Page 27 of 35 FirstFirst ... 172526272829 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

No one will ever be happy with the Oscar Traynor set up! I personally thinks Mayos partcipation in this competition will stop soon enough. I mean in the paper a few weeks ago Tom Kelly said that " a Mayo team in the series was in doubt" up until Mick Wallace was announced as manager. It sort of beggars belief that a man with no managieral experience can get the "best job" in the county. Now fair enough he can turn around and prove us all wrong but after his first big call he names Johan Collins as team captain I'm not too sure. Johan Collins would not get on any Super League team and of that I'm sure. Wallace seems to be picking players who he played with and I'm very suprised he did not pick Kieran Murphy and Declan Conway while he was at it.

Maybe Wallace will turn out to be a success.

He should be given an opportunity to prove himself. Any criticism of his appointment should not be aimed at him, rather it should be in the direction of the people responsible for the appointment and the criterion used to make it. But I think he should be given a chance.

Quote Originally Posted by Proud cove View Post
    He should be given an opportunity to prove himself. Any criticism of his appointment should not be aimed at him, rather it should be in the direction of the people responsible for the appointment and the criterion used to make it. But I think he should be given a chance.
    If he was that good how come ye didnt give him a chance

I presume you mean Westport United when you refer

to 'ye'. I have no idea as I am not involved in any shape or form with the club, other than going to games as a fan. From what I know, he was signed as a player when a manager was already in place so there wasn't a vacancy.

Manulla V Snugboro last Sunday

Well finally the Super League season has finally come to a close, but after 18 rounds of what was one can only describe as one to remember for all the wrong reasons.
    I can’t say I have ever witness in which any club would go out and not play in the spirit of the game knowing the out come of that match would eliminate one or other opponents to the premier division. It was the case that Straide & Foxford had to be the fall guys in a game that they should have at leased being given another chance to redeem themselves... It is the manner in which I find unsporting and should not be tolerated by any League .Or allow such club or clubs to behave in such Manner. Manulla having received such allocates the week before by winning such has they did a week earlier or even better still defeated there opponents Snugboro in two rounds earlier with the greatest of ease.
    However for Snugboro on there part share no blame as they went out to get the result that keeps them in the Super league.
    One does wonder had Manulla been on 19pts would it have been a different match, I guess will never know…

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    No one will ever be happy with the Oscar Traynor set up! I personally thinks Mayos partcipation in this competition will stop soon enough. I mean in the paper a few weeks ago Tom Kelly said that " a Mayo team in the series was in doubt" up until Mick Wallace was announced as manager. It sort of beggars belief that a man with no managieral experience can get the "best job" in the county. Now fair enough he can turn around and prove us all wrong but after his first big call he names Johan Collins as team captain I'm not too sure. Johan Collins would not get on any Super League team and of that I'm sure. Wallace seems to be picking players who he played with and I'm very suprised he did not pick Kieran Murphy and Declan Conway while he was at it.
    ALOT of what you said is right untill you came to the Captain.
    I think Peter Burke would be the best man for the Job. I just think he Mick lacks managieral Experience.
    good luck to him I hope his Trainning sessions have better turn out in order to help him prepare for Friday.

Quote Originally Posted by gazza2 View Post
    According to todays Star newspaper Westport's Brendan O'Connor is a contender for the Irish Juniors National managers job

There is an old cliche; a newspaper never refuses ink!! That is more media speculation rather than fact.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Angry Oscar Traynor Squad

Yes I hope it turns out to be a success but I do believe that their are mistakes in the squad. While I applaud Mick for having the courage to pick from the lower leagues and I agree that Charlie O'Donnell is a fine player how come their weren't any places for the lads from Bangor or Inver. I have seen all the 1st division teams this season and O'Donnell stood out as Mulranny's best player but he was their only player of note while Bangor and Inver had some fine individuals that would grace the county set up. This is again the major problem that the county team set up has. The manager should be appointed in time to gather together players to play challenge matches in the county or North v South, East V West Mayo (that type of scenario). Then he could see the best players in the county. He is picking on reputation and personal knowledge alone rather than ability.

The same situation has arrived with the under 18 team. A trial was announced with players named. There was no contact with clubs to send on their best under 18's. I also think that the trial was just for show because the final squad announced is a joke.

