Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

the last word

Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post
    Too right. For eaxample Ballinrobe players can make the leap from Div 1/premier league players straight into Super league teams - O'Malley, Kelly, Maloney, Burke, Alan Murphy, the other Murphy. Did these lads play for Mayo at underage level? There are many good players esp younger players in the lower leagues. These need an opportunity to be properly coached.
    Renovater you accuse Celtic of elitism and here you are at it yourself. Buy a mirror.
    As regards the super league each of the teams are there on merit having invested in pitches, coaching, training, etc.. Well done. Fair play. However the league, who overall are better than most leagues, need to spend more time in encouraging and in providing coaching for lower league teams. You need to train the trainers! This to be done in conjunction with the clubs. It is extremely hard for the likes of Mulranny, Glenhest, etc. to be able to get enough ex players, etc to take the coaching courses. Some help at a local level is needed. For example a course in Ballinrobe could involve B'Robe, Cross, Partry and Claremorris.
    YNWA
    There are a number of questions you ask which in turn need to be answered
    the players mention from ballinrobe did play for there county let it be at youth or junior some of them played at a higher level in the eircom league Alan Murphy was voted best young player of the year by the F.A.I. SOME achievement must add.

Castlebar Celtic are more than lightly have the best best players playing for them, and they all dont come from Caslebar.
    And I don't need to look in to any mirror to relise that.

the league does encourage all clubs to take up places on coaching,Clubs are reminded all the time, by the league. I think your comment regards the league is on called for after appionting an R.d.o. for the county. as for under age there is accademys at every level for the players to brake into no club has ever been refused to push his players on if you think he or she can make the grade.
    All clubs have problems in getting explayers to go on and take up coahing even in the Super league.
    Why are there so many managers from our top clubs not from this county or gone to other clubs.
    Here one for you how many referees has our clubs put forward in the last two years. has your club put forward some one to take up the man in black?

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Sinabhuil I agree totally with what you are saying, I have watched a couple of Div 2 games this season and last.
    In particular 2 clubs jumped out who had massive potential but due to the lack of good coaching will prob not get to Premier or Super league. The first club would be Inver who I played against 2 or 3 years ago and really had a good brand of football, they have progressed well and could get further but without a good coaching system their young team will struggle to reach a high enough technical level to get there.

Another club, Clew Bay United, again played against them 3 years ago when they started out and we very very raw, and again this year and their improvement was immense, did not get promoted but I put this down to a GAA manager looking after them, if they had a right coach and trainer could progress no end.

A rep from each club should be invited to a coaching scheme, maybe this happens already??, but if it does not I could see this help them a lot
    Look wre have you been all club get the oppitunity to do coaching the next time ring John Durkan he is the secretary of Mayo FOOTBALL he will tell you the next coaching course. did your club raise these questions at the last club meeting with the league. I dont think so.

the last word

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Ciaran Kelly (Castlebar Celtic)

Martin McGreal (Westport Utd.)

Niall Gallagher (Ballyglass)

Joe Lawless (Westport Utd)

Seamus Higgins (Westport Utd.)

Declan Flynn (Snugboro)

Peter Burke (Ballyheane)

Pierce Loftus (Crossmolina)

Eoghan McHale (Westport Utd.)

Tommy Walsh (Manulla)

Andy Neary Castlebar Celtic)

James Gillespie (Glenhest Rovers)

Mark McGreal (Manulla)

Dave Cameron (Westport Utd.)

David Roughneen (Snugboro)

Johan Collins (Snugboro)

Philip Devers (Ballina Town)

Malachy Byrne (Manulla)

Gordon Carter (Swinford)

Charlie O’Donnell (Mulranny)

Eugene Gorman (Ballina Town)

Tom Molloy (Mulranny)

Sean McHale (Castlebar Celtic)

Derek Glynn (Claremorris)

Vinny O’Malley (Westport Utd.)

Dessie O’Malley (Westport Utd.)

Mick Duffy (Ballina Town)

Gary Price (Castlebar Celtic)

Ronan O’Boyle (Castlebar Celtic)
    This is the panel called up to the Mayo squad. Hats off to Wallace. There are some great Call ups here. I wont agree with all of them as im sure alot of you wont but i think all round its a good side. Happy to see..... Dave Roughneen, Derek Glynn, James Gilleispie and deffo Niall Gallagher!!! A victory for Common sence. What do yee think???
    To be fair to mick he has picked up a pision chalace, not everyone cup of tea.
    The players he has picked would be the ones he feels will turn up for trainning rather than just turn up on the day.
    good luck to him its a lonely road if things don't go well , the long knifes will sharpen if things dont go his way.

the great escape

Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    Christmas cards are not shared between us !. However to say that they would throw a match against Snugboro would be a bit strong, I am sure the league would take a very dim view of this if it were to happen.
    Well don, have to say I agree with mossy the would dance on Ballyheane grave.
    You will be able to judge them on the team they sent out. but don't hold ya breath on this one.
    Ballyheane however dont need to worry what Manulla do, it is in there own hands and just go and get the right result.
    at 4.30 next sunday we can all have some think to shout about

the big dream

Quote Originally Posted by mgam1 View Post
    firstly,i'm not moore.
    but i don't play for any soccer club(yet!).
    most of us have covered our identities on this website-and are entitled to do so.
    i have got the impression on this forum that if your not a player or manager within the league -then your opionion doesn't count.I'm a GAA man myself and ex celtic player.i've gone to alot of celtic and town games this season,so i'm in a position to give my opinions - for example i think the main reason celtic b have done so well the last few seasons is because of ****** obrien and castlebar town have transformed this year after only bringing in 4 players,one of which is moore -and they never had permanent keeper and he has made a difference - he is not super league standard -but can hold his own in the lower league. -as im given up on GAA-because the club is a shambles.and i hope to sign with town or celtic b next season, i'm waiting to see who is going to manage either teams.do you know who is in line to take celtic b team for next season?i heard flynn has left the town and that mad mick might take it over -is that a good thing i wonder?!? anyhow on a different note i see the mayo panel picked by m.wallace,bit surprised by collins inclusion.suppose he will add a bit of steal to the side.

I dont think mad mick will go to the town after promoting Ballyheane B into DIV. 1 WOULD YOU?

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    you seem to be more concerned that your club has been over looked.
    I will ask you one question when you as manager select players to play in a team would you go for raw talent as you put it.
    knowing that the next results means that you are out of the competition or do you go for the tried and trusted to get you in to the next round.
    knowing at the end of the day you will be judge on performance.
    the problem is these competitions they dont alow you the scobe to try out young players against a team who will play the best players available to them .
    this Oscar traynor is about winning, any manager who will select players from the lower leagues will be like lambs to the slaughter
    No I am not concerned that my own club has been overlooked as I am not that shallow. What I am concerned with is the advancement of Mayo football and the acknowledgement by the powers that be that the lower leagues have a part to play. If you had read my post properly I never advocated playing raw talent I said to bring them in to learn and I also stated that there is some talent that is ready now. Maybe there wern't enough spelling mistakes in my post and you couldn't read it! Competitions are about winning but the Mayo county team is also about bringing on young talent ready to take their part as well.
    The Blue Moon is shining on the world tonight!!!!

To be fair to mick he has picked up a pision chalace, not everyone cup of tea.
    The players he has picked would be the ones he feels will turn up for trainning rather than just turn up on the day.
    good luck to him its a lonely road if things don't go well , the long knifes will sharpen if things dont go his way.
    Give this fella some spelling lessons

Look wre have you been all club get the oppitunity to do coaching the next time ring John Durkan he is the secretary of Mayo FOOTBALL he will tell you the next coaching course. did your club raise these questions at the last club meeting with the league. I dont think so.
    I take your point on raising the issues, the problem is that the clew bay in particular are been managed by a donkey who doesn't think he needs coaching, shame really as I think they have a lot of potential.

I must do that on the coaching courses alright, can be no harm to do it.

Thanks

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by mgam1 View Post
    firstly,i'm not moore.
    but i don't play for any soccer club(yet!).
    most of us have covered our identities on this website-and are entitled to do so.
    i have got the impression on this forum that if your not a player or manager within the league -then your opionion doesn't count.I'm a GAA man myself and ex celtic player.i've gone to alot of celtic and town games this season,so i'm in a position to give my opinions - for example i think the main reason celtic b have done so well the last few seasons is because of ****** obrien and castlebar town have transformed this year after only bringing in 4 players,one of which is moore -and they never had permanent keeper and he has made a difference - he is not super league standard -but can hold his own in the lower league. -as im given up on GAA-because the club is a shambles.and i hope to sign with town or celtic b next season, i'm waiting to see who is going to manage either teams.do you know who is in line to take celtic b team for next season?i heard flynn has left the town and that mad mick might take it over -is that a good thing i wonder?!? anyhow on a different note i see the mayo panel picked by m.wallace,bit surprised by collins inclusion.suppose he will add a bit of steal to the side.
    I would love to believe you but you contradict yourself in too many posts, stating you played against Castlebar twice for Charlestown, but yet when asked you played for Glenisland. You've you been rumbled, Gwan tell us, gwan gwan gwan

