Page 47 of 54 FirstFirst ... 374546474849 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2006/07

[QUOTE=the dazzler;622084]monty you were told carew will win the fai out so why are you asking will we beat salthill we should win 2or3 nil watched them against a bad newtown team and they were poor its between us and killester
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

west utd beat castlerea celtic in sudden death penalties. both missed a pen each out of 5.

terrible way for castlerea celtic to go out, quite unlucky i beleive too.

got this from a mate who was at the match watching:
    "Went to last 16 game of the FAI junior cup yesterday. Castlerea did well gettting there from over 600 teams at the start and they played West Utd from Galway in Shiven. West were the greatest shams I have ever come across. There fans outnumbered us about 3 or 4 to 1 and they were pure tinkers looking for fights non stop. It was a pretty dirty game as teh West players followed through on every tackle and loads of stuff off the ball. They went 1 up after a long throw into the box missed everyone adn one of there players volleyed home. Jimmy Mannion equalised with a good finish. About 10 minutes before half time they scored direct from a corner to go 2 -1 up.

Just before half time Castlerea got a corner. Ball came in and Jim went up with their goalie and beat him too it but the ball was cleared. Jim hit the deck and one of their players stamped on his head. Naturally he reacted and hit your man. Then it all kicked off and a big brawl with about 20 involved!! 3 were sent off. Jim, their goalie and the fellow who stamped on Jim. When they were all leaving the pitch. A good few rows broke out between fans and it was chaos!

In fairness West played well second half with 9 men but Castlerea really missed JIm. They had no one to put their foot on it and control things. Wests sub goalie was cat but Castlerea couldn't get anything on target. Late in 2nd half Mark made a burst past his man and was hacked down and the fella got booked. It was his 2nd yellow but the ref never spotted it and he wasn't sent off. Late on Castlerea equalised. Conor MAc came of the bench and scored a good header, beating their man to the ball. It went to extra time. Both teams had chances and their goalie somehow pulled off a great save from Conor.

Into penalties. Dara saved their first penalty from their goalie. Ronan missed Castlerea's second to even things up which was tough on him as he has been Castlereas best player all season. Finished 4 apiece and into sudden death. Unfortunately Ross missed the decisive penalty and Castlerea were out. Some entertainment!! It was funny though. A lot of the Castlerea hard men were keeping quiet at the match when faced with these scumbags. xxxx was the only one that didn't give a sh1t and was battering them. That was more due to lack of intelligance than anything else"
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 19/02/2007 at 12:47 PM.

Thumbs up carew for the fai

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    time to eat some humble pie :

what happened to the mighty carew
    sorry to sicken ye all but carew have an objection put in cant say anymore yet

that is sickening dazzler, ye were beaten on the field could ye not leave it at that? the junior cup has been riddled with objections and counter objections for years with carew somehow being involved with most of them, i know its a sickener to lose on penalties or indeed anyway in an fai quarter final, but i think it would show more character to take it on the chin.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the dazzler View Post
    sorry to sicken ye all but carew have an objection put in cant say anymore yet

i can comfirm carew dont have an objection in against salthill maybe now the dazzler might **** off he can now relax that carew were knocked out.

on the match just want to say best of luck to salthill hope they go all the way but IMO i really cant see that happening carew should of caught them yesterday even with ten men and a left full in goals who was tested once in 70mins that is pretty poor. the ten men of carew were brillant they fought for every single ball but when it comes to pens its a lottery and carew were missing there main man in the pens who always saves a couple in gordon. i can also comfirm carew players are furious with gordon they really feel let down by him and told him so. but they also know that gordon has saved them in the past aswell e.g rockmount etc etc who the carew players thought were a better team than salthill o well whats another year as they say

Why what happened Gordon? did he throw a dig or something? Can't believe Carew thought they had a chance of winning the FAI with this team. I mean in all respect to Wembley but they had more of a chance of winning it even before a ball was kicked this season.
    Mama Mia!!

Quote Originally Posted by widow View Post
    Why what happened Gordon? did he throw a dig or something? Can't believe Carew thought they had a chance of winning the FAI with this team. I mean in all respect to Wembley but they had more of a chance of winning it even before a ball was kicked this season.
    no gave a man a headbutt lenghty suspension looming

Wembly v Killester United game wil be on the 11th March(ish).

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    west utd beat castlerea celtic in sudden death penalties. both missed a pen each out of 5.

terrible way for castlerea celtic to go out, quite unlucky i beleive too.

got this from a mate who was at the match watching:
    "Went to last 16 game of the FAI junior cup yesterday. Castlerea did well gettting there from over 600 teams at the start and they played West Utd from Galway in Shiven. West were the greatest shams I have ever come across. There fans outnumbered us about 3 or 4 to 1 and they were pure tinkers looking for fights non stop. It was a pretty dirty game as teh West players followed through on every tackle and loads of stuff off the ball. They went 1 up after a long throw into the box missed everyone adn one of there players volleyed home. Jimmy Mannion equalised with a good finish. About 10 minutes before half time they scored direct from a corner to go 2 -1 up.

