial rod for themselves by tolerating the BSC nonesense up to now.
    Steve, glass houses and let he who is without sin cast the first stone etc........

Bear in mind what has been discussed on our site over the last few months. Not in quite the same league admittedly but not far off it in relation to one incident.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Steve, glass houses and let he who is without sin cast the first stone etc........

Bear in mind what has been discussed on our site over the last few months. Not in quite the same league admittedly but not far off it in relation to one incident.
    Totally agree with you ORA. That's the whole 'ills of sopciety infringing upon sport/football' bit that I buy into behind the Bohs statement.

At the same time, however - City don't have a rep for trouble, whilst Bohs have a small but ongoing and growing one. The vast majority of EL clubs do not have a rep for problem fans - yet all our clubs exist within pretty much the same society. That shows that it is a bigger issue than merely 'society' for some clubs than others. It also shows how once a rep gets developed it is difficult to shake off (as Rovers fans are painfulyl aware, for example. Not having a go in saying that).

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post

Totally agree and no club in this league is whiter than white in this regard.

Bohs,Rovers,Shels,Pats,Derry,Cork,Athlone,Drogheda ,Dundalk ,to name but a few, have all had problems of varying degrees over recent times.Some worse than others admittedly but lets not turn this into a Bohs bashing incident or the points scoring exercise as some would want it to be because that will help nobody.

Bohs members will leave the board in no doubt as to their opinions on this matter and will be pushing for some action.Lets wait and see what comes of this before we pass judgement.
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

Need I mention Annabels, Dublins recent riots etc.
    You've proved my point by mentioning the only two newsworthy incidents in 2-3 years.

Showing that this statement
    Hence my conclusion that this is an element in Irish society as a whole and not just Bohemian FC.
    is simply tabloid sensationalism. The ACTUAL amount of people arrested for public order offences is very low, despite newspapers trying to make out its a fecking warzone.

If these lads are so much a product of their society, why is the first large scale such incident in recent memory in the league? Surely if voilence is that common in Irish society pubs would be smashed up every week?

Just like Gerry's efforts to say that these lads aren't representative of Bohs supporters, I'm making the point they are even less representative of society.

The ACTUAL amount of people arrested for public order offences is very low, despite newspapers trying to make out its a fecking warzone.
    This is nonsense!Two of my best mates are Gardai and they tell me quite another story.They hate working weekend because of this very problem.The say there are a significant number of people arrested every weekend.Annecdotally last Saturday night a guy was arrested in Wicklow for assaulting a female Garda.This is one incident of many he tells me about most Sunday nights!!

Just like Gerry's efforts to say that these lads aren't representative of Bohs supporters, I'm making the point they are even less representative of society.
    While I agree they are not representive of society as a whole they are representative of a small percentage of young males aged between 18-30.It just so happens that they have attached themselves to Bohemian FC.Some others have attached themselves to Rovers.Of that I am sure some Rovers fans would agree.Its not as though Bohs are cultivating young thugs actively that were previously nice young men.
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

43 Posts
    Now now DCFC - the rule of foot.ie is to source any such claims you make.

Still no source for the assertion that they'll be out by the weekend -which is why I've asked him are they pursuing an appeal with legal representation.

All they need is to have had representation by today and they could be out tomorrow/Monday with any half decent barrister/solicitor. Info from my bro in law who couldn't do the work 'due to other commitments'. Their parents have spent all morning sourcing legal representation.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

While I agree they are not representive of society as a whole they are representative of a small percentage of young males aged between 18-30.It just so happens that they have attached themselves to Bohemian FC.Some others have attached themselves to Rovers.Of that I am sure some Rovers fans would agree.Its not as though Bohs are cultivating young thugs actively that were previously nice young men.
    I agree with you. My point is that, whether Bohs like it or not, it HAS therefore now become a Bohs problem as well as a societal problem. And the longer it persists the harder it will be for Bohs to shake off.

In fairness, not a single Bohs fan on here or on City Chat has in any way sought to defend these muppets actions, and have made it clear that they'll leave the club in no doubt as to what they think. It is extremely heartening to hear the fans are giving the club the boot up the hole that it needs here. I hope the magnitude of this incident will be sufficient to shake the wannabe thugs a bit and give the club the opportuntiy to snuff them out for good now. If not, then the rep will stick and the issue will remain a Bohs problem for some time.

All they need is to have had representation by today and they could be out tomorrow/Monday with any half decent barrister/solicitor. Info from my bro in law who couldn't do the work 'due to other commitments'. Their parents have spent all morning sourcing legal representation.
    So they're scrabbling around looking for legal representation now ? Reading between the lines, would I be right in summising that your brother didn't want to touch the case with a sh!tty stick? Chances are, he won't be the only one of that mind-set - especially in Derry.

Still conjecture though at this stage to so confidently state that they will be out by the weekend. Doesn't answer the issue of bail either - would they even be granted it, as they would go south with no guarantee of return ? And is there any notion that the families could afford bail set at a level high enough to dissuade their kids from doing a runner ?

This is nonsense!Two of my best mates are Gardai and they tell me quite another story.They hate working weekend because of this very problem.The say there are a significant number of people arrested every weekend.Annecdotally last Saturday night a guy was arrested in Wicklow for assaulting a female Garda.This is one incident of many he tells me about most Sunday nights!!
    well my cop friends say it differently. Guess its all down to perception. Your "one incident" has no relevence at all on the type of things we're talking about

284 Posts
    Appeal? They pleaded "Guilty" ffs, after having declined legal representation! This isn't the "Birmingham Six" we're talking about, so there is no chance of the verdict being overturned (imo).

Of course, they might appeal against the sentence, but if at the stricter end of the scale, it was hardly totally excessive, since three pleaded guilty to two reasonably serious offences, in circumstances where there was evidence of possible aggravation (sectarianism etc).

(Afaik, for some offences where the sentence is appealed against, it is possible for a longer sentence to be imposed, where the appeal fails! Now that would make me laugh...)

Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast