Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Longford game

We could have won it. gordons goal was onside, linesmen assumed he was offside the way the ball fell to him and he was in so much space. the linesman on our side was an absolute disgrace, 4 or 4 very basic decisions, he got very wrong. looked unfit and couldn't keep up with play either!

Not sure would i have taken Raff off, especially so early into the game. maybe would have moved him into midfield and taken one of the midfielders off instead. seamie done well going forward though after the swith, i wouldnt play him at centre back, he'll do well there but we'd miss him down the wing.
    we played decent stuff, great ball from faz for the goal, faz and judge improved on last week, some lovely passing and touches from them both, great finish from hugshie....took his time and slotted it in!

they had nothing really in the 2nd half, we had most of the possesion, in the first half it was even enough i think....over the 90 minutes it was probably/possibly the fair result

What more needs to be said about this game, we were robbed, clear goal disallowed and at least 1 blatant penalty turned down. Whats the point on commenting on this when our lads had to play against 13 men. Most woefull refereeing I have seen all season.

20 Posts
    We really need another striker. The ref was a joke I'd say worse then in Galway. Fist half very poor but we improved in the second. I hope Longford stay up I enjoy the trips to Flancare Park
    Misfits

32 Posts
    the linesman on our side was terrible, he almost seemd afraid to make desisions. lukd very inexperienced, but we shud of won

even enough game, we probably should have won it though, good numbers down from sligo but atmosphere wasnt great except for the usual singers, fair play to the longford stewards who let our bus driver in to see the game for free, heard during the week an english club bid for mooney during transfer window, one of the stewards said it was stoke and they bid 200,000,

that game was there for the taking. we played very well in the second half until we scored our goal, then we stopped attacking. judge was much better tonight, gordon played quite well. the fat wee linesman robbed us. twas a pity we were out in the open as it was tough to create an atmospher, also too many fans not singing, same old story. we will need to start winning very soon or we will be saying goodbye to europe

189 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jamie m View Post
    heard during the week an english club bid for mooney during transfer window, one of the stewards said it was stoke and they bid 200,000,
    i read in the paper about 3 days before the end of the transfer window that southend bid 50k for him, we turned it down, and that mk dons and livingston were also interested. havent heard anything about stoke though.

on the game, think draw was fair enough result. your keeper was very dodgy in the first half, how we didnt score when he came out of his box and messed up his kick i dont know. made a great save from dessie though with about 15 minutes to go though.

A game of two halves. A draw was no more or less then both teams deserved in fairness. The ref was poor for both teams mind you.

A few comments
    *Makensie, fit enough for bench but not to start? yet fit enough for 60-70 mins?
    *Brush must be told to lft the ball high, in the second half he fed the full backs more. Thats not HIS decision, its tactical..
    *Hughes still on the left/right? Sorry its not working, despite the goal he does his best work in the centre of the pitch. Accomodating Boyd in the centre at the lose of Hughes? Not worth it..
    *Difference between Seamie in centre half and right full is obvious straight away..Got caught for the goal along with Raf...
    *Faz doing all the work again up front, gloss it up whatever way you want, Judge is lazy. Needs competition...
    *Bad decisions from the officials didnt help us...it happens unfortunally, dont dwell on it.
    *We are lacking dept, Cook knows this, still doesnt legislate the 3 players being play out of position, but its an obvious problem

All the obvious things really.... Fair result, could have won it though.

151 Posts
    Started with the wrong team again. Seamie playing out of position cost us the goal. Raf brutal and when he changed that we improved. Adam and Seamie cleaned them out down the right in second half but Judge was poor by the standards he set (before he signed the contract). Draw fair result as Longford were excellent in first half. They are now the best team in bottom four and I hope they make it. That goal WAS offside and you would really have to be wearing red tinted glasses not to see that.

81 Posts
    Fair enough result at the end but I must say that our section O boys outsang ye. When we scored te did next to nothing except throw stuff at the linesman (no matter how bad he was).

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Started with the wrong team again. Seamie playing out of position cost us the goal. Raf brutal and when he changed that we improved. Adam and Seamie cleaned them out down the right in second half but Judge was poor by the standards he set (before he signed the contract). Draw fair result as Longford were excellent in first half. They are now the best team in bottom four and I hope they make it. That goal WAS offside and you would really have to be wearing red tinted glasses not to see that.
    hopefully ELW will clear it up, but i think he was onside when hughes took the shot

i think a point was well earned and was the right result, we were excellent the first half but **** poor for the second! huge crowd at the game esp in section o where we had 50-60 people.

best of luck for the rest of the season lads!

didn't seem to be that many in the main stand, i was suprised with how empty some of it was, we would have fitted in the main stand no bother

the fact we weren't in the Main Stand added to our lack of atmosphere...

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    the fact we weren't in the Main Stand added to our lack of atmosphere...
    defo.

didnt really say anything about us! faz's through ball was top class

Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    Fair enough result at the end but I must say that our section O boys outsang ye.
    Now that is funny.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123