Just before half time Castlerea got a corner. Ball came in and Jim went up with their goalie and beat him too it but the ball was cleared. Jim hit the deck and one of their players stamped on his head. Naturally he reacted and hit your man. Then it all kicked off and a big brawl with about 20 involved!! 3 were sent off. Jim, their goalie and the fellow who stamped on Jim. When they were all leaving the pitch. A good few rows broke out between fans and it was chaos!

In fairness West played well second half with 9 men but Castlerea really missed JIm. They had no one to put their foot on it and control things. Wests sub goalie was cat but Castlerea couldn't get anything on target. Late in 2nd half Mark made a burst past his man and was hacked down and the fella got booked. It was his 2nd yellow but the ref never spotted it and he wasn't sent off. Late on Castlerea equalised. Conor MAc came of the bench and scored a good header, beating their man to the ball. It went to extra time. Both teams had chances and their goalie somehow pulled off a great save from Conor.

Into penalties. Dara saved their first penalty from their goalie. Ronan missed Castlerea's second to even things up which was tough on him as he has been Castlereas best player all season. Finished 4 apiece and into sudden death. Unfortunately Ross missed the decisive penalty and Castlerea were out. Some entertainment!! It was funny though. A lot of the Castlerea hard men were keeping quiet at the match when faced with these scumbags. xxxx was the only one that didn't give a sh1t and was battering them. That was more due to lack of intelligance than anything else"
    i was at the west v castlerea game yesterday and here's what really happened.west took an early lead when miko nolan latched onto a long ian burke throw in after about 5 minutes and volleyed the ball home for a superb opener.west should have extended there lead a few times in the first half hour but a combination of sloppy finishing and good defending kept it at 1-0.castlerea equalised on 30 minutes with a well taken goal from there centre forward.west went in front again soon after when miko nolan scored direct from a corner 5 minutes before half time.it was a physical opening half with i think 2 bookings a piece.it all kicked off on the blow for half time,it started when a push from one of the west players on a castlerea player led to the castlerea centre half running 30 yards to throw a punch,there was then a melee involving about 10 players which was all handbags,the only one to actually strike an opponent was the castlerea centre half,who did so on more than one occasion,but amazingly he was left on the pitch,as the players made there way off the pitch,there was 2 west players struck by castlerea supporters,the result of the melee led to 2 west and 1 castlerea player been ordered off.the second half resumed with west continuing to control the game and play the better football with 9 men,the tackles were flying in fast and furious from both teams,west looked like they would win it in normal time as castlerea never threatened but with 2 minutes to go castlerea scored when there sub punched the ball into the net,which he later admitted in the pub,into extra time there was chances for both teams but penalties was needed to decide the issue and west prevailed!also castlerea got every decision going from the 3 officials.the better team won end of story and the west supporters were a credit to them all the way through and were very focal!
    if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!

Salthill have won their last 2 games on penalties and West have won their last 3 on penalties. Better bring a flask of tea and something to sit on to Drom, cos it'll likely go all the way again.

Quote Originally Posted by west awake View Post
    i was at the west v castlerea game yesterday and here's what really happened.west took an early lead when miko nolan latched onto a long ian burke throw in after about 5 minutes and volleyed the ball home for a superb opener.west should have extended there lead a few times in the first half hour but a combination of sloppy finishing and good defending kept it at 1-0.castlerea equalised on 30 minutes with a well taken goal from there centre forward.west went in front again soon after when miko nolan scored direct from a corner 5 minutes before half time.it was a physical opening half with i think 2 bookings a piece.it all kicked off on the blow for half time,it started when a push from one of the west players on a castlerea player led to the castlerea centre half running 30 yards to throw a punch,there was then a melee involving about 10 players which was all handbags,the only one to actually strike an opponent was the castlerea centre half,who did so on more than one occasion,but amazingly he was left on the pitch,as the players made there way off the pitch,there was 2 west players struck by castlerea supporters,the result of the melee led to 2 west and 1 castlerea player been ordered off.the second half resumed with west continuing to control the game and play the better football with 9 men,the tackles were flying in fast and furious from both teams,west looked like they would win it in normal time as castlerea never threatened but with 2 minutes to go castlerea scored when there sub punched the ball into the net,which he later admitted in the pub,into extra time there was chances for both teams but penalties was needed to decide the issue and west prevailed!also castlerea got every decision going from the 3 officials.the better team won end of story and the west supporters were a credit to them all the way through and were very focal!
    west awake u must have been asleep at the match or need to get glasses the west player stood on celtics players head and he was seen by the ref and linesman this all happened on the pitch west keeper was sent of for hitting a player so was celtic player no celtic supporter touched a west player on the way off the pitch a west player shouldered one off celtics subs and there was a bit of a shoving match castlerea did not get all decision going from the mayo refs no 11 for west was booked twice and stayed on pitch so who got rub of green there then and also west supporters were not a credit they shouted abuse all through the game also when west players were sent off they stayed on the side off the pitch shouting abuse at the officials the guards were called to b there for the second half to watch for more trouble and protect the refs if west lost

