Page 86 of 95 FirstFirst ... 36768485868788 ... LastLast
Results 1,701 to 1,720 of 1885

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch View Post
    i take it the playoff on sunday is on the new newmarket pitch???
    if so is this the 1st game on it??
    on newmarkets new pitch?????
    we played them on it 5 or 6 weeks ago......
    I eats the beef......

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    No idea...

do you think clare league will tell teams involved were the games will be played

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by chappie View Post
    on newmarkets new pitch?????
    we played them on it 5 or 6 weeks ago......
    i didnt know.. i thought lads would be going on about it a bit more...
    whats it like?? besides green

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch View Post
    i didnt know.. i thought lads would be going on about it a bit more...
    whats it like?? besides green
    the full finest.....its flat which is some what of a luxury in clare.....it was fairly lush as well due to the good weather at the time and probably due to lack of games on it.....in fairness its a proper job and fair play to newmarket for doin a fine job on it......its up there with newtown pitch as bein one of the better ones goin at the moment...some improvement from the garden sheds and cow sh1t...
    I eats the beef......

play-off match last Tues

Quote Originally Posted by Wayne's World View Post
    Heard Rineanna beat the Bridge on Penalties in the play off last night. A bit of a come down for the Bridge after winning the league last year but they still have a chance against Bunratty this weekend.

Any match report from anyone that was at the game.

I thought the Bridge would have won last night but Rineanna on their day can put it up to most teams.
    A great outcome for the ROVERS!!! (am not in work this week, sorry about the delayed report) Saying that, we definitely should have won in 90 mins & extra time. Have more clear-cut chances that we couldn't put away. That has been the story of our season, not been clinical enough in front of goal, especially when we are on top, only for us to concede a late 'loser' due to combination of 'fitness' reserves and a small panel (that struggles when we get the injuries that we got after Xmas). Fair play to all on Tuesday, had 6 subs on the line for the first time in 2007, including two regulars who travelled down that afternoon from the big smoke.

Saying that Prem Rep, ye very nearly nipped it in extra time with that lob, great save from O'Connor to tip it over the bar. Saying that the two Kelly brothers got in the way of each other for an easy winner for us at the other end.

Re the penos, the gamble changing goalies worked beautifully for us. Though, with the Rovers missing our first one, going 2 down, I was full sure LUCK was against us AGAIN. Final score 3-2. Rovers 3/4 BridgeU 2/5

Was full sure that 20 points target (re minimum points required for survival that was discussed with Hacker earlier in season) was going to HAUNT me for the summer! We were nearly there in mid Feb at 18, and not even one point for the rest of the season....... If we had won those penalties in the cup quarters vs Avenue, i am convinced we would have easily won at least one of our last three league games. But when you're sliding, luck evades ya. Until the Village won out their remaining league games. CONGRATS on winning back the 'No1 team in Parish Title', but beware next season!!! Also, please remember that the aggregate score in the league was 3-3......

Anyway, commiserations Prem Rep & best of luck on Sunday!!

Cheers Rovers, congrats

Unhappy Bridge Relegated

Well lads, our worst fears have come through. Battle as expected with Bunratty yesterday ended in a one nil defeat, Scales scoring in the first five minutes. We battled away but could not make th break through. Darren Whelen was in super form. We did score once only for the goal to be very arguably disallowed for offside even though the offside player was not the player who scored. Ahh well, we're making no excuses, we had enough of chances through the season to get out of trouble and didn't.
    Congrats to Bunratty and Rineanna and good luck in the Prem next year.
    Also congrats to Newmarket for their new facilities which are without doubt the best in Clare.

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep! View Post
    Well lads, our worst fears have come through. Battle as expected with Bunratty yesterday ended in a one nil defeat, Scales scoring in the first five minutes. We battled away but could not make th break through. Darren Whelen was in super form. We did score once only for the goal to be very arguably disallowed for offside even though the offside player was not the player who scored. Ahh well, we're making no excuses, we had enough of chances through the season to get out of trouble and didn't.
    Congrats to Bunratty and Rineanna and good luck in the Prem next year.
    Also congrats to Newmarket for their new facilities which are without doubt the best in Clare.

Hard luck on Bridge and I hope ye bounce straight back up... Very close game on Sunday and could have gone either way.

Fixture's...

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
    Saturday 09/06/07
    Clare Cup Final
    County Grounds: Avenue United A V Moher Celtic Referee: M.O`Brien 6.30
    Assisiant Referees: A.Murphy, D.McCarthy
    4th Official: J.Stanford

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra and replay if necessary. Replay will take place on Saturday 16th June 2007 at 6.30 same venue and officials

Results...

