Page 35 of 35 FirstFirst ... 25333435

Thread: Mayo League Football 2007

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by GlenhesTilliDie View Post
    What does it say about mayo football , depriving a young talented footballer live steven from playing !! i thought the mayo leagues motta was 2 promote youth soccer !! Steve was banned for giving his opinion on a referee decision, and shocking decisions might i add , so wats the problem ! u swear he boxed the ref (wats ur opinion Jimmy Blake)
    there was a lot worse said by both sets of supporters on the day in milebush.
    ! u swear he boxed the ref (wats ur opinion Jimmy Blake)[/QUOTE]
    i think you might be referring to some other incident, as JB was not the ref,it was mr,who has now retired its a good job he wasn't reffing Celtic v rangers ,there would be no fans left,the game needs Passion and big games need supporters with Passion.
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Well said Frank. As far as I can see, given the chance to provide the "in-depth analysis of the game in the county" as they promised in the first Counter Attack installment, The Mayo News decided instead to put the blame on anybody but themselves.

Padraic Burns made some salient points regarding the listnessness of the footballing governing body in the county, but literally everyone involved in the sport was aware of that. Joe Butler was where organisation and promotion started and stopped (at least on a Junior level TB!). However, deflecting responsibility is a cowardly retort to the accusation of a "lack of media coverage" and "lack of quality and detailed match reports" as Mr Burns put it.

With regard to the references to our forum, and to myself in particular, I am stunned by the fragility of the arguments made by PB (Seen as how abbreviating is currently fashionable apparently). He basically made three points;

1. The standard of GAA is better in Mayo than almost anywhere else in the world.
    2. GAA is better supported than football and therefore deserves more coverage
    3. In comparison to other provincial papers, Mayo News is fantastic in terms of Football coverage.

Let me give my opinion on these points;

1. What was in question was the standard of reporting, not the standard of football. A high-quality match is no guarantee of high-quality coverage. Not only is this point nonsensical, as well as being made in quite an accusatory and barbed manner -"It's time for FF and people like him woke up to this reality" - it's also a bit of an insult to Mayo Football and the people who work within it. Like saying - "You're too incompetent to pay attention to".

2. This too, is totally obvious. When I wrote to Edwin Mc Greal (who by they way made his point this week be writing a really good article on Castlebar Youths rather than throwing a hissy fit) I stated, as I have on these pages, that we only wanted and expected a small percentage in ratio to the GAA. It's about quality PB, not quantity.

3. This is fallacious, as well as pointless. I have no interest in other provincial press and nor should the Mayo News. They should strive to be top of the class, rather than saying "At least we're not at the bottom!"

At no stage was this about personal attacks, bias or animosity. It was a few people, interested in Football, trying to raise a debate about media coverage of our sport in the county. If, rather than explaining to me what I don't "grasp", and giving me an unwanted "bit of advice" Mr Burns spent more time writing good articles, everyone would be happier.
    great bit of reading,
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gunner1 View Post
    there would be no fans left,the game needs Passion and big games need supporters with Passion.
    I wouldn't agree with you Gunner on the basis of passion is one thing but breaching ground rules is another.I've seen supporters at the club your avatar represent display passion by throwing drumsticks for example but that kind of behaviour is unacceptable and the person was rightly banned by the club. I wouldn't condone such behaviour and any abuse verbal or otherwise is unacceptable and has to be stamped out. You can display passion without behaving like a thug and sadly that becomes so much part of the game that people feel the need to behave like that in the name of 'passion'.

I've seen enough of it in my time and it ruins the enjoyment for others and so it has to be stamped out.

Having said that I've caused my own fair share of hassle, most notably of late at both the home of Sheffield Wednesday and Hartlepool Utd. Both incidents were unfortunate however. I did however have Hillsborough closed down for 15 to 20 minutes due to a security alert and I was filming at Victoria Park when I shouldn't have been and I near had the camera taken off me.

Oh by the way Gunner I'm not having a go at you or suggesting even that you condone bad behaviour. Just picked up on the reference to passion.

Just noticed that Soccerbot has got the details posted up for the Super League and the two Second divisions, although, bizarrely, not the Premier or First divisions! Anyone have a clue as to why that might be?

Saturday Nite Fever

well im sure im not the only one looking forward to saturday evening fixtures, i mean thats what its all about enjoying the football and hitting the pub for a good session with the lads after we are amatures after all, 2 training sessions during the week followed by a match then getting locked, enjoying the banter with the rivals... its also nice to be sitting top of the table hope the heane can keep it up, im sure wel be a hard team to crack this year...
    I see the coverage in the connaught of weekend matches was good, but lower divisions seem non existent to the press, ah well

What's the story with the youths and schoolboys site?
    No updates???

Quote Originally Posted by robben 11 View Post
    well im sure im not the only one looking forward to saturday evening fixtures, i mean thats what its all about enjoying the football and hitting the pub for a good session with the lads after we are amatures after all, 2 training sessions during the week followed by a match then getting locked, enjoying the banter with the rivals... its also nice to be sitting top of the table hope the heane can keep it up, im sure wel be a hard team to crack this year...
    I see the coverage in the connaught of weekend matches was good, but lower divisions seem non existent to the press, ah well
    Fair play to ya robben- spot on! Isnt that what its all about-enjoyment.