You're right Yop I was reading back over his posts and its pure and simple thats its Mark Moore. I mean one minute hes watching the Charlestown/Castlebar town game and the next hes playing in it singing the praises of the Town keeper. Are you still using the BULLTOES for the kickouts Mark? Oh thats gotta hurt

Thumbs up Would the real slim shaddy please....

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    You're right Yop I was reading back over his posts and its pure and simple thats its Mark Moore. I mean one minute hes watching the Charlestown/Castlebar town game and the next hes playing in it singing the praises of the Town keeper. Are you still using the BULLTOES for the kickouts Mark? Oh thats gotta hurt

Then maybe he isn't, I see his idle is also on the board?? Especially when they have totally different usernames.

http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=500261&postcount=215

Sorry lads, I will cut this out, waaaaay off topic!!!!

New to this

I've been looking in on this forum for a while now, and even though I'm a GAA person firstly, I have taken a bit of interest in soccer in Mayo over the last few years, mostly through the success of Westport in the FAI cup and Celtic doing well enough this year. I was reading the Mayo News today and in their preview of the last day of the season and they were on about either Snugboro or Straide being involved in a playoff if they both draw, does goal difference not count in Mayo soccer as it does in alomst every other league, just found it a bit wierd if thats the way it goes

It seems it doesn't Leftwing alright. I think the same could happen in Premier div if the teams left chasing last promotion spot are level.
    A bit of an odd one alright but I suppose if you are level on points it is rough to get relegated or not promoted just because you have a couple less than the other teams.
    I suppose with the fact you have lads playing dual sports there are times in the season when a squad is short and you could ship a couple of goals, same applies at the beginning & end of season, when a "smaller" team starts the season they will have a good turnout and could hold a "bigger" team to a 1 or 2-0 defeat.
    At the end of the season when the same team is buried in relegation they may only have 1/2 a squad and ship 10 to the other "big" team. So it means it could promote you because you played the team at the end of the season.
    Does that make sense?

Should he stay or should he go???

I dont think mad mick will go to the town after promoting Ballyheane B into DIV. 1 WOULD YOU?
    Hard to know??? Mad mick Done wonders at snugboro. Hes got a good head on him and that shows in that he has got brought 2 clubs up a division. However if Ballyheane want to keep him then i suggest they reward him if you catch my drift!!!

Load of Barry white

Is it just me or is that Divisional selection of 11 players from each of the leagues ( in connaught telegraph) the greatest pile of Barry white ive ever seen or heard in my life. They ask the clubs to pick it yet the mayo league then make the final desicion. What a load of crap. Who cares..... At the end of the day feck all of the players outside the super league know the names of the lads there playing against so haw the hell do they pick the teams. And then really and trully the Mayo League picks it at the end of the day. Politics man.... ****ing Politics!!!!! What a pile of annoying Garbage

U-21

So Mayo have pulled out of the Eircom league U21 this mornig, is this a good thing or a bad thing for football in the county. Is there any side that could step up to the plate in the county and enter their own team in the league or would the costs of running a side stop some one

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by leftwing View Post
    So Mayo have pulled out of the Eircom league U21 this mornig, is this a good thing or a bad thing for football in the county. Is there any side that could step up to the plate in the county and enter their own team in the league or would the costs of running a side stop some one
    This is all set up for Castlebar Celtic now to take they place with Declan Kilkenny leading his troops starting next year - why you think all the young talent in converging in Castlebar?

Is that what ye think is happening, would that not have an adverse effect on to the A team, Dykes like to have all the young talent available to him. (And I mean that statement in the best taste possibe)

51 Posts
    Is that what ye think is happening, would that not have an adverse effect on to the A team, Dykes like to have all the young talent available to him. (And I mean that statement in the best taste possibe)
    Maybe but will dykes be there for the long haul? is Limerick not after him?

True I did hear that alright, might have been here actually.
    Time will tell. Sunday the season is over so interesting close season

Page 25 of 35 FirstFirst ... 152324252627 ... LastLast