Promotion/Relegation Playoff.
    Bridge Utd 0-1 Bunratty

FAI Area final.
    Newmarket 4-1 Newtown (played at Newmarket)

Munster area final between Newtown and Newmarket is on Wednesday in Newtown.

Further Results

2nd/3rd Division Promotion Relegation Play-Off

Ennistymon Town 0-2 Inch Crusaders

Quote Originally Posted by Bannerman View Post
    2nd/3rd Division Promotion Relegation Play-Off

Ennistymon Town 0-2 Inch Crusaders
    Also Hermitage stay in the 1st division. They did not play vs Bridge Utd yesterday as Bridge could not be promoted as a result of their A team going down to the 1st.

Premier next season...
    Avenue
    Newtown
    Moher
    Bunratty
    Bridge Celtic
    Kildysart
    Burren
    Rineanna
    Newmarket
    Lifford

1st Division
    Bridge Utd
    Mntshn
    Olympic
    Hermitage
    Corofin
    Kilmaley
    Kilrush
    Lifford B
    Connolly
    Rock Rovers

Highpoints and low points of the 2006/2007 season.
    Mine are as follows:

Highpoints:
    1 - New Champions in Bridge Celtic. Always welcomed in football circles.
    2 - Newmarket opening new top class pitches - well done to all involved.
    3 - Oscar Traynor side getting to quater final - had been a few years since we got out of the group stage so fair play.

Lowpoints:
    1 - Oscar Traynor's loosing 6-1 on astro turf in Dublin.
    2 - No league game for over 2 months due to bad weather, f.a.i/munster games, oscar traynor etc.
    3 - Trip to Burren next year only joking.

Trip to Burren next year only joking.[/QUOTE]

Speaking of Burren, where do they play their home games? Whats their pitch like?

Also, whats Kildysert's pitch like? CousSyl should be able to provide some feedback.

Locations in Premier;
    * Parish of Nemarket (3)
    * Parish of Ennis (2)
    * Shannon
    * Liscannor
    * Bridgetown/O'Briens Bridge
    * Kildysert
    * Burren

Locations in 1st Div;
    * Parish of Ennis (3)
    * Parish of Kilmaley (2)
    * Sixmilebridge
    * Mountshannon/Scariff
    * Shannon
    * Corofin
    * Kilrush

Did not make the trips to Kildysart or Burren this year.

I hear Kildysart's place in Cahercon is decent but the West Clare gale that blows across Doolin make's the Burren a tough away trip.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Did not make the trips to Kildysart or Burren this year.

I hear Kildysart's place in Cahercon is decent but the West Clare gale that blows across Doolin make's the Burren a tough away trip.
    Cahercon is a decent pitch, its nice and tidy. but it holds water so a nightmare when it has been raining.

Quote Originally Posted by Brazil Nut View Post
    Highpoints and low points of the 2006/2007 season.
    Mine are as follows:

Highpoints:
    1 - New Champions in Bridge Celtic. Always welcomed in football circles.
    2 - Newmarket opening new top class pitches - well done to all involved.
    3 - Oscar Traynor side getting to quater final - had been a few years since we got out of the group stage so fair play.

Lowpoints:
    1 - Oscar Traynor's loosing 6-1 on astro turf in Dublin.
    2 - No league game for over 2 months due to bad weather, f.a.i/munster games, oscar traynor etc.
    3 - Trip to Burren next year only joking.
    Another highpoint must be the improvement in the standard of referees

Quote Originally Posted by Side Cutter View Post
    Another highpoint must be the improvement in the standard of referees

i take it you are joking... improvement in standard of referees

" football is a simple game "

joking?? no way! i totally agree, after witnessing the ref(from the bridge bunratty playoff) giving an offside for a player who touched the ball passed a defender and ran on to it himself, the linesman rose his flag and ref than blew the whistle while sayin, i no i no wrong decision!! and he is one of better refs in clare!!! it jus makes ya wonder!!!!!
    I don't think I'm a kitten, and if I was, I would be a really ugly one with a beard."
    Gennaro Gattuso on Steven Gerrard's claims that he is as scary as a kitten.

Quote Originally Posted by nutmeg View Post
    joking?? no way! i totally agree, after witnessing the ref(from the bridge bunratty playoff) giving an offside for a player who touched the ball passed a defender and ran on to it himself, the linesman rose his flag and ref than blew the whistle while sayin, i no i no wrong decision!! and he is one of better refs in clare!!! it jus makes ya wonder!!!!!
    Isnt this the same ref that should have sent Gavin Downes Off

Page 86 of 95 FirstFirst ... 36768485868788 ... LastLast