no. 11 for west was not booked twice,he should of been booked twice,he was spoken to by the official several times before he was eventually deservedly booked,i mean no.5 for ye threw several punches,and as u say no castlerea supporters struck a west player,well then they were just neutrals who wore castlerea tracksuit tops and who just happened to stand in the castlerea side of the dugout.if a west player stood on one of your players heads i'm sure he would of suffered serious injury,if such an incident happened how come the player who got stamped never recieved any medical attention on the pitch,and if such incident really did happen i would be disgusted,there was alot of pushing and shoving but the whole thing was blown out of proportion,and if west did lose there would be no need for gardai,we'd of taken it on the chin cos no amount of arguing was goin to change the result at full time.eltell surely you must admit the best team won on the day,as regards or supporters yes they shouted for every decision and yes maybe they were not complimentary at times to the referee,but they never jeered your penalty takers during the shoot out unlike some of your supporters behind the goal.i would go as far as saying only for or great supporters we would not be in the next round,they kept our lads going with there encouragement and really drove the lads on when we were down to 9 men!

ps.ye should have put the lad who got your equaliser in goals for the shoot out,he might of got a hand to a couple of our penalties!

west awake, why would castlerea supporters start on yer supporters or players, when they were outnumbered 3 to 1? I got that account pretty much the same from 3 different people watching. The account I provided above, was from a guy who was watching his first celtic match this season, so why would he lie? He was sending it to all us castlerea ex-pats as a bit of news over the weekend. As was mentioned there was only one castlerea fella who got involved and was messing, as he was looking out for the other lads who were getting hammered all over the shop. It looks like ye mellowed and gave a more realistic account in your second post, which you must be credited for. By the sounds of what I have heard from 3 different sources yer supporters are far from a credit to ye, whatever about your football players ( as I wasnt there to judge so its not my place ). However supporters dont decide the outcome, so ye still have a chance of beating salthill. ah well maybe it will be as friendly as the galway hurling final this year when the two of ye meet?!?!

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    west awake, why would castlerea supporters start on yer supporters or players, when they were outnumbered 3 to 1? I got that account pretty much the same from 3 different people watching. The account I provided above, was from a guy who was watching his first celtic match this season, so why would he lie? He was sending it to all us castlerea ex-pats as a bit of news over the weekend. As was mentioned there was only one castlerea fella who got involved and was messing, as he was looking out for the other lads who were getting hammered all over the shop. It looks like ye mellowed and gave a more realistic account in your second post, which you must be credited for. By the sounds of what I have heard from 3 different sources yer supporters are far from a credit to ye, whatever about your football players ( as I wasnt there to judge so its not my place ). However supporters dont decide the outcome, so ye still have a chance of beating salthill. ah well maybe it will be as friendly as the galway hurling final this year when the two of ye meet?!?!
    you say u got ur account of the game from a man watchin celtic for the 1st time this season,he described the lad who missed ur penalty as ur best player this season.how would he know.also there was none of ur players getting hammered as u say,and yes some west players were pushed and shoved by ur supporters on the way off the pitch at half time(i was probably been a bit harsh when i said struck in an earlier post)but still they had no business getting involved with our lads at half time,u were also told castlerea supporters were outnumbered 3 or 4 to 1,so how many castlerea supporters were there were u told an estimate would do!maybe supporters don't win games but ours are worth a goal start as they have proved on many occasions,and to answer your question about beating salthill,well we'll be underdogs but we are capable of beating anyone on our day(anyone in junior that is).it's a big achievement for our little club to get this far,so for now we'll just enjoy sunday's victory,and worry bout salthill when the time comes!

now best of luck for the rest of the season,i hope ye win ur league!

Quote Originally Posted by Worldcup View Post
    well connie you were very quiet since the grattan game...with your tail between your leg's..wondering how long it would take you to appear..
    Well said World Cup Shut up Connie go back in Casey's Pocket or Pa Mull's Taxi.. Unlucky Carew

Quote Originally Posted by Derek View Post
    Wembly v Killester United game wil be on the 11th March(ish).
    is on this sunday 2 o clock at rathuard.................. ya we were expecting it to be on middle of march too........

Now that carew have their party piece done for the year in the fai ,they should start putting some focus on staying up in the premier ,

Carew will stay up, no bother...

Quote Originally Posted by scoobysham View Post
    is on this sunday 2 o clock at rathuard.................. ya we were expecting it to be on middle of march too........
    match off this weekend fixed for weekend 11 th of march mistake in the local paper in limerick...........

Quote Originally Posted by bridgeceltic View Post
    Well said World Cup Shut up Connie go back in Casey's Pocket or Pa Mull's Taxi.. Unlucky Carew
    and dont forget pa Mull's jacket ha.Wait for it we will have connie mouthing off about the league next and then the MJC.He should just keep his big mouth shut and when things go right for Pike then he can talk about it.(Dont count your chickens syndrome or should i say foot and mouth in connie's case

Page 47 of 54 FirstFirst ... 374546474849 ... LastLast