FahyForever was a happy camper with the report. Was talking to him today.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by gunner1 View Post
    there was a lot worse said by both sets of supporters on the day in milebush.
    ! u swear he boxed the ref (wats ur opinion Jimmy Blake)
    i think you might be referring to some other incident, as JB was not the ref,it was mr,who has now retired its a good job he wasn't reffing Celtic v rangers ,there would be no fans left,the game needs Passion and big games need supporters with Passion.[/QUOTE]im aware who was reffing the game , i was talking bout a certain S&F player who boxed Jimmy B;ake a couple of years ago

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Shouting abuse at a ref and insulting him is hardly giving your opinion or mabe it is in Glenhest
    well if a ref makes bad decisions time after time , IN MY OPINION he shouldnt be reffing ,maybe dats why he retired ?? Ref's get paid 2 do a GOOD job not take the ****

just a quick question, how many people on this forum actually send in a report to the papers every week??

its interesting how since a few weeks ago when we were all criticising the lack of coverage the papers give to the soccer how much the newspapers have actually been reading these comments, thought the papers covered quite a few matches this week, good to see, keep it going.

Quote Originally Posted by juan pablo View Post
    just a quick question, how many people on this forum actually send in a report to the papers every week??

its interesting how since a few weeks ago when we were all criticising the lack of coverage the papers give to the soccer how much the newspapers have actually been reading these comments, thought the papers covered quite a few matches this week, good to see, keep it going.
    I agree juan pablo,in fairness it is probably hard to get reports on all games

well i think there are a fair scatter of us here representing clubs, i think a brief match report - 10-15 lines max typed up seeing that our typing skills which is fair to share is quite literate, could be mailed in to the papers, we'll see how the papers react when they have 10+ match reports to make the deadline for the papers, if they dont put the reports in than their is a problem and should be addressed!!!!

its a known fact that the GAA dominate the whole of the county and right it should,but soccer is still every bit as popular so don't see why even coverage cannot be given, hands up how many ppl would buy all the local papers just to see read all the match reports!!!!!

nice little added profit for the papers me thinks!!

views/comments???

Go on my Son

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Well said Frank. As far as I can see, given the chance to provide the "in-depth analysis of the game in the county" as they promised in the first Counter Attack installment, The Mayo News decided instead to put the blame on anybody but themselves.

Padraic Burns made some salient points regarding the listnessness of the footballing governing body in the county, but literally everyone involved in the sport was aware of that. Joe Butler was where organisation and promotion started and stopped (at least on a Junior level TB!). However, deflecting responsibility is a cowardly retort to the accusation of a "lack of media coverage" and "lack of quality and detailed match reports" as Mr Burns put it.

With regard to the references to our forum, and to myself in particular, I am stunned by the fragility of the arguments made by PB (Seen as how abbreviating is currently fashionable apparently). He basically made three points;

1. The standard of GAA is better in Mayo than almost anywhere else in the world.
    2. GAA is better supported than football and therefore deserves more coverage
    3. In comparison to other provincial papers, Mayo News is fantastic in terms of Football coverage.

Let me give my opinion on these points;

1. What was in question was the standard of reporting, not the standard of football. A high-quality match is no guarantee of high-quality coverage. Not only is this point nonsensical, as well as being made in quite an accusatory and barbed manner -"It's time for FF and people like him woke up to this reality" - it's also a bit of an insult to Mayo Football and the people who work within it. Like saying - "You're too incompetent to pay attention to".

2. This too, is totally obvious. When I wrote to Edwin Mc Greal (who by they way made his point this week be writing a really good article on Castlebar Youths rather than throwing a hissy fit) I stated, as I have on these pages, that we only wanted and expected a small percentage in ratio to the GAA. It's about quality PB, not quantity.

3. This is fallacious, as well as pointless. I have no interest in other provincial press and nor should the Mayo News. They should strive to be top of the class, rather than saying "At least we're not at the bottom!"

At no stage was this about personal attacks, bias or animosity. It was a few people, interested in Football, trying to raise a debate about media coverage of our sport in the county. If, rather than explaining to me what I don't "grasp", and giving me an unwanted "bit of advice" Mr Burns spent more time writing good articles, everyone would be happier.

Fahy4ever 10- Padraig Burns 0
    Long live the Fahy!!!! legend. Fahy 4 President

God Man is that all you think About is Drink Feckin Students

Quote Originally Posted by juan pablo View Post

here here!i think that the papers should be given a bit of credit where credits due.the people who write the papers are obviously reading these forums and taking on board what us joe soaps are talking about and they appear to be ready to give soccer far better coverage so fair play to them i say and i echo juan pablo's sentiments with keeping it going!
    and i send in a general report on whats coming up in our own club each week and the papers print it so no complaints from me for that!

I'm sure that we will bring some good news to the poor!! Don't forget boys and girls, Padraig Burns fav sport is association football, so he is not the man to publically execute!!
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

whatever you say padraic!!!!!

the craic!

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    God Man is that all you think About is Drink Feckin Students
    dead rite its all about the few trainin sessions the game, and then the pub, when we all go pro we can lay off the booze

522 Posts
    Padraig Burns has been banned from Foot.ie for making veiled threats about posts in this thread. Please don't discuss him any more on this forum, he obviously doesn't warrant your attention. I'd suggest that you file your complaints about him directly to the newspaper in writing.

Page 35 of 35 FirstFirst ... 25333435