How can we be expected to build for the future when the basic foundation is wrong.
    The Blue Moon is shining on the world tonight!!!!

I have to agree about the Inver lads, they had some very handy young players who may have been good to run at defences.

As regards Mr Wallace and lack of "managerial experience", 2 words, Steve Staunton!!

Best of luck to the lads tonite, might try and get to home matches for a gander

51 Posts

Mayo team

Now lads,

Well done to the Mayo team who, did i hear correctly won 5-0 away to Roscommon, also well done to Mick Wallace and the whole team. not bad for a team who according to some of ye, haven't a hope

51 Posts

Mayo Ladies Team

Also congrats to the ladies, they playing UCD in the final now, hope they can finish the job off now

Aye well done, as I said have to give them a chance, and they proved us wrong in this one!!!

Full report

http://www.mayo.fai.ie/index.php?opt...sk=view&id=779

Fair play to Mayo for their win over a Roscommon team that dont sound up to much. The comments regarding people writing off the team before they started were a bit off the point though, nobody involved in the mayo game wants to see them lose, they just questioned some off the selections. Johann Collins was one of the lads I was dubious about but apparently he played well and nobody can question his committment. The Galway league will prove sterner opposition and will give a much more insightful look into the state of our Oscar Traynor team.

The players coming back will cause a nice headache for Wallace; does he stick with the men who did well against Roscommon or will he bring in some fresh blood?
    Dessie O Malley will surely figure and presumably Andy Neary but it's tough to drop men after a five nil win.
    I hope they do well and would love to be proved wrong about Mick Wallace's selections. I hope he will continue to look at teams around the county and seek to improve the squad he already has. Fair play to him although, he has delivered the goods on his first test anyway.
    Last edited by FahyForever; 20/11/2006 at 1:48 PM.

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Fair play to Mayo for their win over a Roscommon team that dont sound up to much. The comments regarding people writing off the team before they started were a bit off the point though, nobody involved in the mayo game wants to see them lose, they just questioned some off the selections. Johann Collins was one of the lads I was dubious about but apparently he played well and nobody can question his committment. The Galway league will prove sterner opposition and will give a much more insightful look into the state of our Oscar Traynor team.

The players coming back will cause a nice headache for Wallace; does he stick with the men who did well against Roscommon or will he bring in some fresh blood?
    Dessie O Malley will surely figure and presumably Andy Neary but it's tough to drop men after a five nil win.
    I hope they do well and would love to be proved wrong about Mick Wallace's selections. I hope he will continue to look at teams around the county and seek to improve the squad he already has. Fair play to him although, he has delivered the goods on his first test anyway.
    Tell me this - if J Collins is good enough for Castlebar Celtic - then isn't he good enough for Mayo surely?

Exclamation News Flash

You heard it here first!!!! Yohan Collins has been asked by Dykes to sign for Celtic and has agreed. He will been on board for the connaught cup!!! And that concludes the Pixie News. P.S Hello to my 2 friends in GMIT Castlebar............ you know who you are.............

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    You heard it here first!!!! Yohan Collins has been asked by Dykes to sign for Celtic and has agreed. He will been on board for the connaught cup!!! And that concludes the Pixie News. P.S Hello to my 2 friends in GMIT Castlebar............ you know who you are.............
    Shot me in the head if that is true!!! I thought he was a 100% Boro player!!

Have we not learn from the movin of some players last year that these days there is not such thing as a 100% committed player to any team. im afraid thats how things are gone. it shows a great example for the youth coming through the ranks.

I suppose though this has gone on for years in the leagues in the UK and there is no such thing as a player staying with a club for life.

What was the thoughts on the dinner dance on Saturday night? Lovely food? Great band? Deserving award recipients? Give us your views!!
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Final THOUGHT

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Shot me in the head if that is true!!! I thought he was a 100% Boro player!!
    I was told that the Gray One and two of his cronies met up with Mr Collins last Thursday in the Royal Hotel Castlebar, to join up with Celtic be apart of the U-21 BACK ROOM STAFF.
    COURSE SNUGBORO may have something to add like inducement.

Page 27 of 35 FirstFirst ... 172526272829 ... LastLast